Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Boredom Eliminating Post...

Monday, October 08, 2018

Boredom Eliminating Post...

102 comments:

1. Fork and Fuck.

1. Fork is a cutlery while fuck is ofakasibe...

2. Abi na! Both fork & fuck are eating matter

2. Long LIVE the king.
    The news is LIVE.

1. Those are homographs. Spelled the same but different pronunciation and meaning.

3. Colour and color

1. Colour is British while
      Color is American english. Both of them are correct and can be used in any sentence but I was taught in secondary that once you are writing in American or British English you must stick with that until the end of your writing. You can't be using both American and British english in one write up.

2. Both are correct. One is british and the other american english

4. Been and being

1. Been is a paste tense while being (depending on context) is present continous

2. *past not tooth paste or tomatoe paste

3. Exactly. My problem too.

5. Content and consent

1. Content means that which is contained eg sdk is a great place to find funny content while consent is approval eg he gave consent to have his picture posted on sdk

2. @Tuscany
      We know say u Sabi English. E don so

6. Ferth and fert

7. Mine is HAS and HAVE but I'm currently getting them right.

I also saw someone mentioned inside IHN today that he/she is having problem with IN and AT when using location, I'd like to learn the proper usage too.

1. Has is past tense of have.

2. This toscany, you better find somewhere to sit!

3. Noni and Tuscany but I can't say 'You has been dismissed' Rather the right tense is 'You have been dismissed'

Note: The 'You'(Tuscany) in my sentence is singular.

4. Had is past tense of have

5. Had is the past tense of has and have

6. Had is the past tense of has and have

7. English shall be murdered here

8. I have, you have, he/she has

8. Easel and easell

9. Replies
    1. Advise is a verb (I will advise you to leave now) while Advice is a noun (I gave him good advice)

10. Kept and kempt

1. Kept is past tense of keep, kempt means tidy or neat

2. Kept is past tense of keep, kempt means tidy or neat

3. Kempt- neat and tidy.
      Kept (the past tense of keep- to maintain condition or possession, to continue in

11. Kept and kempt

12. Tontoh dike and Toto dick

13. Replies
    1. It's the tongue dear. Are you from the West?

14. Replies
    1. Cum is watery and come is when I ask you to come into my bedroom.

2. Cum is sperm & semen
      Come is nna bia

3. This Sky you will not kill me with laughter

15. Been and being. Which one dey carry has in front?

16. Disinterested - unintereated
    Bear - Bare
    Advice. - Advise
    Resign. - Re-sign
    Lose. - Loose

1. Lose-when when you experience loss.
      Loose- to make something less tight, unfasten or unbind

Bear-to carry.
      Bare- Naked.

Advice- noun
      Advise- verb.

Resign- to quit.
      Re-sign- to sign again.

17. Route
    Choir
    Cough
    E.t.c

18. Once and ones

19. In and at in reference to a place

20. Replies
    1. I will leave Lagos tomorrow morning.
      I live in this house.

21. BATH is a noun e.g I want to take a hot bath, Fill the bath with water.
    BATHE is a verb eg The new mom bathed her baby with care, I am going to bathe myself.

What I simply do to lessen the confusion, if I can add “a” or “the” before the word, it’s a noun.
    If I can add “to” before the word, it’s a verb.

22. Idle...and ideal

1. Idle- not busy,
      Ideal-.perfect, best.. .

2. Idle- not occupied.
      Ideal- perfect.

23. I've noticed that most of the Nigerian population has a problem distinguishing between "several times" and "severally".

Several times means doing something more than once, whilst severally means separately or apart from others (derived from sever: to divide or break apart).

1. Since u know why explain to yasef again

2. Zega, are you sure about this. I’m not sure 🤔 I agree oooo

3. Dear Zewa, a word can have several meanings. Your explanation is the first. In my dictionary, it's clearly written "2. Severally (Africa)- repeatedly, again and again. The second definition is also acceptable.

24. Replies
    1. Am is an inflection of the verb to be.
      I'm is the short form of I am.
      So, it's wrong to write 'am late, coming, going' etc.

2. I'm is abbreviation of I am. Nothing like am.

3. I think Am is used in asking questions like...Am I a girl?
      Am I late?

While I'm is the short form of I am. Example...I am coming
      I'm coming

I am going
      I'm going

25. This is very enlightening

26. I have learnt alot with this post!
    Now I don't know if learnt or learn is the correct word to use?

27. Shall and should,will and would, can and could.

28. I'll come back to this post again..nice one

29. My own is that all you ibo men should stop saying "Are you from where? Please i beg u in Gods name.Say where are u from? not are u from where.

30. My own is that all you ibo men should stop saying "Are you from where? Please i beg u in Gods name.Say where are u from? not are u from where.

31. Replies
    1. Enquire- to ask
      Inquire- to prove or investigate

2. Enquire- to ask
      Inquire- to prove or investigate

32. would and will

1. Will-culled from willingness
      Would-past tense of will and a modal verb

2. Will-culled from willingness
      Would-past tense of will and a modal verb

33. I have learnt something today

34. will and would
    shall and will
    can and could

35. Replies
    1. seat(chair) what you sit on.. Sit(it is an action word) You will sit down on the seat. I hope it explains it.

2. Stella think you for this, I have learnt stuffs already. Blogs shouldn't only be about gossips and meaningless things. God bless you.

36. THIS AND THESE

37. This and These

38. breath and Breathe