Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Boredom Eliminating Post...

Tuesday, April 09, 2019

Boredom Eliminating Post...

Yatch wrongly pronounced as ''Yach''
Lingerie wrongly pronounce as ''Lingari''
Huawei wrongly pronounced as ''Who are we''..lol

101 comments:

1. Mercedes pronounced as mezdiz

2. Princess intelligentsia9 April 2019 at 19:24

Lemme read comments.

3. The S should be silent right?

4. Yes Mhiz A.
      It is pronounced DEEBRI

2. Peugeot is correctly pronounced as Po-sho

1. Reverse——————Revise
      Route———————- Root

2. You lie! It's Poou-Geo.
      From an ex staff that I am .

3. Po-sho kor,olosho nรญ...

4. You mean po-dzo

3. Why not tell us the correct thing rather than just the wrong pronunciation?

1. Suite correct pronounciation is suite....Sweet

2. Climb, comb, bomb, police, envelope....

5. Them plenty Oo.

1. Information...they pronounce informa(Sean)

2.Sir (mostly mispronounced by Nigerians)
    3. Her (most Nigerians dey fail am)

1. Nigerians also pronounce "fuel" wrongly. Abeg what is "foowell"?๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

2. Nigerians also pronounce "fork" as "ferk" always trying to be morally correct but pronouncing d wrong word.๐Ÿค”

Fork--"Ferk"what d hell is that?๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

3. Nigerian, Nigerians, Nigerians: Are you a Togolese?

4. @G n M
      Anything commented on this blog is my business. It is the business of anybody that visits the blog. If Nigerians say those things you listed there and you are a Nigerian, then you also pronounce like that.

6. Genre as Gen-re
    Jeans as jeams/jean
    Google as goggle
    Juncture as junction.

1. That jeams own no be hereooooo

2. Junction as Juncture..*

3. Perxian
      Junction and juncture are two different words with different meanings in some context.

7. Pronunciation as Pronounciation

Success(sukces) as Susses

Access(akces) as Asses

Mc pinky

8. Ask wrongly pronounced as ax

9. Nigerians don't know the difference between these 2 vowel sounds /I:/ and /I/ we pronounce it as the same. For example we pronounce heat and hit the same way. same goes to seat and sit.

1. Its the same vowel sound but we have a long /I:/ and a short /I/ in place and manners of articulation..

To make this easier,,if u understand Shorthand and then you will be able to know them.

There are 12vowels in short habd which are divided into tow,,short and long..Am using those voerls to form the below sentence

ThAt pEn Is nOt mUch gOOd

pA mAy wE All gO tOO

The vowels in each word is highlighted in caps,,those vowels also gives u all the vowels in Oral English..

I reserve my comment

2. my dear no be everybody go school like that. Some even attended school but were skipping phonetics class. For some...when d teacher was teaching Oral Eng...they were busy exchanging love notes or laughing at the teacher's receding hair line.๐Ÿ˜Ž

3. I need English lessons oo

4. I learned to write sounds in secondary school and it helped with my spoken English.

Most people don't understand the importance of word stress, enunciation and proper pronunciation when speaking English.

I plan on teaching my kids phonetics. I just hope they see the value in it as i do.

10. Replies
    1. Paris is correct. Pah-ree is for when you wanna sound cultured or learned in French.

11. armed robber wrongly pronounced as "amu rubber"

cun wrongly pronounced as "come"

*those from brown roof republic take note.

1. You and wuuked and l know you'll make it to Hilarious Comments section

12. Google being pronounced Goggle๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

13. Yaba left eacapee9 April 2019 at 18:28

Yvonnes babies name....
    Xavier.

14. Mercy they pronounce it as maa-shi

1. Choi Maashi ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Hahahah e don tye I hear this pronouncation.

15. Pizza: right pronunciation is peet-zuh and not Pi-za.

Quote: right pronunciation is kwo-te. and not coat (like jacket)

16. Weird wrongly pronounced as wed

17. Hyundai wrongly pronounced as hayundai. Right pronunciation hyunde(sorry I can't spell it right)

18. Replies
    1. Feem is Nigerian. ๐Ÿ˜

2. Lol...I pronounce Adelaide as ade-lie-dey

3. Hehehehehe. Me sef use to pronounce the first one laidat. I thought it's a Yoruba word๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. Lol @ Blackberry and Miss aboki.
      It's pronounced ad-laid.
      ๐Ÿ˜‚ feel. U got it perxian.

19. Listen ( the "t" is silent during pronunciation, so it should be pronounced as "lisen"

Wicked (k is silent)

Comfortable (should be pronounced as comf-table

1. Only Listen is correct, you are wrong on others.

Wicked is wi-khud. k is even the key letter.
      Comfortable is con-for-ti-bl. the e is silent

2. So how do we now pronounce the second one? Wicced?

20. Chasis (sharsea) - chasees
    Sachet (sache) - sashirt
    Illegal (illeegal) - ilega
    Okra (okrah) - okroh
    Vitamin (vytamin) - veetamin
    Divorce (deevorce) - dieforce

1. Quay-should be pronounced as key

2. Dieforce ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜€

3. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

21. Please keep them coming. See me pronouncing these words one after the other. This is fun and educative.

22. debt... they don't pronounce it as 'b' being silent.

23. Wardrobe as wardrope
    Google as goggle
    Batch as badge
    Warehouse as wayhouse
    Asthma as ashma
    Yacht as yach
    Resort as result
    Question as kweshon
    Salon as saloon
    Cucumber as okokomba
    Gizzard as igiza
    Beatrice as biatris
    Xavier as saviour

1. please who pronounces Cucumber as Okokomba? hahahaha

24. Suite as suit
    Neck pieces as nekless
    Court shoes as cockshus
    Belch as belge
    Built as belt
    Cousin regardless of gender as cousin brother, cousin sister
    Fork as spoon brother

1. Spoon brother? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ necklace as a word is correct though. It's the pronunciation that is wrong.
      Whenever I see cousin brother or cousin sister I'm always like ๐Ÿคฆ

2. Wow ...that cockshoe make sense , I see it was a wrong pronunciation of court shoe.

25. Itching-Inching
    Taste-Test
    Suite-Suit
    Dear-There

26. Covenant as convenant
    Funeral as burial

27. Juncture and junction used wrongly

28. Withdrawal slip as withdrawal script
    Convenience as inconvenience

29. Stella Huawei pronunciation is not what you wrote there. I work there and is pronounced 'who are we' There are not only producers of phone but managed, maintained and serviced Airtel and Mtn sites or as you guys know as mask in Nigeria. Please correct your self.

1. God bless you. I was beginning to wonder whether how their Nigeria cooperate head pronounced it the day he came to see my CEO was wrong. I asked him sha and he corrected my pronunciation after I pronounced it like a typical naija geh. Lol.. It was Exactly like this poster wrote it.

#smurfy#

30. French word Givenchy....wrongly pronounced as 'given-chi' but correctly, it is 'jzhiv-on-shee'.

You're welcome.

31. Idaho—Ai-da-hoo

Tucson— Tu-son

Debt— Det

32. Ah lemme see. This one is for people with LAFA (locally acquired foreign accent)

God- gaurd
    Yes-yerls
    Lord-lawd
    Banana-benenes ( I legit know someone who says this)
    Placebo - placeeboh ๐Ÿ‘ placbo๐Ÿ‘Ž
    I dey cum sorry come.

1. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

33. So Stella why didn't you say the correct pronunciation for the ones you identified above?

34. City chocolate9 April 2019 at 20:49

"Eggxaley"(exactly) by the yoruba's ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜„

35. Shop -shade
    Okra-okuro
    Mary -nmerri

1. Lmao the first one is for igbo pple. eg.Nna i want to go to shade.๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

2. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

3. G n M, you’re hilarious! ๐Ÿ˜‚

36. Stella as Sarah๐Ÿคฃ
    John as Jonny

37. Pineapple as penaipple
    Juice as juwis
    Cupboard as carbord
    Bumper as bomber
    Reverse as revise
    Trafficate as traffigate
    Hernia as hynia
    Pressure as prejor
    Assume as azzume
    Towel as tawell
    It's as is
    Meanwhile as meanwhy
    Wild as wide
    Detect as dictate
    Dictate as detect
    Taste as test
    Vagina as vaginal, often standing on it's own. The correct usage is as a compound word eg vaginal discharge
    Menstruation as mensuration
    Saying still yet when it could have been either still or yet
    Debris (debri) as deebris
    Coupon as coopon
    Glass as glazz
    Beard as bears
    Air conditioner as air condition

38. Secretariat as secteriate
    Postponed as prosponed
    Hotel as an otel. Same for Honour, honesty
    Saying he's not good in bed as he's not good on bed
    Epitome as epitom
    Diamonds as dayamons

1. So true about secteriat. ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€This anonymous must be living in Abuja. Na them dey call secteriat for bus stop. Lol

39. This is an interesting topic. Stellz please let's carry over this particular course for the next few days as BEP. I am sure people will learn more from each other including mu onwe m..๐Ÿค“

40. Belt--bellit
    Milk++--merke
    Iron----+hyon
    Schedule----shekere..
    ✌️

41. Awww as Awwwn, very annoying.

42. Mop- mob. Whatsapp wasap.

43. Budge as bulge
    Mop as mob
    Senate as sinate
    Popcorn as puffcon
    Resonate as risonate

44. Stella...it's spelt YACHT.
    Correctly pronounced as 'yot'

45. Nylon as lylon
    Assuming as ajhumin
    Consult as conzolt
    Ashes as arches
    Launch and lunch used wrongly
    Enmity as enemity

46. Buffet (buffe) as buffet
    Conquer as konkwad
    Morning as monyi or mourin
    Afternoon as daftanoon
    Soldier as soja
    Egg yolk as egg yoke
    Icecream as azucrim
    Bath and bathe used wrongly
    Saying he's not at his desk as he's not on seat
    Bowl as bowel. Bowel means something else, totally unrelated

47. Malapropism and wrong pronounciation of words, names (especially in English) is probably the strongest of my pet peeves. Literally makes me cringe. But I've come to understand that it is not our native tongue. Plus the "whites" don't bother to speak our languages correctly so WTH?

HAHAHA

Don't mind me Stella, I'm a linguist and a perfectionist. Bonjour ร  tous!