@G n M Anything commented on this blog is my business. It is the business of anybody that visits the blog. If Nigerians say those things you listed there and you are a Nigerian, then you also pronounce like that.
Nigerians don't know the difference between these 2 vowel sounds /I:/ and /I/ we pronounce it as the same. For example we pronounce heat and hit the same way. same goes to seat and sit.
my dear no be everybody go school like that. Some even attended school but were skipping phonetics class. For some...when d teacher was teaching Oral Eng...they were busy exchanging love notes or laughing at the teacher's receding hair line.๐
Wardrobe as wardrope Google as goggle Batch as badge Warehouse as wayhouse Asthma as ashma Yacht as yach Resort as result Question as kweshon Salon as saloon Cucumber as okokomba Gizzard as igiza Beatrice as biatris Xavier as saviour
Suite as suit Neck pieces as nekless Court shoes as cockshus Belch as belge Built as belt Cousin regardless of gender as cousin brother, cousin sister Fork as spoon brother
Spoon brother? ๐๐ necklace as a word is correct though. It's the pronunciation that is wrong. Whenever I see cousin brother or cousin sister I'm always like ๐คฆ
Stella Huawei pronunciation is not what you wrote there. I work there and is pronounced 'who are we' There are not only producers of phone but managed, maintained and serviced Airtel and Mtn sites or as you guys know as mask in Nigeria. Please correct your self.
God bless you. I was beginning to wonder whether how their Nigeria cooperate head pronounced it the day he came to see my CEO was wrong. I asked him sha and he corrected my pronunciation after I pronounced it like a typical naija geh. Lol.. It was Exactly like this poster wrote it.
Pineapple as penaipple Juice as juwis Cupboard as carbord Bumper as bomber Reverse as revise Trafficate as traffigate Hernia as hynia Pressure as prejor Assume as azzume Towel as tawell It's as is Meanwhile as meanwhy Wild as wide Detect as dictate Dictate as detect Taste as test Vagina as vaginal, often standing on it's own. The correct usage is as a compound word eg vaginal discharge Menstruation as mensuration Saying still yet when it could have been either still or yet Debris (debri) as deebris Coupon as coopon Glass as glazz Beard as bears Air conditioner as air condition
Secretariat as secteriate Postponed as prosponed Hotel as an otel. Same for Honour, honesty Saying he's not good in bed as he's not good on bed Epitome as epitom Diamonds as dayamons
This is an interesting topic. Stellz please let's carry over this particular course for the next few days as BEP. I am sure people will learn more from each other including mu onwe m..๐ค
Buffet (buffe) as buffet Conquer as konkwad Morning as monyi or mourin Afternoon as daftanoon Soldier as soja Egg yolk as egg yoke Icecream as azucrim Bath and bathe used wrongly Saying he's not at his desk as he's not on seat Bowl as bowel. Bowel means something else, totally unrelated
Malapropism and wrong pronounciation of words, names (especially in English) is probably the strongest of my pet peeves. Literally makes me cringe. But I've come to understand that it is not our native tongue. Plus the "whites" don't bother to speak our languages correctly so WTH?
HAHAHA
Don't mind me Stella, I'm a linguist and a perfectionist. Bonjour ร tous!
Sdimokokorkus@gmail.com Mobile Phone +4915210724141
Debris
ReplyDeleteMercedes pronounced as mezdiz
DeleteLemme read comments.
DeleteThe S should be silent right?
DeleteYes Mhiz A.
DeleteIt is pronounced DEEBRI
Peugeot is correctly pronounced as Po-sho
ReplyDeleteReverse——————Revise
DeleteRoute———————- Root
You lie! It's Poou-Geo.
DeleteFrom an ex staff that I am .
Po-sho kor,olosho nรญ...
DeleteLol...@ po-sho
DeleteYou mean po-dzo
DeleteWhy not tell us the correct thing rather than just the wrong pronunciation?
ReplyDeleteSuite ... suit
ReplyDeleteWeird ... Wed
Suite correct pronounciation is suite....Sweet
DeleteClimb, comb, bomb, police, envelope....
DeleteThem plenty Oo.
ReplyDelete1. Information...they pronounce informa(Sean)
2.Sir (mostly mispronounced by Nigerians)
3. Her (most Nigerians dey fail am)
Nigerians also pronounce "fuel" wrongly. Abeg what is "foowell"?๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ
DeleteNigerians also pronounce "fork" as "ferk" always trying to be morally correct but pronouncing d wrong word.๐ค
DeleteFork--"Ferk"what d hell is that?๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ
Nigerian, Nigerians, Nigerians: Are you a Togolese?
Delete21.16 pls mind ur business!
Delete@G n M
DeleteAnything commented on this blog is my business. It is the business of anybody that visits the blog. If Nigerians say those things you listed there and you are a Nigerian, then you also pronounce like that.
Genre as Gen-re
ReplyDeleteJeans as jeams/jean
Google as goggle
Juncture as junction.
That jeams own no be hereooooo
DeleteJunction as Juncture..*
DeletePerxian
DeleteJunction and juncture are two different words with different meanings in some context.
Pronunciation as Pronounciation
ReplyDeleteSuccess(sukces) as Susses
Access(akces) as Asses
Mc pinky
Ask wrongly pronounced as ax
ReplyDeleteNigerians don't know the difference between these 2 vowel sounds /I:/ and /I/ we pronounce it as the same. For example we pronounce heat and hit the same way. same goes to seat and sit.
ReplyDeleteIts the same vowel sound but we have a long /I:/ and a short /I/ in place and manners of articulation..
DeleteTo make this easier,,if u understand Shorthand and then you will be able to know them.
There are 12vowels in short habd which are divided into tow,,short and long..Am using those voerls to form the below sentence
ThAt pEn Is nOt mUch gOOd
pA mAy wE All gO tOO
The vowels in each word is highlighted in caps,,those vowels also gives u all the vowels in Oral English..
I reserve my comment
my dear no be everybody go school like that. Some even attended school but were skipping phonetics class. For some...when d teacher was teaching Oral Eng...they were busy exchanging love notes or laughing at the teacher's receding hair line.๐
DeleteI need English lessons oo
DeleteI learned to write sounds in secondary school and it helped with my spoken English.
DeleteMost people don't understand the importance of word stress, enunciation and proper pronunciation when speaking English.
I plan on teaching my kids phonetics. I just hope they see the value in it as i do.
Paris
ReplyDeleteParis is correct. Pah-ree is for when you wanna sound cultured or learned in French.
Deletearmed robber wrongly pronounced as "amu rubber"
ReplyDeletecun wrongly pronounced as "come"
*those from brown roof republic take note.
You and wuuked and l know you'll make it to Hilarious Comments section
DeleteGoogle being pronounced Goggle๐๐๐
ReplyDeleteYvonnes babies name....
ReplyDeleteXavier.
Mercy they pronounce it as maa-shi
ReplyDeleteChoi Maashi ๐๐ Hahahah e don tye I hear this pronouncation.
DeleteSome pronounce it as maRcee
ReplyDeletePizza: right pronunciation is peet-zuh and not Pi-za.
Quote: right pronunciation is kwo-te. and not coat (like jacket)
Debt
ReplyDeleteThe B should be silent
DeleteWeird wrongly pronounced as wed
ReplyDeleteHyundai wrongly pronounced as hayundai. Right pronunciation hyunde(sorry I can't spell it right)
ReplyDeleteRECEIPT
ReplyDeleteAdelaide
ReplyDeleteFilm
Horizon
Feem is Nigerian. ๐
DeleteLol...I pronounce Adelaide as ade-lie-dey
DeleteHehehehehe. Me sef use to pronounce the first one laidat. I thought it's a Yoruba word๐๐
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteLol @ Blackberry and Miss aboki.
DeleteIt's pronounced ad-laid.
๐ feel. U got it perxian.
Listen ( the "t" is silent during pronunciation, so it should be pronounced as "lisen"
ReplyDeleteWicked (k is silent)
Comfortable (should be pronounced as comf-table
Only Listen is correct, you are wrong on others.
DeleteWicked is wi-khud. k is even the key letter.
Comfortable is con-for-ti-bl. the e is silent
So how do we now pronounce the second one? Wicced?
DeleteChasis (sharsea) - chasees
ReplyDeleteSachet (sache) - sashirt
Illegal (illeegal) - ilega
Okra (okrah) - okroh
Vitamin (vytamin) - veetamin
Divorce (deevorce) - dieforce
Lol
DeleteQuay-should be pronounced as key
DeleteDieforce ๐๐คฃ๐คฃ๐๐๐๐
Delete๐๐๐๐
DeletePlease keep them coming. See me pronouncing these words one after the other. This is fun and educative.
ReplyDeletedebt... they don't pronounce it as 'b' being silent.
ReplyDeleteWardrobe as wardrope
ReplyDeleteGoogle as goggle
Batch as badge
Warehouse as wayhouse
Asthma as ashma
Yacht as yach
Resort as result
Question as kweshon
Salon as saloon
Cucumber as okokomba
Gizzard as igiza
Beatrice as biatris
Xavier as saviour
please who pronounces Cucumber as Okokomba? hahahaha
DeleteSuite as suit
ReplyDeleteNeck pieces as nekless
Court shoes as cockshus
Belch as belge
Built as belt
Cousin regardless of gender as cousin brother, cousin sister
Fork as spoon brother
Spoon brother? ๐๐ necklace as a word is correct though. It's the pronunciation that is wrong.
DeleteWhenever I see cousin brother or cousin sister I'm always like ๐คฆ
Wow ...that cockshoe make sense , I see it was a wrong pronunciation of court shoe.
DeleteItching-Inching
ReplyDeleteTaste-Test
Suite-Suit
Dear-There
Covenant as convenant
ReplyDeleteFuneral as burial
Juncture and junction used wrongly
ReplyDeleteWithdrawal slip as withdrawal script
ReplyDeleteConvenience as inconvenience
Ha! Withdrawal script ke?๐
DeleteStella Huawei pronunciation is not what you wrote there. I work there and is pronounced 'who are we' There are not only producers of phone but managed, maintained and serviced Airtel and Mtn sites or as you guys know as mask in Nigeria. Please correct your self.
ReplyDeleteMast*
DeleteGod bless you. I was beginning to wonder whether how their Nigeria cooperate head pronounced it the day he came to see my CEO was wrong. I asked him sha and he corrected my pronunciation after I pronounced it like a typical naija geh. Lol.. It was Exactly like this poster wrote it.
Delete#smurfy#
French word Givenchy....wrongly pronounced as 'given-chi' but correctly, it is 'jzhiv-on-shee'.
ReplyDeleteYou're welcome.
Idaho—Ai-da-hoo
ReplyDeleteTucson— Tu-son
Debt— Det
Ah lemme see. This one is for people with LAFA (locally acquired foreign accent)
ReplyDeleteGod- gaurd
Yes-yerls
Lord-lawd
Banana-benenes ( I legit know someone who says this)
Placebo - placeeboh ๐ placbo๐
I dey cum sorry come.
DeleteSo Stella why didn't you say the correct pronunciation for the ones you identified above?
ReplyDelete"Eggxaley"(exactly) by the yoruba's ๐๐๐๐
ReplyDeleteSays should be pronounced as sez
ReplyDeleteShop -shade
ReplyDeleteOkra-okuro
Mary -nmerri
Lmao the first one is for igbo pple. eg.Nna i want to go to shade.๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ
Delete๐๐๐๐๐
DeleteG n M, you’re hilarious! ๐
DeleteStella as Sarah๐คฃ
ReplyDeleteJohn as Jonny
Pineapple as penaipple
ReplyDeleteJuice as juwis
Cupboard as carbord
Bumper as bomber
Reverse as revise
Trafficate as traffigate
Hernia as hynia
Pressure as prejor
Assume as azzume
Towel as tawell
It's as is
Meanwhile as meanwhy
Wild as wide
Detect as dictate
Dictate as detect
Taste as test
Vagina as vaginal, often standing on it's own. The correct usage is as a compound word eg vaginal discharge
Menstruation as mensuration
Saying still yet when it could have been either still or yet
Debris (debri) as deebris
Coupon as coopon
Glass as glazz
Beard as bears
Air conditioner as air condition
Secretariat as secteriate
ReplyDeletePostponed as prosponed
Hotel as an otel. Same for Honour, honesty
Saying he's not good in bed as he's not good on bed
Epitome as epitom
Diamonds as dayamons
So true about secteriat. ๐๐๐This anonymous must be living in Abuja. Na them dey call secteriat for bus stop. Lol
DeleteThis is an interesting topic. Stellz please let's carry over this particular course for the next few days as BEP. I am sure people will learn more from each other including mu onwe m..๐ค
ReplyDeleteBelt--bellit
ReplyDeleteMilk++--merke
Iron----+hyon
Schedule----shekere..
✌️
I find this hilarious
DeleteSchedule is shekere? LMAO
Awww as Awwwn, very annoying.
ReplyDeleteMop- mob. Whatsapp wasap.
ReplyDeleteBudge as bulge
ReplyDeleteMop as mob
Senate as sinate
Popcorn as puffcon
Resonate as risonate
Stella...it's spelt YACHT.
ReplyDeleteCorrectly pronounced as 'yot'
Nylon as lylon
ReplyDeleteAssuming as ajhumin
Consult as conzolt
Ashes as arches
Launch and lunch used wrongly
Enmity as enemity
Buffet (buffe) as buffet
ReplyDeleteConquer as konkwad
Morning as monyi or mourin
Afternoon as daftanoon
Soldier as soja
Egg yolk as egg yoke
Icecream as azucrim
Bath and bathe used wrongly
Saying he's not at his desk as he's not on seat
Bowl as bowel. Bowel means something else, totally unrelated
Malapropism and wrong pronounciation of words, names (especially in English) is probably the strongest of my pet peeves. Literally makes me cringe. But I've come to understand that it is not our native tongue. Plus the "whites" don't bother to speak our languages correctly so WTH?
ReplyDeleteHAHAHA
Don't mind me Stella, I'm a linguist and a perfectionist. Bonjour ร tous!