He noted that the federal government spends a whopping N1 trillion yearly as salaries and emoluments of the senators, including constituency allowances, pointing out that this huge amount should have been channeled to agriculture and education, which would at the long run benefit a larger chunk of Nigerians.
He argued that the current presidential system of government is capital-intensive, promising that, if elected in 2019, he would opt for a unicameral legislature.
From thisday
Empty promises
ReplyDeleteThat’s actually what Nigeria needs
Delete1. Scrap the senate
2. Make lawmaking a part time endeavor -
3. Pay them baseline civil service emoluments
The gag is, you would need to amend the constitution to achieve that and the NASS is the forefront body to do that (according to the constitution) so how do you achieve that amendment?
Referendum!!
Which still needs to be approved and then set up by the Executive.. who want to retain powers
You get the vicious cycle?
Nigeria is doomed
And people wonder why I said democracy is a bad economic situation for Nigeria? Every Housebof Rep and Senators wants to become billionaire doing nothing except shouting SMH
DeleteNo be only scrap senate, you go scrap police, armed forces, judiciary and last, last scrap president. Idiot!!!!
DeleteScrap Bank Account to be more precise! Men with good intentions showed forth their good deeds first, The likes of Late Awolowo and Late Dora Akunyili to mention a few, they put their lives on the line for Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteThe others politicians in Nigeria busy defecting from APC to PDP: Unstable leaders.
Sowore show us your work first and stop the "All talk and no action" in Late Fela's Voice
While it's one of the moves Nigeria needs, the guy just shot himself in the leg with this statement... trust the Nigerian Senate.
ReplyDeleteTruth be told and it may have shot himself in the legs but his statement was true, The house of rep and Senate should be scrapped totally.
DeleteThis one has lost already
ReplyDeleteScrapping doesn't make sense...just cut down 65% of there salaries..
ReplyDeleteLobatan
He has shot himself on the leg all by himself
ReplyDeleteLol you know this .
DeleteWe say we want things to change yet we never support new faces. I wonder why we turn round to complain when the thieves recycle and steal more doing nothing.
DeleteIt's not the new face that's the problem. It's not even scrapping senate that's the problem (I personally believe that one of the houses shd be scrapped). The question is how he intends to get the senate to scrap itself. He shd layout the game plan.
Deleteno go dhey do pass your self..
ReplyDeleteEasier said than done
ReplyDeleteAbeg make him go siddon jor scrap senate mtchwww the money that the country have what have they use it for or the one they have been collecting from corrupt politicians,this one is just saying all this because of the way the senators have been on the news lately using this to carry voters but removing senate is not the solution to Nigeria problems
ReplyDeleteA breath of fresh air !...
ReplyDeleteSo how will he get the Senate to erase itself from the Constitution?
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmmm you won't win with this saying oooo. So many people eyeing that place and you want to scrap oga ooo
ReplyDeleteSomeone should wake him from this sleep he is having. I don't have strength to type now maybe tomorrow.
ReplyDeleteWhat happened to your strength naw. Kpele
DeleteAna eme
ReplyDeleteEgwuregwu.
ReplyDeleteTaar !
ReplyDeleteIf una reach there finish now una go do another thing and be carried away
#Fear kills more dreams than failure ever will*
ReplyDeleteAnd you think they will give you access? All the best sha
ReplyDeleteAs long as Electricity will be 23 hours a day.. No problem
ReplyDeleteBros, you can't..... The same constitution that will bring in as president is the same that established the senate.
ReplyDeleteNo mind am abeg, lie lie already.
DeleteStory. Continue dreaming
ReplyDeleteNigerian youth are so hopeless! No drive, no dream, no motivation. Not one proactive comment, not one. I fear for the future.
ReplyDeleteIn this particular instance, I wd say that they are being realistic. The man apparently doesn't even seem to understand the system he is vying to preside. Nigeria is supposed to be operating a democratic system of government defined by a constitution. He has dictatorship in mind.
DeleteThat won't be possible Sir.
ReplyDeleteScrap which senate?? This one is clueless abeg
ReplyDeleteSee the reason why “young”people are not taken seriously, idiotic utterances like this! How can you scrap the senate the legislature is one of the core branches of a democratic government. Separation of powers is essential in a a democratic system.. My man make desperation no make you spew rubbish and begin your political career known as a liar! Abeg, get real!
ReplyDeleteDreamer! U knew u had eyes on d coveted seat & U played dt role after being paid handsomely by d same politicians in 2015. Don't just waste ur money trying pls.
ReplyDeleteKeep dreaming
ReplyDeleteGood luck to him
ReplyDeleteWhen a novice speaks you know,this same bloody blackmailing dog,stupid moron,he should go and lick his masters feet.
ReplyDeleteThis man should surround himself with sound legal and political advisers to guide him aright so that he won't use his own mouth to destroy his chances with misguided statements like this. Talking too much was the same mistake late Awolowo made that caused the establishment to vow that he would never be president.
ReplyDeleteYou guys need to actually watch the video and see what he said. He acknowledged that he can't do it by himself.
ReplyDeleteWow!Reading through the comments and am dissapointed by majority of the comments. The people is the problem in Nigeria.
ReplyDeletesometimes I feel like scrapping Nigeria sef.
ReplyDeleteSee ds Black mailer, him & dt one dt owns Naij. I stopped visiting dt blog when I found out d owner.