Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Maryln Ogar Allegedly Demoted And Recalled From 3-Year Study Leave

Sunday, July 05, 2015

Maryln Ogar Allegedly Demoted And Recalled From 3-Year Study Leave

The newly appointed director general of the Department of State Security, Lawal Musa Daura, has allegedly demoted Marilyn Ogar, the agency’s former spokesperson, via a memo.

Just 4 days after he took over as the new DG of Department of State Service (DSS), Lawal Daura has allegedly suspended promotions done this year in the Service which were approved by former President Jonathan.

According to SaharaReporters, Ms. Ogar was seen as a controversial official of the DSS who often made statements that were deemed partisan. Her promotion was viewed as a reward for doing dirty political jobs for former President Goodluck Jonathan and members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Nigeriantimes revealed that the former Spokesman of DSS, Marylyn Ogar who got an approval to proceed on 3 years study leave for a Phd in UK during the tenure of the former DG, Ita Ekpeyong, has been asked to return to the country immediately.

Apart from demoting Ms. Ogar, the acting DSS director general also directed the demotion of numerous other officers of the agency who were just promoted in March in what was seen as a politically motivated exercise.

President Buhari in a circular, is said to have approved the reversal of all promotions in the DSS approved by the administration of President Jonathan from March 31.

The personnel affected include those promoted, converted and upgraded within the period under review. They are, therefore, to revert to their former ranks with immediate effect.

According to them, a memo released to operatives of the secret police and signed by Toma Minti on behalf of the DG indicated that President Buhari had spotted “observed lapses” in the promotions released from March 31 and has accordingly directed a suspension.

Promotions of officers in the DSS are usually done at the end of each year, but Ms. Ogar and 44 others were promoted last March. Even so, their promotion was not made public until May.

Mr. Daura also fired Abdulrahman Mani, the chief security officer to President Muhammadu Buhari and immediately replaced him with Bashir Abubakar, an assistant director in the Bayelsa State command of the DSS after which Mr. Mani was then posted to Ebonyi State.

*Original reportage by Sahara Reporters and Nigeriantimes rewritten here *

42 comments:

1. Ewoooo Ahmed ISah of BErekete FAmily will so laugh at Marilyn Ogar tomorrow on his program o after all her shakara. Epic disgrace.

2. That's what I just thought of now too o. That his wicked laugh lol, very rude woman

3. I miss abj and berekete family. I want him to laff,he is a good man

2. When Gej was doing last minute promotion, I knew that buhari's administration would reject them

3. Nigerian politicians come into office to ridicule the previous person in office

1. Not when there were obvious irregularities.

2. Ridicule?

The mess GEJ left behind has to be cleaned up.

she was busy acting so unprofessional with APC center data seizure statements.

4. Wonderful blow below d belt for Madam Ogar,but we'll deserving dou#rme#!the impunity in GEJ regime was overwhelming to d point dat security agents become partisan openly without fear of the law..well now d tables have turned!no more bizness as usual.
    Sai Baba#

1. This is epic disgrace o. How she wan take do am? Anyway the DSS and others like it are organisations were promotions should be deserved by merit. Proper scrutiny must be carried out. You can't just be promoting anyhow like it's a telecoms company. We are talking security here. Chai Chai

5. This is so bad.....

@DSS Ogar have been so consistent in RR work

I am just too delighted that my aunt retired last year September before this madness

6. Oya put another of Ur northern bros there

7. Nigerians, the change that you voted for is finally here.
    Change, my foot!
    An hausa man will always be an hausa man.
    If hausa people have their way, they will make sure that no other ethnic group occupy any important position in the country.

1. Shut your fucking tribalistic mouth and just think of Nigeria as a whole for once. Is it so hard to do?

2. I tire o,until we can let go of all this tribal sentiments,we may remain in this state for a long long long time

8. Let us assume this actually happened, I think its a good move except where the person actually deserved such promotion and got it on merit.

9. Very necessary. She was very partisan. She should also be redeployed to Borno for border patrol.
    Some dumb idiots a.k.a Eka joy and Linda Eze would come and spew rubbish here. Go to teslim balogun and take several seats.

1. Today is Sunday. Biko, respect urself.

10. Am not surprised. All na change

11. Hmmmmm I am so happy for this news, cos my dad was denied promotion for years even after passing the exam, promotion was been done politically...Crazy shit

12. I am happy to hear about her demotion,she talks anyhow and is truly controversial.

13. I heard d DSS DG is a very wicked man and he didn't only demot Meryln Ogar hr also demoted many other people who were promoted. I heard nobody likes him there, those are d kind of people Buhari likes. Those who voted Buhari will bite their fingers becos d wickedness is spreading like rain. Lol.

1. If transparency and accountability is now wickedness, you are the problem with Nigeria. Anyone who voted for Buhari for political gain is just waking up from sleep because that's not why he's there. Unlike GEJ who gave treasury key to everybody.

2. Exactly @anon20:03 dt is how in my husband's office dey brought a very strict woman,every one started calling her wicked because she asked them to do the right thing. It is bcos of the complete lack of structure in our system dt ppl wld see a straight forward person as wicked..

14. Gradually...this is good riddance to bad rubbish... this is d change we want...gradually

15. Once attended a conference where she was an invited guest. I was embarrassed by her comments.

16. thats the norm in any merger/acquisition scheme, APC don acquire Naija from PDP, lol more things to unfold

17. Anon 18:19 its so sad and such a pity that people like you see competence and someone trying to do his job right as wicked. It clearly shows that you are not exposed, if you were exposed and read the article for exactly what it is you will realize that all they are trying to do is clean up corruption and do the right thing by those who work hard and deserve promotions.

18. Bubu brought his brother to head this position. Okay o