Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari’s Arms Deal Probe: 13 Army Generals Admit Loots, To Return N1trillion

Monday, August 31, 2015

Buhari’s Arms Deal Probe: 13 Army Generals Admit Loots, To Return N1trillion

The arms purchase probe panel that was set up by President Muhammadu Buhari to probe contracts executed during the administrations of late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua to former President Goodluck Jonathan, has started sitting with not less than 13 allegedly indicted retired generals opting for plea bargain.

A highly placed defence source at the weekend told Nigerian Pilot Sunday that the retired generals numbering 13 out of the 19 that are expected to be quizzed by the probe panel have already approach some members of the panel for amicable settlement of the matter than appearing before the panel.

According to the source, a former National Security Adviser is allegedly the arrowhead of the negotiation, if the members of the panel will accept their request. The security source further added that the 13 retired military chiefs are willing to refund N1 trillion to the federal government as part of the plea bargain arrangement.

The source added that the chairman of the probe panel is yet to take a decision on the proposal given to him by the affected indicted generals. Not fewer than 19 former military chiefs are to be quizzed by the panel. 

They are five Chiefs of Defence Staff, 14 Service Chiefs; four National Security Advisers, NSAs and eight former Ministers of Defence. The probe has created panic among retired military chiefs who coordinated arms purchases in the last eight years.

Nigerian Pilot Sunday learnt that five Israelis, who played major roles in arms procurement for the military, in the last six years, are to be invited by the committee, whose members were named on Monday after President Muhammadu Buhari’s directive. The Israelis reportedly left the country on the eve of the general elections, but will be summoned by the probe panel to appear before it.

The government has directed that tight security be provided for members of the panel. The assignment is comprehensive. It will run through many administrations.

The source further added, “The probe will require looking into the administrations of five Chiefs of Defence Staff, 14 Service Chiefs; four National Security Advisers and eight former ministers. It is a Herculean task.
“Already, there is panic in the circle of retired military officers on the intent of the evaluation of arms purchase. Some of these former military chiefs have reached out to panel members to allow them have access to relevant 
documents.” The source gave insight into why it is necessary to invite the former CDS, Service Chiefs, NSAs and ex-ministers.

“All arms deals were not subjected to the nation’s procurement laws even though the late President Umaru Yar’Adua specifically said there should be no due process waiver for the military. Nigerian Pilot Sunday gathered that the panel might look into the administration of five Chiefs of Defence Staff, 14 Service Chiefs; four National Security Advisers and eight former Ministers of Defence.

The Chiefs of Defence Staff from 2007 to 2015 are: 

the late Lt.-Gen. Owoye Andrew Azazi (2007-2008); 

Air Chief Marshal Paul Dike (2008-2010); 
Air Chief Marshal Oluseyi Petinrin (2010- 2012); 

Admiral Ola Ibrahim (2012- 2014); 

Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh (2014-2015). 

As for the Nigerian Army, those to be under searchlight are late 

Lt.- Gen. Luka Yusuf (2007-2008), 

Lt.- Gen. Abdurrahman Dambazzau (2008-2010), 

Lt.-Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika (2010-2014) 

and Lt.-Gen. Kenneth Minimah (January 2014- July 2015).

In the Nigerian Navy, the investigation will cover the following past Chiefs of Naval Staff: 

Vice Admiral GT Adekeye (2005-2008);

Vice Admiral II Ibrahim (2008-2010); 

Vice Admiral OS Ibrahim (2010-2012); 

Vice Admiral DJ Ezeoba (2012-2013) 

and Vice Admiral UO Jibrin (2013- 2015).

For the Air Force, the scope of the probe will affect the tenures of the following officers and their teams. They include 

Air Marshal Paul Dike (2006-2008); 

Air Marshal Oluseyi Petirin (2008- 2010); 

Air Marshal Mohammed Dikko Umar (2010-2012); 

Air Marshal Alex Badeh (2012-2014) 

and Air Marshal Adesola Amosu (2014-2015).

The National Security Advisers from 2007 to 2014 are: 

Gen. Aliyu Gusau; 

the late Gen. Owoye Azazi; 

Gen. Sarki Mukhtar; 

and Col. Sambo Dasuki. 

The Ministers of Defence within the timeframe of the panel are:
 Yayale Ahmed (2007- 2008); 
Shettima Mustapha (2098- 2009); 
Godwin Abbe (2009-2010); 
Adetokunbo Kayode (2010-2011); 
Bello Haliru Mohammed (2011- 2012); 
Erelu Olusola Obada (2012- 2013) ; 
Gen. Aliyu Gusau (2013- 2015) 
and Musiliu Obanikoro (2012-2014).

Culled from newspunch.org

29 comments:

1. Nigerians messiah

1. Ewooo,
      Ihegirika was a worthy aristo when he was in office tho.
      That man thief no be small
      5-10 thousand dollars per night,depending on ur connect and packaging
      But the man dey take native Viagra sha so ur pussy shall hear it lmao!

2. Did I put DOLLARS?
      Yes u read right!
      For d ihejirika gist
      Bye

2. Mhzzbee international31 August 2015 at 08:50

Jesus!!! 1trillion? I don faint
    Let these thieves face panel now and rot in jail.

1. Folds and wrings hands while muttering to self
      *1 trillion not sand not stone 1 trillion naira not billion , trillion* strolls around shouts "wetin come remain for our economy if 1 trillion Don waka, chei"
      Out of the abundance they return this much how much do they still have in their "reserve", hei!

3. Probe all of them and return our money but also note d Harllibortun scandal is a must probe cos is a national disgrace.

4. cheeeeeiiiii....diaris God oooo.. THE FEAR OF BUHARI IS THE BEGINNING OF WISDOM! I like this govt meehhnn.. they should still be probed and punished, cos i feel there is more of the stolen money than what they are willing to drop.

5. Great news......I hope dem thieves r all fished out.

6. OMG!
    One trillion naira to be returned already.
    We thank God for Buhari.
    He is the messiah we ve all been waiting for.
    The economy is in a wonderful shape.
    We never had it so good.
    One naira is now equal to one dollar as Buhari promised us during his campaign.
    Wow.
    May Buhari rule forever.

1. Money Maker is like when God was giving sense u went to the bush, stop being foolish and try to be positive.
      One Love.
      Miss E.

2. Money marker one day u ll end up drinking rat poison to cool down ur high blood pressure . Take it or leave it buhari is ur president, PDP is dead, no more business as usual, jonathan is a failure, ur are a loser, poverty ll end in dis country, Stealing is now corruption, clueless man ll never b nigeria president again, fuel price ll soon come down, power ll stable cos without b touch by govt many av started seeing d diff . Buhari ll surly take us to promise land. GOD bless Nigeria and positive people in dis country.

7. That is why bokoharam has been winning this war. See how these people looted everthing. Good they are going behind the door to pay their dues.

8. Plea bargain MUST come with jail term, and if any other money is discovered not to have been returned then the person serves a greater term of atleast 20yrs. This is treason because you have exposed the country to both internal and external aggression which can lead to the total destruction of the country.

Why i dont support plea bargain is: lets say i still 10bn in my 1st yr of appointment, if i invest that money i will make as much in the lets say 4yrs my appointment will last, then am probed and i return that money, i would still have 10bn profits that i will keep. So they should arrange for interests to be paid to the FG on the money stolen.

1. Am telling if found guilty this is a TREASONABLE OFFENCE!!

9. while i applaud the Buhari administration for trying very hard to address this corruption issue, its really difficult to say for sure what's actually going on. everyday were fed with various scandalous headlines in the media.

one day they're facing and recovering stolen loot from the security sector, next day its NNPC, day after its presidency, tomorrow its professor ('reverend father') sagay calling for confessionals, after that comes Lai Mohammed with mind boggling figures and then of course Osho Baba comes with his 'American list of looters' and daily press statements.

The fight against corruption doesn't appear to be coherent at all. can Mr president organize this process in a more systematic, cohesive matter. have one central source where information is disseminated (there are too many people throwing figures about) and be transparent about what has been recovered, where it has been put and how it will be used.

is there a central account where he recovered loot is going? how much of these zillions were reading about are accurate figures or are we just being tantalized?

1. Seconded. The process needs to be streamlined.

10. Yet, some 'blind bats' won't see anything good to say about him.

May God see you through PMB. Keep it up Sir.

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Baba is working no doubt....

12. Late Azazi's own is dead and gone. Na the living go sort this one out.

13. Buhari is a dullard. But I will pick him a hundred timed more than that paraga drinking PhD holder of a president.

1. Yeiii
      Jona Don hear from your hand oooo

2. OMg!see finishing .lol

14. A probe of ex military heads, on the surface, seems justified esp given the strength of BH militants for this length of time. So, if it is actually meant to curb the insurgency and rein in their access to illegal acqusition of weapons from some of this ex military heads & their foot soldiers, then it is welcome. However, if this probe is a coded activity to uncover the military strength and readiness of a perceived enemy aka non-northerners aka non-muslims in today's Naija, then that is an entirely different agenda. Th/4 make una dey use una tongue, count teeth well-o. QED@atm

15. May God help our leaders to move this country on the right path to grateness, peace and unity. The issues at stake should be viewed from a nationalistike point of view rather from any sectional or premodial sentiment.