Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctor Arraigned For Allegedly Slapping And Flogging A Nurse

Friday, July 20, 2018

Doctor Arraigned For Allegedly Slapping And Flogging A Nurse

A 35-year-old medical doctor, Emmanuel Okolo, who allegedly slapped a nurse working in his hospital, was on Thursday brought before an Epe Magistrates’ Court in Lagos State.

Police Prosecutor Moses Oyekanmi, told the court that the accused committed the offence on Wednesday, at 2 am at Awoyaya hospital in Ibeju-Lekki. The police charged Okolo, who lives at Epe with assault.

Oyekanmi said Okolo argued with Dorcas Adeyara, who was a resident nurse in his hospital over the state of a patient’s room and during the course of the argument, he slapped her across her face. He said, "My Lord, the accused caused serious bodily injury to the complainant. He slapped her just because she worked for him. He should be punished for it."

The offence of assault attracts three years’ jail term.

After he pleaded not guilty, Magistrate O.A. Fowowe-Erusiafe, admitted him to bail in the sum of N50, 000. She ordered that the sureties must be gainfully employed with evidence of two years tax payment to the Lagos State Government. Fowowe-Erusiafe adjourned the case until Aug. 19th for trial.
NAN

17 comments:

1. I hope he's jailed as a deterrent to others?

Inukwa, slapping your nurse because of what?

Yeye dey smell

2. Stupid doctors.,.bad belle,hatred dey worry dem with JOHESU

3. Let's hope the nurse didn't do something really detrimental to the patient's health before we judge.

1. SO IF SHE DID, DOES THAT WARRANTS FLOGGING AND SLAPPING? THE DOCTOR CAN NOT ARREST HER OR SACK HER IF THEIR'S BREACH IN PROTOCOL? YOU SHOULD NOT BEAT YOUR KIDS TALK MORE OF ADULT.

2. Yes it warrants a slap. Nurses are very rude and proud. Rude to walk in Patients , envious and full of shit. Behaving like they aren’t trained. She took that same rubbish attitude to the Dr. I say slap her again . Nonsense.

3. Am on the case the nurse didn't do anything but asked him to come and see a patient dat had an emergency.
      This is not his first time and moreover wat do u mean by doing a wrong thing dat will justify slapping another person.

4. If you like be under the case. We all know how you nurses can be. Dr’s are even more professional than you nurses.
      Is the Dr a mad man? Why would he call slap her for that reason?
      This is a lesson for all nurses. Next it’s patients that slap all of you.

4. IS ONLY IN AFRICA THEY WILL INSULT YOU, HARASS YOU SEXUALLY, BEAT YOU UP BC YOU ARE WORKING FOR THEM.

1. She is not working for him, the two were employes by the Lagos state government.

5. how do know this news is true?

6. Awon employees and employers afi suru

7. that what news is true? that he slapped her or he was charged to court? abeg even jamb question better pass this one...

8. Good development. Will serve as deterrent to nurses who think doctors are under their feet

1. He should slap her again in the court even. Some Nurses are very annoying: infact some females can be very annoying.

9. Employers in Nigeria see their employees as slaves with no rights, it has become so bad that even immigrants like Chinese, Lebanese, Syrians who setvup businesses here treat Nigerian workers like scum, something they dare not do in their own country, even more worrisome is the fact that fellow Nigerians who ate appointed to work as personnel managers for these immigrants are even more wicked, cruel and inhumane in the way they treat their own country men.

10. Haunty Stella, haaabaaa!

You know how to too sweet story ooo. Where did you get flogging from nau. Na wa for this your heading ooo.

He slapped her. Which resulted in “serious bodily injury”. That’s from the slap nau nothing about flogging.

But, sha you made me read. It sounded absurd. I had imagined he removed his belt and started flogging her any which way. Lol.