Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's History -Part 1

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Nigeria's History -Part 1

We all know that History is the study of past events but there are some events you might not know or Remember!
Come on Lets revisit History....
Did you know that?
1. The River Niger Bridge at Onitsha was constructed between 1964 and 1965 by Dumez- a French construction company and cost £5 million.

2. Patience Jonathan is one of Nigeria’s most-educated First Ladies, with an NCE, a B.Ed, and a PhD from University of Port-Harcourt.

3. The highest peak in Nigeria is located in Taraba and is called Chappal Waddi which means “The Mountain of Death”.

4. There are 196 countries in the world and at least one Igbo person from Nigeria lives in every one of them.

5. The Pidgin word ‘Sabi’ came from ‘Saber’, Portuguese and Spanish for ‘to know’. Both country’s ships traded slaves from the Bight of Benin.

6. Katsina College (now Barewa College in Zaria) has produced 5 Nigerian Presidents/Heads of State since it was founded in 1921 in Katsina.

7. Ojukwu taught Murtala Mohammed and Ben Adekunle at Regular Officers Special Training School, Ghana. Both ‘fought’ their teacher during the civil war

8. At Nigeria’s independence in 1960, there were 41 Secondary Schools in the North and 842 Secondary Schools in the South.

9. In 1983, Senator Arthur Nzeribe spent $16.5 million to win a Senatorial seat in Orlu (in Imo State).

10. In 1973, the Federal Government of Nigeria considered officially changing the name of “Lagos” to “Eko”. Regarding “Lagos” as a colonial name.

11. The geographical area now referred to as Nigeria was once referred to as ‘Soudan’ and ‘Nigiritia’.

12. Offences punishable by death sentence after the 1966 coup included embezzlement, rape and homosexuality.

13. MKO Abiola was named Kashimawo (Let us wait and see) by his parents. He was his father’s twenty-third child, but the first to survive infancy.

14. Jaja Wachucku was the first person to refer to Lagos as a “no-man’s land” in 1947, provoking a national controversy.

15. Jollof rice, chicken breast, serve of ice cream, tea, coffee or Bournvita, with full cream milk and sugar: Meal Cost = 50Kobo- Unilag in the late 1970s

16. At the point death in 1989, Sam Okwaraji was a PhD candidate and qualified lawyer with an LL.M in International Law (University of Rome)

17. When British Bank of West Africa (now First Bank) opened a branch in Kano in 1929, Alhassan Dantata (Dangote’s Grandfather) opened an account depositing 20 camel-loads of silver coins.

18. Jaja Wachuku is reputed to have owned the biggest one-man library in West Africa. Balewa sometimes referred to him as “Most Bookish Minister

19. The colonization of Nigeria took more than 40 years to achieve and the territories were integrated by the use of force.

20. Yoruba is spoken as a ritual language the Santeria cult in Carribean and South-Central America.

21. Slavery existed in the Nigerian territory before the 15th century and was abolished in the 19th century- 1807 by the British.

22. At least 55 women were killed in South-East Nigeria, in 1929 when the women forced the Umuahia warrant chiefs to submit to their rule.

23. The coinage ‘Supreme Court’ was first used in 1863 by the colonial administration through the enactment of the Supreme Court Ordinance No. II.

24. MKO Abiola died suddenly on July 7, 1998, exactly one month after General Sani Abacha died mysteriously on June 8, 1998.

25. Agbani Darego was the only one to wear a maillot as opposed to a bikini during the Miss Universe contest in 2001.

Culled from Facebook

47 comments:

1. All I see is Pat Jonathan's n Dangote's (wealth has always ran in dat fan)
      I see Abiola too(let's wait n see)

2. That was how my grandfather will not even shut up, always making mouth of how he was the best palm mine tapper of his time, how he went climbs palm tree without the rope and all bla bla, his mates were depositing 20 carmel load of coins in First bank.
      MtchewWwwww. After now some people will say Oil well.

3. Anonymous 14:30 Lmaooo. U no well at all at all. See my laughing hysterically here. Oh dear.

Ah ah @ Patience Jonathan. Lol.

Dangote was born into wealth and affluence. No controversy.

MKO Abiola, destiny's child.

Who else?

2. Choi numbers 15 and 20 😂
    So colonization was even done forcefully. No wonder

3. 2- hahaha odiegwu.all these degrees for mama peace

4- yeah we bad like that *shinesteeth*

12- asides homosexuality though,d law should be re enacted o jare...rapist and embezzlers should be killed

1. Lol @my 1st statement
      I wonder what sort of english I wrote there

2. Jaja wachukwu and Sam okwaraji all from my home town Amaigbo!

4. Fact 4: Igbo Kwenu!!!!
    My people, my people

5. Knowledge is power. Thanks Mrs korkus.
    But I thought PGJ's Dr. Was honorary from uni port.

6. I like #4
    Igbo pple are awesome
    Igbo girl to the socks

Instagram___hanaokafor

Miss Freeborn!!

7. Dangote has always had it easy from the beginning, born with a silver spoon.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

1. He didn't... His mother was disowned and he lived the first part of his life in abject poverty.
      He made money from a loan given him by family and never quite had it easy

2. But his family name opened doors for him.

8. I can still remember Abiola s death.
    The govt asked him to give up his imaginary mandate and they will release him. But he stubbornly prefer to die like a chicken inside jail.

9. Waooooooooo
    Nice
    Good to know

10. I love history, I love this!

11. I read that Nzeribe promised to match the Shagari govt dollar for dollar, naira for naira and bag of rice for bag of rice during the campaign.

12. Wow, have learnt a lot. Patience jothanan, the first and most educated first lady of Nigeria. Hmmmm

13. $16.5M in 1983? Now dat's a lot of money.

14. Good to know a little of our History
    Heard they stopped it in secondary schools don't no how far that is true.
    Side Eye to Penalty by death if you embezzle, Rape and Homo do yourself
    You made my day...Twuale Iya Germani.

15. History no 2, waoh our immediate past first lady was so schooled. All that qualifications? Amaze balls. ✌

1. Except you are just being sarcastic, I will like you to know that her PhD was honorary. You are welcome,

16. @number 4.Anywhere you see me you call me onye igbo, maka na abum onye igbo........... igbo amakaaaaaaaaaa.... igbo amaka#singing.

1. ...I waka I never see, beautiful people ooo ooo ooo, Igbo amaka, abum onye igbo...#iHeartFlavour

2. ... ndi Igbo n'emezi Obodo, ndi Igbo n'ahazi Obodo, anyi neme I've mara nma... #FBI#

17. This is lovely.
    Eyah Mama Pee...God got ya back always

18. the second one got me rolling in laughter. mama peace no body fit try you. na who English epp? with or with out english she was the first lady. its been registered in the sands of time.Mko Abiola have seen tins sha.

19. Mama Peace of Africa i hail thee o. The woman wey sabi blow grammar.

Beautiful facts

20. Igbos always representing around the world. Eg Fusion Luxury Motors in the US

21. Igbos always representing across the world Eg my town man Mr Chuka Umunna, an MP in the UK is rumored to be the black man with the best chance of becoming a PM in Britain.

22. They made homosexuality an offence punishable by death for it not to spread without knowing that are forming in millions in the womb. Now it's a norm. What a world?

23. Mmmmmmmm! Stella Stella! Always educating and giving us important interesting information 247!

24. Mko was d 23rd child of his father that survived at infancy wowwww

25. There is more to number 22, and it is very interesting. It was unfortunate that those women lost their lives but they were fighting for a lot of things that Nigerian women enjoy today without even knowing this history.

26. What??? Are you for real?????? Like a chicken???

27. Aba women riot of 1929, due 2 high taxation, I loved my history teacher den ooo, he made d subject sooo interesting - mr manji

28. History lesson/subject needs to restored in Naija schools asap. Why did they ever pull it out? Without a good grasp of history, people are bound to repeat mistakes of the past, esp in this environment. #restorehistorylessonsinNaijaSchools. QED@atm

29. History lesson/subject needs to restored in Naija schools asap. Why did they ever pull it out? Without a good grasp of history, people are bound to repeat mistakes of the past, esp in this environment. #restorehistorylessonsinNaijaSchools. QED@atm