Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Huddah Monroe Criticizes African Celebrities For Dressing Their Kids Like Adults

Saturday, August 18, 2018

Huddah Monroe Criticizes African Celebrities For Dressing Their Kids Like Adults

Kenyan Socialite Huddah Monroe, in a post on her insta story, has criticised African celebrities who dress their children like adults.

So many people sitting on this table...The fixing of weavon and braiding with attachment is the one that really gets to me...what da heck!

53 comments:

1. She shook and broke one table ...

2. Makeup on children gets me irritated for lack of a better word. Children are beautiful as they are already and they have years in front of them to use all the makeup in the world moreover, their delicate skins don't need the chemicals in the makeup products. Lip gloss or balm is just enough.

1. Fixing attachment,Wearing high heel shoe,skirt and blouse Ankara style,wearing kids bangles.......... some kids will now be looking like granny

2. Fixing attachment,Wearing high heel shoe,skirt and blouse Ankara style,wearing kids bangles.......... some kids will now be looking like granny

3. True talk... I dont have a problem with adult dressing anyhow... But let kids be kids...

4. Ha all the slay wey I no slay,my daughter go slayam put jara! I've even started Braiding her attachment plus small lipstick. Achorom ima!!

1. Fan pls let ur child be a kid...if she starts too early she go tire...

2. Babe pls let her be a child. Dont start putting chemicals on the lil girl at such a young age. There's time for everything

3. I sincerely hope you're joking, if not ....Hmmm

5. So true. Not just celebrities ooo. Most parents are guilty of this .Please let kid be kids. Dress them like kids and address them as one.

1. I remember when I did my engagement and twinned with my daughter,but no make for her. There was a comment how I was wrong for not making my daughter up and I had all the make up for myself. I just ignored

6. As much as I agree about fixing of weavon, there's nothing wrong with braiding with attachment abeg. I'll rather braid my girls hair with attachments than use relaxer on.

7. I even saw one recently on facebook. A little girl celebrating her 4th birthday. You needed to see the eyelash and heavy makeup her mom wore her. I was so pissed.

8. You got this right Huddah.

Saw a five year old girl the other day with braids past her waist plus make up on her face.

Me: Wow. Your girl is so fine. Isn't the braids too long though?

The mom: Emmm. She says she wanted it this way o. What to do na.

Me: She's too young for this now. You should've made it more appropriate since you made it yourself.

The mom: Okay madam, I've heard you. Thanks.

One week on, the girl is still rocking the long braids.

1. So na her pikin dey tell her wetin she want...so pikin dey I born go dictate for me...na when she dey sleep holyspirit go cut d hair

2. Mind your damn business

9. Everything is wrong with dressing a child like an adult!
    Some of these parents don't even know when to draw the line.

I love kids clothing/styles so much that I can't trade it for adults clothing or styles on my kid.

Let kids be kids, let them enjoy their innocency. They have a lot of years ahead of them to become adults and live as one.

1. *innocence not innocency.

2. Ikwakwakwawawa

3. I bet there's no innocency in your dictionary....
      You guys that claim to be English language perfect....

4. Black loved Queen and boss, go back to your cage.... You won't be getting any attention from me.

5. 'English language prefect' or 'perfect in English Language'.

Be humble enough to accept correction and stop arguing blindly incessantly.

10. True

Kids should be allowed to be what they are: KID

Children are naturally beautiful because they have abundance of collagen, thereby making their skin so supple.

Parents should allow them to glow in their natural beauty.

Some kids can fine like tomorrow bread.

I want cute Bambino....Stella, how's the bambino doing?

11. My neighbour is on dis table ooo... Infact lemme go and beg her nd tell her i want to read sometin on sdk wit her fone... Nd i shall read it aloud..

1. U are a case😂😂😂😂. U go see some kids self dancing like runs girl. Abeg this generation parents hv failed nd hv no moral values

2. that dancing part that kills me..

3. That dancing part is another angle. Parents need to do better, let kida be kids please

12. This reminds me of Regina Daniels...

1. Regina Daniel na grandmother already na...

13. She is right on this. Celebs & so many parents are sitting this table,its about to collapse o. Me I don't like it,let the kids be kids, let them maintain their innocence. Haba! U see small girl wearing weaves,or long braids, it doesn't make them cute,or show belly crop tops,i don't even like the idea that they even compete with their mum or dad in adult dance styles, I remember the kinda dance we did @birthday parties as kids.what da..... Anyway, na them Sabi.

14. Toyin lawani is sitting at the center, left, right and the edge of this table

15. While you’re letting kids be kids can you let parents be parents. I paint my house white you pain yellow it means we have different taste it does not mean one of us has bad taste. I add attachment to my daughter’s hair because it makes the braids last longer and look neater. During holidays she gets to have it as long as she likes as long as it’s not distasteful, na my pikin. I don’t let her watch Nickelodeon because I think it’s a bad influence but her hair is just hair.

Makeup on her face is a big no-no for me, but as a bonding activity she can make up my face and I can makeup hers. We laugh and take pics and wash it off immediately after. She is my child and she likes playing dress up. We live in the uk and maybe that’s why I see it as no big deal. There are bigger parenting challenges in life, everyone needs to take a chill pill abeg.

1. Aah! You are so right about Nickelodeon, very very bad influence. Teaching them boyfriends and girlfriends at such young age. Sadly my bigger daughter prefers it. Because as they grow the cartoon they like change. I need to stop her, me self watching it sometimes it’s too much for me.

2. Thank you anon!!! I was reading all the comments and smh. Africans and their nosey characters trying to tell parents how to be parents especially about trivial issues. Yes, it is wrong to make or force your kids to do things especially if they hate doing them but most kids just copy thier parents e.g. make up, styling hair etc. my daughter always wants to use my make up brush on her face, I only don’t allow her because I haven’t read up on it yet to see if it’s child-safe. I work a lot and don’t have much time to go shopping for randoms otherwise I would have gone looking for childsafe makeup and create bonding time for us. I’ve seen a lot of videos like this and it’s the cutest thing. Most mothers take pics of their daughters afterwards but then clean it off. You all probably see those pics and assume that’s how the kids go out everyday. My daughter gets into my shoes and starts walking around in them the moment I take them off. She asks to take my wig once I take it off too. I had to stop using wigs because of that as I don’t want her to have more interest in hair extensions in general instead of her natural hair because it’s beautiful. My hair is natural so I now mostly do Bantu knot outs etc. that too is my choice. It doesn’t mean mothers who wear wigs in front of their daughters are bad. Africans need to mind their own business or at least talk about the serious things like people who do cruel things to infants in the name of “giving them African baths”. Throwing them up and down while wet, twisting their arms and legs all over the place, doing unspeakable thing to the remnants of their umbilical cords which could lead to life threatening infections, circumcising girls in the name of culture or saying they want to prevent promiscuity etc. those things affect the lives of children now and in the future in form of mental, cognitive and behavioral issues; not bonding moments with kids that you all see pics or of certain choices in hairstyle that lasts longer and helps give the mother a break.

16. I thought I was the only one that found it strange. Those high heels are not suitable for kids. This is why you see some developing heavy “yams” LOL
    I just love it when kids look all innocent and cute.

17. 100% true... I love kids clothing even though its damn expensive..

18. Make up and adult dressing na small matter. My own is how the government can have a special task force to arrest all these parents using bleaching creams on children. A four year old boy/girl already has burnt cheekbones and knuckles! That one na serious child abuse for my dictionary. Meanwhile, no be this babe wey do serious breast and hip plant to promote her hoeing business be this? Wey talk say Oloshoism na the way forward. Na her advice those mama dem dey follow to prepare their daughters early for the job ahead. Abi she dey fear say she go soon dey out of business with all them toddlers giving her a run for her money? Shioorrr. Six and half a dozen. No difference mbok.

1. You started well but ended up bouncing on your head repeatedly.
      Ignore the messenger.
      Focus on the message.
      If Satan says Jesus is Lord and Saviour, will you say it is is lie, because Satan said it?
      Focus on the message and the truth you can derive from it.

19. I came across this lady's IG page and saw her 2 daughters...very beautiful girls but they had 4 ear holes pierced with both 4 holes sporting medium large hoop earings! It spoilt my day and I can't seem to shake off the feeling.
    Let small kids be, play dress up with the girls and let it be play time stuff not to be seen as a daily lifestyle. Then the dancing at parties?! God have mercy!
    They have their whole lives to do the adulting stuff.

1. There’s nothing wrong with her kids spotting double piercing .. for some people it’s a cultural thing .

2. I’m 28 , I’ve got two piercing on both side (my parent did it when I was much younger ) there’s nothing wrong with it