Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Cutting You Coat According To Your Material

Monday, July 31, 2017

Cutting You Coat According To Your Material

Some people are smart when it comes to planning their weddings....

54 comments:

1. I have not finished laughing, I am coming please.

1. My dear that is the spirit, the kind of money we spent on our wedding, I wish we dint spend that much. Though this mans own sounds like poverty mentality but it's good to be wise when it comes to wedding planning

2. Push up its not. Did you read they went home with food packs?
      If you can't comfortably afford it don't do it, no matter how much you spend the world won't talk about it forever, that too would one day become next to nothing.

2. Hahahahaha...
    Mechanic wedding things!,..
    Well,he is right though but a yaraba person can never manage in his/her wedding or parties!...
    They would rather use all their savings for parties and go hungry the next day...

1. I'm a Yoruba girl and I will prefer to do my wedding in our compound, but if my man think otherwise, he's free to do as he wishes but I won't spend up to #10,000 from my pocket

2. My hubby and I saved for our wedding and bought a land at Ajah. The remaining was used for the wedding, and we didn't compromise.
      For instance, I cancelled renting of buses to bring families down to the venue, reduced the souvenirs distributed, accepted free makeover from my MUA sis in law, and encouraged families to take up responsibilities they had issues with such as the chapman and small chops, souvenirs, bus rental etc

It was the best decision ever cos we wouldn't have been able to acquire a land in the nearest future cos of the expenses in marriage. Two kids in two years, relocated to a 3 bedroom, paying of post graduate and professional exams fees, and just bought another car.

3. Starry..Thought you were a male.lol

3. Hahaha funny. No wedding is the best

Olybekee
    Amawbia ugbo ogiriga

4. Yes oooo that's the truth, most couples spend so much just to have. a fancy one day event and start the marriage with debts incurred or not much to start the marriage well financially

5. It irks me when.people are planning their wedding and they go about begging for funds. It's not a life threatening situation. Please move on.

1. Hahaha.. Na so one person send Maleh message. .she said please MA, my wedding is coming up so so and so day/month....here is my account details.. .lol

Daft people.. Like say Na Maleh send you marriage

She sent a reminder again

Ma, hope you are good MA.. Just a reminder MA.. My account details

I said OMG... Why are people shameless? Must you BEG to have a wedding?

@ANONYMOUS ORUBEBE

6. Looooools
    Smart somebody...
    However I have made up my mind...mine must be elaborate I'm ready to wait and save oo..where am I rushing to??
    My once in a lifetime celebration...Mba nu....ndi Nnewi must hear....lol
    To each his own shaa

7. Next time invite small number of persons. U can invite just fifty people and feed them well without going broke. No need inviting 200 and above which will bring in their extra crowd making 400 people and food won't reach some. Or Its Maggi cube meat u will serve. I did a small wedding and ddn't break my back a n d don't regret a thing. Nobody was left without food. Nigerian mentality is how to come and eat osho free food at parties without contributing nada so the sensible thing to do is throw a very small party with only d most important people or don't do at all.
    See ya!

8. Yeah, sensible ones.
    Other will borrow,take heavy loans to fund wedding, after wedding They keep face like lizard.

9. so wai e dey shuot???
    mtcheeeww @ tinx lark of moni cool curse.

eye whished e was weldy @ dart thyme so diss smal man mentaliti for dun vamuzz frum e haed.

10. Poverty mentality!

... Jesus is my worth!

11. Yes oo.. These days sef, person suppose give himself brain.. Because people go just come your wedding.. Eat all the food, pack food sef go their house... To give gift na wahala.. To give cash envelop, na wahala.. Dem go chop your food finish, abuse you and your wife /husband join sef

Would be couple should always know that, there is more to do after wedding day... You have to safe your money and not spend everything in giving people food.. .taking hall of #1.5million..and all that nonsense.. For what mbok?

@ANONYMOUS ORUBEBE

12. Sharp Guy. Wish we saved millions we spent for reception for honeymoon

13. I had a skate suit; special white skirt suit designed and that was what I wore. Cost just a tenth of the price of wedding gown. People admired the fact that "i was different and classy". I wore it for five more years after my wedding. Finally gave it out to a very dear lady who appreciated it. The money I saved was invested and still brings in dividends.

1. Depends on the gown. If your budget is 20k for your outfit, you get a gown that isn't a ball gown, use for the day and you'll still be able to use it later. My sister, who's an executive in a bank, got such a gown. When you see her use that same gown with her hat/fascinator, you'll never know it's the same gown she got married in. It wasn't an overly expensive gown either. Most people just go all out to impress people. That's the root of the lavish spending

14. Had our traditional wedding in my dad in law's sitting room with just enough guests to fill it. Danced from a stereo. Saved the money from hiring canopy and bands. etc. finally, went to the registry and hosted some guest in a posh eatery in town. Had snapped all those "white pictures" after the registry. Marriage was over. Plowed the savings into my business and happy. It's been five sweet years with kids.

1. That is it

God bless your home more and more

@ANONYMOUS ORUBEBE

2. Just what I have in mind....abeg...I wanna use the money to write my professional exams and relocate out of this country.. Boo is even the champion of the whole arrangement...
      This no be poverty mentality jare..its a choice..
      I don't even need stereo sef

3. "Wedding over" biko. Not marriage over. May God continue to fuel your marriage with love, peace, prosperity, happiness and contentment

4. Thanks Broomstick, it is "marriage ceremony" over. We are cool.

5. 😂😂😂 Biko @ Broomstick, which kaind blog I'd be that 😄🤣 una sha go kii person

15. By mutual agreement, we rented a car from a friend free of charge even though we could afford one. Saved up the money and more from the wedding planning and relocated to a foreign country for ministry training etc.

1. Rented for free is kinda a contradiction, don't you think?

16. Do people still serve packaged rice and soft drink in Nigerian marriage ceremonies?

I remember those days when people get married inside the church, serve packaged rice with coke and fanta for some while malt for the elders, pastors and pastor's wife. And a slice of cake that always had blackcurrant in it.
    You stay in a long queue, present your wedding gift to the couple and get a plastic bowl, cooler or notebook( in some cases) in return for your present.

Those days are gone.....

1. Please which century /decade was that?

17. There's nothing wrong in having varieties of food in your wedding ceremony! If you're willing to invite guests, then be willing enough to entertain the guests.

I had a small wedding with just about 50 people and there were enough varieties of food and drink to go around twice.
    It's better there's leftover than people complaining of not eating.

If you know you can afford it and it will not affect your pocket, do it.
    Never borrowed money for a marriage ceremony.

1. I had a big one though. Printed 700 invitation cards and gave 450 to my mum alone and the woman was looking at my husband like"Is this all?.

There's nothing wrong if you can afford it.

18. Mine only brideprice was paid, no party, in two hours, negotiations was over, no pictures too, court registry with both parents as witnes. we live abroad now n the kids are saying we should do a wedding party so we can have a wedding picture, lol, my husband said we are too old for that, lol and I agree.

1. You can still dress up and snap a wedding pic for your kids sake..Madam..na this your style be baba...na my exact plans..
      Right from childhood I have always said I don't even want a party

19. Left to me,I will head to the registry and then have private blessings with our pastor.

And in the evening a beautiful intimate dinner with 50 of our nearest and dearest. 😍😍

Honeymoon: Seychelles or Greece? But only if we can at that time.

I have zero interest in asoebi, wedding hashtags etc etc but always ensure to buy and involve myself when friends wed.

Far more concerned with the marriage and kids school fees . Want the best for the lil ones. 😂😂

20. Not just wedding Stella this applies to our daily life too you see someone with 2m per year income living in 4m apartment only in Nigeria

1. Exactly! My ex boo's rent was 2.5 per anum. One day i asked him if he has any landed property, he was looking at me like a zombie. He said he got the place kos he wanted me to be comfortable each time i visit. Is it me u tryin to impress or ur friends? I dont get it!
      This guy, anytime money comes, he'll change all his appliances by giving them out to his church (i'm not against giving God) but i wasnt okay with the fact that money shacks him like kai kai n wen he's done spending all, he goes back to begging his friends for cash. I borrowed my self brain n ran.
      I'm a pretty girl that can manage.i cant remember the last time i enterd a boutique to get clothes, but my friends always ask me where i shop. hahahah (okrika saving life since 80 gboriga) but i can spend money on my native attires like mad.
      What im saying in essense is, live ur life according to ur means and stop impressing that gf or bf. When u start to chop sand na ur friends go first laugh u oooooo.....

21. I would rather have a very small wedding than borrow money to please people.

22. Cut your clothes according to your size

23. Some months back, my mum asked how many guests I'd like at my wedding if given a choice. (She never see man, she dey ask about wedding). I told her to give me some minutes to get back to her. I went to my room and listed the people I'd want at the wedding. I came up with about 25. I decided to be generous with the unknown fiancé's guests and dashed him 35 people. Went back to mumsie and told her I'd like to have just 60 people present-this list included the officiating minister and spouse. My mum was silent for a while and then she produced her list(we're good at making lists, lol). When I saw the number at the end of the list, I started laughing. Only her list and she has 700 plus people? Hubby's mother will bring her own 700 and it will become a carnival? No way! I told her she wasn't serious. Told her she's only getting 15 to 20 cards, if that much and she was offended. Sometimes, people just have a circus wedding day cos of their parents. Even if there's excess money, I really don't fancy a large gathering so I can't see me spending too much. If I want to feed the world, I'll do it as a charity event for those who really can't afford regular and balanced meals, not for people who'll come and not have the decency to chew the bone of the piece of chicken they've been given(can't be letting them waste calcium jor. Lol)

24. Getting married in December, so this post came in handy.

25. Some times family and relatives are the people that push one to spend somuch during wedding.

26. Left to me, bride price paid, registry then we enter house as couple.#lifeofan introvert i cant fit shout.

27. My wedding was not small sha , but we didn't break the bank. All I know is I had so much fun on the day and hald loads of people tell me how much fun it was and how there was enough food. I didn't make all d souvenir ish most of them were brought by relatives and friends. It was a memorable day I'm glad we went about it the way we did

28. Will do a big wedding if I have the money. It's my money and I'll spend it as I want.

All I know is that I won't beg for money to do my wedding.