Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pinnick Says NFF Wanna Hire Foreign Coach For Eagles

Monday, February 29, 2016

Pinnick Says NFF Wanna Hire Foreign Coach For Eagles

After Sunday Oliseh resigned from the Super Eagles as head coach in the early hours ofFriday morning, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has resolved to look beyond indigenous coaches in subsequent hiring of a substantive manager for the three-time African champions.

Fielding questions at the colloquium organised as part of the 18th Annual Africa Business Conference of the Harvard Business School, Boston, Massachusetts, United States, President of the NFF, Amaju Melvin Pinnick, said at the weekend that the federation had reached the “last bus stop” in keeping faith with local coaches.

Two ex-internationals, Stephen Keshi, and until last Friday, Sunday Oliseh, were in charge of the senior national team. While Keshi won an African Cup of Nations in his first stint at South Africa 2013, he failed to qualify Nigeria to defend the same trophy two years after.

Oliseh on the other hand was in charge of the senior national team for seven months during which he played 14 games and lost two. One of the losses was against Guinea which led to the elimination of Nigeria at the group stage of CHAN 2016 in Rwanda.

According to hotsports.tv, the federation has decided to search for a quality European coach to take charge of the senior national team.
Another ex-international whom Keshi took over from in 2011, Samson Siasia, is the current caretaker manager for Nigeria’s make or mar AFCON 2017 clash with Egypt next month.

“After this Sunday Oliseh debacle, we have definitely turned the corner. We are now going to start shopping for a well grounded and qualified foreign coach to tinker the team. Enough is enough,” declared Pinnick at the Harvard colloquium.
The NFF supremo insisted that there was a world of difference between a good coach and a good manager.
“What we have learnt is that there is a world of difference between being a good coach and being a good manager,” he said with ample emphasis as he fielded questions from a captivated audience who had been enthralled by Pinnick’s contribution as the lead panelist at the colloquium.

Although there have been speculations that the NFF leadership was looking in the direction of French man Harve Renard, a development that was partly responsible for Oliseh dumping Eagles, checks by THISDAY revealed that Nigeria is gunning to hire a top European manager.
Pinnick however did not reveal the identity of who was in the radar of the NFF at the Harvard confab.
The NFF president, who was in company with the Permanent Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports, Mr. Chinyeaka Christian Ohaa, served as a distinguished panelist for the paper, Football in Africa. Foremost sports marketer/promoter and Chairman of Hotsports Media Group, Mr. Taye Ige, was also at the conference.

Na wah!...More money to be paid out but if that will get Nigeria back its lost glory,what do I say?

18 comments:

1. Na wah...
    But Oga Pinnick u no dey hear all d "Made in Naija" Campaign?

1. Don't mind those idiots. White man mentality. And the stupid super eagles players will lick an oyibo man shit but they will feel too big for a Nigerian coach.
      This is why Nigeria will keep suffering. Let me hear anyone that will complain about dollar again.
      Nonsense.

2. Don't mind those idiots. White man mentality. And the stupid super eagles players will lick an oyibo man shit but they will feel too big for a Nigerian coach.
      This is why Nigeria will keep suffering. Let me hear anyone that will complain about dollar again.
      Nonsense.

3. Yet they were owing Oliseh and co. Idiats.

2. They should try J J Okocha. He could be the moses we ve been looking for.

3. Foreign ke! What av d once dey employed in d past get for them! Money wastage.

4. What's 'wanna' in your heading?

What do we gain from these sports financially and economically?

5. I say no.

The same challenges will be faced by the foreign ones made even worse by the language barrier.

I still maintain that major interference from NFF,office politics, narcissistic attitude from players etc are fundamental issues holding us back.

You had 2 foreign coaches,Westerhof and Jo Bonferé remember? We all know why they left.

6. Keshi was actually a veey good coach. Anyways if the foreign coach will get us to where we need to be then no wahala. This amaju pinnick is fine though

7. Dem no get money to pay Oliseh & his crew, provide accommodation for him, but they'll be able to raise funds to satisfy the demands of a white man shey? #double standards!

*Ghanaman signing out*

1. Don't mind the idiots. I hate our mentality!

2. I tire oh. I wonder how they expect an angry hungry man to deliver. Pay their salaries, they won't, yet they expect them to win matches.

8. Foolish NFF. useless set of people that always interfere

9. NFF officials are always looking for ways to make money through this foreign coach propanganda. They will frustrate our local coaches, and offer ten times more the salary to a foreign coach and then go behind and take their cut. They're greedy and enemies of Nigerian football, they don't care about success they only care for about their pockets.