Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NDLEA Uncovers Airport Cartel Planting Hard Drugs In Passengers’ Luggage

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

NDLEA Uncovers Airport Cartel Planting Hard Drugs In Passengers’ Luggage

This is a shocking story and a must read if you travel a lot.

National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) has uncovered a cartel, which specialised in planting illicit drugs in travellers’ luggage.

The cartel was uncovered after NDLEA detectives embarked on investigation of a Nigerian lady identified as Zainab Aliyu.

Zainab was accused of entering Saudi Arabia with tramadol. The implication in this discovery by NDLEA was the realisation that many Nigerians arrested and executed for drug trafficking in Saudi Arabia might be innocent.

Zainab, a student of Maitama Sule University, Kano, had travelled from Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport (MAKIA) in company of her mother, Mrs. Maryam Aliyu, and sister, Hajara Aliyu.

Zainab was arrested by Saudi Arabia Police on December 26, 2018 shortly after arriving for Lesser Hajj over allegations that a luggage, bearing her name tag, contained the unlawful substance.

However, while in detention, the NDLEA had received a petition from Zainab’s father, seeking a probe of his daughter’s ordeal.

Consequently, the NDLEA Commander in charge of MAKIA had launched an investigation, which culminated in the arrest and arraignment before a Federal High Court in Kano of seven staff of the airport.

The accused are Idris Umar Shehu (alias Umar Sanda), Sanni Suleiman, Nuhu Adamu, Rhoda Adetunji, Udosen Itoro Henry and Sanni Hamisu.

According to a report of the investigation, a copy of which was made available to journalists yesterday, a suspected cartel in the airport had planted the tramadol-bearing luggage on Zainab.

In the report, which has since been forwarded to the Consul-General in Jeddah for action, it was further established that Zainab who, like her mother and sister, had only a luggage, was not aware that a second bag had been labelled in her name.

From Daily Post

52 comments:

1. Very scary.... i don dey fear to travel now. God will not allow us see akoba.

2. Heartless people. Sometimes they just look at a person seated quietly at the departure or those arriving, Boom!!! They'll just ask him or her to follow them to their office for checking. Just like that ooo. Now, am suspecting that kind of checking jor.

2. this has only come to light because she bears the right name and comes from the right family in the right region of nigeria - where the surname to be an East/West/Southern surname, perhaps room for doubt would not be given to the accused

1. I also made something similar in my comment down there.

2. I was just about to say that...for NDLEA to launch an investigation because of one drug victim must mean that she is from an influential home and as such her parents had long legs to lobby the government to step in....pls NDLEA should make sure that other detainees in Saudi Arabia who drugs were found on them are also investigated properly to ensure they were not used as zainab was.

LEP😛

3. In this country, having no connection/money will rubbish you in a bad way. No one fighting for the poor masses. This case came to fore because of the victim involved. Is there really hope for this country??

4. You guys are right. The girl is from an influential family. Why are they forwarding the investigation to Saudi. That is for them to release her to nigeria. If na chukwudi, kunle oyo h

5. Don't blame her family, blame yourselves for being cowards and not fighting for what you believe in. Till we learn to come together, we will never achieve anything. This is beyond family name or wealth. If we can stand together and protest injustice, things will be okay. Once you hear on the news an edo girl was killed in italy you automatically believe she's a prostitute! Learn to defend your countrymen. Most of the crimes aren't committed by our people, other nationalities use our passport! Remember when togolese men were caught with our passport! Nigerians need to stand up by their people. Soon u will find out they keep using our brothers and sisters as scape goats because they know we won't ask questions or defend them

6. Thank you my brother

3. hmmmm one just have to me vigilant and don't trust anyone with your luggage..

1. Wont u submit ur bag again? They can still slip it in.

2. Although I've never travelled out so I don't know the procedure but the local wings I know after scanning you pick your bag and wait for your flight. Trusting in this case I'm talking about is using the restroom

3. @stella melody; what about other luggage that are checked in? U have no idea what they can do with them cus it's totally in their care. I'm not talking about hand luggage.

4. Since she checked in only 1 luggage,who would have collected the 2nd luggage?something isn't adding up.somebody was to pick up the luggage in Saudi Arabia. Who would that be?except there is a Saudi connection to this deal at d airport .Or the girl isn't saying the whole truth

4. I don't understand, what is the motive of those cartel planting those drugs on someone luggages? To get them arrested or killed?

If this story is true as the report stated and not in any way to make a subtle defence for this lady, then I think it will be unfair to have her executed for a crime she knows nothing about.

I remember the young boy of 18years or so killed in Indonesia during Obasanjo administration. The young boy said almost the same thing, that he didn't know how the substance got to his bag. That didn't stop them from executing him, even with the pleading of Nigeria President and some other groups.

Don't their bags have lock? How do they even put those things on lock bags? This is so inhumane.

1. The cartel uses passengers luggage to transport their drugs to their people in the arriving airport, if they mistakenly catch it they'd arrest the owner of the bag... not them

2. No hon. Sometimes they have another bag with your details on it....

3. From what I understand she only had a bag,but they had another bag with the tramadol in it and tagged it in her name. Making her bags two instead of one she checked in. Maybe when they get there their accomplice will take the bag b4 it gets to baggage claim. I'm guessing o,cos the story is somehow confusing.
      That is how 2yrs ago I was travelling alone for a short trip,no family so I travelled light,just one suitcase.
      There is a lady I met at the airport we had been chatting together bcos we both checked in early,dont know her from Adam.
      That's how we got to check in,she had excess luggage. She was now begging me to pls help her check in a bag since I have just a bag. I can open and check it,it's just clothes. I smiled and said Sorry dear. She was still begging and d husband too join that's it's just a bag na bla bla. The way I changed face for them and moved away from her. We didn't talk again o,even when I saw her when we landed ,I carry face. How do i carry bag for someone I dont know. When my enemies village ppl are not trying to say hello from the other side.

4. They also have master keys. They can plant things in your locked suitcase and remove it before you get to baggage reclaim . They will have accomplices everywhere in the airport.
      I no know which method exactly these ones used.

5. Tj
      Most of this people uses pax that do not have much luggage, you can see that the family had just one, that is to tell u that they had more bag weights so this people add bags to pax that do not have excess bav weights to pay.
      Normally pax that do not have bags just walk to immigration point,

6. BED & ROSES wow!!!! This look so scary. People need to be very careful ooh.

7. They can break a zipped locker baggage to gain access to the items inside and then zip it back and it would look untouched, not even damaged.

5. Why are some humans wicked and heartless like this? They must also go and face the wrath of the law.

6. Man's inhumanity to man. Why will they do this when they know these people will be executed. Gambling with people's life over riches. I give up on human beings.

7. Innocent rotting away for crimes they know nothing about, thats the worst thing ever!

8. Yes, it happens ooo!

9. Just imagine. However if she wasn't a rich mans daughter, nothing would have been investigated. She would have been in jail by now. So many innocent 'poor' people in jail for things they know nothing about. Its just sad

10. But why are some human beings this wicked. How do this people sleep at night. Where are some people conscience. Imagine this kind of wickedness

11. Yaba left escapee24 April 2019 at 14:12

Ive always prefered to travel light, just my hand carriage.
    Anyother big bag i cargo it.

12. Just imagine for might have happened if that lady was not from a connected family.Innocent blood of those that have been executed will fight.

13. That's why you see so many airport workers & airline workers living very large, you will be wondering where all the money they lavish comes from

14. This is how some people die for crimes they didn't commit. Who will believe you if you claim innocent? Those criminals should be made to serve the time for that crime. Wicked souls!

15. Hey! Man's inhumanity to man. Just imagine. U live well at the expense of someones life.

16. They will never serve any time, those are fictitious names, from my legal analysis, they are just using the NDLEA with lots of money changed hands already and the camouflaged to foster her release, she may be guilty as charged, Northern women are synonymous with Tramadol. I lived in the North for 15yrs

17. I had a similar experience 2years ago. I escaped by the whiskers. I had one check-in luggage and one hand luggage. As I was checking in my luggage, I observed that there was one young man hovering around the airline check in counter with a small box. He would intermittently talk with the airline check in /luggage handling staff.
    The airline staff tagged my luggage and attached the counter tag to my boarding pass. As she was handing over the boarding to me, I noticed that the small box being carried by the young man had also been tagged. Till date I don't know what instinctively moved me to look closely at the name on the luggage tag. I was shocked to see that the luggage had been tagged in my name but the counter tag was not on my boarding pass. I immediately confronted the check in lady and she feigned ignorance. That was how I raised the alarm and told the luggage handlers not to put my luggage on the conveyor yet. I quickly called the attention of the airport security and lodged a complaint. The airport security swung into action immediately and halted the check in process (I must commend them for acting promptly) . Long and short of it all was that they took the airline check in staff for further interrogation and let me go. The young man that was carrying the box earlier disappeared. Till date I don't know the outcome of the matter . If I hadn't noticed the dubious move,perhaps the outcome could have been different.
    Airline staff collude with drug cartels to put unwary travellers in trouble.

18. Nawa o. let them begin to write how many bags checked in and print out for you chikena. May God not allow us encounter alakoba in Jesus name, Amen. i usually wrap my bag when traveling with that nylon they use at the airport.

1. Wrapping up or sealing your luggage is good. However, be careful so that nobody tags a strange luggage in your name without your knowledge.

19. Someone said kudos to NDLA, the officers working around that airport should be sacked cos so many people died under their watch

20. Wicked people

21. The Lagos cartel will surely be more and still ongoing.