Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Makes Mistake On Reelection Date And GDP Growth Projection

Thursday, June 13, 2019

Buhari Makes Mistake On Reelection Date And GDP Growth Projection

President Muhammadu Buhari gave a wrong date on when he was reelected into office while speaking to millions of Nigerians in Abuja on Wednesday.

In his Democracy Day speech, Buhari also gave wrong figures on Nigeria’s GDP growth projection for 2019.

In the speech, a copy of which was obtained from Femi Adesina, his spokesman, the president said he was reelected in March, and that the country’s GDP is projected to grow at 2.7 percent in 2019.

The speech read:”In the face of these (Nigeria’s) challenges, our government elected by the people in 2015 and re-elected in March has been mapping out policies, measures and laws to maintain our unity and at the same time lift the bulk of our people out of poverty and onto the road to prosperity.”

“Following the 60 percent drop in oil prices between 2015 and 2016, through monetary and fiscal measures, we stimulated economic growth, curbed inflation and shored up our external reserves. We now have witnessed 8 quarters of positive growth in the economy and our GDP is expected to grow by 2.7 percent this year.”

For the record: While Buhari was declared winner of the presidential election on February 27, he was also issued his certificate of return on same day.

In his 2019 budget speech, the president had stated the projected growth rate of Nigeria’s GDP to be 3.0 percent while the International Monetary Fund and World Bank had said Nigeria’s economy will grow by 2.1 percent.

It is not clear the reason for the gaffe but this is not the first time Buhari will be guilty of such.

From the Cable

19 comments:

1. 🙄Who is surprised about this news?

2. I just can’t wait for this guy to leave his position

3. This isn't something new or to be surprised about, for he has always being like this ever since he was treated abroad. We are trying so hard despite the disgrace and humiliation, to accept him this way for the national embarrassment his speech often cause us. If I am to asked, does it mean the written speech was wrong as well? Or his sight has become this bad to change original wordings to what soothe him? Such a painful reality we found ourselves as a people. So unfortunate....

1. Your use of tenses is appalling!!! Tone down your grammer please. Also you don't need to come accross as intelligent, you're trying too hard bro. Simple can also be striking...

4. His government is a mistake, made by Nigeria.

5. This is Nigeria, nothing surprises us anymore.

6. No be today now. this is not new.

7. 🙆🙆🙆🙆🙆🙆 Baba Don old

8. I'm not surprise, he is a mistake.

9. Come on...
    Stop making a mountain out of a molehill. Its not such a big deal.

10. I'm not surprised

11. Nobody is above mistake. Even our very young correspondent said happy independence day at the end of her report on June 12.