Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NAFDAC Warns Against Consumption Of Ponmo....

Saturday, July 27, 2019

NAFDAC Warns Against Consumption Of Ponmo....

The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) has warned the general public to be careful of the consumption of animal hides, known as Ponmo.

A statement signed by the Director General (DG) of the agency, Mrs Mojisola Adeyeye, stated that most of those animal hides were meant for industrial use.

Adeyeye added that some of the animal hides were pre-treated with industrial chemicals, which were not of food grade and were toxic and injurious to human health.

According to the her, investigations have revealed that some companies legally imported hides from countries like Lebanon and Turkey, while majority of the product were smuggled into the country through the porous borders.

“The Management of NAFDAC wishes to use this medium to alert the general public and in particular consumers of animal hides popularly known as Ponmo on the activities of some unscrupulous business men and traders.

“These imported animal hides are meant for industrial use by leather industries for the manufacturing of items such as shoes, bag, belt and others.

“Health hazards inherent in the consumption of such animal hides include risk of liver, kidney and heart damage, increased risk of Aplastic anaemia, central nervous system toxicity, cancer and many more,’’ she said.

The DG also said live stock farmers were also advised to note that industrial animal hides could not be used to manufacture animal feed.

“The associated chemicals will be stored in the tissues of these animals and will eventually end up in humans when consumed with the attendant effects.

“NAFDAC, therefore, encourage the general public to be vigilant and exercise discretion when purchasing animal hides, PONMO and indeed other food items,’’ Adeyeye said in the statement.

She stated that NAFDAC was fully alive to its responsibilities of assuring the safety, wholesomeness and quality of processed foods offered for sale to the public.

“The agency has increased the tempo of targeted and aggressive routine and unannounced inspections to monitor activities of animal hide merchants.”

dailypost

13 comments:

1. Na wa oo. Thank God I don't even like ponmo especially because most times I can't tell if it's real cow skin. Some usually sell camel skin.

2. And I love pomo so much

3. Wahala don dey na cos i love eating it esp in poridge or with ugba. I go match break be dat na

4. I hate this thing called Pomo. It is always dirty especially roadside own. It is always difficult to cook. You will buy Pomo #100 and use kerosene of #200 to cook it.

1. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 use hot plate

5. You wanna eat ponmo? Buy cow head or cow legs. Is safer and better, not those oned they have soaked on water for two weeks

1. Gbamsolutely. Go to slaughter, buy cow head or cow leg or even proper raw kpomo. My little secret, I wash and freeze then defrost and cook. That way it softens faster. Kpomo with plantain porridge; very good combo 😁😁

6. ponmo made from ijebu Igbo is good for consumption. nafdac has received bribe from those that needs leather to condemned ponmo.imagine round ponmo in efo riro or fried stew garnish with smoke fish on ofada rice.......

7. Ponmo with assorted, best combo
    I buy the smoked one and prepared myself

8. This move will only make pomo more costly,pomo that we have being eaten since 1802,educate and provide better ways of processing it instead of this nonsense move.Nigerians that can like to take advantage of situations,sellers will now turn pomo to gold price now.

9. Something must kill a man
    Abi which kind wahala be this? Which kinda ponmo first of all?

10. "Be careful" isn't "stop consumption". Buy fresh ponmo from the abattoir. Only issue I have is that the immunisation drugs may still be in the skin, for the ones that are injected