Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - FIRST TIME Traveller

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Sunday In House Gists - FIRST TIME Traveller

This Should be Hilarious!

How was it like travelling out of Nigeria for the first time?From the airport to the Country and your stay?

The intent of this post is to be informative ,Educating and help prepare those traveling for the first time:

The first time i travelled out of Nigeria was not the first time i entered a plane,I had been travelling locally and every time i flew my heart was in my mouth but travelling out for the first time for so long flying eh,it humbled me and i became a prayer warrior ,especially every time i looked out the window.

I was dressed summer light travelling out for the first time,my destination was Austria and it was COLD;by the time i got to Schipol airport,i was shaking and crying,even though Emeka, a Nigeria guy flying to Yankee had gifted me his sweat shirt to keep me warm (I still have that sweat shirt and Emeka is still my friend).
By the time I got to Austria,I was frozen with mouth agape .

Everything worked,doors opened by themselves,the steps moved,food cooked itself...I WAS AMAZED AND SHOCKED..-lol

Let me leave you guys to continue.......

Just flow with the gist and you might end up making us laugh.

86 comments:

1. Eeyah for me. I never even go Ghana before,not even Cotonou by road. I am here to learn and laugh.

1. Chaii. I can never forget mine....i was 17,travelling for the first time my cousin asked me to act like i was mature enough cuz they said i might not be allowed to travel alone cuz of my age.reached d airport,checked-in my luggage then i was asked how much i was travelling with by an immigration officer, ''fifty thousand dollar'' i answered,
      the officer shouted ''Jesus, are u into money laundering'' everyone started laughing at me it was obvious i was a first time traveller
      i remember at the airport when we were given vaccines i was telling myself ''hope sey no be drug dis pple wan use me smuggle oo''
      after my mum and my bro said their goodbye it was time for us to go to our gates,i got lost i couldn't find my way,i almost wanted to go queue with people travelling to America.i saw two staffs and showed them my ticket then they took me back to my queue.
      I can't forget the smile that air hostess gave me,i felt ontop the world atlast i was leaving Nigeria.
      Time for refreshments on board.the white air host was just doing he was speaking in tongues i didn't even understand a thing he said.so i asked the guy next to me to make d same order for both of us.the idiot ordered one rubbish food with an alcoholic drink,that was my first time of tasting a drink with about 14 percent alcohol, i drank until i slightly got drunk.and then i started having a stomach upset...haaaa..trouble!
      Finally,we reached our destination the first thing i noticed what d lighting of the city that was when i realised i was finally out of Nigeria..no more nepa wahala

2. Yeah i forgot to mention,i reached the other country the and carried another person bag thinking it was mine thank God the woman was an igbo woman so i spoke igbo to her make she no go think sey na thief i thief her bag oo.then the officers started their wahala oo they scattered my bag and even tore the zip and to think i was carrying crayfish and other naija food stuffs,the look people gave me when i passed was annoying them think sey na shit i carry..na mine last to to ever carry foodstuff.. No fit try am again
      i even got duped of a thousand dollar by two police men..chaii travelling at that age an war oo but now i don learn...mi left a lot of gist out cuz my hand don dey pain me i no fit type again

3. Stella please i want to travel the world...
      If you know you have that money you are not using and you need a companion to travel the world with Please tell Holla at me. NO STRING ATTACHED please o. But I am a decent,fun loving girl and good listener too.
      Please please please. I wanna travel.
      I will help you carry your bags don't worry.

Tenderheart.

2. Nice one. People come and gist me. O want to travel out of naija tommorre. Please be sincere. Fear dey catch me oh. No be say I no get money, just fear of flying long hours and cold. I hate cold. Don't sleep with AC. Only use AC in the car. Fear is bad eh

1. With my late dad to London. Was still tiny so couldn't remember what it was like.

Well this year, I was in Australia for two months accompanied by my mum. Ill health didn't allow me enjoy the journey. I've been flying local right from age 10, met my ex on a flight enroute portharcourt.

The trick is; your hand laugage should contain those stuff that brings you comfort (ie if embarking on a long journey), take local snacks because airplane food sometimes shocks even the pilot😁. Dress in something comfortable (I don't do heels ). Relax! You won't die and errrm take earphones if you can, some passengers snore real loud.

I Know boo​ is planning to propose in South Africa this Christmas but I don't want to hurt anyone. I am sick. I am dying. I'm here spending time with my mum because I know my demise will so wreck her. Life isn't fair! I don't want to die. They call it cancer lord, prove them wrong.

Lemme go anon. I don't need unnecessary pity.

2. @16:53, I'm so sorry dear, may the hand of the Lord touch you & make you while again, in Jesus name, amen! Life isn't fair indeed! 😩😪😥 So, saddened by your story. Take comfort in the Holy Spirit & remain positive dear 💋💋💋

I've never travelled out of Nigeria, would love to experience it...

... Jesus is my worth!

3. God will heal you.You will not die but live.

4. It is well with you. You shall not die but shall live. Keep confessing life into yourself please. God will show up on your behalf.

Tee

5. You're healed in Jesus name. I believe God for you. It is well.

6. 16:53 I will put you in my prayers, you shall not die, but live. Like you said the Lord will prove them wrong ok! God bless your mum.

7. May God's will be with you, we all will die someday but doing that in peace is the most important thing. God strengthen you dear

8. Supernatural healing from God to you I pray. Health and total cure I decree to you. The same power that heal the infirmity of 38years will heal you.

9. Anon 16:53 Let the will of the Creator happen in your life...You will live to fulfill the goodness of the Lord....Just Believe !
      Sending you plenty hugs 🤗🤗😘😘

10. Whose report shall U believe dearie? U will not die. U owe me one thing. Just believe please. Love u

11. Anon you are healed in Jesus name, I cover you with the blood of Jesus. You are made whole

3. I've never travelled out, farthest I've gone is ghana. No drama.

4. First time I traveled outside delta it was to Anambra lol.... Immediately I stopped at onitsha it was crazy, saw lots of people all walking to and from,some shouting and too many biz going on every angle you look.... igbo been spoken by almost everyone u ask for direction pheeeew it was tough.... Upper Iweka was laughed at anf corrected to UP iweka... That day was just confusing, scary ND fun

I never Comot naija ND me like comment lol

1. Hahahahahahha,your story is so funny.
      Mine was when I traveled to Paris through .I was confused all through the flight but was calm,so when I got to Charles de Gual airport,see cold cos I wore a sleeveless gown.though enjoyable but was hard for me to eat,all I wanted was my local Nigeria meal cos I was newly pregnant then,i couldn't enter the grocery shops to do some shopping cos the smell of it makes me throw up.
      I looked for Nigerian restaurant but all I could see was African restaurant(Ghana food)until one day I passed by some Nigerian guys speaking igbo,i had to beg them to show me Nigerian Restaurant which they did and I went to eat my Egusi soup lol.
      Then my experience at Eiffel Tower is a story for another

2. First time traveling to America, I dey economy, I think say na restaurant. I called the air hostess and asked for hot chocolate. Choi smh

5. I will only read comments

6. Let me read comments and learn in preparation for my travel to yankee very soon..

7. Well, I will start with what I wore. I wore a very light jumpsuit with a Jean jacket on top.

On getting to Morocco, where I was to connect, the cold at that airport almost killed me.

I got hungry and decided to eat and boo told me I could use my visa card. Great right??? No!!!

I ordered a croissant and a hot cup of chocolate (because of the cold), gave them my card and these people debited me approx 4,500 naira. I was so angry but acted cool.

My first night there was even bad. I didn't know they do more of trekking than us here.

I was so hungry and his friends invited us to eat out. I wasn't properly dressed and trekking to the place took forever (by my standard), coupled with the food.

Oya, bring food na. You needed to see what they were serving in one 'all you can eat' restaurant like that.

That night was based on meat. See different kinds of meat that I can't explain but I remember the man saying one was octopus. I managed to eat a few slices of fries with ketchup. I could never use their sauce. One horrible substance like that, looking like white vomit.

He noticed I was getting angry and he took me home. Another endless journey.

I could go on and on but I'm so weak today. Dunno why. Maybe it's cos I didn't go to church.

P.S I still can't eat their food, prolly never will and for the best part of my trip, boo had to learn to spend money on Uber. Can't come and kill myself.
    Shopping there was an experience I always enjoyed.

1. One of my biggest concern before traveling was eating food that I am not use to. But I am getting better.
      Eka you will get use to it with time.

2. you mean your guy doesn't have a car, how can you park your car in the garage and 'do more of trekking. you didn't tell about your flight experience abi you use ship???

3. Have I ever mentioned that my boo has a car???

4. Your boo dey Morocco dey do 419 like you

8. The moon is so cold eh, i can't wait to go back.

9. I have not traveled outside Nigeria except you want me to describe the one i traveled in the dream as an apprentice to the greatest Mamalawo in town in the person of Mamalawo Kidjo

10. I have a phobia for flying.
    Ever since I was a kid, when flying I can't sit still out of fright.I'd kick, shriek and scream my lungs out.
    My mum was always mighty embarrassed.the only way I can be calm is if I sit on my mothers laps and put my head on her breast..Lol
    But my mum doesn't allow that often cos I have younger ones that were vying for her attention too.so she'd leave me screaming my head off until a hostess takes me to their cabin.
    As an adult, I'm still mighty scared of flying.I'll always sit still, close my eyes, and clutch my hands together resting my hands on my laps..

11. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama17 September 2017 at 14:32

Stella my first time was terrible, not proud to say it at all , it was winter time also and I swear never to go back again if I finally make it back home😂😂😂😂😂 tears was rolling out my eyes and I wasn't crying and I couldn't controlled it chai I was wearing sneaker with one weak jeans jacket like that, each time we were getting ready to go out I just wish I can stay inside or carry the blanket along with me😂😂😂 I was acting like a typical village gurl everything was deff expensive to me and I most convert to naira and complain so much to the extent the person who accommodated me was feeling shy 😂😂😂😂 my taxi experience was ducked up meeen cos I almost hard heart attack...... till date I am still trying to get use the life over there.....

1. I also do the conversion to naira first for everything we buy. Boo just told me that if I kept doing that, I would never buy anything there.

2. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama17 September 2017 at 17:07

@Eka joy that was the exact thing they told me😂😂😂😂😂 like if i continue like this I won't even buy water... All I do now is change ma money from home cos that credit shit ain't working for me.

@cynthia 😂😂😂😍

12. 😀😀😀, this is going to be interesting, twas the Uk I traveled to for the first time for my supposed masters, and it was in January 31st, tge cold that welcomed me wasn't nice and friendly at all, I was happy cuz everything smelled so fresh, very different from where I was coming from, lol..... my brother in law came to pick me from the airport and I was so happy to see my sis and her kid. 2 days after the weather changed so bad and it started to snow, very plenty snow that in an instant everywhere was so full and high that they had to declare some warnings that people should be careful and cars were just sliding anyhow in the roads. And me wasn't prepared fir such cold as I brought my naija summer clothes with me, no time for shopping because my sis was heavily pregnant and her cloths and shoes barely fit, omo, the experience na wah but we thank God for his mercies because things are a lot better than before and it gets better every time, so I'm very grateful to God for everything

13. The first time I travelled out of Nigeria was my first of flying. I was going to Scandinavia via Brussels with SABINA airlines( the airline doesn't operate anymore). I was so scared 😳 j the plane because I hate heights. When it was time for meal, the air hostess came to me and said Chicken or beef. I said chicken, I was given my food, couldn't eat it because of the nasty smell of the rice( basmati) that came with it.

When we got to Brussel, I started looking for my connecting flight to Scandinavia, it was very stressful and I was scared of missing the flight. I saw the direction to it and was supposed to use escalator going up, silly me immediately jump into the one coming down thinking it was going up and fel down. My passport and boarding pass flew away. A white man helped me up and picked my belongings for me. I was so sad, embarrassed and hurt from the fall.
    I finally found my connecting flight, boarded it and got to my destination. I was so happy to see my uncle face at the airport waiting for me.

* I eat like eating Basmati now *

1. Hahahahahahaha. This reminds me of the day we were on one of our trips and because I failed to position my luggage well, me and the box almost fell down and in the process almost knocked boo down. Gosh I felt so embarrassed. I'm sure I must have embarrassed him but he was just like 'these things happen'

I think that was the most embarrassing moment of my trip

2. I tell you Eka, that experience made me hate escalator. I prefer using lift.

3. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama17 September 2017 at 17:19

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 that escalator jeeeez please tell about the cold experience in Scandinavia 😂 i love and hate that country at the same time😊😊😊😊

4. @MNF, I didn't feel the cold much because it was summer then. The cold in Scandinavia is something else. The weather can get to -15 degrees, regardless of how you dressed warm you will still feel it on your leg, fingers, neck and chin.

14. The first time I traveled out of the country was to Ghana and, I didn't use flight... It was an excursion by my secondary school, the road trip with my friends and school mates was fun all through... Honestly, it was strange being in a new country but we soon passes that awkward phase.

The first time I entered an aeroplane was in primary school. I remember my teacher telling us so much about planes and she arranged with the school to take some of us to the airport in her car (God bless Miss Taiwo!)... We got there, we were taken round the airport them we pleaded that we be allowed into the aeroplane... The people in the tarmac were skeptical at first about allowing little children (we were in primary 4,i guess) in, but after much consideration and persuasion, they let us in. We entered, fastened our seat belts but the plane didn't move, it never moved!

1. I almost peed in my pants laughing.... too funny!!!

15. Lol!
    If you had seen me the first time I traveled out, you would have known I was a JJC!
    The people over there had said the weather was cold so right from Lagos, I wore canvas shoes, and a cardigan *covers face*.
    And then my friend and I missed our connecting flight and had to wait 12 hours for the next. (Not our fault though, the plane from Nigeria left late and there was only about 30 mins between that flight and the next. We explored Turkish Airport and walked round the entire airport till we knew it like the back of our hands.
    On arriving our destination, it was so freaking cold that I even wished I had worn more sweaters.. Thank God for God!

Chai! Memories!

16. My first time traveling out of Naija was my first time on the plane. Well it didn't feel strange cos I was just doing follow follow and also listening to instructions. I slept like a baby all through the journey. It was 5hours though. I had prepared myself against cold as well. The funniest thing I did was always converting every dime to Naira whenever I go shopping. It was fun and I look forward to another obodo oyinbo trip.

1. Ha!!! Here I was thinking I am the only one with d conversion problem. We many sef

2. I'm not surprised you are a teacher

17. Interesting, I've never entered a plane before, next month will be my first cos my office will be having an event in Abuja, can't wait menn!

Yes I'm excited in advance and I believe God to take me outta Naija one day to better countries.

18. I'm planning to travel with my son soon.. Have never traveled out.
    Would need some tips.. Because I keep asking my husband what will my son eat all the long hours.. We will have a connecting flight in Egypt..

Is it true foods are not allowed? So what will my son eat?? That's my major concern.. 😁😁😁😁

1. I think they allow some amount of baby food because they do so with body cream, tooth paste etc and you can ask the air hostess to help you warm it .

2. Carry what your son likes, my aunt's daughter likes okro and eba only and she carries it even to Canada, just make them understand.

3. If he is a baby then you can carry baby food. But fyi, Egypt air food is terrible.

19. #No relationship is a waste of time. The wrong ones are there to teach you the lessons that prepare you for the right ones*

20. This should be interesting...havent travelled out but hope to one day. Will learn a thing or two from the comments.

21. First time ever was to Dubai with a female friend for a vacation.

The shock came when we got to Doha airport. I couldn't believe how beautiful it was! There were luxury cars for sale being displayed right there in the airport! It was Christmas, so the decorations and all wowed me. Then i got my connecting flight to Dubai. And there I nearly died with shock. The city was so beautiful, with architecture so out of the ordinary. Skyscrapers everywhere, the roads were clean and wide. I couldn't stop exclaiming! It was such a humbling experience. I had booked a ride (before the days of uber) and the car we got was a Lincoln Navigator! I totally enjoyed the experience and have gone back twice since then!

The next was Southafrica. (Joburg & capetown) I wasn't expecting that development from an African country. I went with my boyfriend. We both had never ridden the train in Nigeria but we had seen it.(the train in naija is a mess)
    Joburg was very developed, Capetown too. You get a sense of how the country is from the airport and it was mega beautiful. You can't help comparing it with the international airport in Ikeja. It was winter too and very very cold and I felt this must be how Yankee looks. There was sooooo many white people!

The next was Yankee : I ddnt get the same feeling as when I visited both above, I guess they had prepared me for the U.S. experience.

Next is Greece...

22. Am I the only one who has terrible Airplane ears 👂???? Mine is terrible like my eardrum wanna explode... stories like chew gum or yawn doesn't help either or closing your nose and blowing, that's even worse! Instead of sitting on a plane for 2 hrs from Brussels to Rome, I'd rather we drive 24hrs...it's that bad! Anyways, I'm among the set of people when use Libya enter Europe! My life is a testimony, sometimes I just look back and say to myself, It's just GOD!

1. It only happens to me while taking off or landing depending on my sitting position and chewing gum has been helpful.
      @ your last sentence, thank God for your life

2. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama17 September 2017 at 17:09

You not alone but mine ain't that worst uno, moving and landing is ma pro ....

23. My first trip outside the country was when I was 15 and It was to Canada. I travelled with my parents and my younger bro to see my brothers. Its a bit of a blur but I want really a jjc. Funny thing is that that same year I had to make a trip alone to Canada for studies. I coped quite fine and have been travelling on my own since then to other countries as well. I figure things out quickly I guess, so I have no issues with adapting.

24. Iya Oshoronga of Blogosphere AKA Mrs Always RIGHT17 September 2017 at 16:54

Klm flight, i was first of all overwhelmed by the huge size of the plane, i couldn't sleep at all cos i was scared(i still cannot sleep on a flights). I got to schipol airport and i wanted to die because of the beauty and general ambience, then shame for my country overwhelmed me, questions questions kept running through my mind, why can't nigeria look like this? I bought so many things at that airport, lol. Meanwhile when the plane took off in lagos and i looked out, i noticed the darkness all around, it was pitch black but while approaching amsterdam, OMG, the lights everywhere was a sight to behold, hmmm. Connecting flight to barcelona, the plane was smaller this time, i got to barcelona and the weather was awesome, it was autumn. Beautiful city, we walked that la ramblas like crazy, went to Port aventura(their own disneyland), went to so many places, the architectural designs in that city is breathtaking, i took so many pictures, i was so young then, i was just walking everywhere with family sightseeing and shopping, i could not sit in one place being my first time out of nigeria. My first experience was very nice. The only place I wish to go now is stavanger in norway. Bucket list things.

1. Honestly. shame for my country caught me After i got missing for 3 hours inside instabul airport this year. When I got to the hotel I was now thinking that you can round abuja airport in 30minutes. When it took me hours to go from gate 80 arrival to gate 670 for departure.

2. And don't get me started on the lights when you touch down chigago, compared to pitch darkness from abj

25. Lolzzzz serving drinks in plane. Instead of me to take apple juice or soda. I saw whites drinking something red. I asked the waitress what was that thin woman n red glass cup their are sipping. She said Tomato juice. The color was so fine. I then asked for my own tomato juice. I used force to drink it because it was tasteless and I don't want the guy beside me yo notice that that was my first time. And to the waitress saw me sipping it and smiled at me and I smiled back, few minutes later I started throwing up. As in vomiting. Chaiii.....😂

26. This is interesting, I love travelling alot.my first time outside Naija was in 2008 to Ghana.The lesson I learnt from that trip was to always write the name and address of the hotel you are lodging and keep in your pocket. I almost got lost as I couldn't trace and locate the hotel I was lodged. It took more than 4hrs to eventually locate.Please my fellow Beeves,don't ever accept any gift from anyone if travelling to or coming back from Brazil. And make sure you pack your own luggage yourself. The way I was frisked on that route ,no get part two.I'll come back to recount my experiences in south Africa, Germany, Korea/Japan.etc.my travels are mostly to watch soccer. Infact, I love football more than money and women

1. Assin supporters club???😂😂😂

27. I have not traveled out before but I know one day I will till then expect my own story

28. My first flying experience was to Dubai. I was running late, my friends had boarded. So I was practically running even while I was inside that thing that is attached to the plane, ddnt know I was already in d plane . I was still on top speed until I saw d hostess. It dawned on me . Now I travel at least 3 times a year .Na God o

29. My first time out of nija was amazing. it was my first time on a flight too but i neva felt like a jjc becos i was traveling with one of my dope friends so it was kind of easy and fun.

One issue i had was d buzzing sound in my eardrum like i was going def. i regret not having an earphone cos my twin bro abroad has always complained about this issue despite the much he has travelled. it became constant and he was advised to always use an earphone.

Then the plane was freaking cold cos i was wearing light clothes.
    I will advice wen travelling always remember to carry a jacket even if its summer at ur destination. The cold in the flight travelling for long hours might not be friendly. also socks and gloves will really go a long way to keep one warm.

Try and go for comfortable shoes. snikers are best while traveling, you can still slay in the. The heals will slay better on ground wen u arrive.

just a few safety tips tho and to get you comfortable.

30. The 1st time i travelled out was to dubia. My bf now hubby was already there waiting for me. So he just sent instructions on how to move and all. From mmm na so your babe just do like i have been travelling before. Did not ask questions just looked out for the signs and moved. I wee a lot so was wearing sweater and a free dress on top with trainers oh and still carried my jacket. My hand luggage has some basic snacks in them, cos hubby told me the plane food stinks hahah.so me just respected myself. But now it's all good. My children don't sleep during trips. They stay awake playing games and watching movies. This summer my sons did not sleep at all during our trip to Florida. They only slept in germany when we were waiting for our connecting flight. I usually buy plenty biscuits plantain chips and butter bread and put in Ziploc inside my hand luggage biko can't shout ontop food i no understand for plane. I also covert my money before buying stuff sha.

31. My first time felt pretty normal, I was already armed with pretty much all the information I needed to cope and was both physically and mentally prepared for it. It was a trip to the UK. The kind of cold breeze that blue at me with hurricane force as we arrived no be here. A Zimbabwean man sitted beside me on my connecting flight from Turkey engaged me in an unsolicited conversation and also flooded my ears with needless advices all the way from Istanbul to Manchester. Told me about his wife and daughters and he even invited me to his house.

32. This brings back memories mehn . The first to i travelled out funny enough was the first Time I entered an airplane. My secondary school just started a summer program to UK, for the 3 weeks we were to stay in central london, Southampton, Portsmouth and Plymouth, oya now, I convinced my father and off I went with my friends that were able to convince their parents too.
    When we entered the plane and got seated to put seat belt na wahala, it was my junior (I was in ss2, and she jss3) that helped me with my belt. I just strong my face so as not to faint from embarrassment. The whole flight I couldn't sleep, I was shaking, and very cold. Any small shaking of the plane I have started praying. We got to Egypt I was very happy. Egypt to Heathrow unko, no sleep, only me, just shaking. Time to land my ear no free me, even after landing I couldn't hear clearly for a few more hours (still happens) I couldnt be more happier when the plane touched down.
    After flying about 3 times shaking and cold, omo I received sense and told myself, if time to die reach, I go die, and if not better sleep. Omo now I sleep like fowl. Nothing do me.

33. I hvnt travelled out of my Naija before....
    I pray to travel out one day...
    Pls for those dat travel frequently to better countries and cnt sleep, u can pay for me to keep u company inside the plane... Am a comedian...

34. My first flight was to Ghana. I was embarrassed when i almost fell off the elevator. I and hubby really desire to travel out together atleast as our honeymoon package but no money to foot such bills. We are 1 year in marriage and counting, still no foreign trip as a couple. God pls help us actualize this dream. MLB

35. I have not travelled out before,but God will make it happen soon I so desire Lord

36. Mine was in 2014. To UK. We landed in schipol airport.i was wowed at the beauty of the hotel. For the 1st time, i looked closely at my boarding pass and saw that i have 6hrs to wait for my connecting flight to the Uk. We landed @ 6am oo. It was the longest hrs of my life, i was so uncomfortable. Me wey i no like to wear pant for long. I had started feeling like i am smelling. I didnt holdextra pant. I saw Victoria Secret store at duty free. I was almost in tears when i was buying it, it cost about 12euros for one pant, that i buy 150naira @ Idumota market. I bought it and quickly dashed into the rest room. I pulled that one with alakrity. I felt a bit better. I waited and waited and finally it was time to start boarding. It is just about 40mins from Amsterdam to London. I was so angry with myself for not checking my itinerary properly. Now, i am a pro!