Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Eating Beef On Ash Wednesday -Your View..

Wednesday, March 06, 2019

Eating Beef On Ash Wednesday -Your View..

Today is Ash Wednesday and since I have known this day exists,I have heard that one is not supposed to eat beef on this day....Some even say it is the body of Christ you eat,if you eat beef!!!

Is this man made law or is it written somewhere in the Bible?
Asking for someone.LOL

70 comments:

1. Man made doctrine of the Catholic Church. No where is it stated in the bible

1. I also believe it’s man made doctrine. I am an Anglican, who believes in the Catholic Church (Nicene creed). There are just something one uses one’s discretion while not also condemning those believe and practice same. Did I make sense?

2. Kiks we as Anglicans do not believe in the Catholic Church, the word “catholic” in the Nicene creed means Universal. It’s like saying we believe in the apostolic church, the word apostolic in the nicene creed means order.
      That line “ the one holy catholic and apostolic church” represents the four attributes of the church. Please take note.
      I think a lot of anglicans neglect Anglicanism classes.

3. P.S not eating beef is a man made doctrine. But it commemorates the suffering of Christ which we as Christians proclaim. So it’s not wrong. All things are lawful but not all are beneficial. 1Cor 6:12

4. Thank you AdeunOluwa. I would like to read and learn more though any suggestions?

5. it has no spiritual meaning therefore useless...eat your meat like me and go your merry way

2. Aaaaaah. Me don chop gizzard o! Abi e no follow?

3. from a health perspective, red meat is generally not good as it increases the risk of Bowel cancer. There is generally a higher risk of Bowel cancer in people of colour ie Black and Asians origins anyway and red meat makes the risk slightly higher......doesnt mean i dont eat beef but i try to eat more fish and white meat instead

1. The question is about the specificity of the day and the ritual of the day. Not the long story. The subject is about meat of any kind.

2. Nigerians and oversabi. What has this epistle got to do with the question up there? In your attempt to overdo, you did not answer the question. Now read the question again and answer the damn question or keep quiet.

3. Over sabi!

4. Anty..ha,we are talking about ash Wednesday naw🤣😃😄

5. I hope you know that what you just typed has not relevance to the topic of discussion

6. I don't eat red meat.Haven't for years but I often use stock from beef to cook. Is this just as unhealthy?

7. Na so we dey take fail exams. Read question well...MBA.

8. Red meat ooo, white meat ooo.my dear it is only God that protects us.besides, God did not create any animal by mistake for our consumption.

9. Maybe you should google the type of food for your blood group.our blood group plays a very important role.

10. When God created all things Satan put mosquitoes there

11. Na overskills dey kill monkey

4. I eat beef on ash Wednesday, I see no reason I shouldn't.

1. It's about abstinence and self mortification,contribute your little quota to the body of Christ.

5. it is not about eating beef, but making sacrifice and abstinence. if you drink a lot for this lenten season you stop. whatever is your vices try to curtail them. beef was used because it was seen as luxury then. every day of our life should be lenten season

6. It isn't only beef one is to avoid on ash Wednesday. All forms of animal flesh are to be avoided. I think its part of the canon law of the church. I once read an article written by a priest that explained it simply as: since Jesus sacrificed his flesh for us on Good Friday, we refrain from eating flesh meat in his honor on Fridays during lent. You are allowed to eat by products though i.e. eggs milk etc.

7. This one no kwoncern me as i have eaten meat already

8. The whole idea of not eating meat is only but penance and simple obedience. Just deny your flesh some enjoyment for the period of lent as a penance for our sins and for the sake of God's Kingdom.

9. In my understanding, no food is unclean to God. The bible says a man is not defiled by what goes inside of his mouth, but what comes out of him... Mat 15:11.

1. @BAE,You are so off point and that is why people like you fail exams.Nobody is saying that eating of beef is unclean.Not eating beef on Ash Wednesday is a form of abstinence.This is in commemoration of our Lord Jesus Christ who died on the cross of Calvary for our sin.That is the greatest sacrifice and by abstaining from eating meat is a sacrifice we have to make to remind us of this greatest sacrifice.It is not just meat,but abstaining from things that you derive pleasure from during lent.I will list some few examples,like taking a public bus to places that you normally drive to,not watching your favourite TV programs,Eating once or twice in day to mention but a few.I hope,you now understand better.

2. Ifeoma...you also failed to answer the simple question. Is it man-made or biblical law?

3. @ ifeoma Mbah. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Please don't force your doctrine on me. People like you abstain from meat and do evil..... oh ye Pharisee, clean outside but full of something different inside.... I hope you understand better now too.

4. @ Ifeoma Mbah, keep obeying your man made laws, it's none of my biz. But you can't coerce others into going same lane with you.

10. Well its good you asked than speaking out of ignorance. The Catholic preaches absitence, ash Wednesday and good Friday are days of special obligation and absitence.
    The not eating of meat is based on what is assumed to be a national favorite, in France today, wine is not consumed just as meat is not consumed in most places today by catholics.
    Pardon typos

11. It is simply fasting -self denial for those who believe in it.
    When you discipline the flesh, you are better for it character wise.

12. Nothing wrong..
    Eating fried meat already

13. It is called ABSTINENCE. Period of lent is a time of long retreat and sober reflection.

There is no biblical backing but the church believes ''MEAT'' is what everyone enjoys eating. We abstain from those things we love as a form of reflection of the death of Christ.

Abstinence can be other things aside meat, as long as it gives you that physical pain and spiritual satisfaction.

One can chose to abstain from social media during this 40 days and focus only on God or abstain from eating junk or online shopping and a whole lot of things not just meat.

14. I didn't even know the Lenten season was here. I need to do my juice fasting then.

15. It is man's way of trying to please God and a doctrine which is mostly adhered to mostly by Catholics. It is a form of self denial mostly showing piety. While not being bad in itself it really doesn't do much for the salvation of the soul.The journey of salvation begins at the cross man accepting the finished work of Christ as the only acceptable sacrifice for sin. In the gospel of John chapter 6 when Jesus was presenting the significance of His broken body and shed blood, the jews who clearly lacked understanding argued on how He could give them His body to eat and blood to drink. Jesus' reply was that unless you eat His body and drink His blood you have no life in you. For those who equate eating meat on this day as eating the body of Christ I will rather eat and have life in me that not. So much goes to symbolism if we understand the true essence of Christianity we wouldn't be bound so much by dos and don'ts. To each His own God will reach each of us at our level of faith.

16. this is a doctrine that was brought into the church and it's wrong.1st Tim 4:3

17. Please any one that want to do beef giveaway should contact me
    @Blessed Princess

18. Man made law. The only thing Christ said we should do in remembrance of him is the holy communion. Jesus is no way comparable to an animal.

19. The reason for the doctrine of no meat on ash Wednesday/good Friday (the first day of lent and the day of Christ's crucifixion) is because is for strict fasting and abstinence.

Although,it is mandatory for practicing Catholics, Orthodox and some other churches, but it is not really compulsory that people must abide by this doctrine. It is for those who can really abide by the doctrine.

There are people who do not eat meat at all throughout the Forty days fasting and abstinence period. They don't eat meat, eggs, cheese and even yogurts. (There are now particular cheese and yogurts for those who are fasting)

What is most important during this season of Lent and even after is for each and everyone of us Christ believers and followers to examine ourselves, be sober in this time... Check yourself if you're truly Christ like, or if you keep nailing Christ on the cross by going back to that particular sin over and over again.

This is the time to love and show love to everyone, give and keep giving. And stop putting Satan in the position he doesn't belong.

1. straight up ! There is a lot to lent than avoiding meat. A lot of people tend to forget that the season of lent emphasizes three things: prayer, fasting and almsgiving.

2. show love indeed but from your comments on this blog you are very judgmental of people. if Jesus was judgmental he wont have loved people regardless...you think he did not know what the woman accused of adultery was wrong? he knew but if you all stone her what chance do you give her to repent? when people come here to complain they already know what they have done wrong and need a way forward.. then a situation you do not know all that happened to them u don't assume they must have behaved a certain way when u don't know all they went through.

20. Your opinion can not change anything. This a Catholic doctrine that has been there before you were born. Don't shook mouth into what you don't know about.

21. wetin concern me? I will wat meat today if I want

22. Na Catholic doctrine be tha

23. Thumbs up Mkpuru Mma,Ms A, Anon 13:55...

You said it all...

I never knew abstaining from meat related to eating the body of Christ;that is a wrong teaching

Abstaining from meat was a sign of penance then,cos that was the most revered form of enjoyment;they practically couldn't do without meat in the time of old and so telling them to abstain from it was a huge deal.

In our time now,abstaining from meat is still the doctrine,but there are lots of other things one can abstain from.For example my mom doesnt polish her nails anymore and it started several years ago during lent and she stuck by it.

I once abstained from social media for a week(it may seem small to you but it was a big deal for me,I almost ran mad lol)

So we are encouraged to abstain from that thing you love so much.

We ate our last chicken last night,till Easter(lol),it gives a good feeling knowing you can actually do something you never thought you will do.

24. If I no get meat for house nko? Does it count as fasting if Buhari time cause it? Wetin concern meat and heaven? Only beef or all kinds of meat?

25. I am fasting with bread. Its not easy at all. May God help me throughout this 40 days.

26. I have really learnt alot today

27. It has nothing to do with eating the body of Christ, during the old times meat was regarded as luxury and since everyone loves meat the church decided to implement a law where everyone avoids meat during lent. Unfortunately many took it to serious forgetting the real aim behind it, which is giving up that which you love the most. During lent you are expected to do away with bad vices, pray and give alms, we have recorded people doing away with such vices even after lent which is the main aim.

One thing people need to understand is you can't force your religion on another; learn to appreciate and co-exit with other religious groups, you bore hatred for your neighbor and you think because your religion is more superior than another hence free passage to heaven, my dear you lie. Abraham wasn't a christian but Christians and Muslims acknowledge him as their Father.

Lets all strive to make heaven individually, if you can't stand another person stay clear of him, if you see a post that's not related to you, ignore and waka pass. Stop Menstruating under people's comment. People dey big pass somethings by now, from little religious disagreements to full blown genocide.

28. Lent season don land. Time for me to lock up my prick for the next 40 days

29. As a born and practicing Catholic,I believe the no eating of meat is a way of acknowledging our beliefs and what Lent means to us.There's no where it's written in the bible.It's just our way of worship.

30. I was born into a staunch Anglican home, we eat meat on ash Wednesdays but not on good Fridays..
    I never even bothered to know the reason.
    Funny enough I look forward to the meat abstinence on good Fridays cos we do prepare this correct nsala soup with cat fish.

31. It is a Catholic doctrine. It is a form of abstinence that everyone can join. Since fasting and abstinence is compulsory on Ash Wednesday and Friday, abstaining from meat allows everyone to be part of it. Some people are exempted from fasting from food eg the sick or anyone that has a health condition, the elderly, children, pregnant women. So abstaining from meat makes it possible for all to sacrifice that particular luxury.

32. Most importantly, remember that you body is the temple of Christ, try and keep it holy this period. No gbenshing. It's a thing of the mind, try and leave a chaste life and see God's miracle in your life

33. You fast for 40days and after that u go back to old you. Do people think that God is stupid or what? People postpone their sins till after Easter. Talk about delusion

34. I believe its man made doctrine.