Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Woman Banned From Entering Trinidad And Tobago.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Nigerian Woman Banned From Entering Trinidad And Tobago.

A Nigerian flew in to Trinidad and Tobago from the US on the day the ban was implemented - Friday 17th of October 2014. This Nigerian who wasn't privy of the ban was denied entry into the country because of the Ebola scare even though she had been in the States for about 3 weeks and had been screened upon entry and exit from the US. 

Trinidad implemented that law without giving any time frame for people whose
flights could not be adjusted and without informing the airlines not to carry passengers holding passports from the banned countries (Caribbean Airlines).

Nigeria has not had any Ebola case in over a month while the US still has an existing Ebola patient but there is no ban on American citizens. 

Now is there anything the Nigerian can do to make Trinidad pay for emotional trauma? Her ticket money and time has been wasted. If she had come into the country on Thursday, would she not have brought in the Ebola? 

Why is one day making a difference? I wish the Nigerian government could step up for once and defend it's citizens so that the world will stop treating our passport like cow dung.Please I will appreciate some advice on this.

Thank you

THIS IS A BLOG VISITOR REPORT.

*This is so embarrassing!...Are you the one that was turned back?I understand their fear but why are they not screening people instead of sending them back?
I dont know if a country can be sued for this reason,maybe the Lawyers in the house can enlighten us.

51 comments:

1. Ebola or not, this green passport has been embarrassing nigerians since the 90s. I pray God heals our nation.

1. Nigeria and her government is a disgrace to humanity.

2. Nigeria is a failed country.

3. Why are you crying and disturbing our sleep this morning?The one wey pass Ebola dey there seff, do you think they are trying to prevent you from entering their country? Wrong! They are heavily infested with the one that is greater than ebola they don't want the world to know.
      You don't know what the Lord has for you! You wan go chuk head for the one wey pass ebola! My dear go and give thanks giving to Lord! Obodo aguu

Pepper ose oku

4. I am amazed at those of u abusing Nigeria and calling her a failed country. Was it her fault that her citizen was not allowed entry? Or was it Nigeria that invented Ebola or asked that sawyer brought it to her country? Biko the country u should be mad at are the ones who failed to allow our citizen entry even when Nigeria is ebola Free.

Unless we have been duly notified as a country not to travel to certain countries and we fail to adhere, I don't see where Nigeria is to be blamed here. Not even the Nigerian in question should be faulted because it is absurd.
      She innocently travelled to Trinidad, oblivious to the rules at their border I suppose. Absolute nonsense.

To answer ur question about litigation, Stella... like I stated earlier, if she had a valid visa permit to enter the country and there were no restrictions or violation on her part, then she can sue them very well. Unless an emergency restriction was issued and widely circulated, emphasis on WIDELY, by Trinidad, then they have done nothing wrong either. Only we can conveniently query them because we are Ebola free, but they have a right as a country to issue limitations of immigrants entry tru their borders for health risks reasons which they can claim poses a threat to their citizenry. .kapish

Bollocks!

2. By the way Stella, Oscar de la renta has died!

3. Nigerians have made themselves a nuisance in Trinidad. Carrying drugs, faking passports and doing all sorts of bad things. They are using this excuse to keep them out. Plus you can never be too careful. Nigeria has not secured its own borders, or immigration systems. Anyone can get Nigerian passport and come in. Even Liberians and other Ebola ravaged countries. Out e-passport system is a joke. All because politicians don't want to use technology for anything just in case we evolve and start demanding it for votes. Then the rigging becomes an issue. Sick people

1. You said it all.

2. If Trinidad suspected Ebola when the woman came into their country, did they screen her to confirm she had it? Did they quarantine the other passengers that were on the flight with her to be sure none was in contact with her? What Ebola preventive measure did they take? That was what Nigeria and America did to contain the virus. If the did none of that, then i can officially tell you that they have committed a crime and it transcends beyond the Ebola scare. The Nigerian Government should take on this case.

4. Okay. What about their citizens coming from Nigeria, won't they be given access?
    Their biz.

5. this is so annoying.......truly when will our passport be respected..... I bet that is the least problem on the mind of awa governments now......the 2015 election is all they are fighting for...... mtchewwww........ ass country.

please check out my blog Moment with Zoe

6. Seriouly this is really nonsense..how govt should rise up and start fighting for their citizens..wat kf americans leaving in nigeria that will want to travel back to the states,will they also be turned back?

1. Glo, no visit my blog today.......hahajahahhaa

7. They are pained cos Nigeria is God's own country not America

1. U ve made d only sensible comment on ds particular post, @ Eve E Ume. People be here calling. Nigeria cursed n doomed!!! What are u still doing in a cursed land. U feed on ds land, get ur daily bread on ds land, get married n have kids on ds land, live on ds land n u call it cursed? Those who call Nigeria cursed n doomed are cursed n doomed themselves, cos d words that comes out of our mouth is very powerful. We have millions of Nigerians scattered in Diaspora, if u can't handle d situation here, join dem abroad, instead of using ur stupid mouths to bring doom n hardship on ur lives. How can one call d land u till n feed from cursed??? No matter how angry one is about d situation of d country, u don't use such dispeakable n swear words cos u re heaping curses on urselves. I don't like d situation of Nigeria one bit, but Nigeria is not cursed, neither is she doomed. People should go out there n see cursed nations, then una go thank God for Nigeria.

8. If only our govt can start doing same to them like dey did to South Africa wen dey tried that their yellow fever card rubbish. How come Americans weren't banned as well. Anyway i don't blame them. I blame our government for keeping mute in cases like dis.

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    All i will say is that i hate being a Nigerian....

10. Nawa Ooo弡 ,dis is so annoying biko,Naija should sue thrm s dis cos dis is so embarrassing .

1. Trinidad and Tobago is a country that has racism even among their citizens. They hate blacks and will do anything to deny you your right. If not for the State of Nigeria, i wonder what our ppl are doing there. Third world country like ours

11. Why is the woman roaming about the world from US to trinidad

1. Because she is entitled to freedom of movement

2. You obviously have never travelled out of Nigeria before. Sorry ehn!

3. Stupid n unintelligent comment @Anon 9:09AM, SMH....

12. Chai! Our 'green passport' don suffer. Well, not their fault oo. My people go say "Na the name U call ya dog people go follow U call am".

What do U expect when our government and some citizens been disgracing Nigeria all over. No good reputations. #Senepiayeye *sipsbitterleafjuice*

1. Hi Manna Bee...Good morning and have a blessed day!

13. Sure, Stella, a country can be sued for this reason

14. ANGELRAY SAID
    I don't blame them, Nigerian passport is worthless, so plz quietly go back to where u came from cos I don't ve any advice for u.

15. Madam Stellino,its not only Trinidad and Tobago,Columbia,St Lucia and Jamaica have also placed a ban on people from certain West African countries and I agree with them totally,those are leaders who put their citizens first regardless of who is involved, this directive is supposed to be sent to all their foreign missions in the affected countries to stop issuing visa's, if that is not done and visas are issued then they can be sued for whatever expense you have incurred and damages for not bringing it to your notice but if u had the visa before the ban but decided to travel 'during' the ban there is nothing much u can do because it is a security directive with if breached has a potential of affecting the whole nation, u cant sue a country for upholding its constitutional responsibility of looking after its citizens.
    the ban has to start from someone its unfortunate it happened to this woman but their citizens come first, if u are from Africa u wont understand it,lol.
    #cat walking to court#

16. The green passport has never had integrity for a day. I really hope FG would look into all these unlawful discriminations. Really pathetic

17. Said it before I blame nigerian govt that never defends its citizens but instead they toss us around like used toilet paper.

Our passport has been a shame.. Every1 knows anybody can get a nigerian passport in few days.

1. You are so right. If you see how they extra checked my passort the other day at Miami airport. It was rly embarrassing.

18. The f/g should take action like they did the boy that was going to school. What rubbish. So embarrassing.

19. ***HEALING-RAIN***

Stella,ask Abike Dabiri,she always has answer for this kind matter in the house
    Anyway,nepa just carry light waka,update us with Oscar clitoris sentencing going on right now in S.A mbok.

20. **whistling. and strolling away**
    Me no get wetin I wan talk cos everybody don talk

1. More like whistling, farting and strolling away...big yansh boocalher egg dey?

21. Our green passport dey always shame me, its so sad...

22. Caribbean countries are fighting another kind of disease.Ask your Caribbean friends.They are hiding it.I hear there is no cure for whatever it is too.Please I think people stay put in one place just for a while except if it is really necessary. Will call my friend back to get the exact name of the thing.There country is not any better.Thank your God woman and go home

1. Gbam
      Like I said before, go's thank God!

2. The name of the dangerous disease is " Chikungunya" it is ravaging the Caribbean , thank me later

23. WHO is cleared Nigeria from Ebola. I am a Trinidadian working in Nigeria and I can say that Nigerians are the most respectful people I have ever met. They are highly intelligent and I am proud to be working here. Trinidad and Tobago should be proactive not overly reactive.................

1. Good Trinidad pikin!
      no mind your people!
      Which day them see light?

Pepper ose oku

2. Trini Naija babe21 October 2014 at 14:36

I am a Nigerian living in Trinidad and Tobago. I know a lot of Nigerian professionals working here in Trinidad. Doctors, lecturers, Nurses, Engineers etc. I do not know one illegal immigrant, not saying there aren't any but i do not know even one. We have law abiding Nigerians here.

24. If it was an American citizen that was turned back, the US Govt would have taken it up immediately but trust our Naija Govt to be slack over everything. I hope they step up this time around.

25. If the US that has the equipments screened her before she boarded that flight, then what is Trinidad and Tobago talking about when they dont even have the Ebola kits? Are they nullifying the screening by the Americans?

26. Trinidad and Tobago and all other countries must now do the right thing now that WHO declared Nigeria Ebola free. It will be unfair to put in place a blanket policy ban on Nigerian going about doing their legitimate business. Nigerian must not allow their citizens to be unfairly discriminate upon by any country. I hope Nigerian authority take their stand in giving all the support to their citizens from this unfairly discrimination and stereotyping by Trinidad and Tobago.

1. Well spoken. This should be a memo to Jonathan Goodluck. Stand up for your citizens. Make Nigerians proud of that green Passport. That not withstanding, i am a nigerian dual citizenship or not.

27. What is any boy looking for in that undeveloped place? The govt should return the favour to their citizens

28. Nigerian government you have a lot on your hands. wake up and defend your citizens

29. The outgoing Nigerian ambassador (as a representative of the Nigerian Government) has spoken against this ban (http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/news/Outgoing-Nigerian-diplomat-against-travel-ban-to-his-country).

I don't think anyone can stop a country from closing its borders in cases like this. Even their nationals coming in from any of the 4 countries are to be automatically quarantined for 21 days.

If Trinidad and Tobago have decided to place fears above facts regarding Ebola, it's really their choice.