Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sowore Pledges To Scrap Senate if Elected President in 2019

Saturday, July 28, 2018

Sowore Pledges To Scrap Senate if Elected President in 2019

#NotTooYoungToRun

A Presidential aspirant, Mr. Omoyele Sowore has pledged to scrap the senate if he emerges victorious in the 2019 elections, describing the upper chamber as a drain pipe to the country’s economy.

He noted that the federal government spends a whopping N1 trillion yearly as salaries and emoluments of the senators, including constituency allowances, pointing out that this huge amount should have been channeled to agriculture and education, which would at the long run benefit a larger chunk of Nigerians.

He argued that the current presidential system of government is capital-intensive, promising that, if elected in 2019, he would opt for a unicameral legislature.
From thisday

44 comments:

1. That’s actually what Nigeria needs
      1. Scrap the senate
      2. Make lawmaking a part time endeavor -
      3. Pay them baseline civil service emoluments

The gag is, you would need to amend the constitution to achieve that and the NASS is the forefront body to do that (according to the constitution) so how do you achieve that amendment?
      Referendum!!
      Which still needs to be approved and then set up by the Executive.. who want to retain powers

You get the vicious cycle?
      Nigeria is doomed

2. And people wonder why I said democracy is a bad economic situation for Nigeria? Every Housebof Rep and Senators wants to become billionaire doing nothing except shouting SMH

3. No be only scrap senate, you go scrap police, armed forces, judiciary and last, last scrap president. Idiot!!!!

2. Scrap Bank Account to be more precise! Men with good intentions showed forth their good deeds first, The likes of Late Awolowo and Late Dora Akunyili to mention a few, they put their lives on the line for Nigeria.

The others politicians in Nigeria busy defecting from APC to PDP: Unstable leaders.

Sowore show us your work first and stop the "All talk and no action" in Late Fela's Voice

3. While it's one of the moves Nigeria needs, the guy just shot himself in the leg with this statement... trust the Nigerian Senate.

1. Truth be told and it may have shot himself in the legs but his statement was true, The house of rep and Senate should be scrapped totally.

4. Scrapping doesn't make sense...just cut down 65% of there salaries..

Lobatan

5. He has shot himself on the leg all by himself

1. Lol you know this .

2. We say we want things to change yet we never support new faces. I wonder why we turn round to complain when the thieves recycle and steal more doing nothing.

3. It's not the new face that's the problem. It's not even scrapping senate that's the problem (I personally believe that one of the houses shd be scrapped). The question is how he intends to get the senate to scrap itself. He shd layout the game plan.

6. no go dhey do pass your self..

7. Easier said than done

8. Abeg make him go siddon jor scrap senate mtchwww the money that the country have what have they use it for or the one they have been collecting from corrupt politicians,this one is just saying all this because of the way the senators have been on the news lately using this to carry voters but removing senate is not the solution to Nigeria problems

9. So how will he get the Senate to erase itself from the Constitution?

10. Hmmmmmmm you won't win with this saying oooo. So many people eyeing that place and you want to scrap oga ooo

11. Someone should wake him from this sleep he is having. I don't have strength to type now maybe tomorrow.

1. What happened to your strength naw. Kpele

12. Taar !
    If una reach there finish now una go do another thing and be carried away

13. #Fear kills more dreams than failure ever will*

14. And you think they will give you access? All the best sha

15. Bros, you can't..... The same constitution that will bring in as president is the same that established the senate.

1. No mind am abeg, lie lie already.

16. Nigerian youth are so hopeless! No drive, no dream, no motivation. Not one proactive comment, not one. I fear for the future.

1. In this particular instance, I wd say that they are being realistic. The man apparently doesn't even seem to understand the system he is vying to preside. Nigeria is supposed to be operating a democratic system of government defined by a constitution. He has dictatorship in mind.

17. That won't be possible Sir.

18. Scrap which senate?? This one is clueless abeg

19. See the reason why “young”people are not taken seriously, idiotic utterances like this! How can you scrap the senate the legislature is one of the core branches of a democratic government. Separation of powers is essential in a a democratic system.. My man make desperation no make you spew rubbish and begin your political career known as a liar! Abeg, get real!

20. Dreamer! U knew u had eyes on d coveted seat & U played dt role after being paid handsomely by d same politicians in 2015. Don't just waste ur money trying pls.

21. Trade your faulty and spoilt inverter batteries for cash pls call for pick up.08117903918‬29 July 2018 at 02:54

Good luck to him

22. When a novice speaks you know,this same bloody blackmailing dog,stupid moron,he should go and lick his masters feet.

23. This man should surround himself with sound legal and political advisers to guide him aright so that he won't use his own mouth to destroy his chances with misguided statements like this. Talking too much was the same mistake late Awolowo made that caused the establishment to vow that he would never be president.

24. You guys need to actually watch the video and see what he said. He acknowledged that he can't do it by himself.

25. Wow!Reading through the comments and am dissapointed by majority of the comments. The people is the problem in Nigeria.

26. sometimes I feel like scrapping Nigeria sef.

27. See ds Black mailer, him & dt one dt owns Naij. I stopped visiting dt blog when I found out d owner.