Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Law School Responds To Mass Failure Of Students.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Nigerian Law School Responds To Mass Failure Of Students.

The authority of the Nigerian Law School have spoken out about the recent mass failure of students of the school. The students embarked on a protest last week claiming that over 3,000 of them failed the 2013/2014 exams. The highest failure the Nigerian Law School has witnessed.

Nigerian Law School
Reacting, the Secretary to the Council of the Legal Education and Director of Administration of Nigeria Law School, Mrs. E.O Max-Uba, who spoke with PM News, said the students lied, that only 1,000 failed and it was mostly those who were retaking the exams after failing multiple times. She claimed that 57.01% of those who wrote the exam passed.

A document made available to PM NEWS indicated that a total of 5841 regular candidates registered for the examination in the 2013/2014 academic year across the six campuses of the Law School. A further breakdown of the performance revealed that four students made 1st Class Honours while 96 students passed in the Second Class (Upper Division).

620 of them passed in the Second Class (Lower Division) while 2610 or 44.68 per cent of the students recorded ordinary pass. Also, 501 students recorded conditional pass because they have reference in one subject while 1932 students failed the examination.

However, the failure rate was high among the re-sit candidates with about 1168 out of 1335 students who registered failing the examinations while 88 students recorded ordinary pass. Also, 26 of the re-sit students recorded conditional pass.
Mrs. Max Uba told PM NEWS that the failure rate was high among the re-sit students because some of them are either working or based outside the country.

Mrs Max-Uba said the ongoing protest is being led by some of the re-sit students that have sat for the examinations four times without success because they refused to participate in revision classes organised for them prior to the examinations. She dismissed claims that the Director General of the Law School, Prof was behind the failure recorded.

On whether the results will be reviewed, she said any candidate may apply for review in accordance with extant rules of the Council for Legal Education. She also stated that a resit would be conducted for those who failed the exams next year.

PM News 

*This is so sad...so what will happen to the students who failed and those with conditional passes?will the conditional pass students still be able to practice law?

39 comments:

1. And if u see them in skool with their white and black like secondary students forming brainy and swag....no know say na cotton wool head ***runs away*** #alinko

1. Stanly! E bu Ike. Cotton wool ke. E ya sikwa! Hahahahahaha

2. Oh, Zip it Stanley. Go and read the course and let's see what you graduate with. I don't know which kind beef on top white and black be this o!

3. Na real wah......thank God my younger sis made it

4. The law school is dubious and stealing money from the students. After they do this they blame the students cause they are young.. If I were them I'd take the matter to the international press and I won't make any compromise with them.

2. The rate of failure is just too high and doesn't speak well of our educational system. It only goes to show that our knowledgia centura is enveloped in a paraphlegic state.

1. Mr big English, grammarian, I greet oh! Lol! #OneLove#

2. Exactly!! Something is wrong somewhere. Their results need to be reviewed.

3. Paraplegic.

3. ANGELRAY SAID
    To practice law na by force, if e no favour u plz move over to another course.

4. Why won't there be mass failure, the kind of students that re spring up these days re nt ready to read at all. When I served back then, I taught ss2 n 3 mathematics stella u need to see me going back to primary school mathematics, as low as BODMAS just to mk dem understand, mhen I suffered, even took them on extra moral classes to help dem n yet the principle would tell us, please dnt fail any of dem. So when those set of ppl go to d university, wat will u expect from them?
    The govt really need to look in d public schools n wt is going on there cos most of dem are nt learning anytyn at all. So we don't ve this kind of situation again

1. You are a big fool! If you attended Nigerian Law school, then you'ld know if a first class graduate can easily fail.

5. Nigerian education system if fucked. And they refuse to get capable hands to change it. How can the students pass when if given this test all the lecturers will fail it including the DG. The law profession and law school is a joke. No be lawyer abi judge thug like Fayose slap? The lawyers and judges giving kangaroo judegments nko? The whole legal system if a big joke. Whatever can be done to reduce the number of jokers is ok by me. But the education system had to improve.

6. Hello stella. Pls how do I reach you? Through your email or cell number? I would love to give out something to blog visitors

7. abege dey shld keep quiet........ if only 1000 people failed our of 6000, how is it possible to call 5000 students to bar in one day? usually call to bar is 2 days but they changed it to one day cuz of the failure.......
    biols

8. Hmmm mouth sealed.nigeria we they fail stuff we still have long way to go.

9. @alinko u talk am well. Law students could be annoying as Fuck. U need to see most of them in abuja law school. Majority of them spend most of thier time on the laps of abuja big boys exchanging Csf* 4 chicken change. U can't giv what u don't. Have. The time dy spend protesting will serve them better if they get thier act right and Read*

10. its not just Law School....WAEC , JAMB, and all other exam bodies inclusive.
    when i was in the secondary school, special center for waec and neco wasn't an option. Now, it seems its normal everywhere....that i think, is the genesis of our problems.....

11. It's well tho
    Pls visit my blog

Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

12. The main problem here is not the law school but the Nigerian university system. Clearly majority of the law graduates did not earn their graduation from university or to put it less harshly did not fully understand the big picture of what they were learning at ungrad law level. The figures indicated by the law school spokesperson is consistent with previous law school results . It's a selective profession which is not open to all. The current sense of entitlement in the new generation of Nigerian students is alarming. Those protesting seem to focus on the the fact that they paid a large amount in fees. I'm not sure how that entitles them to an automatic pass and qualification. Studying for bar exams in nigeria and the rest of the world demands 110% focus. It is rigorous and tasking and there can be no room for fashion, social media or other forms of distraction that the new generation seem to be unable to give up. Advice to all who failed is to suck it in, clear your mind of the blame game, remind yourself that you are responsible for everything you do or do not achieve, focus on an objective, study really hard and understand (not cram) and re-sit the exams with a clear mind. That's the only way to becoming a barrister. Conditional pass is still a fail as the candidate will not be called to bar.

13. Is it by force to be a lawyer???!!! I beg! Nigerian mentality. Mtcheeeew.

14. Truth be told. Its not easy schooling n working at d same time not to even talk abt those abroad. I don't even like d course

15. Please if you dont know the true situation of things,u should better keep quiet. Although am among those who passed this exam,but I must tell u that the statistics released by NLS is absolutely false. They failed more than half of the regular students. How can the DG unilaterally increase the pass mark from 40% to 50,without prior notice,going against the standard set by the council of legal education,when ordinarily people still fail when the pass mark was 40. The normal 1hour for MCQ that is usually not enough was reduced to 50mins. The DG was just out to fail a whole lot,perhaps 2 prove a point to his predecessors,but to the detriment of the students,who stived day and night,sleepless nights,some lived on drugs during the exam period,only for you to dish this out to them. I feel bad,very bad. I really pray that something shoud be done about this..... in the history of NLS,this is the worst result ever! Onadeko you need to cover your head in shame. Many students I know now are frustrated as a result of this. God dey!

1. students will always hve excuse.y struggle 2 end @ pass mark.is it nt someone dat made good grade? 40 percent is neva a pass mark in any Educational sector.

2. Dont mind the geh. That i why some of them cant survive a sane discussion. imagine her whinning about 40 used to be the pass mark. In life change is constant, shape in or you shape out. Like Zig Ziglar said you cannot climb the ladder of success dressed in a custume of failure. Thank God you passed.

3. Lovelace i wish you knew what it takes to make that 40. Be quoting there o.

4. I know what it takes to make good grades, study and prayers. I sure say you be part of the people wey fail. Sleep for SDK blog ooo

16. Conditional pass means they failed just. One course. They'll have to write the course again before they can be called to bar m practice.

17. Ewu how hopeless you are to post the response of LAWSCH after deleting the original post because u wanted ur idiotic BVS to insult the poster. You see that u are a failure? shame on you stella.

18. This is my take on this issue. Law like medics or engineering is a proffesional course. We complain everyday of how incompetent som of our sectors are and how the people who are there don't do their jobs. This is one of the reasons too many unqualified people are put there. You see the way it works in law school is that it isn't what you are taught in university this is a skills course. It teaches you what the practice of law is all about, how to speak, how to address judges, research and so on. Now there are way too many lawyers out there who are not qualified. Imagine a lawyer with bad etiquette and wrong approach representing someone in court. It will be a disaster especially for someone who had prepared well. Moreover, imagine a doctor that is unqualified or not properly trained with the right skills. If this was the case I don't believe the noise will be this much because this concerns the life of people now. In this case, I believe to do well and excel at what you do, you need to listen to your teachers and do the extra reading and research needed which is what Law requires.
    One cannot simply enforce that the DG must pass a student who isn't qualified. It is unconscionable, that goes against the standards of what is expected of the profession. The lawyers of our fathers generation are so good, how many lawyers in our generation do you here off. We are just starting (yes) but think about when they started hearing about our fathers.
    The people who failed need to look at why they failed - first step to solving the problem, then what can they do to do better; rather than throwing accusations. The man in question has his degrees, you are the one looking for a degree. So you play by his terms. Go and look at your scripts rather than making noise and disturbing the blogs. It's not the end of the world.
    Also, those speaking of money, didn't you know that before. I Won't even go into it but it's daft and stupid that's all I will say.
    Remember, if you have truly put in effort result will come out. Be realistic with yourselves.

19. Just to add to anon 1:51 - I completely agree, remember a career you choose become your lifestyle. It would reflect in the way you speak, walk, dress etc.
    You need to understand that Law school produces future judges, SANs, lawyer and people who might even become legal advisers to top companies or Nigeria as a nation. It will be unwise to allow an individual who isn't qualified for the job to do that job.
    A surgeon who cannot stand blood, but is qualified as a surgeon and when they are put in the theatre he begins to shake and then the person dies due to his negligence - that one go be serious matter ooo.
    Now imagine a lawyer who is to advice the country on its legal issues of maybe - land or oil or even issues relating to other countries. He gets a pass in Nigeria because in Nigeria hardly anyone takes their job serious, he is then sent to another country to represent us and his representation is so poor people question his degrees. That leaves a question on the credibility of the nigerian law school.
    This is a widely recognised institution you cannot expect them to produce sub-standard lawyers. Yes it is tough and it is hard.
    But this is the life you have chosen; swallow your pride and figure out what you did wrong. If you address the problem the problem will bow to you. No matter how many blogs or papers or churches you go to, to carry this situation, you will not be called to the bar unless you pass the required exams.

20. woooowwwww finally i've reslved my issue

21. honestly, I am not surprised at the mass failure. I use to know a law student way back in the UNI that can not express herself in English language. in fact, you can never see her speakin English. I have always wondered how that one go pass law school. they all got served the portion the prepared.

22. People wey go schl don go come out, no be dis one wey we de go now. Daris Handi Worki oo. Education is not my force and is nt made for everybody

23. dis one na gobe..extra sch fees calling..

24. There are a whole plethora of reasons for the failures, it's not just any one thing. First off, look at the state of some of the living conditions for student, the money stress involved with higher education, cults on campus and security concerns, lack of healthy foods that actually nourishes the body, Indomie is dead food, there is nothing in it, living of crap like that will waste your mind. Lack of good instructors, good textbooks, good curriculum. Then we have social media and all its lures and constant distractions.

The mass failure provides an opportunity for open dialogue and making impactful changes in that arena. All is not lost.

25. First off...I fail to understand the monumental beef that pple have against law students. U put on white on black and pass, people u dont know will be hating for no reason..Walk past d same place in normal outfit, no one cares. Fact is, we dont even like the white and black, we get penalized and sometimes we pay when we wear the wrong outfit. We practically hate it and a lot of law students wish they could wear regular outfits to class...yet pple that basically have it all will still be hating.smh..weird world. About the Law School results, if u didn't go to law school or write the Bar Exams..u probably shouldnt be saying anything cus until u are in the same place..U wont understand.Only Law School students know what they went through.I passed but it was a really crazy period.Imagine writing three University semester exams in one paper.Yet some people will be using their terrible english to be calling victimized people dull. Oh please!.