Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Reasons Your Diet Isn't Working

Friday, July 20, 2018

Reasons Your Diet Isn't Working

There is nothing more frustrating than working out and making healthier food choices, but still not losing weight. This can make you feel you are not doing enough and in the long run, give up. Unknown to you, you may be doing some things that are preventing your diet from working. 

You’re taking excess sugar

Excess sugar is the main culprit when it comes to weight gain. When you have too much sugar, your body is programmed to store the excess as fat cells. You might avoid the obvious suspects of chocolate and cookies, but if you’re replacing these with honey or dried fruit, your sugar levels could still be too high. The reality is that sugar is sugar, no matter how ‘healthy’ the form. It is better you avoid sugar completely.

You’re not moving enough

The human body was designed to move and not meant to be stuck at a particular spot. So, if you’re exercising a couple of times each week but still not seeing results, take a look at what you’re doing the rest of the time.

You’re not getting enough sleep

Craving carbs and sugar after a bad night’s sleep is common. When you’re over-tired, the reward receptors in your brain kick in, encouraging you to look for comfort food. Sleep deprivation also impacts hormone levels that regulate appetite, meaning the hunger hormone increases and the appetite suppressant decreases.

You’re eating too many processed foods

If your diet is high in sugar and processed carbs, weight loss is challenging, if not impossible. Anytime you eat something high in processed carbs, your blood sugar skyrockets and you release insulin. This directs all that blood sugar straight to your fat reserves, causing your blood sugar to drop, which makes you feel hungry again.

You’re too stressed

Most of us do too many things: jobs, families, shopping, and cooking. When you feel stressed, your body releases the hormones which flood your body with a glucose energy supply for that moment and this can cause you to eat more. Hence, defeating the purpose for your dieting.

by Adeniyi O 

41 comments:

1. My own question is; How can i add weight? I am so slim,exactly as Agbani Darego is. Was told to eat fufu. I did. Everyday fa! Then was told to eat potatoes. I ate it too, even my neigbors then who were fatter than I, joined in the eating. Yet nothing. Later, they said peace of mind, how wil ur mind be at rest when u have lots of worries ehn. Now they say, maybe when i marry and start having babies. Na shadow of husband i never yet see oh! Na wa oh!

1. Take Apitamin. Trust me you will add flesh in all the right places.You can contact me if you want some.

2. Dont worry, i was once like you, so slim and no husband yet even when i started working.

When Gods time came, i got married to the best man that gives me peace of mind, i added a lil then after i wean my baby, na so fatness came from nowhere, as i am typing this i am also listening to the youtube processing of food wit low calories.

so dont wish for fatness now, enjoy your slim shape and wear good cloth plus eat well not just junks oooo

2. Wow... interesting.

1. Food is too sweet and no money abeg. I no go chop well mk I sick enter hospital waste d one I no get?
      Wen Buhari leaves I go start

2. I used to be very slim.
      But on getting my new job, the stress reduced and I had the opportunity to eat assorted delicacies.
      8 months latter, I have added in the right places and I'm so loving it.
      People scream when they see the new me and it's so heart warming .
      The good part is that I discovered I can loose weight by skipping lunch and taking more of fruits at night.

Healthy living is key indeed

3. Honestly I wish to add some flesh, any idea on that?

1. We are in the same boat
      Size 8 since I can remember
      Not complaining just want a little more flesh

2. Eat in surplus, limit your cardiovascular training and include weight training in your routine. Nutrition plays an important role with weight loss & weight gain. So Consume more clean food, limit your sugar, refined carbs as they slow down insulin and would easily store as fat.

4. Interesting
    What about lepa that is eating everything and won't add??

1. I wish I was such a lepa.lucky you. In short I envy you cos I see food n can't eat. Small food I don blow so I see slim people eat everything n anything n I envy them ehhhh

2. Try increasing your protein intake. Calculate your BMI and then the amount of protein you need to take, based on that.
      For you now, 4 eggs for breakfast would be very much in order, with a cup of hot chocolate and enough milk (4 tablespoons of milk is 9g of protein) But one Nigerian he-goat might call you wasteful and try to slap you 🤣🤣

3. Thanks anonymous 12:11
      I do wish to blow small but I know its not in my Gene😂😂😂

4. Hahahaha
      Thanks chiki, I drink alot of milo
      Will increase my protein

5. Eat late at night. That is when your body metabolism is lowest or close to zero. That way you won't burn it out during the day. Eat dinner around 9 or 10pm you will see your self add weight. You will thank me later.

6. anon 18:47 is so right..i use to be so slim but of late I added so much weight coz of late night meals..

5. Sugar is very bad for our body system.

1. And you are Sugar babe. Lol

2. Anon 11:55 why are u so mouthed?this one loud ooo🤣

6. I am doing all these yet I am not adding weight. Someone please tell me what to do so I can add a little. I am 34 and I weigh 45kg

1. 45kg? Jesus have you google some nutritional food? Google them

2. You need to eat up. Consume more food and supplemt with vitamins. You are underweight for your age.
      I could be of help, if you could write down a breakdown of what you eat on a day to day basis.

3. Google and research on diet for weight gainers. Pele. You'd be fine 😊

4. chaiiii a full grown adult weighing 45kg. When even in secondary school I weighed 60kg.
      And now after kids I am 80kg. Which is too much. pls I am tired of constant diet and exercise and all I have lost so far is 3kg since last year November I started. My goal is 70kg, cant come and kill myself.

5. Eat late at night.dinner at 9 or 10pm.still eat your normal breakfast, snacks, lunch snacks but have a late night dinner. By morning you eat your breakfast let say 8 or 10hrs from the time you had your dinner. This will make your body not to breakdown the already stored fat in your body.

7. For over 2 weeks now I have been on intermittent fasting I don't eat for 18 hours. I eat last at 5:30pm and eat 11am the next day, and I also workout for 30 mins and eat healthy

1. Does it work for u cos it works for me and I eat anything I want

2. 18hrs?do u want to bring down the wall of Jericho?

8. Adeniyi O please I disagree with you on the sugar matter! We need to strike a balance on sugar intake. Too much sugar and no sugar in the body is s big problem.

1. I also disagree with you. She’s right.
      However, i’ll break it down for everyone else who’s reading .

Sugar in its simple form is bad. All types of sugar will give us the same amount of calories, whether they are from fruit or soda . The health risks of eating sugar are related to consuming too many “free sugars” in your diet, not from eating sugars that are naturally present in fruits or milk. Fruit contains natural sugars, which are a mix of sucrose, fructose and glucose. So Yes! sugar is bad, and this also apply to fruits when consumed in large quantity. So all you fruit juicers beware!

Next,Free sugars include these same sugars (fructose, glucose, sucrose), but in this case they have been removed from their naturally occurring source rather than being eaten as natural parts of fruits, dairy products, and some vegetables and grains, this is what is added to food and drinks by food companies etc.
      So the balance you speak on, should be on fruit. But free sugar issa no if you can ! It’s hard but the benefits are rewarding. Bad for skin, causes aging etc etc

9. Story of my life, bread butter milk golden morn biscuits and indomie will not let my skipping and work out show 😭

10. I have noticed that i usually add weight when i am stressed. Is it normal? People think i do not undergo any form of stress from work but i do because it doesn't show.

1. Yes this is normal. Even with proper training/weight loss when I’m stressed my weight plateau (that’s is I stop losing or gaining, lean mass that is ). We should always try to get enough sleep.

2. @ Ruby! This is due to the levels of "the stress hormone," also known as "cortisol",which rise during tension filled times. This can make your overeating into a habit, Because of the increased levels of the stress hormone.
      This also cause higher insulin levels, your blood sugar drops and you crave sugary and fatty foods,in turn making you to put on weight.

3. @ Ruby! This is due to the levels of "the stress hormone," also known as "cortisol",which rise during tension filled times. This can make your overeating into a habit, Because of the increased levels of the stress hormone.
      This also cause higher insulin levels, your blood sugar drops and you crave sugary and fatty foods,in turn making you to put on weight.

4. When cortisol is high in the body( blood) it can slow your metabolism, causing more weight gain than you would normally experience. This always makes dieting more difficult.
      That is why one should have adequate sleep (8hrs).

11. Word of advice, health experts advice one egg per day for children because they are still growing, while for adults 2 or 3 per week is OK, those that are overweight or obese should avoid eggs completely because the yoke especially contains high calories and cholesterol which is not good for the heart.

12. Above all drink water!...Drinking water helps boost your metabolism, cleanse your body of waste, and acts as an appetite suppressant.
    Also, drinking more water helps your body stop retaining water, leading you to drop those extra pounds of water weight.
    2 to 4 litres a day💪💪💪💪🏋️‍♀️🏋️‍♀️