Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Begs Health Workers To Call Off Strike

Thursday, April 19, 2018

FG Begs Health Workers To Call Off Strike

The Federal Government has appealed to the striking members of the Joint Health Sector Unions (JOHESU) to return to work.

Chris Ngige, minister of labour and employment, made the appeal in a statement issued on Wednesday by Samuel Olowookere, director of press in the ministry. He said: “At a period the government is faithfully managing lean resources to ensure industrial harmony in all sectors, a measure of patriotism was expected of all labour unions to enable government have an equable social and very good labour milieu in which workers could be assured of security of employment. It is on record that government has met almost all the demands of these unions on issues such as the payment of promotion arrears, salary shortfalls among others as per the agreement reached on September 30, 2017.

The federal government therefore wishes to appeal to JOHESU to reconsider its position in view of the immeasurable consequences of its action on sick patients in hospitals across the nation. The minister assured the workers that the federal government was committed to the implementation of the terms of the settlement reached with JOHESU.

He said the government will not fail in its sacred responsibility of protecting the lives of the numerous patients in all public health institutions where the health workers have unjustifiably withdrawn their services. If this group of health workers persist on continuing this strike, Government will be forced to invoke the provisions of the relevant labour laws, especially Section 43 of the Trade Dispute Act, Cap.T8, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria (LFN) 2004 as well as the International Labour Organisation (ILO) principles concerning employers rights over strikes in essential services sector.

From the Cable

7 comments:

1. I thought they threaten them with no work no pay. How come they are now begging them.

Only to beg and no action at all from their sides. Wack government

1. Akuko ifo.

2. When you prioritize one group among a multidisciplinary sector like the health sector what do they expect. Nigerian problem wouldn't be fixed any time soon

3. The doctors are the problem. They don't want anything good for health workers except them. We are not competing you doctors, we know is their sector. But at least, let's us be... They keep putting sand sand in our garri.

4. The statement by the minister for labour that the FG has almost met the demands of the JOHESU union is a big fat lie.

Since 2009 the FG has not met the demands for the health salary structure for JOHESU union workers but implemented that of the doctors.

In Nigeria only the demands of doctors are met, while the demands of the remaining health workers who make the running of the health system effective are neglected.

How do you implement a salary structure for Doctors and tell others(Nurses,pharmacist,administrativ workers and Co) that you don't have funds to implement theirs...can the hospitals run without this other health workers,absolutely not.

The FG should pay them the agreed salary structure, the allowance for skipped level 10 and equipment the hospitals to met proper health standards.

I support the strike and hope that Oga buhari will not tell other nations again that our health workers are lazy and waiting for free government money

LEP😛

5. ...please Johesu call off the strike biko... My Edd is close and i don't have money for private hospital oh.