Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari's Media Aide Shehu Garba Explains Why His Boss Travels Frequently..

Monday, November 30, 2015

President Buhari's Media Aide Shehu Garba Explains Why His Boss Travels Frequently..

Garba Shehu, senior special assistant to the president on media and publicity, says President Muhammadu Buhari does not travel for pleasure.

He also said the president travels with his “cook and luggage officer” unlike the former president “who travelled with large delegations”.

Reacting to the criticisms that have trailed the president’s trips abroad, Shehu made reference to how Sani Abacha, former head of state, was “despised for not representing his country abroad”.

He said Buhari was embarking on those journeys in the interest of the country, saying unlike his predecessor who was fond of travelling with a large retinue of aides, Buhari has brought down the number to a “bearable minimum”.

“In the delegations accompanying him abroad, President Buhari has slashed the numbers, bringing them down to a tolerable or the bearable minimum,” Shehu said in an article revealed to The Leadership Newspaper.

“He went to the United Nations General Assembly in September with an unbelievable 32 officials in his delegation. These included his cook, his doctor and luggage officer.

“His predecessor in office went to the same meeting with 150 officials and family members the year before.

“Wherever they are given government accommodation and feeding, members of President Buhari’s entourage receive reduced allowances, thereby saving the government some money.

“All trips have been marked by tight schedules. Meeting after meeting, happening back-to-back morning, afternoon and evening. The president has had to travel overnight for some of these meetings.

Shehu said since he assumed office, the president has visited 13 countries, adding that the trips were not meant for pleasure but to discuss serious issues.

Accusing the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) of trivialising the president’s foreign trips, Shehu  said: “If President Buhari is successful as a leader, the PDP will be history”.

“There is no reason to be angry with anyone criticising President Buhari for traveling abroad. In politics, even if President Buhari were to bring with him a suitcase full of cash and a pot gold each time he returned from a trip, someone will criticize him, saying that the journey is wasteful,” Shehu said.

“The PDP will kick, knowing that they got 16 years and did nothing with it. Those who didn’t do much during their term of governance will find it instructive to fault whatever the president is doing.

“The visit by any president to another country is the highest act in international relations. It sends out a message that that county is important to the visitor.

“It is not like your usual vacation abroad. Official discussions involving political leaders, the military, the diplomats and at times, business people are held at multi- track levels. In foreign policy you stand on a quick sand of events and you slip up if take a rest or lose focus.

“Governments also know that their achievements at home will be meaningless if they cannot project them abroad. Who or where are the foreign investors,whose hand you are seeking if you can’t travel to meet them? Will they come if they don’t know about the country?

“Now, countries such as France, UK, The U.S are supporting Nigeria with intelligence, weapons and training for our military against Boko Haram and the economic saboteurs in the Delta region.

“President Buhari will definitely make Nigeria great,what the PDP fooled us for 16 years.

“All heads of countries around the world now take Nigeria seriously. His foreign trips are for business, security of the country and bilateral contacts- contacts that get actualised by follow-ups and the love and support a leader enjoys at home and abroad.

“Today the world is in a warm embrace of President Muhammadu Buhari.

“Nigerians should be proud of the attention, love and admiration, importance, respect and investment he is bringing to Nigeria. These trips are not for enjoyment.”

*I wonder why people are complaining,most Presidents of the world attend all the meetings he attends,Why is it that only Nigerians are complaining?How will  his sitting down one place get anything done?He has appointed people who will see to those things you people want hurriedly done,lets focus our gaze on this people.
Even Germany's BudesKanzlerin Angela Merkel is a frequent traveller!
This is my two cents opinion,dont waste your browsing time cussing me out for this please.Disagree to agree in peace.

49 comments:

1. The mumu media aide had to mention the past administration?
      Does he have to attend all?
      Why can't he delegate his workers to some so he can stay back and tackle the issues at hand?
      Stella, the country is in a mess,
      We want our president to look for solutions rather than gallivanting 'upandan'

2. I remember his first official visit after becoming President was to Chad, a peace meeting on how to tackle the insurgency. And I remember clearly he was criticized from that very first trip. They said oh, why is he traveling when he only just assumed power. Meanwhile his visit to Chad became a fruitful one.
      So I'm used to Nigerians and their incessant criticism of this man. It started from day one. Let's criticise him for what he's done or has failed to do.. but not for visits to countries to discuss what'll benefit the nation. It was when Buhari started to honour these invited that countries where our monies have been laundered started to resurface. His countenance showed that of a leader who was serious, and as such he's being taken seriously and it's bringing honour back to our dear country.

2. Abeg Leave my Baba bubu alone! Its nobody's bizzness!
    Get a life Nigerians.

3. This man travels too much and yet there is fuel scarcity and a lot of hardship in Nigeria now ,that is why people are complaining badly ,Stella you are there and don't know what is happening in Nigeria ,u are not feeling it that is why u speak this way

4. Stella biko, most presidents attend some and send delegates to some, this one attends all.

Then this buhari's media aide is not only stupid but lacks presentation. Did he have to mention pdp, is it the pdp ppl that are complaining or the masses???

Lots of issues going on at home but this hausa muturu won't even say anything about any of those but will be 'garariing' up and down. And this is d yeye excuse this media aide can come up with.

Anyways it's for their gullible apc supporters. Over to them and their yeye comments.

5. Leave the former president alone,let him be.

6. Abeg keep shut Mr man. No one gives a flying fuck about your stupid explanations.
    Yes, let us complain. You people made PDP look like devils and yet you come into power and do the same and even worse...and you expect us not to talk? Rubbish!
    You are still opening your mouth to condemn the former government while trying to prove a point. How silly.
    If your Oga likes, let him travel with Dolls or Robots, the issue still stands, he is traveling too much. Keep your ass in one place and tackle the issues in Nigeria. December has come, BH is still wrecking havoc.
    Lying liars...
    PDP and APC, same shit; different air freshener.

1. Lol...chimo...same shit, different air freshener.

7. They should save this yeye explanation abeg. Who send am message? If he likes he should travel with his toilet and bathroom. Since he became president, ngaghari ka nwokem a n'eme. That his aide should leave Jonathan out of this his unwanted gist. Haba! No be money he de use travel? No light, no water, no fuel, serious lack. Will his travelling solve all this? Buhari come back and be president of Nigeria @least for 24 hours. Mtcheeeeeeeeew. Ezigbo iwe ewegom eziokwu.

8. I respect Buhari.

I don't respect APC.

People voted for the person (Buhari) not the party (APC) which is not different from PDP.

Baba please provide results.

9. Nigerians always looking for how to pull Buhari's govt down. If he does not attend meetings, the same group will accuse him of not representing the country in international forum. Let's allow him do the job he was elected to do. 6months no be 4yrs. He has more time to accomplish his political manifestoes.

10. This Shehu should just shut up!...
    Must they attach PDP to their failures?...cant he send his vice?...must he attend?...
    I heard they spend almost $500k in each trip...
    Nonsense!...
    It's now obvious that Buhari is using these tours to hide his loot...
    Smart aboki!...

11. Nonsense press release, citizens are complaining about their leader you are talking about PDP. We do not care about PDP, we care about good governance irrespective of party. Nigerians are impatient and need the urgent change you promised not travelling. Each trip cost tax payers at least $3M or 600M naira and here we are complaining about cash.
    America, UK,Germany trips are necessary as a new leader but others are not until you settle down.
    After Paris, you planned another unnecessary trip to South Africa. What's in SA after your last visit? Shehu, please advise PMB to keep his ass at home and solve our HUGE problem. He can choose to travel when things are a bit settled not now, too much of everything is bad.

"Governments also know that their achievements at home will be meaningless if they cannot project them abroad"

Yes Nigeria need investors assurance but your trip become meaningless if your government can not project it's achievement at home to citizens first before world leaders. Charity they say begins at home we already have HUGE domestic issues that need his urgent attention. Some of this discussion can be achieved on the phone or send out your Vice President. No fuel, No light, exchange rate still high, crime is high, Boko haram still on. Ministers are in comatose after being appointed since 3weeks.
    Reduce your trip for now SIR, STOP giving us excuses.
    No SDK people need to complain because it's their right, those other leaders have settled government unlike us. He can travel less, he need to seat at home to resolve critical issues affecting our nation.

1. Thanks for saying my mind.

2. Oh the travel expenses are in millions and I was here thinking lt's in thousands...
      Orinma!...

3. Where did u get all these figures? Better u go to aso rock wt all dis ur sense & stop wasting away here.

4. For Jay Moore who was supporting pmb to say this, then there's trouble!

12. money maker and fellow dummies over to you.

13. Stella, today you are here, tomorrow, you change direction. Traffic light!

14. This their tactic is getting old abeg. Mr media aide this tactic of slaying jonathans admin 2 make ur boss look good is cheap and old. Nigerians want solutions to d growing economic crisis and fuel situation. More clueless than jonah n his peeps

15. He's running away from Biafra and his democratic duties, shekina, QED

16. And the blaming game continues.....
    It's high time this worthless comparison between PDP and APC led administration stops.
    Let him continue with his foreign trips so long its in the interest of the nation but I am yet to see the positive impact of the trips he has embarked so far.

17. Almost 7months after election and these people are still blaming PDP for all their woes. I don't just understand this new government. We are in a deep mess. Tufiakwa.

18. Why does this administration always compare EVERYTHING they do to Jonathan's Administration? Before Jonathan, we had Yaradua and OBJ. Instead of delivering all their campaign promises, they seem to just keep yapping about what the past administration did wrong. If the past administration was fantastic, would they have won the positions? Empty vessels make the loudest noise... Stop yapping and start delivering or admit you are incapable and step aside.

19. Thank God mr shehu said if Buhari succeeds, that's to say even they know that he's not going anywhere. Pls stop comparing Buhari to Gej it's very childish and shows that you are clueless, go and learn from Labaran Mako how to give press release. See you comparing yourself to other countries whose presidents are attending the summits as if you can do that in every area, pls park well obakpo.

20. Cant the man talk without referring to Jona. Anyway Jona is way better than Chai Baba.

No fuel anywhere and he has travelled all over the world. He should go and visit Aghanistan then i will know he has completed his trip for this year

21. This Press release didn't go down well with me.
    I mean must u reply people all d time? And also reveal d President's travel detail? Hian.
    Anyone dat doesn't know that Presidents tavel a lot should continue his or ignorance in bliss....hehehe

And now instead of u to focus on just explaining why he has to travel (which isn't necessary in d first place) u are here mentioning PDP and Oga Jona.
    As If we didn't already know he was an Mbali.

U just made d whole press release seem childish.
    Next time,focus on d info u want we d public to get and forget d comparisons.

22. by dere name u shall know them......... dat awkward moment when ibo man dey say ''fayose na my man'' I knew there was a conspiracy

23. Excuses everywhere......what has jonathan's administration gat to do with the current situation.

24. Excuses everywhere......what has jonathan's administration gat to do with the current situation.

25. Good to know.
    Mr ffk and mr fayose pls take note.
    And farabale!

26. Guys you remember the first time pmb was over thrown was as aresult of his travellings, hope they don't impeach him this time.

27. This Garba Shehu doesn't know the onus of his job.... What has GEJ got to with the complaints of Buhari's tours? And by the way, GEJ went with batallion and brought investors but Buhari has travelled more than GEJ yet we haven't seen 5cents in investments instead the ones GEJ brought in are pulling out and our economy is getting weaker and weaker..... End time president according to one trillion

28. @sisi eko..... Please elucidate which of his trips has yielded any fruits. I was one of the millions to villify him on that trip to Chad because he crucified GEJ for going to neighbouring countries to join efforts against Boko Haram citing that the Nigerian could win the boko war on its own without assistance

29. Even when Jesus was on earth he was criticized ...humans I Knw can Neva be satisfied ..wen Jona ruled dey complained now Pmb still d same blabbing ,and finking we d masses are guilty of not wanting change and development due to lack of patient and support to our leaders ,rememba dey are humans like u and me ,so dnt expect dem to feed u with breast milk wen dey have no boobs ....stand up and work for yourselves

30. Truth is most PDP supporters and members will look for the slightest reason to throw this man under the bus.i think it's really myopic to say "he travels too much"cos obviously the man isn't travelln for pleasure he's over 70 I very much doubt travelln abroad is a biggie,hes been dere and done dat over and over,His travels r in d interest of our country,the fact that you don't see it now doesn't mean it's not happening.Rome wasn't built in a day.

31. Truth is most PDP supporters and members will look for the slightest reason to throw this man under the bus.i think it's really myopic to say "he travels too much"cos obviously the man isn't travelln for pleasure he's over 70 I very much doubt travelln abroad is a biggie,hes been dere and done dat over and over,His travels r in d interest of our country,the fact that you don't see it now doesn't mean it's not happening.Rome wasn't built in a day.

32. He's off the point. It's about the citizens living in hardship not PDP. He should be at home looking to make Nigeria better and perhaps send his VP to represent the country overseas.