Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Censors Board Denies Registering Omoni Oboli's Okafor's Law In 2014

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Censors Board Denies Registering Omoni Oboli's Okafor's Law In 2014

The case in the matter of Omoni Oboli and Raconteur Productions regarding the copyright violation and theft of the “Okafor’s Law” continued yesterday at the Federal High court sitting at the Lagos Judiciary division before Hon Ibrahim Buba.J  

The key witness was Mrs Obasi , a senior censors officer from the National Video and Film censors board (NFVCB) who stated that a film with the same title cannot be licensed twice. She only confirmed the the registration of the Film “Okafor’s Law” done by Filmone Distribution on the 21st of March 2017.

Omoni's Lawyer presented the receipt of payment for the same film dated 11/09/2014, however the censors officer from the NFVCB reiterated that before a film can be certified a search is carried out on the title list in their record to ascertain whether such name had been used previous, and as at the time Film One wanted to register “Okafor’s Law” there was no record of Okafor’s Law being done previously..

The NFVCB is not empowered to register title of Films but to censor a completed works (Film/ Video) in order for them to be placed the appropriate category.

15 comments:

1. Omoni should have done the needful than all this embarrassment

1. O pls shut up

2. Omani is a fraud just like Mo Abudu. They were both taking credit for someone else's hard work and karma is getting back to them one after the other

3. I found it really preposterous that Omoni Oboli could have titled her movie that way, being that she is not from Ibo extraction, How did she come about that name"Okafor's law"? Of all the Urhobo, itshekiri and delta names. Mscheww... onye ori. God don catch am on this one.

2. Na WA oo

Why do most people find it so hard to say "I am sorry?

@Omoni, mbok do the needful ufan

3. So she nu register since...
    Abeg shift

4. Omoni better go and settle this people so that they can shut up and leave you at peace

5. Is this matter still on? Na wa

6. What are they even saying? Did the complainant say he had already produced a film with similar title and storyline before it was stolen by the defendant?

Someone says I sent you my work and you went ahead to produce it without my consent and the defendant brings in Census board as a witness. How intelligent!!!

1. Don't mind them, they want to confuse people. For then to even be going this route means the guy is telling the truth because it is when they don't have a case that they start this kind of nonsense rigmaroling

7. Stella I met complaint few weeks ago at a friend's place. That was a day before a court case. Truth is, he is a very fine gentleman, very eloquent, intelligent and holds his own. We talked for about 30 minutes and he said his own side of the story. Stella this is a clear case of betrayal from a friend and I felt for him. What if I told you this wasn't the first movie that had been taken by the defendant?

The fact that defendant is more popular or has more influence doesn't mean the less popular complaint should be oppressed. And it's very painful when it's from a friend quite close. How long should he have kept quiet? Abeg she should do the needful. Pride doesn't solve everything. In this case it isn't helping.

8. Omoni should meet the man and agree to share proceed with him....and stop all this noise......hian