Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mama Tee Series - School Punishment

Friday, November 23, 2018

Mama Tee Series - School Punishment

This is a must read if you have a ward in any School....

Sometime last week, my neighbour's 4yr old son's ear was bringing out pus, the ear was also swollen. She came to me and asked if I know of any home remedy, I told her to take him to the hospital, after everything, they said there was a trauma to the ear and one bone shifted.

What happened?

After they questioned the boy well, he said his teacher slapped him in class a few days before, his offence was that he was talking while the lesson was going on.

Long story cut short, the teacher was arrested and locked up for two days.
The school management cleared the hospital bill and settled police before she was released.

This reminded me of the day my Tee came home and told me her teacher slapped her.

My people, I marched to the school the following morning and gave her a stern warning, I warned her NEVER to lay a finger on my child again no matter what she does. Then I marched to the proprietor's office and told her that any day her staff touches my child again, I will get her arrested. I also told her that if she doesn't teach her well as a result, if I notice any drop in her academics, I will withdraw her and the whole neighbourhood will hear what they did.

There are other ways of reprimanding a child asides beating and flogging, why slap little primary school kids?

What is your take on teachers punishing students?

Anyone here have personal experiences with these teachers? Let's share please.

Mama Tee

53 comments:

1. Why slap a little child, why? It is all shades of wrong abeg.

1. The teacher that would try that with my child,sorry would be his or her name. Anyway in my children's school,you don't glig the child no matter the offence. You report to the head teacher from there to the proprietor's office. He alone does the flogging,and your parents would be invited sef.

2. Eka Joy, food don come.

3. So Nigerian teachers still do this evil deed in 2018! Seriously?
    I remember secondary school in Nigeria: I attended a girls only school but they would flog us like criminals and when ur haircut was growing, it will be cut badly in different places "I never experienced the haircut punishment though" or if ure caught chewing gum, the chewing gum will be pasted on your hair and you dare not remove it until you leave the school premises.
    Hmmmmmmmm 🤔😏

4. My daughter has not yet complained about any teacher beating her but i remember how i fought for my kid bro when he was still in primary school. You can't because of pure hatred for a child you beat for no reason at all.

5. Gbagam Gbagam Teachers and parents come out o. It has landed again 😛😛

6. I WILL NEVER FORGET HOW FARIDA'S MUM BROUGHT CANE TO CAROL SCHOOL TO FLOG THE HEAD MISTRESS AND CLASS TEACHER JUST BECAUSE HER DAUGHTER WAS FLOGGED. THE FLOGGED TEACHERS CRIED LIKE BABIES. THAT WAS THE END OF FARIDA'S STAY IN THAT SCHOOL.

1. My elder sister has has parked outside the school waiting for one stupid man, after slapping me. He slapped me in the morning but I made sure I went home crying in the afternoon. I was in ss3 then, I cried so much cus I did nothing wrong, my mum wanted following but school would have closed by the time we get there, so the next day my sis followed me, she tried talking to the man but he ran away so she parked outside the school waiting for him, he dint come out. About a week later she jammed him in fueling station and started walking towards him, this man ran into his car and locked the door, she insulted the hell out of him enh, his wife was just begging.
      That’s how they will be forming like gods in school

7. When I been dey primary one, na so so cane for my nyansh and hands. Which parent fit intervene, them no born you well. As I look back, I dey praise my teachers for doing the thing.
    Na all these threatening and arresting teachers dey make una pikin turn to snakes in character. Is slapping a child good -NO. But using cane -utari on the buttocks no go burst am.
    All these e-parents wey dey stay SM 24/7, no discipline of child for home, none for school. Una no do well at all.

1. The fact like flogging you like nama worked for you doesn't make it right

8. Mama tee to say the truth eeh I'm currently teaching and though I don't advocate for slapping and despise unjust flogging but most time parents just dump their kids in school for teachers to deal with. Most parents don't know what their kids put teachers through and how truant a kid can be. The fact that you pay school fees don't except your kid from being punished or flogged. Naughty corner and all those new age punishment don't work on all kids. In fact most times you're doing them a favour. My advise is to follow up on your kids bumper to bumper and when they are flogged try n find out what conspired before the flogging took place.
    p. s forget the above statement when you come home to see marks or injuries on your kids body.
    But mama tee to be franc with you your statement is the reason we have so many disrespectful teens today who don't have any sense

1. SDK's biggest fan23 November 2018 at 13:02

Aunty Teacher. It's *EXEMPT not except. Don't thank me, I'm good.

2. God bless you. Does she mean that she has never flogged her children before?

3. *transpired *
      *frank * lemme turn to English teacher today... Hehehe

4. So don't you think there are other ways to correct a child other than beating and flogging, when I was growing up and I did something wrong my mom will bring out the animal puzzle she bought and ask me to fix it, I will be dere for hours and start crying till I get it that was one of the various ways to punish a child. Just imagine you beat a child and you don't even know if that child has a health condition or even quarter to death and you flog the child and the child dies, nobody will hear sorry

5. But some teachers punish kids that aren't theirs like they are thieves which is just too bad.

6. I personally told the teachers at my children's school to always discipline them when they do wrong. There is a 'no beating' policy in that school. But when a new teacher beat my 5-year old daughter and left cane marks on her body, ahhhh! I stormed the school the next day, made plenty noise,issued plenty threats/warnings, spoke plenty big big grammars, see teachers kneeling and pleading on behalf of the new teacher......infact, the other teachers were shocked to their bone marrows because they NEVER imagined seeing me in such state. The proprietress issued a sack letter instantly and it became my own turn to beg, hehehehehe! See the way i started begging on behalf of Miss Aramide, you'd think she was my younger sister. After that episode, we became padi. She became my daughter's lesson teacher and even turned down the first month lesson fee as gratitude for helping her retain her job (i ended up giving this back to her in form of a gift).

Keyword: when it comes to punishing these kids, moderation is key!

I apologise for the long epistle.

7. Anon 13:09 that's how one teacher in my primary school was yelling at one of us then slumped n died.
      moral lessons: it's not only kids that suffer from health conditions. Moderation is always key.

8. My dear dont mind this parents that flog their kids at home and expect teachers to lick their kid's behind.... One of my kids broke her seat in class after warning her severally to keep calm... She stood throughout school hour... Ate while standing.. Wrote while standing... So when the mum came to pick her .. She said she was tired.. Mum asked y.. She said she stood for the whole day... Mum asked y.. She said nothing.. Mum came to my class vibrating... I show the first and second chair her daughter broke... Nd she just scolded the child... I asked the child y didnt she tell her the reason for her punishment... Nd then i flogged in presence of her mum for lying... Nd told them bye... She couldnt alter a word to me... She left wit so much shame.... Me i use flogging moderately ... My worst punishment is depriving of food while u watch ur mates eat... Ah dat one can pain dem eh...

9. Aunty you can’t justify slapping a child until his ear has issues, haba, do that to my child and you go chop shit that day, I don’t even allow another child bully my child let alone a grown hand. You can flog a little on the hand, use harder purnishments but to slap him on the face, you go born pikin that day

10. That's how one teacher slapped a kid that was an only child in primary school and he started having headache and died few days later. Apparently didn't tell his parents. You can imagine the force behind the slap. Don't touch someone else's kid. Report them to the school authorities and if it warrants suspension or even expulsion, let the school management handle it.

9. What kind of slap is that?
    There are other ways of punishing a child.

10. That kind of a slap to warrant purse coming out of a four year old child is too much na, Haba,which kind of wickedness is that

1. Didn't u see how the writer spelt 'pus'? What is ur problem set?

11. Chai I receive flogging o and my parents will never follow you to school just because of that o

12. I don't support corporal punishment in school but you won't really understand the method of discipline in school until you've taught in school.
    In the school where I serve as a corp member, teachers are not allowed to touch students. But I have observed that the students don't respect their teachers except the few teachers that are permitted to do that. Just yesterday, a jss2 student threatened to sue a teacher because the teacher asked him to kneel down for talking in class.
    I know some teachers take it to the extreme but some parents are not helping matters at all. Imagine a parent beating up a teacher because the teacher disciplined her son for not having a complete note.
    Students go wayward when corporal discipline is absent

1. I don't even want to chook my mouth in this one before they will say I'm defending teachers.

Personally, I never accept one inflicting injury on kids. Never. I flog oh, I won't lie but u can never see marks of my beating. I believe moderation is key in everything.

But to totally rule out flogging, I don't see how that helps.

Y'all claim to be a Christian so pls subtitle this for me 'spare the rod and spoil the child'

2. Eka joy, by the grace if God, You would soon travel out and live abroad. I'd you decide to continue in education, please come back and tell us if you are still flogging

13. See it all revolves around what the child did and the level of punishment given. punishment that resulted in ill health or bruises is wrong. The Bible says spare the rod and spoil the child, it didn't say use your hands or any other instrument except the cane neither did it say use the cane to inflict injuries on the child. I was flogged in my primary and secondary school days but all of them no reach the beating way I receive from my mother. We get 3 canes at 3 different places for our house for quick access and use 😂
    Gather here for selfie if your mama sabi flog

1. Flogging was always my mom's last resort, and when she does ehn, YOU MUST GET BIG INJURY hhehehehehehe. Na talking she dey take beat us those days. When momsy talk to you ehn, na only you by yourself go begin dey cry like who dem beat. That was how my brother went to hide inside a new shower try we kept under dad's bed simply because mom talked to him. Na so we start to dey find am o, we searched for over 3 hours. When my cousin found him, he was fast asleep and was covered in heavy sweat! I pity my mom that day cos she was just crying and thanking God for 'saving her son's life', hehehehehehe.

14. "..Discipline your child and he will give you peace, he will bring delight to your soul." Prov 29:17.
    "He who spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him disciplines him diligently." Prov 13:24.

Should a child be slapped? NO! But should a child be flogged for wrong doing? YES!!

Only words and naught corner WILL NOT WORK. Go and ask America, that is why it is the headquarters of all immorality in the world.

Yes, there are wicked and sadist teachers who should be cautioned, but that does not mean caning when due is bad. Please let us be guided.

NB: I am a Mother and not a School teacher.

..Cheers

15. When I was a teacher, I did not flog my pupils, just gave them light punishments. Many parents would come to my class then and complain that I'm spoiling the kids. And that I'm supposed to flog them very well, so that they'll heads will cool down. Me wey no even get power, I just resigned. I no do again.

16. i am a teacher and also a parent,i must say that you can't help but punish some children.though i teach in the secondary session,i don't support slapping a child in the name of punishment,that is wickedness in the highest order.kids in lower and middle basic classes are more obedient,so other form of punishment should be adopted.

17. I believe there are other ways to discipline a child instead of slaps and floggings.

Parents should also not show their kids that they can get away with anything thereby unknowingly spoiling them.

18. I work in a school where flogging, and corporal punishment is not allowed. But the children are wayward, disrespectful, and unmotivated (sort of). We are Africans, and these children even while at home, sometimes, push us beyond our limits, and we spank. Not out of hate, but love. I think rather than the total removal of flogging and corporal punishments, we should have a monitored one. Teachers should document each flogging, and corporal punishment, child's offence, type of punishment allotted to the child, or no of flog,why you think that method will deter the child from committing the same offence again, and what methods should be put in place if such is repeated some other time. Duly signed by the teacher, and class representative who should be a witness, and submitted to the head of school for reference or so. The issue of "my child must not suffer, my child must not be flogged" is making children go haywire. Let these children know that there are sweet and painful implications for each action. It makes them better adults. Don't leave them to find that out when they're already adults. I just watch these children when they misbehave and pity the future of their parents. What's my own?

1. I went to a school where punishment was not encouraged. The principal travelled for courses in the US frequently and promoted equal respect for all. A senior couldn't even punish a junior without getting suspended. If you want to send a junior on an errand, you say please and don't take offence if they tell you they have somewhere more important to be. Guess what, it worked. Students will be mischievous and naughty but if you focus on the bigger picture, it is more effective in developing students with great self confidence than timid students afraid of getting punished for saying no.

19. Discipline your child to the extent of damaging the ear?

Honestly Teachers are underpaid but is that why they pour their anger on innocent student. Some will beat the students like criminals. Nobody is dumping any child on you. It is your duty to mentor and guide that child. You can enforce minimal discipline but to pour your years of bitterness on an innocent child... I disagree. When you teachers teach in developed country where there is zero tolerance for abuse,do you resign and relocate to Nigeria...No. You adjust and teach well.

Anyways, it is left for parents that will watch someone brutally flog their children and fold their hands. Because, I will NEVER.

20. But let me ask oo has flogging a child ever changed the child/ stopped them from being a truant? My secondary school never flogged us and i guess i turned out alright.. Suspension was the order of the day later your parent do as they wish with you at home

21. I dont support slapping a child. I support flogging once in a while. Naughty corner doesn't work all the time. Spare the rod spoil the child!!!

22. Army Children School Asokoro takes the award for best punisher of children.I can't forget my alma mata very ruthless school.

23. I don't support slapping but I have cane in my house. My mini-me does not like doing homework. I tried every manner, including suggestions from other mothers and parents during PTA meetings but nothing worked. The only thing that I achieved after all the time outs and what not, was she would do shoddy work as if she is a dunce. Na so I buy cane! She sat up by force. I can not be paying what I am paying in school fees plus lesson teachers join and you can not apply yaself to do your homework. That motivation and discipline must come ooo! She has now come to understand during what I call our 'mother daughter bonding sessions' that whenever I do that I must have tried all other options without success.

1. If you let her watch TV, cartoons and all sorts then the joke is on you. Parents supply kids with distractions and wonder why they don't apply themselves.

24. I pitied students of Oharisi Secondary school Ughelli where I served
    A soldier beat up a student until his back bled

Discipline is highly important but not to the extent of inflicting injuries in the name of punishment

25. Exactly a year ago my daughter came back home with one red 👀 eye, she said her teacher slapped her, i called her she didn't pick and nerve returned my calls. The following morning i went straight to the principal'office to report and she

26. If my child misbehaves, by all means flog him. He will not do it again. I do not support slaps any way. Take cane, line e nyash, e head go clear fiam. #notoslaps

27. I was flogged and slapped very well in primary school! Flogged and punished in secondary school yet I didn’t die nor sulk! We parents of nowadays eh! Thats why the new generation are so unruly and entitled

28. If anyone flogs or spanks my children born or unborn they’ll be severely punished in ways the world never knew existed. No one has the right to lay their hands on another’s child. If you’re that pissed report to the parents.

29. In my time, corporal punishment ie flogging wasn't encouraged. It was more of cutting grass, cleaning windows, washing pots in the kitchen etc (boarding schoool).
    It was the useless seniors that were always trying to prove only God knows what punishing at random. I remember one cow faced senior and what she did to me, Bukky Osunkeye, Osun House.
    I know where she is and the company she even works for in lag. I make sure I spent a few minutes everyday cursing her rabidly.
    Useless, despicable THING.