Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians In The Diaspora Don Suffer....

Saturday, December 29, 2018

Nigerians In The Diaspora Don Suffer....

Do you live in the diaspora and this is your story?You came back home to find that the house you had been sent photos of does not exist?Or were the one that fooled someone?What happened?It would be interesting to read this story from two sides......

58 comments:

1. This happens a lot and it end up breaking the family

2. Well,I think no one is to be trusted to such level. It's better the person comes home once in a year at least to see things themselves

1. You can only do so if you are documented, if not how do you go back Because waiting for ten years before coming home to me was because of papers.

3. Africa man ehn.family for that matter oh.and we blame our leaders and government when majority of us have same mindset.jeeees.if family can do this. Who person go trust again?

1. The leaders come from the people. The leaders are a subset of the set people.

Mathematics in play here.

I've come to realise that Nigerians are the ones who made Nigeria what it is today.

4. Trusting untrustworthy family members..mtcheeeeew

5. I used to date a guy before who's based abroad.. During the time they where selling all this government houses in Abuja, he sent money to his sister so that she and her hubby can help him buy a three bedroom duplex, then another money for two bedroom.. Could you believe they used the money to buy the duplex in their own name and sent him pictures..

He came back after some years only to realize that his own sister duped him.. First time of me seeing a man cry like a baby.. That incident really broke him and put a strain on our beautiful relationship.. Chaiii some family members are pure 😈

1. He should be happy he wasn't killed,this same thing happened in Benin. The man has been sending money home for his brother to get him properties only for the brother to embemzzle the money. Mr abroad finally came home with his beloved wife after spending decades abroad and couldn't wait for his brother to show him his properties. .His brother sent food to the man and his wife in their hotel, the abroad returnee died immediately after consuming the food

2. Exactly what happened to my dad anon.. And my mother warned him faaa, he's still in regret.. TRUST NO ONE

3. One of the things I learnt from my dad is TRUST NO ONE WHEN IT COMES TO MONEY!

6. This is so unfair, after all the suffering for 10 years

7. My buddies and I were in Nigeria last October. One of them had sent a huge sum in two instalments for his only brother to get him a house somewhere in Katampe Extension.

His brother got him an old renovated house somewhere in Kubwa instead and got himself a C 350 Merc and a rented apartment in Asokoro. Crazy!

1. Bia Vice and Virtue lngst time. Stop with this your disappearing act. The last time u where here was on One BEP post

2. Ah!!! This one is just wicked. 🙆🏾‍♂️
      From Katampe to Kubwa?

3. Iphie they both start with the letter “k” 🤣 maybe he thought he could deceive them

4. V & V,
      How you doing?
      Long time
      Hope you good?
      Hope to see more of your online presence on SDK blog this coming year.
      Cheers!

8. I no doubt the poster is possible

9. Let me not start my story cos I want to end this year in laughter not tears.

10. Sometimes, family is not everything. Some can kill n tAke over their sibling properties. Some siblings are trustworthy, others are leeches.

1. Not my kind of family tho. I have the best elder sister in the world. Sometimes its not about the number or size of a family but the kinda person they are. I trust my only sister with my life.

11. I live in the diaspora and let me say that I am ashamed of how Nigerians live and what they do. A lot of Nigerians that have not come back in more than 5 years are in jail; you can take this to the bank. A lot of them actually get away with a lot and brag.

The other day, a business man got introduced to me and we were chatting amicably. The moment he got to know my nationality, he stepped back a few meters and was telling me what "my people do". Of course I concurred with him as some of the stories are well known to me. So, the suffering gets to those who are earning a decent living too.

12. It's really very sad.... but with these estates everywhere and more coming up, it should stop all these send money home for family or friend to build house. Just pay into these estate management accounts that you have seen buildings erected and people already living there and they will build and hand over the key to you. Some of them are even service apartments so it's almost like home away from home. No issues, no headache... But please be sure of the company and location.
    Some if these people are good in the use of technology to deceive. By the time you visit the place, no markings.. no development has started in that entire area...

13. He's lucky there's even a landed property. Some are devils.

14. I gave my aunt money many times to acquire lands for me in Abuja. She bought them under different names. I learned my lesson. I live in USA and flies to Nigeria about 4x in a year now to handle my business. No more dealings with the so-called family members. It is sad that outsiders (especially ladies) have helped me more. My ex-gf handled multi-million naira transactions without a Kobo missing even though we are not dating anymore but still friends. As a matter of fact, my family (by the way it is extended family) only know I am in Nigeria if I want.

1. Like they say, experience is the best teacher.
      Glad you've learnt from yours.

15. Most family members are horrible.They are the least trust worthy and heartless,beast in human form

16. I sent thousands of pounds to my brothers account in nigeria to save for me, when I got to nigeria there was nothing there. his reasons he invested in something and thought it will bring profit before I return and the funny thing is that my parents supported him saying after all I am a girl what do I need all that money for. I almost ran mad but up till date sorry to say but I hate my parents and brother even thou I said I have forgiven them.

1. Its okay it will take time for u to actually forgive them. My advice dont force it. It will come naturaly. Sorry ehn i know how painful that is.

2. Your parents though... See talk. I'm even annoyed reading that response of theirs.

3. Imagine your parents supporting him instead of reprimanding him.
      Na wa oooo.
      Things dey happen sha.

Trust no one, family or not when it comes to money matters.

17. Some family members are terrible but this can never happen with my own family.

18. Some relatives can be pure evil, trusting them with funds to help you out on a project is just an easy way to render one useless.

19. My husband and i don't trust anyone so we travel always to do stuffs ourselves .

20. I used to work at the Int'l Airport. A grown man once came..when we stopped him for checks, he burst into tears and showed us pics his family members sent him , only for him to discover the house never existed..This man is about 60 years..No strength to hustle again... I felt so sorry for him.#Sad

21. My friend in Florida, sent money over and over to his Sister to build two houses. She kept sending pictures of other people’s houses till the bubble bursted. He almost died.

22. Money will always show you the true nature of a person.

23. My bro thanks his God eberyday.ma mom they build his house even add her money sef.even though he sends ten k once in a year my mama don learn to accept am like that.even with papers

24. They are wicked like that!
    I have never been lucky in situations like this.

The reason some of us might never go back to Nigeria again no matter how much we missed family, friends and the country.

I am a victim both from blood and friends.

I thank God for the kind of heart He blessed me with.... I do not hate them but, I will never have anything to do with them.

Millions gone like that with no apologies.
    I can never trust anyone in Nigeria.

25. My friends mother died of a heart attack after going back home to find out there was no house nor cars..where do you start from after sending all your hard earned money so you can retire in peace. It's just heartbreaking

26. Me wae never go abroad wetin my mama don't take my eye see,my mouth no fit talk am.i just live like it's only me in my world.its painful when those who are meant to stand by u be the ones pushing u to the ground.

27. Anon 14:14 Stop generalizing. Most people either don't come home because their papers aren't finalized, risky with a Travel Parole even before Trump as you never know if the underlying application has been denied in which case you will be stopped at the port of entry. Others like me just do not feel like coming to Nigeria because of what we read online. My nuclear family all have the blue passport and all our friends in the same boat don't come for various reasons not JAIL. Stop generalizing in ignorance. The last time I came there was no AC in the arrival hall and I had to wait hours to get my baggage and used up a pack of handkerchiefs, as the entire MMA only had ONE conveyor belt functioning! Nigerian ignorance is why folks like Chika Ike, Abike Dabiri, etc will attend a 4 week seminar and be claiming a diploma from Harvard and no one calls them to order. That is the height of ignorance as a society as you cannot claim diploma or degree in weeks from a community college and real Havard and other Schools alums laugh at the claims of Nigerians.

Many Nigerians here are doing well and the young adults are making us proud. I personally won't give any Nigerian money that I cannot overlook. My own sister said she wanted a store, I part paid the rent and went to a big dept store here and spent close to 2k that I didn't collect back. Probably a year later she was asking me for money for her bills again. My youngest sister said she selected the best skirt suits saying "won eleyi ti fine ju, mi Ota", meaning these are too beautiful I won't sell them. That someone is related to you by blood does not mean you are connected in soul and goals. Stop this blood is the thicker nonsense, its pure emotional garbage that leads to heartache. Never give anybody money for property, buy a property outright if you want and can afford it. even to sell property now ,we are in a dilemma as to asking any relative to do it. Many Nigerians have no core that's why they do wicked rituals, act wickedly and you read news of people with human heads dripping with blood. Don't cast aspersions on those who choose to not visit often, besides the last I checked Nigerians have almost 2 months work free days, 6 for Christmas, 3 for new year, some for various elections, eid filtr, kabbar, maulud, etc plus your regular annual leave. that's why wet remain unproductive as a nation.

1. God Bless you. I came to the US in 1998. Been home twice. I am not in Jail. I just don’t feel that safe. I can get off work and drive home at 3am but have to hide indoors when l visit because of kidnappers.

28. Dear Nigerians living Abroad, Be wise! Don't ever send money home for investment, I have also learnt my lessons, a brother I trusted dealt with me. Forget about arresting and suing them, they can assassinate you, most of them are fetish, in my own case I reported the DISGUSTING, DISHONEST PIG TO THE GOD I SERVE.

1. I tell people all the time that the kids we have here, will not leave all the amenities that exist here to go live in Nigeria. Any property acquired in Nigeria, is for relatives. I will invest here for my kids.
      I know people who went and built mansions at home but can’t stay in it now. Meanwhile, they squeeze a family of six in a two bedroom apartment but have a 7 - 8 bedroom mansion in their village. Which kind thing be that??

2. I tell people all the time that the kids we have here, will not leave all the amenities that exist here to go live in Nigeria. Any property acquired in Nigeria, is for relatives. I will invest here for my kids.
      I know people who went and built mansions at home but can’t stay in it now. Meanwhile, they squeeze a family of six in a two bedroom apartment but have a 7 - 8 bedroom mansion in their village. Which kind thing be that??

29. In my community one man shot himself in the head because he was abroad and sending money to his family to build a house for him. On coming back he realised there was no house, no nothing. So on a Sunday morning after the whole family left for church,he killed himself.

30. My father built my uncle's house in a prime location in Ikeja. When he returned he was amazed and so grateful. These folks abroad worked hard and Nigerians must stop waiting for free money from them. Stop sending money home for anyone to build for you....buy directly from known real estate companies.

31. Let's be honest to ourselves. If you come to US at 40, will you sign a 30 years mortgage tht will make you finish payment (or not) at 70 OR work hard for 5 years, save up money and build in Nigeria? The US house is not your own until after full payment. That's why folks are perpetual slaves and stressed out. Everyone arranges his/her life whichever way suits him/her. Most people who use stories online to avoid going to Nigeria, look closely, they don't have the means. They need that steady paycheck to survive and any trip is planned years ahead. How many Nigerians in US can live comfortably with no income in a month. Repo man will show. Things are not exactly what they seem.

32. Rule 1: Don't ever give money to someone you cannot kill.

33. Who still trust relatives with building projects when you can use professionals? I know a firm, they handle building projects for people in the diaspora and some in nigeria too, so if something goes wrong you can take it up legally.

34. Even as a busy Banker resident in Nigeria,my husband,an Architect,squandered my money and constructed low quality buildings for me.I am currently building another one using professionals without his knowledge cos he will insist on handling the project.

35. Professional builder this, professional builder that. It is either you are there to witness the building or be ready for stories that touch. Why would any sane being give money to anyone in Nigeria for a project? Majority of Nigerians are scammers. Tell your builder that you haven't been to Nigeria in 5yrs and give them money. Even if you want to retrieve the money legally when things go wrong, do you have the time for the lengthy Nigeria legal process. They know this. There are people who live in Nigeria, scammed and are in court and for 3 years, the case is still ongoing. Prevention is better than cure. Don't send that money