Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Ken Erics Says He Almost Gave Up Before His Breakthrough

Saturday, March 23, 2019

Actor Ken Erics Says He Almost Gave Up Before His Breakthrough

Ken Erics is a Nollywood actor, musician and producer. He has done several movies and won numerous awards and nominations. Erics has a lot to show for his impact on the industry. He tells Tosin Clegg about his journey, love for music, Nollywood and other projects

Excerpt;
Ken Erics is a regular guy

He is your boy next door and he is an actor, a musician. Basically, that’s who I am. Life outside the camera is basic for me and I do nothing serious outside my work. I take enough time to go out, have some rest and relax with family. I sleep as much as I can and, just like everyone else, I live normal.

My journey into Nollywood started in my first year

I had this audition and I went with my classmate from school. Though I wasn’t chosen but I ended up being a part of the production because of an incident. I went there with my guitar because I love music and then a big actor at that time, Pat Attah, saw me when I was leaving with my guitar and asked who owns it and I said I was, not knowing he could play. He played and I sang then he said I was talented and that I should be in the film and he took me back to the producers. I auditioned again and I got a small role, then I moved on. I went back to the university, finished and left for youth service. I got back and started attending auditions again and with time, I got one or two roles and here we are today. It wasn’t easy or rosy but I kept at it and I made it and this is what everybody needs out there. And by God’s grace he blessed my effort and I’m grateful for that.

Challenges I faced were like every other person’s

There are many people who want the same thing as you, and most want to be actors. But I knew it was possible because whoever was determined got it. So, I kept at it as there were times I went hungry. There was this time I stood in a bus from Anambra to Lagos for an audition because I couldn’t afford to pay for a full seat and when I got to Lagos, luckily for me, I got a role in the movie. I have attended auditions in various places across the country as the fire was in me and I kept on burning and wanted to do it. It wasn’t easy and there was this financial constraint, but at the end, it’s worth it and I advised people to make sure they are good at it. I was putting every effort to make sure it paid off and I’m thankful it did.

The Movie, Illiterate was my break out movie

It was shot in 2011 and was released in 2012 and I was almost giving up because the frustration was much. I was actually in Lagos and I didn’t have movie roles to do and I needed to survive and there was this friend of mine who called me and said a couple needed someone to be an MC at their wedding ceremony, which I had never done before. But I was hungry and I knew I could do it if I tried so I had to call another friend of mine who was an MC and told him what it was about; we anchored, got back and split the money. So, immediately we got back from the wedding I got a call about a movie role from someone who had seen something I did in a movie and I have never met this person before and I asked him to send the scripts. It was good but the money they offered was small and I almost turned it down but he advised I do it.

So I went to Enugu from Lagos and asked them to give me some time to peruse the scripts and I did the movie with Tonto Dike, Sylvester Amadu, Yul Edoche and it came out big and people took Sylvester Amadu, Yul Edoche and it came out big and people took notice of me. Producers took notice of me also and by God’s grace I progressed.
From This Day

30 comments:

1. where is Pat Attah sef?

1. This the illiterate that made me cry,my hubby started calling ken my boyfriend lol

2. Pat attach is a bouncer in Germany

2. I remember once upon a time when Genevieve,Omotola and Tonto used to constantly talk about how musically gifted they were.....☻

1. He's not the greatest singer but He sings better than the three put together.

3. Ken Eric's is a good actor, I hope he gets many more befitting roles.
    The movie that made me notice him was burning bridges, also starring Ivie Okujaiye and Esther Audu. He was married to a young and naive Ivie and Esther Audu was his bestie, bestie 'until they shift pant'. The range of emotions he portrayed in the movie were very impressive, from infatuation, to pseudo love , to jealousy, confusion and anger. I loved his role.
    I also liked him in Kunle Afolayan's Omugwo, although for some strange reason, the movie wasn't really promoted. Omugwo broke societal stereotypes, wife structural engineer, mother in law not discriminating between male and female kids etc.
    I know we have Celebs as fellow Bvs please give him more roles, I believe in him. Sometimes I feel the talented ones don't get many roles eg Ken, Shawn Faqua, Deyemi Okanlawon.
    #End of rant

1. Yes, I know this movie. Very interesting.

Ken is a very good actor. I watched him in Being Annabel, Oma Nnadi's movie and yes, he's good.

Anonymous Personified.

4. musician ke? with which voice? I don't even wanna imagine it. just continue being an actor that you are biko. we love you

1. He's a fantastic musician..do your findings before concluding aunty

2. ..he is a good singer, a very good one.

3. What are you good at? Tearing people down on a faceless forum

4. @MODELLA, he’s actually the voice behind a lot of Nigerian movies...especially the Igbo ones. He sings the background songs. The day I found out it’s the same person singing all the songs, I was surprised but when I compared what I was hearing to his normal voice, I did notice a resemblance so do your own research. The guy dey try

5. See all of then line up in anon mood. Abeg make una nor eat me raw o. I never knew. just hearing for the first time that he is a good singer. I am not a fan of asaba movies. so take a chill pill y'all

6. You are not a fan yet you asked which voice. Why did you first say rubbish before getting your facts right? Now she’s here saying take a chill pill. Zuzuru puo nga osiso... mschewww

7. Does he sing?
      Yes he does...

What Genre of music?
      Strictly Ariaria.....Ikwakwakwakwa(Very igbotic Okpontuish someborri)

5. But to be frank, dude is a talented singer, I've listened to one of his single in Igbo. About his acting, Ken is a good actor, and one of the few under utilized actors in the industry..

6. Ken Erics is a very good actor and natural,not like all those fake lagos actors,doing accent accent and they cannot even act,Ken will remain a top actor for a very long time cos he knows how to really act,and he is very natural.

7. Ken is a gentleman with a lovely voice. His song is good and he's a great actor.

8. And I don't know him🤔🤔🙀🙊🙊

9. He is a great musician and a good actor too.

10. Ken is a very good actor, I remember that movie he talked about the illeterate, very interesting movie.

11. I love his voice and accent. Yeah!

12. I watched the illiterates, down to the very last part, Joys of an illiterate. Loved loved the movie, he was spectacular, Tonto was also spectacular. I cried ehn

13. Enter your comment...great actor, very natural.

14. My mum's crush.... He is carboncopy of my elderbrother

15. I remember he used to join our band in UNIZIK then, whenever we go out to play. A gentle and nice fellow.