Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court orders forfeiture of 56 houses ‘linked to Diezani’

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Court orders forfeiture of 56 houses ‘linked to Diezani’

A federal high court sitting in Lagos on Tuesday ordered the interim forfeiture of 56 houses linked to Diezani Alison-Madueke, former minister of petroleum resources.

The order followed an ex parte application filed by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) seeking forfeiture of the assets.

The houses located in Lagos, Port Harcourt and Abuja, were said to have been acquired by the ex-minister between 2011 and 2013 using front companies.

The houses seized included 21 mixed housing units of eight four bedroom penthouse apartment; six buildings of three bedroom apartments; two buildings of three bedrooms apartment and one building of four bedrooms apartment, all ensuite, located at 7 Thurnburn Street and 5 Raymond Street, Yaba. They were all valued at N937 million.

There were also 16-four bedrooms terrace buildings, located at Heritage Court Estate, Omerelu Street, Diobu GRA, Port-Harcourt, River state, valued at N928 million.

Also forfeited were 13 three-bedroom with one room maid’s quarter situated at Mabushi Gardens Estate, Plot 1205, Cadastral Zone B06, Mabushi, Abuja, valued at N650 million; and six flats of three bedrooms and one boys quarter, located at Plot 808 (135) Awolowo Road, Ikoyi, Lagos, valued at N805 million.

The EFCC said, while Dieziani was serving as a minister, she allegedly paid the sum of $16,441,906 in cash for the property from the proceeds of suspected unlawful activity.

The forfeiture is the latest of previous ones the former minister has made to the federal government.

Edited from The Cable

14 comments:

1. Seizing it is all we will read on the dailies after that they share again. Ole gbe ole gba

2. ...they say a woman can do better. No be me talk am, so I heard.

3. Madam the madsm, madam at the top.

4. I find it really hard to believe this woman's thievery. All this houses for what na?

5. 56 what?... I need a bottle of beer. 🚶

6. *Picks teeth*

Only 56?
    Nah! They should wash their eyes with some chemical. Only then will they see more.

#ClosingDownThings😉

7. See ehn, this woman stole public funds but if we apply logical thought to the accusations, we'll see that some of them are just ridiculous. Am I to understand that if tomorrow I get stupendously rich and acquire properties everywhere, I'll have to forfeit them if I take public office? Let's follow this logic a bit. Those paying say 1mil as house rent yearly, if the owner uses that 1mil to buy land this year, next year he/she uses the next million to raise a structure, how many years do you think it will take for that one house to yield another house? Especially when you're earning a huge amount as salary monthly? This woman worked on with an oil company and was a management staff. Let's say I even agree that all those monies have been returned by her, who's keeping the returned funds? Why hasn't the money been used to do anything for this country? Abeg make them leave matter for Matthias

1. That is the price you have to pay for stealing after you have made your own legitimate money. For me deat penalty should be the price for steal such am out of wealth

2. @broomstick, if at all u attended school, u really wasted ur tym nd resources. Jst imagine d reasoning coming frm ur cerebral. Olodo slayqueen!

3. All this your analogy is confusing somebody abeg

4. Naaawaaoo, this your comment sef!

5. Jennah, you harsh o. Lol.
      Fayose Olusegun, with my "wasted resources", I'm using my thinking faculties, can same be said for you? WTH is a slayqueen? A degree or an achievement? Mtsheeeew. Be gone.
      Hadey Halaba, sorry.

8. Stella.do yr research before you post news Like this