Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Returning Officer Who Declared Ifeanyi Ubah Winner Of Senatorial Election Is To Be Investigated

Friday, March 29, 2019

Returning Officer Who Declared Ifeanyi Ubah Winner Of Senatorial Election Is To Be Investigated

Oh Dear!!!!

A Federal High Court sitting in Awka, Anambra State, has ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to prosecute the returning officer in the Anambra South senatorial election, Prof M.N Umenweke, for declaring Mr. Ifeanyi Ubah winner of the election.

Ubah and Umenweke are facing criminal allegations levelled against them in the February 23 poll in the area by candidate of the PDP, Chris Uba.

Uba had approached the court, praying for an order of mandamus compelling INEC to prosecute Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party and others allegedly involved in the disorderly conduct that took place on 23/2/2018 at the Nnewi North L.G.A., Headquarters Nnewi that led to the announcement of the result of the inconclusive election held on the same 23/2/2019.

Umenweke had raised the alarm while declaring the election result, which was won by Ifeanyi Ubah, saying he was doing so under duress, but later recanted.

Justice I.B Gafaia while presiding over the court in an application of mandamus sought from the court by Chris Uba in suit number: FHC/AWK/CS/29/2019, asked INEC to within 14 days conduct investigation into the matter for the purpose of prosecuting the respondents.

Uba had also asked for “A further order of mandamus compelling the 1st Respondent to prosecute the 2nd( Prof MN Umenweke) for announcing or publishing a false result to the effect that the 3rd Respondent had won the election held on the said 23/2/2019 even when they both knew that the said election was inconclusive and from which no genuine result had thereby been generated.
from dailypost

12 comments:

1. Was it the reason he is running to join the APC so as to be protected? I know YPP couldn't have defeated PDP or even APGA in Anambra state. Something wasn't adding up and that I know.

1. Teejay why not? The PDP and APGA candidates were woeful. Add the APC candidate too. All woeful.

2. TEE-JAY biko you're wrong on this! Ifeanyi Ubah is the people's choice!! I'm not saying he MAY not have added a little mago mago to win. Everybody in Anambra south are tired of the Ubah brothers

2. Na wa ooo. All these professors are criminals. I wonder what their students will learn. Inconclusive and under duress professors everywhere.

Thieves. Ifeanyi you never won at all. Let's see how it goes. You finally ran to APC so that they Help you because you never won.

3. Chris Ubah, ifeanyi Ubah, Andy Ubah...you all should know that Anambra state is not your entitlement.....

1. The brothers are Uba. Ifeanyi has the H; Ubah. You’re welcome.

2. Ifeanyi Ubah is not their brother. Ifeanyi is from umuanuka otolo nnewi while the other ubahs are from uga

4. Your sins will be forgiven once you join APC! hurry before next court setting.

1. David open it eyes to see,it's called ANIMAL FARM...some animals are more equal than others. Which sins will will be forgiven? Abeg ask OkoroAwusa make he give you scores. APC has medicine for every o,if u like join when dey wan deal with u e go be like film script

2. David open it eyes to see,it's called ANIMAL FARM...some animals are more equal than others. Which sins will will be forgiven? Abeg ask OkoroAwusa make he give you scores. APC has medicine for every o,if u like join when dey wan deal with u e go be like film script