Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abia Students Protest Being Used And Dumped By Senator Mao Ohuabunwa

Sunday, January 31, 2016

Abia Students Protest Being Used And Dumped By Senator Mao Ohuabunwa

The umbrella covering all Abia North students, Federation of Abia North Students (FANS) took to a peaceful protest during the week over the alleged deceitful act carried against them by embattled senator representing Abia North senatorial district, Mao Ohuabunwa.

Describing his act as being fraudulent and malicious, the students across the varsities in Abia state threw an open warning to the former senator when they said, he should never dream of coming around the higher institutions in the area for campaigns again..lol

Addressing newsmen during their protest, the leader of the students’ group, Comrade Kalu Austin Kalu called on the former senator to fulfill the promises he made to them or face consequences of its damage.

On what transpired, Comrade Kalu said that the former senator who allegedly used and dumped them invited all the students from their senatorial district, “he promised to pay us the sum of five thousand each for coming out to canvass votes with him. After the tour, he gave us two thousand naira, and thereafter promised to complete it.

“When we threatened to protest over it, he gave out a number that we should reach him later with, but after that day, the number refused to connect. Our annoyance is not just about him using us, but he went further to put us on camera, which he aired and tagged us graduates he gave jobs and scholarships to.

“We are protesting to re-educate the electorate that the former senator, Mao Ohuabunwa never gave any job or scholarship as he claimed in the video clips he aired. Till this time, he is yet to fulfill his own side of an agreement with us. And we are assuring him of absolute failure on the day of rerun. We will make sure he fails going to the Senate again,” he said on behalf of the group.

Vowing not to align under him for the rerun, the students said that the Appeal Court’s disqualification to his election was an act from God, stressing that it will create fresher opportunities for credible candidate to emerge.    

27 comments:

1. Good for them!! How can u go and trade your destiny for 5000 naira? May they con tongue to deceive us until we open our eyes.

2. See how cheaply they sold their soul.Nigerian youths rise up don't sell ur destiny to this destiny killers.poverty is a curse,making people reason upside down

3. Lol! Shameless students!!!

BLucinda

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. That is how heavy refuse were dumped in junctions in some part of owerri, there were lots of traffic everywhere, I couldn't reverse and turn back

6. He bought their votes. End of story. What were they thinking? One would think that students ought to be intellectuals.

7. Ohuabunwa should be ashamed of himself.

8. So they believe the senator b4 hmm. So people still live, who belive all these criminals... the senator should stop lying with a NO SEE SCHOLARSHIP.... stupid leaders

9. That's what deh do even to its whole citizen. No be new thing

10. Daft students. Your parents go send una to school only for you to about canvassing votes for rogue politicians. It serves y'all right and I hope when some of you decide to attempt any funny, your various institutions should expel y'all since una nor wan get sense.

11. This Igbo people are constantly playing the victims. Haba don't they get tired of protesting and playing victims in life??? What tha hell.

12. Stupid children! So you guys campaigned and allowed him lie using your faces,not because he deserved the post but because he promised payment? Not even better educational facilities or free shuttle buses in d least but 5k? How many days una go chop am? These guys should be very ashamed. I wish this act was a crime so the could get arrested. When you sell your right for 5k without batting an eyelid,why won't the peeps in power trample on you? They know 97% of the youths are so gullible and don't see farther than their noses. Stupid fools! I hope he doesn't give them a faden!

1. Thank you oh jare.
      They even have guts to complain.
      5k.

Lol.

What the promise of 5K has done to Nigerian youths!

13. Lmao!they are equally dubious youths without morals.why did they agree to d deceitful arrangement?if their lil stipends were fully paid to them,we wouldn't even hear of this!this is just to proove over and over that we d citizens are guilty of aiding these politicians in accomplishing their evil propaganda,when they get there as usual not keeping to their promises,(cos it's not in dem nyway)we start to scream blue murder!so as for me,these miscreants supposed to be students should be ashamed of themselves.they just got served!

14. Useless students. Anyway, like Mao Ohuabunwa like Orji Uzor Kalu. Two of them must fail in this rerun

15. Hungry people all over their region.

16. For Mere 5K Y'all Sold Your Fundamental Right. #Shame

17. Mao na confirmed aka gum. His tightfistedness is legendary.

18. For 5k and you are not ashamed. No wonder Osibanjo said the Nigerian youth is not appoint-able