Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: World Bank Says Nigeria May Soon Become The World Capital For Under-5 Deaths

Friday, November 30, 2018

World Bank Says Nigeria May Soon Become The World Capital For Under-5 Deaths

According to World Bank's report, Nigeria will take over India as the world capital for deaths of children under the age of five by 2021. 

The bank’s report was based on the fact that India, with a population of 1.3 billion recorded 989,000 under-five deaths in 2017, while Nigeria, with 196 million citizens, recorded 714,000 deaths in the same year.

In its bi-annual economic update on Nigeria, the World bank said Nigeria records the highest number of child malaria deaths anywhere in the world, adding that Nigeria had the highest number of out-of-school children anywhere in the world, and that 90 percent of these children are from northern Nigeria. 

The bank said: “Nigeria’s weak revenue mobilization has major implications for its growth and development, including for improving its dire social service delivery outcomes. “Poverty remains high in Nigeria and access to basic social services is not universal. 

In 2016, the World Bank estimated poverty at 38.8 percent of the population using the national poverty line.
By international poverty line of PPP-corrected $1.90 per capita per day, an estimated 49.2 percent of the population lived below poverty in 2017.

Vanguard

15 comments:

1. Buhari Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy @{Giveaway Princess

2. Waiting for the day I will read on the international dailies that Nigeria will soon or has already become the empire of infrastural development and low rate of crimes and looting.

Negativity is always associated with Nigeria. Such a very distasteful thing to read or hear.

3. We are in God's hands and I so trust Him to keep us safe.

4. And some people will be praising that stupid Jesus of otuoke GEJ. He was the cause of all this. Do you know how much of partner funding looted in health and now we are paying back billions of dollars to those partners(global fund etc) that is why nothing tangible can be done in health sector and other sectors cos most of the budgeted money is being used to pay back what pdp and company stole from the funds partners donated. That is why is sad that people will just be yarning dust and insulting Buhari without recognizing the fact that GEJ did a lot of damage to the country. He now wrote a book of blames and self righteousness, may God punish him

1. So u believe yourself abii? Ogbeni forget Jonathan and shift your blame to your buhari.
      In 2019, your buhari will win which i know for sure and I will then know who will be receiving the blame from all you buhari supporters. Maybe you people will start blaming rain or the sun. Abii una go blame jonathan for 8 years?
      The only pity I have for you is that you live in Nigeria unlike me. #pooridiot with cow brain.
      Just continue bn stupid without realising your current president is buhari and not jonathan.

2. And for four years your Messiah couldn't do anything. If it is bad as you say, what is stopping the dullard from resigning, he is even contesting for the second term.

Buhari is corrupt, embezzles public fund, incompetent such that people he hands in positions are not monitored at all and a such, they steal everything in the coffers of the country.

To cap it all, Buhari is unrepentantly nepotic. Now, favouritism is the order of the day in Nigeria.

Buhari crashed the economy, no money in circulation, businesses are folding up, investors are leaving the country. Crimes especially that of ritual for money making purposes is rampant now.

The Nigeria now is same as the Nigeria of early and mid 1990's.

Buhari is borrowing money from anywhere like it is no man's business. Thanks to the problem he has with the senate president if not, Nigeria would have been sold by now.

Buhari is so weak that he has no idea of what is happening in the country, he is so old and outdated that his secretaries only update him on what they want him to hear. He doesn't know the level of suffering in Nigeria at the moment. What type of president is that.

Buhari is really lifeless to be the president of a country. He should be in retirement while his family takes care of him. He is not fit and capable to take care of only himself and not to talk of a whole country.

5. Correct.
    Add that to the capital of rape crimes.

6. Pity the little children of Nigeria. NAWA