Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ASUU Begins Indefinite Strike

Monday, August 14, 2017

ASUU Begins Indefinite Strike

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has commenced an indefinite strike across the nation, beginning Sunday August 13th, 2017.

According to ASUU President, Biodun Ogunyemi, the lecturers took the decision to declare the strike after deliberations at its National Executive Council (NEC) meeting held at the University of Abuja during the weekend.

The union recalled that it had to embark on a six month strike between July and December 2013 and the strike was suspended when government signed an MoU with the union.

ASUU further listed the outstanding issues with the Federal Government to include: payment of fractions/non-payment of salaries; non-payment of earned academic allowances, non-release of operational license of NUPEMCO; non implementation of the provisions of the 2014 pension reform act with respect to retired professors and their salaries,removal of universities staff schools from funding by government and funds for the revitalisation of public universities.

Edited from Daily Post

32 comments:

1. No wonder most companies dont want to employ our graduates anymore because of all these strikes that have no end.

Now they will sit at home again. APC government una no dey try at all ooo with all these strikes, non payment of salaries etc.

1. Yoriyori what u wrote there doesn't make any sense, think before u talk

2. Hahahahahaha. Lovemejeje

2. Hope these lecturers are ready to not receive their salary. This is just annoying. All these striking what has it ever achieved

3. Where is that BV that want to faint because of asuu strike.....comman faint in my house ooo, I have got enough space for fainting..

4. Where can I faint??????? These pple has killed me and carry my Volvo. I think I shld just double step into marriage. Y'all shld start saving money for aso ebi. No time.

1. Hahahahahaha, sorry o.

Just be patient. December is not far nau.

5. When I thought we've said goodbye to ASUU strike in Nigeria.

6. They have really miss strike. Asuu enjoy o but remember recruitment age in some organisation presently is 21. Don't let students over stay biko.

7. Stella we got the news yesterday but I doubt Unilag wants to be involved in the strike. They haven't suspended all academic activities (yet).

Incase there's a strike, who needs someone to teach some real make up to?? I mean some smokey eyes stuff?? I'm available, come and teach me

1. Uni lag don't join all this yeye strike actions. That's why their 4yrs is 4yrs. They hardly join strike. I feel bad for my sister. They are doing their exams and now this? This is the one time she will wish she was in the same school with her 2 brothers. This is the one time she won't want to speak with them and feel bad for not listening to us . Federal schools be keeping people at home longer than necessary. My kids won't be going to any federal school. Private or abroad.

2. Our fingers are still crossed. Hopefully, unilag doesn't join but they should move the exams by just one month... I don't want to fail😩😩

8. Oh Jesus!

What is the meaning of all this na?👽👽👽👽👽

9. not new sha I pity the final years In FUTO

#GOAT™

10. All those that wants to faint. Come to my office and faint. we are doing experiment on fainting

11. Allow someone get a masters in peace! Ahhhh

12. Very sad situation. It won't end until education is taken serious in this country. Just mortgaging the mental capacity of the youth #hiss

13. This strike must be called off at once. I need my result oh

14. Anon 12:35 what do you mean think before you talk. All these strikes makes companies find it difficult to employ all these half bake graduates.

Mine dont employ them because a lot is half baked.

hope you get. Nonsense

15. Hmmmm... I'm sooo I weak now. I don't want to be forced to wait longer than sept/oct to get into school. Nigeria take education serious nahh especially for people that can only afford federal school. Mtchewww...

16. Been long i heard that word in this country. Strike!. whatapn naww?

17. Indefinite strike not again, I taught we have grown pass this

18. And my friend just told me yesterday that will finally go for service this November o.

Choi.

I'm tempted to call her and laugh coz she can laugh at others too.

Eyah.

asuu!!! Please o

1. Asuu does not affect nysc...

19. This strike is Long over due, the government has been unfair to these lecturers paying them half salary for over a year now. How are they to feed and fend for the families?