Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Saturday, May 26, 2018

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

This is a must read!!!

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
RE-BITTER AND SAD MOTHER...

Good Day ,
I need to pour out my heart and also advise the Chronicle poster of FRIDAY. Please bear with me as this is very lengthy and its the first time I'm ever opening up about how messed up my life was and somehow is.

I know first hand all she's going through as I've been there and still battling it.
I grew up in a very toxic family where there was absolutely no form of affection between my Dad and Mum. They were always fighting and exchanging words, I particularly remember my Mum nagging my Dad's head from from dusk till dawn and she took out every form of anger on the kids (my brother and I).

My Mum beat me so bad that people never believed she gave birth to me. She'd go to work and when she's back, she'd ask me to open my legs asking who touched my vagina when she went out and she'd beat me till I'll lie on any available name that comes to mind (Stella that was a life I was born into so this started from my very early years when I didn't even know what Vagina or penis was used for asides from urinating).

Surprisingly she was a prayer warrior and believed my Dad's mum was a witch so she took us from church to church for different purposes ranging from deliverance, protection and all what not. She'd punish us with series of fasting that could last for a week or more at 5 years old. What about the insults and curses? They were endless.

My Dad was barely home as the environment was too toxic for him so we barely saw him and woe betides you if you report her to him. Still I detest him for not shielding us as the cane marks and wounds were so visible for even a blind man to see. The best he did was take me to a police station to report the marks on my body and the police asked him to go and sort it out as it was a family issue.
We were called "Eleha" as people barely saw us outside, it was just the sound of our cries that were always heard in the street.

Sometime around 2000 the marriage broke down and they went their separate ways (relocated) but somehow they both ended up in the same state again. Being the only girl, I was asked to go stay with her and I saw hell Stella. I remember a day she got back from work and started beating me seriously that I was pregnant and had brought shame to her; I was still a virgin and was even seeing my menses that day.

I grew up angry and bitter. I hated her and my Dad so much, I always walked around with a frown on my face but thank God for amazing friends and their families that He sent my way. My friend's mum would sneak me into her house, cheer me up and give me food to eat but the day she caught me ehn; I died and woke up.

The pains were too much so I packed my things and ran back to Lagos to stay with my male cousin where I endured sexual harassment for years till I got admission. She begged me to come back so she'd pray and revert some of the curses else I'd not prosper, I went after so much pressure and stayed for a while. When I saw no changes, I ran away again.

Mum couldn't care less in helping pay fees because I chose a University that was so far away while Dad always played the "I don't have money" card. I struggled through school, was always the last to pay fees and register for exams. For every 1,000 naira she sent, she made sure to accompany it with insults worth 5,000 over the phone. There were times I gave up on writing the exams so I wouldn't bother reading but God always made a way. 

My friends and room mates were the Best! They knew I didn't have a smooth relationship with my family and they respected my silence on it, providing me with food, shelter and a home when I didn't have any place to go for holidays. I remember one of them stealing my mum's number to call and beg her to send at least part of the fees money just days to the exams, vouching that I was really a bonafide student (mum never believed it and still doesn't till date) and she should be held responsible for whatever the outcome was.

What about my brother? He is messed up till date. The abuse really got to him emotionally and psychologically. He's the quiet type like my Dad and doesn't talk much but he is a brainy and handy as he can repair any electronic device. He got admission far away from home as well, with scholarships from the school and an oil company so you could imagine my surprise when I was called to come in my year 3 that he was really sick and had to be forcefully carried to the hospital by his room mates. He was diagnosed with Cerebral malaria stating it had stayed so long in his body so it affected his brains. 

Mum came and carried him home and it was the beginning of worse things to come. He was later diagnosed to have fluids in his lungs and was operated on and much later it was said that he had Schizophrenia. His life has been stagnant since then, his education deferred (11 years) and his health deteriorates as the days go by. This is a boy that had the best Post-Ume results and was heading for First Class.

I spent my entire savings when I had him taken to an hospital for treatment for schizophrenia/psychosis in 2016. The costs of the drugs are out of this world, treatments, bed space, feeding were pocket draining but I sacrificed it all for the only sibling I have. Did I mention that by this time he was staying with my Dad as my mum had policemen throw him out of her house for being a "nuisance". She wanted to take him to church for "deliverance" where they'll chain him and probably beat out the evil spirit but I threatened to have her arrested if she dare tried it.

How I manage to not be roaming the streets right now with insanity? I cut them out of my life. No going home, minimal communication with my Dad because of my brother, endless prayers, music, God's word, surround myself and feed my mind/head with positive things (I actually created my fantasy world/life where I always withdrew to). Though I must admit that its very hard as she is yet to admit that she messed up life for us and even calls once in a while to boss me around, asking me relocate back to her house saying she knows I am living with a man and that I'm wasting away my life.

How I manage to have a heart full of love beats me and my sense of humour is top notch, colleagues and friends know me to be the jovial person that brightens up the office/room but there are days the dark memories come in like a flood and I break down but I try not to stay down for too long. I currently live alone as my room mates are married and have moved out, I chicken out when a relationship gets serious because I'm ashamed to introduce my dysfunctional family to anyone. I need friends, love, complete healing, people to talk to, a better job to be able to afford the drugs for my brother and still save something for myself and advise on how to help my brother; it will kill me to see all those gifts waste away.

Please poster, you have to leave that environment for your sanity with or without a fight. Whenever she calls cursing or shouting, hang up. I learnt to do that a lot and it has helped because she is starting to realise that I wouldn't stand her raise her voice at me so she is learning to speak respectfully and in low tones to me. It isn't you disrespecting her, it's you fighting for your self esteem and respect. If you don't stop it now, she'll take it with you into your marital home and ruin things for you.
I hope you don't end up broken and that you find Love and Peace.

Finally, parents need to do better please. You can never apologise away the emotional and psychological effects years of physical and emotional abuse has done to a child. Please learn to love your child(ren) regardless of what you're going through, they didn't bring it upon you.

Thank you Stella for the good job you're doing and this platform that enables us to share our joys and pains. God bless real good.

*WOW.thank you for sharing this!

60 comments:

1. Seriously I am surprised at such mother/father. I don't get it. It is well with you poster and every child going through a bad relationship with their parents. May love win.

1. It is well with you poster..
      May God send help your way.
      Yesterday's poster,it is well with you too. May God make a way fie you where there's no way.

2. Hmmm...some parents sha, I don't understand why one would transfer his or her aggression on a child..I wish I could hear the parents version, maybe I would understand their weird behaviours towards their kids..

1. Eleha is those Moslem women that wear all those black covered up hijab inclusive of face covered,plus socks like ninja abi lagbaja.
      They hardly go out also.

3. Wow!!! Why bother having kids you when you won't treat them well! Lord I thank you for my family! Poster better days ahead for you and divine healing on your brother.

4. Are there mothers like this? Smh

5. What kind of frustrated mother is this?...
    Na wah oh!...
    My children can’t stay two days without seeing me or their dad!...
    The one they learn Newly is to follow me anywhere I go to!...
    My first and second son are taller than me so you can imagine when they struggle to be with me 247!...
    Hmmmm...
    Mothers learn how to treat your children right even when their daddy annoys you!...
    What is life without these children?...
    I don’t joke with mine abeg

1. Honestly, it's hard to think there are parents like this out there. This behaviour isn't normal at all. How can I treat my kids like this? Children I carried to term plus the pains of delivery, I'll now open my mouth to curse them? Am I not 'doing' myself? Or maybe it's cause I wasn't brought up in this kind of environment. I just don't get it.

Poster, God help you and your brother. We parents of today need to change the status quo and be out to make a difference. Enough of this bullshit.

2. Linda Eze, hope you didn't knack pigeon on those lovely innocent kids' heads!??? This one they're"following" you around

6. WAO, This is real WAO. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, cussing out has terrible impact on children.

7. Hnmmmmm! Poster it is well with you and your brother. May help locate you soon.

8. Curses don't work. Our parents know it because they had parents that cursed them too but they saw that it didn't work. Their parents were mostly idol worshipers and very crude. Just think about it. At that time, it scared them, that is why they used it on us. How can you buy a car and drive it over a bridge? Or you go and poo poo on the desk of your boss? How can you work hard for something, then destroy it? Some of our parents PRAYED to have children. Many of them had still births and miscarriages but you won't know. That means they value you. Schizophrenia can be passed on from parent to child. If you ask around, one of your relatives from your mother's side will have it. Your mother is the missing link.
    When you please your parents to the detriment of your own happiness, you will grow up to resent them for it. That is what will make you hate them. It will destroy your relationship with them. There are some of our parents who hardly talk about one or 2 of their own parents. When you bring them up, their mood will change. If you trace it, you will find out that they made them do something they didn't want to do.
    Also, you will find that things are slow for you. You will be the last of your mates to get married, get a job and move out of the house. You may catch up with them later on and even pass them, but it will take time. You should honour your parents but not to the extent that it starts affecting your health and you find yourself crying every time and not moving forward in life. This is one of the reasons why atheism is growing faster among the younger generation. If you keep threatening your child with hell fire over every trival issue of "disobedience", the child's respect for God will start reducing.
    See ehn, our mothers are trying. Some of them have done things that even Harriet Tubman could not do. But you should know when to use your head.

9. Aye Akamara
    Haaaa.....this is too much torture
    Psychological and emotional torture
    So many children suffering from parental issues
    Poster, May God bless and heal you and your brother completely.

10. Wow your story is inspiring I just wish that God will save the children who are born into a toxic families.
    May God be your strength

11. This is really bad. I pray God grants your brother quick recovery. I have learnt some new things from your write up.
    God bless you.

12. Things are really happening...

1. that's why I'm ever grateful to God.some people have it worse,if some tells their stories u won't close mouth for days.may God heal your brother poster and may he perfect your healing too

13. Waoh,waoh...#dumbfounded#😞😲😱
    Poster you are a very strong person and I pray that God grants you all your heart desires and wishes,AMEN.
    As for your brother God has already taken control and you will smile soon

14. I think people like XO Mystery that was calling yesterday's poster ungrateful can read this.
    Alot of Nigerians has undiagnosed mental illness and they call it discipline their children.
    Alot of narcissist are even top people in their church and are prayer warriors casting invisible witchcraft from their kids.
    My grandma I believe has this condition. She is always claiming one person or the other is a witch. She even said her tenant which she didn't get on with turns into a cat to torment her at night. This is a cat I see inside her dustbin day and night. Alot can't keep meaningful relationships. My grandfather ran back to the village in 1990. Even tenant packed out in the middle of the night. Her kids have also taken her traits but not as bad.
    I said it yesterday there is no need taking to this people. Do you know the family meetings we have held. The only thing that can help is a psycologist, therapy and drugs.
    And move the hell away and help from afar. If not you will end up like this posters brother and develop mental illness still.
    That someone gave birth to you doesn't mean the have the right to destroy you.
    I have a friend who is going through something similar. She always told me family isn't always your blood. Family doesn't have to be your mother father or siblings. Your family can be those friends that are there for you. Those friends that help you when in need. Those friends that raise your self esteem and not break you down.

1. When can we stop using personality disorder to diagnose every mental disorder? Every thing is not narcissism. Let that word rest and use it when it is useful.

Poster, your mother may be suffering from PTSD or bipolar disorder, or various mental disorder triggered by her childhood trauma or adult trauma. Stop looking at your mother as an enemy, she needs help to see a psychiatrist. Don't think she will clap for you when you ask her to see one. Mental disorder is still stigmatized everywhere including Nigeria.

Please do not exonerate your father from this mess. He has as much part to play just like your mom. Look at how your brother ended up sick while staying with him. He couldn't even pay your school fees. He is highly irresponsible and one of the reasons your mom is the way she is. Both your parents need counseling and visits at the psychiatric ward.

I believe some couple have no business having children until their relationship is stabilized but trust Africans, you get married today and next thing, you will see womb watchers.

Your case and that of yesterday posters are two different things. Isolate one case from the other. Yesterday poster mother is a single mother of many children battling to take care of her children in a bad economy. Your mother had only you to take care of after her divorce yet she didn't do right because she is not well. Your mother is sick. It is not until she roams the street naked before you realise she is sick.

We have a lot of undiagnosed mental issues in Nigeria and majority are women. A lot of issues can cause it. PND, PTSD can trigger it. Bad husband, bad parents, bad economy coupled with the hot sun. Its a lot to deal with as a woman in Nigeria. If you are awesome mother living in Nigeria thank the lord but don't shove it on the less fortunate mothers faces.

Children are not asked to be born but here you are. Be grateful you weren't abandoned at an orphanage. Realise your mom has issues , help from a distance. In Nigeria because of how bad things are, some people become obsessed with religion and not God.

To be continued

2. You no well this woman. She should be grateful she was not abandoned in orphanage.
      Why do Africans have this mentality that a parent that fucked and brought a child into this world without the child consent is doing the child a favour by birthing them feeding them,clothing and educating them. It is their duty. If you can't do your duty please don't have children.
      People like Oprah acknowledged she will be a selfish mother and mothering is not for her. She acknowledges it is hard work and commitment for life and she can't do it.
      Yes we should be thankful to our parents but not to the detriment of our physica and mental health.
      Nobody is a psycologist here so how are we to know what to diagnose. We are just giving examples it may be an illness so this posters can seek help for their parents .

3. XO the stories are similar in that they were in toxic environments with toxic parents.

15. The problem with most African parents is,they feel,they did their children a favour by bringing them into this world. You ask them for more food,they will keep going on about how lucky u are to have even gotten something to eat. From 10 years going, some will send their kids out to go hawk,to cater for them. When u grow, and have your own family, they don't give an F, how u cater for your family. They want u to give them everything they couldn't achieve in this life. Very very sad. These kids didn't ask to be born,they are your responsibility. You have to cater for them, expecting nothing back. Loads of African father's also treats their wives so badly,these women become bitter and depressed. What do I know sef?

1. A lot of women are terrible and I pity men that marry them.

2. African men are even more terrible

3. African parents as a whole terrible.
      If you lose 5 naira, whip you like a dog as if you stole 50 billion.
      Sorry can never drop from their mouths when they are wrong, because they are still battling their useless ego.
      Just the way they don't prepare for marriage is the way they don't prepare for parenting. I can swear with my life that not up to 1 percent of Nigerian parents have read books on parenting or marriage. Yes, books.
      If it is to prepare for wedding day, aso ebi, shaku shaku, ehen that one they can use one year to prepare.
      Just open leg, fuck, Gbam pickin done enter. Born. Finish. Mtsheew. I've said it before, this generation of monsters ehn... tufia!

16. Unfortunately this is the case in so many Nigerian homes. Sometimes it’s the father, no affection, no respect for the individual that your child is. I don’t know why...we never think of the far reaching effects on the child’s self esteem and mental well-being .

I shower my daughter with hugs and kisses because I never really got those. I was such a loving child but my mum withheld love because she thought I would become to attached and she had to leave me at home alone so that was her way.

My dad was never in the picture until my teens and when that time came it was all about discipline and sex (I realise it was molestation now) as a way of getting a little affection and reducing the physical discipline. I always thought it was my fault in some way.

Such a lonely life....

Thank God for my child. My hubby may not be perfect but I pray God blesses him more and more for loving me and making me feel worthy of love.

If I send in my chronicle it will make many of you cry all day. One thing is that I realise you have to stop blaming yourself ur parents at a point. You have to take responsibility for you ur life and happiness. That is the only way out of this no matter what it takes pray and plan. Your life is in you ur hands. Today people who don’t know my story admire me and think I have it all but little do they know what I have been through to get where I am. The battle starts in the mind, tell yourself you deserve better. I am still on my way but even as it is I have a testimony.

1. Please send your chronicle. We can always learn a thing or two. Thank you for breaking the chain for your own children.

17. Na wao!!! This is sad!!! But parents should know that a child can't function in a toxic home!!! Oh Lord help us to marry right . Amen .

18. Those who have good mothers really do not appreciate what they have. Poster, please Google foundations that can help with your brother's drugs. You can also visit the St. Vincent de Paul society of any Catholic Church. Preferably one located in a highbrow area. May God guide you and your brother.

19. God!this just broke my heart, the effects of a dysfunctional home is just too much on the kids, O God help our homes strive through the turbulent times.

1. Amen dear its unimaginable @ Nelly

20. OMG.. TankGod u are getting ur life back, I pray healing to ur brother..
    My father was almost like this but I left, in the same city with him after my secondary education,i rented an apartment of my own,start working as a sale gal, he disowned me and I did the same... When he realized I was even more stubborn than him, he started sending people to beg me... Anyway I forgave him and he changed. Can't let anyone destroy my life

21. so sorry...thank God for my mom

22. mmmmm I thought am the only one,this blog has opened my eyes to know that what i went through was tin ti li of what some people went through may God help/heal the world Amen.
    My own mother will grind pepper(ata)put in my eyes and private part (pussy) then send me to go buy something for her under hot sun oooooo.I am grateful for salvation!thank you Jesus for giving me a heart to love.Everything i went through is in the past now cause we are good friends now.My experience has thought how to love my children genuinely.

23. This is so sad,may God heal you and your brother completely.There are some women still abusing their children in the name of discipline.In a sane country,the kids would be taken from them.Abuse and discipline are different

24. Thank you lord for my loving parents I could not have asked for any better, dear poster am soo happy your learning and living from your situation I trust you would make a loving and caring mother in future

25. @ Poster you can contact Dr.Naya Ndupu
    She's a mental health professional and advocate.

26. Poster, I'm happy for you dear, I think your mum has some form of mental illness but she needs to accept it and go for treatment and therapy. Your brother obviously inherited it plus the insane environment he grew up in triggered it the more.

Keep being happy dear, may God bless you with a good job so you can help your brother. It is well with you dear.

27. We need to understand that most of our parents didn't have a solid foundation from their parents growing up. They had it really tough. Their parents never taught them how to love. Women were raised by their parents to do domestic work, be a virgin and their parents never filled any emotional vacuum inside them. The men were raised to do nothing, just pay school fees and pay for somethings at home and that's all. Most of our parents had toxic grandparents, our grandparents had toxic great-grandparents. They didn't even realise they were toxic. They taught majority of the things they did were normal. No one to teach them otherwise. No internet, no social media, nothing.

For a single mother in Nigeria with lots of children, its going to be challenging for her. Very challenging. Yes, they have awesome single mothers too.

Understanding the root of such toxicity will enable you to forgive faster and let it go. Quit the blame game, look at yourself in the mirror and do better. Your parents failed you, don't fail yourself. If you continue to harbour bitterness, you will repeat such mistakes. Ask your mom how her mother raised her, I am sure it was worse.

Forgive and move on.

I wish SDK can start posting bank account so some of us can anonymously help as we can.

1. You are making so much sense you deserve some accolades. After I spent hours spread out in months hearing my mom talk about her up bringing and early years in marriage, it became easier to forgive her. Even what you commented earlier about Nigeria and mental health of women is spot on. Poster, this is one of the best advice you should take from here. Something is definitely wrong with your mother and it was probably even so before you became self aware as a child. So you might be judging her thinking she is purely intentional and evil because that’s all you’ve known her as. The fact you mentioned your brother’s diagnosis makes it even more true that your mother has a mental illness that has been left untreated for so long. Many people are carriers of it but it doesn’t just happen. Tough situation or experiences ie trauma etc will trigger it because it was already dormant in them. That’s why it is important to protect your mind and peace at all cost! Do not think your father is blameless in this. He definitely was part of her trigger! The issue here is you don’t see your mother is extremely sick and has been so for years! But people around her are expecting her to perform duties of a sound person when she needs help! Typical story of many Nigerian women. Know from today that your mother is ill. Extremely ill. Years of untreated illness. Stop expecting anything normal from her. Avoid her side and work on yourself first. You can’t help her if you aren’t strong. I pray helpers locate you and your family. I am very sorry for all you’ve gone through. But hold on and trust God. Your testimony will be greater.

28. People please go and read up on mental illness and personality disorders,many people are narcassist and many people have schziphronia in this country. I know a lady whose husband left her back in the day and she died not being normal. To make matters worse her husband collected the kids from her. All of us kids avoided going to her house. Those days during Xmas you go to neighbours house to sing Xmas Carols and collect goodies.
    She stayed alone with her mother and they both died not too far from each other. It's even possible to die from a broken heart sef..
    My aunty always used her as an example that may one never marry a man that will run you mad.
    Through this neighbour iv known mental illness is very real. Some people also suffer from mental and nervous breakdown.
    All these chronicles iv been reading all have mental illness written all over them.

29. Please do not close your relationships because of "dysfunctional family"
    When someone loves you, he will become your family.
    Besides, you have a father in heaven and you belong to the family of Christ.
    They do not necessarily need to be involved in your marriage process.
    Find a good motherless babies home or orphanage and let your man pay
    you bride price there. Do a minimal celebration and move on with your life.

Nice of you to always lend a helping hand to your brother.
    May the Lord wipe away all these tears for you.

30. I can relate with the post. My mom has been cursing me since I was a baby,saying I trouble her as a baby(stop sucking breast at 3months old)always in the hospital for blood because I refuse to eat but according to my Dad,I didn’t like her food,so he always help out by providing what I like to eat as a child and so my mom dislikes him for pampering me even till date. Funny part is that we are seven in number but she has her favorite(as a stranger that comes to my house,you will notice how she treats the kids she likes and the ones she hates. People always ask me what did I do to my mom that she hates me and I cannot find the answer till date. For 30yrs,I have live in afraid,depression, sadness even wanting to take my life because I feel worthless. My sliblings(the ones she love)doesn’t see anything wrong with my mom. I pray for her every day and she is also a prayer warrior,every active in church. My Dad is a quiet type like me, comfort me always and pray for me. I avoid her for my peace of mind because my presence irritates her,so I don’t come home often but because of my Dad. My mom doesn’t see any wrong in cursing her children(have struggles with self esteem issue because of this. It’s well

1. The church has a lot of work to do, because a lot of perpetrators are church goers with titles. Lord help us.

31. Gracious grace26 May 2018 at 20:17

Lord help us to be a better parent to our children. In Jesus name Amen.

32. Oh dear!
    And I thought yesterday's chronicles was bad, today's own is depressing.
    Oh Lord, it's only you that can do it for this poster, it's only you God.

God will continue to uphold you.
    God will break protocol just for your sake.
    You will experience joy,love and happiness soonest.
    God bless you babe, God bless you real good.
    #hugsyoutight

33. My heart goes out to the poster. I am 99% convinced that your mum has mental issues. It does run in the family, hence your brother's diagnosis of Schizophrenia . It's highly questionable that his condition was caused by malaria. Most times schizophrenia shows up during teen years to late twenties. I am so sorry for all that you've been through. I know it's hard but forgive and keep spreading the word because somewhere , there are kids going through a similar experience . Hugs

34. your mom has mental health issues and symptoms of psychosis.....love and light to you and your brother including peace of mind xoxo

35. Thanks alot

I'm the yesterday's poster... I learnt alot here..it's well