Do you remember reading any of these Books?How can i forget Drummer boy !!!
Saturday, August 04, 2018
77 comments:
I can't forget the sugar girl,without a silver spoon, joys of motherhood, my book of Bible story, Tess of duberville,Animal farm etc
ReplyDeleteCollege days of John ojo
DeleteRevealer of secrets
The palm wine drinkard
The beautiful ones are not yet born etc
Also Eze goes to School, Chike and the River, One Week One Trouble, The Passport of Mallam Ilia...
DeleteMy Mercedes is bigger than yours.
DeleteSugar Girl and Passport Of Mallam Ilia was my all time favourites.i read those books over and over.....
DeleteWives on strike, without a silver spoon, dizzy angel... I need these books
DeleteThe Cannon Boy
DeleteBina at the airport,supermarket etc
ReplyDeletechike and the river
Beautiful ones are not yet born
Animal farm.
Eze goes to school.
The bottled leopard.
gods must be crazy.
I read all this too! Chei! Na so I like books. Lol
DeleteRalia d sugar girl😍😍
DeleteN others
Bottled Leopard
DeleteSamankwe in the strange forest
A child with a child
The passport of Mallam Ilia
Mother's choice
The African night entertainer
Passport of mallam Iliah
DeleteAn African night entertainent
Efuru
Weep not Child
Arrow of God
Things fall apart
No longer at ease
The gods are not to be blamed
Toad for supper
Macbeth
You rock! These are the real deal books from way back
DeleteThings fall apart
DeleteNo longer at ease
Weep not child
The gods are not to be blamed
Macbeth
I read these.
I recently got on Amazon and ordered some of these books. I read them again very slowly. Smiled throughout because of the memories. The books are on my bookshelf now. My collection!!
DeleteWithout a silver spoon..darkness usually fall upon our compound, and when it fell, it cast long showdows of... abeg, I nor remember the rest. Ure chokwe, that boy suffered gaan.
ReplyDeleteAfrican
ReplyDeleteNight entertainment, twins of the rainforest.
Wow African nights entertainment..real good memories
DeleteI read all except the last one. Old memories.
ReplyDeleteEfuru by Flora Nwapa.
ReplyDeleteI read all except the last one.
ReplyDeleteI also love things fall apart, A man for all season, the joy of motherhood, the witching hour(though very scary)...those sweet old days. When I don't have to worry about anything in life bcos my dad provided all i ever wanted. Hmmmmm. Adulthood is a very big scam walahi.
African night entertainment
ReplyDeleteThings fall apart
Chike and the river
Rahila the sugar girl
Akpan and the smugglers
Dizzy angel
DeleteSecond chance
All about Jaz
James H chase series
Mills nd bons series lol
Pacesetters series too
DeleteRead almost all pacesetters and James Hardley Chase
DeleteKai! Pacesetters and African Writers' Series.
DeleteOthers I can't remember their publishers like Ehana and Friends, Sparing the Rod etc.
Oh wow! The good old days, I read or these books, me and book eh! Especially novels....... Stella you for add everlasting mistake join, I read that one when I was 12years old, that book thought at that young age that love doesn't conquer all, the way ada sacrifice a medical eduction for alaji bako only to be a salve in her home after some years. Wow! That's when when novels had substances.
ReplyDelete*read all
Delete*thought me
*scarifice her
I read The Everlasting Mistake too. I knew from the beginning that Ada was making a very big mistake leaving her studies for an older man with money. E don tey wey girls like sugar daddies sha.
DeleteOh, Bella, everlasting mistake is the truth, a lot of girl these days are still making Ada's mistake and prefer to learn the hard way, those are the ones always chanting "who school epp".
DeleteI used to love Pacesetters novels. Wish I could get them now.
DeleteI read these and more. The still born, The god's are not to blame, Incorruptible Judge, all the Pacesetters series. Hmmmm....I can read book...
ReplyDeleteIncorrigible judge✅
DeleteI read all of it and more.
ReplyDeleteWhen there was no more books I started reading James Hadley chase
Narrow Escape.
ReplyDeleteAlawiye, Akuko Gagara, Olorunsogo, Apoti Alakara, Ige Adubi, abike oni paraga, ijapa ologbon ewe,Ijapa ati yannibo, ati bee bee lo
ReplyDeleteExcuse me Sir, I doff my hat for you. You really grew up in the good old Nigeria. For a Chukwuemeka to write Yoruba like this is commendable.
DeleteChuks permit me to add Sisi Jetwe😂😂 memories mehn
DeleteYou are soo on point.I read Alawiye in primary school..and I still rmba
Deletesome of the lines till date "Bádé dé Adé Oba, A ó báa dée" "Ò be Baba bó,ó ba òbo oba,A ó bá baba be oba"
With A silver spoon and d joy of motherhood ❤️❤️❤️ And bottle leopard
ReplyDeleteEchoes of Hard Time
ReplyDeleteIncorruptible Judge
Chike and the river
oh I miss does days
I did not read the last one. I can't forget my beginning at all
ReplyDeleteThe last one is my best. About a woman that had a son that was always sick almost to the point of death. I think it was mostly distributed in the west.
DeleteOK. Wish to read it but I don't know Iif it is possible .
DeleteI wrote about these some weeks back in SP news where I asked bvs where I can buy old story books like those up for children. Who read Tambari in Dukana? Return journey,second chance ,I love old all tins no be small
ReplyDeletePotter's Wheel.
ReplyDeleteKing Solomon's mines.
Mine Boy.
Nwulari.
My mother's daughter.
Passport of Mallam Ilia.
And all those pacesetters series.
I read all of the above except the last. Please is there an old bookshop in Abuja.
In addition to the above I loved Enid Blyton books
DeleteKing solomon’s mine✅
DeletePassport of Mallam Ilia✅
Ah.. Were is shattered dreams
ReplyDeleteEze goes to school
Things fall apart
Oliver twist
Oliver Twist✅
DeleteI read them all, thanks Stella . . I will want my kids to see them too
ReplyDeleteAwww!!!
ReplyDeleteI read all those books.
What about Wives revolt?
Wives and mothers by Ola Rotimi
DeleteOne week one trouble
ReplyDeleteAfrican night of entertainment
Sugar girl
Joy of motherhood
Eze goes to school
The beautiful ones are nt yet born
They are too numerous to mention. Awww!
Ah!! One week,one trouble✅
DeleteSugar girl✅
Eze goes to school✅
The beautiful ones are not yet born✅
Wow!,l read all except the last one.even my kids have read some of the books. Just bought animal farm,sugar girl,Chike and the river weeks ago.interesting.
ReplyDeleteAnimal farm✅
DeleteDon't forget the pacesetters novels
ReplyDelete-The instrument
-The worshippers
-Evbu my love
-For Mbatha and Rebecca e.t.c
also,
-The Boy slave
-Return of Shettimah
-Count down to perdition
etc.
I read ehhhhh.
Please who has any of the pacesetters series. I am willing to pay for them.
Interesting novels
ReplyDeleteI read all of them. Very interesting stories. Chike and the river etc...
ReplyDeleteMy daughter used Sugargirl in pry 4 and koku baboni in pry 5.
ReplyDeleteI still have them intact
Old memories
ReplyDeleteAll pacesetters novels like juvenile delinquents etc
ReplyDeleteOh God! Good old days
ReplyDeleteEchoes of hard times
Incorruptible judge
Virtuous woman-dt pokuwaa story
Purple hibiscus-kambili and jaja
Endless lists, just remembering dt pokuwaa story makes me wana cry. How I wish I can have dt book again
OMG. This just brought back memories. I love love love to read, mostly works of fiction though but still I try!
ReplyDeleteI was in commercial class back in secondary school but I took literature classes cos of my love for books. Won the best in literature prize twice😊😊.(Let me blow my trumpet abeg) People never let me read the title of whatever novel they were holding cos from 'let me see the name', it's until I'm done reading the novel o.😆😆.
Our African authors are talented sha. I like Ngugi wa Thiong'o, he was/is my favourite East African author. I began to understand the similarities in African cultures from reading his works.
I really like posts like this, it makes me nostalgic.😑😑
Undesirable Element
ReplyDeleteThe gods must be crazy
Ukwa ruo oge ya oda
Weep not Child
I cant forget novels like Bottled leopard,Things fall apart, The only son, The concubine, Efuru, The gods are not to blame and Felicia in Pacesettres
ReplyDeleteAwww! Beautiful old days, I read all of the above except the last one. I like reading novels a lot. Pacesetters novels use to be my favourite.
ReplyDeleteArrow of God
The gods are not to blame
Brother Jero
The concubine
Ade, Our Naughty Little Brother, My Father's Daughter
ReplyDeleteAde our naughty little brother.
ReplyDeleteI always cried reading Ralia the Sugar Girl *touching story*
I also read Wives Revolt in my form 1
ReplyDeleteThe pregnant virgin😢😢😢😢😢
ReplyDeleteI read all the books up there
ReplyDeleteThe weeping undergraduate, the coal city boy, the mysterious ebony craver, pacesetter- betrayal, the lonely Londoner etc
ReplyDeleteEnter your comment...EVEN ONE CHILD
ReplyDeleteI'm in copying mode.
ReplyDeleteMake una dey drop names.
You guys are forgetting Wedlock of the gods,When a child is motherless, The african child