Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Boko Haram Sponsors Allegedly Arrested In Borno State

Wednesday, February 01, 2017

Boko Haram Sponsors Allegedly Arrested In Borno State

Two prominent politicians and a traditional ruler affiliated with the Boko Haram group have been arrested during a military raid in Borno state.

The Sun reports that the politicians, who are known in government circle, were arrested early this week by detectives and troops from Operation Lafiya Dole, the counter-insurgency military team.

A source disclosed that one of the arrested alleged collaborators who is also an Islamic spiritualist, had fled the state when he learnt military men were on his trail.

He was however arrested along Maiduguri-Jos Road, on his way to one of the north central states.

A second suspect was said to be a thug often called ECOMOG in Borno and an aide to some politicians in the state, according to military source.

A military personnel disclosed that a traditional ruler from a Borno community and two popular Islamic clerics were among those arrested following intelligence about their alleged link with Boko Haram.

"More revelations are coming and more people may be arrested in days to come, the source said.

The arrest of the suspected Boko Haram collaborators was confirmed by the theatre commander, Operation Lafiya Dole, Maj. Gen. Lucky Irabor.

The commander however refused to disclose the identities of the arrested persons, insisting that doing so will jeopardise investigation.

“It is true we have arrested some people. They may be known faces. We started picking them one by one. We’re taking them now and we are still investigating them so I can’t give you any detail,” he said.

Meanwhile, the federal government has confirmed the recovery of a treasure trove of materials from the “decimated” Boko Haram, further calling on the media and the general public to be vigilant.

According to the government, the alleged decimated group has shifted its strategy towards dominating the media space, propagating a perverted version of Shariah law and giving the impression that it is still holding territory.

The government’s warning is contained in a statement by the minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed.

The statement made available to NAIJ.com in the afternoon of Tuesday, January 31, 2017 appealed to the general public and the media to ensure that they do not unwittingly provide the terrorists with the oxygen of publicity that they desperately need.

27 comments:

1. Nawah!. They should disclose their identity na.. are their offences not greater than that of Ontario oil md?? but she was publicly shamed.. Naija well done o

2. I am expecting the Islamic cleric to be named as Chukwudi Elijah Adebayo. Any other name is counterfeit... Yeye dey smell

3. Disclosing their name is the right thing to do before everything turn to who you sabi, at least we will have knowledge who they are and why they are back at home that is if they are released o.

2. Yipee
    But I'm not understanding

1. Mtchew! That's how they will be arresting n releasing!
      We are all in Gods hand!

3. This comedy by Sai Baba & co is becoming ridiculous

4. They better disclose their names so that they won't just release them anyhow and come back to tell us nonsense.

5. Yimu. I smell lies. They Should mention the names na...
    If you believe this the you can believe anything. This govt is filled with propaganda.
    Was it not this same APC led govt that said Boko Haram has been defeated yet there's bomb blast in the North till today. Mtcheew

6. Every body knows that buhari is one of them. And why are they hiding their names? Ndi ala

7. Na today.... Ha si nnhana fuo gbuo biko

8. Ok o, good to know. Shame them, show us their face and identity; mention their names nau.

9. They don't want to disclose too much in order not to jeopardize the investigation. Ok

10. THat's how APC govt will cover everything. My facebook fanatic-friend will not post something like this. But when it concerns Christians, he will be No. 1 news broadcaster in Nigeria.

11. Me too I am not understandig

12. When it is a "poor person", they remove their shirts, handcuff and allow the media to interview and snap them.
    But when it is "a notable person", they shield them?
    Who is deceiving who?

13. Who are they deceiving????
    Lies from the pit of hell.

God's watching.

14. See stupid comments all over!

15. Hope the story won't change again. This Nigeria army talk too much biko

16. When will Nigerian youths have sense, they keep secrets wahala, they divulge secrets trouble, wetin una want sef?

This is military operations, not politics.