Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Tracy Daniels Says Nollywood Film Makers Prefer British Returnees To Home Based Actors

Sunday, July 22, 2018

Actress Tracy Daniels Says Nollywood Film Makers Prefer British Returnees To Home Based Actors

Nollywood Actress Tracy Daniels has opened up to the perception of many that most actresses are wayward, adding that there are wayward people everywhere.....

She said, “Nollywood ladies are flashy and so, people have this perception that every flashy lady sell her body for money. It happens everywhere and in every career including the banking industry, but just because we are role models, people tend to think there should be perfection in Nollywood.

Explaining why her face has been missing on the big screen in recent times, Tracy blamed the ugly development on some notable production companies, lamenting their discriminatory attitudes towards the home-based actors.

According to her, apart from the fact that good scripts have been hard to come by in recent times, most notable production companies are only featuring what she calls “UK returnee-actors” in their movies. Stressing further, she said “ It’s so bad that the discrimination is now based on who speaks foreign accent fluently and talent is no longer the yardstick for selecting actors to feature in movies.

She bemoaned, "Most of us who are based in the country have been ‘benched’ by the giant production companies simply because they want to cast British-trained actors to shoot Nigerian version of American superhero film, ‘Black Panther".

From Vanguardngr

30 comments:

1. we buy dead,scrap or faulty inverter battery call me.08117903918/0814139511322 July 2018 at 10:02

Complain here and there

2. Shes saying nothing but the truth

1. Everyone now has an accent in Nigeria. My husband and I go just dey laugh when we watch movies. You see them twisting mouth, rolling tongue, you won't even know if it is British or American accent, confused lots.

2. 12:03 But that is still good. Kpata kpata you will suffer for an hour, max an hour 30 minutes.
      Do you listen to Nigerian radio?
      Jesu sekun.
      Wannabee British plus Croation plus American plus Swiss accent all in the same sentence. Do they not know how stupid they sound??? Ok can someone tell them. Me, I'm even in the mood to name and shame but cat be typing comment and someone will use it to wipe make up.

3. eyah. Get a side hustle then. And may plenty script fall on you

4. my best directors still remains Charles uwagbai and Eric Aghimien. I enjoy watching their movies. and they don't discriminate

1. What abt BIODUN PETERS or so, that lady her movies r d bomb!!! She was d cougar in Husbands of lagos, that wanted to sleep with Ninolowo and another guy together...I love Ehi's baggage.... And I can't remb another one;d lady had a child outside wedlock, treated her so BADLY, she had a classmate that stood by her all tru, her mothers husband raped her, her mother threw her away with d babe, the boy( school friend) took her home, the mother of d boy sent her to her own mother, d boy was always there for her, they both got admitted to study abroad, yes later dey came back. I just love love that movie, d actors r BEA

2. Biodun stephens.

3. Biodun Stephens..producer of Tiwa's baggage,picture perfect etc .

4. Ehis's Bitters..Thats the title of the movie by Biodun Stephen

5. She's Right. They Are Lookin 4 In-it Actors.. Lol

6. I have noticed this lately

7. No be today Nigerians don dey prefer imported to locally made. Just travel to Ghana and come back, you have an edge. Meanwhile,I know someone with 1st class from UK, over 2 years no job,a Prince for that matter. He now operates a bakery, modern one though.

8. Tracy Daniels indeed.fake name alert

9. This is where they'll require Gifty's talent for different accents...

10. But the enough axis are churning out movies every week. Go join them so they stop using those girls dey we no dey hear wetin dem dey talk. So it's difficult for actors to get movie roles in nollywood.

11. Then speak with an accent. Hian. It's not hard 😉

12. Some people without those accents are still getting roles.

1. She will come back and say that those ones are using assscent.*holdsnose

13. people should check out the real meaning of the word 'wayward'

14. Is not About Accent if you are a good Actress Producers will be begging you. So Aunty public complain u no shabi Act...

15. Replies
    1. True talk..Beverly Naya,Adesua,then plenty sef...the OAP's too,they will be alright biko

16. Abeegyy... some of these people who started at Enugu/Asaba movies level remained there and didnt upgrade. When people like Genevieve and Omotola were upgrading, they were talking and banning them from movies. Today naau look at it.

Even with the older generation actors, you cant compare someone like Joke Silva to Chinyere Wilfred. Some remain stuck in the local league because of pride and start complaining when others prefer the ones that have moved with time. Thats why Ngozi Nwosu would try and use Skinny Girl in Transit to mingle with the younger generation and remind them that she's still here.
    Did Nse Ikpe Etim school in the abroad? Omoni or even Uche Jombo? Abeggy they should leave this pity party and change gear.

17. Tracy it's not about accent but TALENT. We still have actors that doesn't have a single init or wanna gonna accent landing roles left and right. You and your twin should go and upgrade, attend correct acting classes, polish your skills and horn your craft and network and see if you won't start getting scripts.