Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Forbes’ Celebrated Nigerian Billionaire Obinwanne Okeke Arrested By FBI For Fraud

Saturday, August 17, 2019

Forbes’ Celebrated Nigerian Billionaire Obinwanne Okeke Arrested By FBI For Fraud

The US Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) has arrested Nigerian entrepreneur, Obinwanne Okeke of conspiracy to commit fraud running into the sum of 12 million US dollars.

This was disclosed in an affidavit made available to the press on Friday, August 15, by Marshall Ward, a special agent employed by the United States Department of Justice.

According to the information disclosed, the investigation was premised on a complaint lodged by representatives of Unatrac Holdings Limited for being victimized in the fraud.

Add caption

Obinwanne Okeke (born 9 November 1987) is a Nigerian entrepreneur and the founder of Invictus Group.

In 2016, he was named by Forbes as one of ‘30 Entrepreneurs Under 30 to Watch’.

He was also listed among 100 Most Influential Young Africans 2018 which included Davido, Falz, Ahmed Musa.

Obinwanne Okeke has been extensively involved in sourcing, structuring, implementing and monitoring various private equity investments in African and Australian markets and has over 10 years of investment experience.

Prior to founding Invictus Group, he assisted with founding and running other entrepreneurial establishments.

He holds a Bachelors and a master’s degree (MA) in International Relations and Counter-Terrorism (cum laude) from Monash University, Australia.

He has received several leadership honorary awards from local as well as international organizations.

Obi’s business interest span across a number of sectors, which include mainly real estate development, energy and construction. Invictus Group operates in three African countries, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zambia.

Recently, Obi’s focus has been on building energy-efficient houses that feed exclusively from solar power.

text from 1stnews.com

71 comments:

1. They all want to be listed on Forbes, they think it’s easy lol ๐Ÿ˜‚

2. I have always known that Yahoo is out of GREED, NOT POVERTY otherwise how do you explain the young Nigerian guys in Canada who are all over dating sites, duping women, they are even more on Christian Mingle!!! I had to close my account out of frustration, I moved to 2 more dating sites and they were all over the place! If one of them contacts you and you respond, immediately he shares your profile with 5 or 6 others and they all begin to work on you, hoping you would fall for at least one of them. When it comes to real estate nko? They are even more there! Almost every apartment posting you find online in Canada now is by Nigerian scammers, who live here in Canada!!! I got frustrated trying to find a place because after wasting time communicating about an apartment, I'd find out it was just a scam!!! It is so SHAMEFUL TO BE IDENTIFIED AS A NIGERIAN NOW, WHAT IS WRONG WITH MANY OF OUR YOUNG MEN???

3. One day breeze go blow and fowl nyash go open ๐Ÿ” ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ“

4. Alot of all these big boys without office you see ard island are fraudsters; especially all dos abroad returnees or so called biz man.
      Always having meetings in cafe's,bars and club. With big cars and personalized plate no's. They attend meetings always but you don't actually know what they do.
      I almost dated one long time ago. By the time my cousin downloaded his gist from US,i ran without looking back.
      I must know what exactly you do to date you. I even felt safer with a 9-5 guy.

5. LOL. You go fear success.

6. Ladies and Gentlemen,les remind each other that...๐Ÿค”,THIS IS SOCIAL MEDIA,IT IS NOT REGULATED BY NOBODY!,AND THAT'S THE FACT.ANYBODY CAN WRITE ANYTHING..TRUE OR FALSE,AND WILL NEVER BE HOLD ACCOUNTABLE!.
      THERE4,IF U READ SOMETHING ON SOCIAL MEDIA,1ST CHECK WITH MAIN/MAJOR MEDIA ORGS TO CONFIRM THE STORY,IF THAT STORY IS NOT AIRED ON MAIN STREAM MEDIA IT IS MORE LIKELY THAT IT'S FAKE NEWS.

2. You see why i told you people to stop tapping? E-money, ayiri, Dili etc, your time will come soon. Fraudsters

1. Was there any need mentioning these names? Have these persons you mentioned being indicted for crimes?

2. Did he say thier names have been mentioned.....yet? Lol!!!

3. I listened to E_money on radio one day and he was asked how he made it. He simply said he got a contract worth I think $1m or 2m. No further details.

4. 12;25 don’t mention Dili(Okwudili) , his gist is well detailed on d internet. Leave him alone Biko .

5. Same Ayiri? He’s not a fraudster. Made money from oil bunkering in Niger Delta. GEJ enabled him. Dili is Dili who can’t step into Yankee.

6. He's not a fraudster but he made money from oil bunkering. The definition y'all give to some things, Jesus needs to help you.

3. I am selling pop corn with some ice tea

Sluttychic yours is free ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

4. Is this a set up or what ? Na wa oh

1. Yes Buhari set him up

2. Set up ke! He set himself up. it is really a shameful thing

5. The consequences of fraudulent dealings outweigh the benefits whether you’re caught or not.
    I hope other young people can quickly learn from this and stop unnecessary competition and desperate gratification tendencies.

6. Am I a yahoo boy?! Well done o people of Nigeria. Kwantinu, when they dont give visa tomorrow now some of you will be jumping up and down and asking why. Just kwantinu. Whatever you choose as your justification, just remember that what is wrong is wrong and black can never be called off-white.

7. Some people role model, when asked how did they make it,and got their startup, no concrete answers. Even those Dubai guys flashing cash around and the one for naija wey him name na e-ego and mosquehill we sabi how una take start

1. You can say that again... Him and his likes are a lot of people role model.

8. When village people remember you....

9. I am not one of those people who believe all these Forbes list. Forbes wey don cast since, they same Forbes that said Kylie is a billionaire after Kris has been caught severally going thru Forbes backdoor.

1. Lmao same FRAUD'S list that once featured El Chapo, Pablo Escobar and many other miscreants on their front page. They shouldn't just feature "rich" and successful people, they should do a background check to ascertain the source of their wealth is legit.

2. They do checks. Forbes takes the money and people get featured.

10. It's very sad and I hope others learn from this, life is not a competition and youths need to be contented with what they have while going about their hustle ,instead of comparing themselves to instagram celebs or those they feel have 'arrived'.
    Let's see how it goes sha

1. Lol. They will not learn. Just watch and see.

11. I hope it is not F9 in maths you are using to do your own kingship. They said he was born in 1987 oga. He is 32.

12. Most big GS are involved in fraud my people. No big deal just don't get caught. Low key does it.

13. I just dey hear of the guy tbh. Yesterday I went to his nairaland posts. His command of English on some of his posts was below average. It is not a criteria for getting wealthy but in the tech/finance industry (I think that is his field), the founders' background have had to be a bit tush. Jason Nkjoku, Micheal Essien, Seun Osewa, Musk, Zucks, Besoz were from middle to upper class backgrounds with educated parents. It is a leverage that you almost cannot do without in corporate finance. Please I am not looking down on people of below average means. Let us agree that it is an unfair advantage to be born as one of 17 children in a polygamous family in a village. All those desire to aspire to pespire people will lie to you. If Paddy Adenuga was caught pick pocketing at Oshodi, they would call it kleptomania. It is what it is.
    After going through so much financial struggles growing up and listening to "I wanna be a billionaire" by Bruno Mars way too many times, he thought he could pull it off..
    On the cover of Forbes magazine innit.

Excerpts from some of his posts:

"Up to today Africa and its people are still suffering from the politics of othering and representation. This politics of representation and interpretation of Africa and the Africans is always connected with power and power struggles."

What tf does that ☝️ even mean?
    Another one:

"Are yyou based in abuja? Do you have a zeal to work with a team to make a start-up reality? Only passionate entrepreneurs wanted, both male & females. If these phrases excites you, then email me on invictusobi@icloud.com for heads up.

Have a awesome evening."

He went to Australia, did "odd jobs" and was back to Nigeria to set up his company. Suddenly suddenly, Forbes. Bellanaija even made him MCM. Phillip Emegwali and Nuhu Yakubu are recent willing victims of this hero hunger driven scandal.
    By the way, I have lost many male friends to this Forbes obsession. One was in prison and another one was recently deported. I am not being judgemental. I know some yahoo guys who can appear on but are not on Forbes and I am sure they don't aspire to. Will you die if you made your money and just remained low key? This Obinna guy just wanted to pepper his mother's co wives.

1. Did they struggle in life? No.
      Are there still co-wives to pepper? No

I think the problem with most young Nigerians is wrong orientation from leaders and society.

However, every adult is responsible for the choices they make.
      This has just dragged the family name in the mud.

I'm really shocked by this news.

2. Like you, I'm just hearing of this guy. I don't know whether to be worried for myself, or relieved.

14. This is so unfortunate that I felt really bad reading this amidst all these achievement listed and attributed to him.

15. Very good for him! He should serve his jail time wella.

Most Nigerians are very good at tapping into other people's success stories without even hearing all knowing the whole truth about their stories.

After working legitimately through out the years, and I still do almost every single thing within a budget; I can never be caught admiring these young men and women with sudden wealth and riches without accountability.

1. If you're on Instagram, go to Kemi Adetiba's page or Accelerate TV. There's one video on there where they're interviewing some guys (not the one with famous guys, oh) and they were asked for those that travel abroad and get in trouble, if they knew what they were going there to do. I had to watch it twice to assure myself that I wasn't dreaming cos one of the guys said that it doesn't really matter; it's good as long as there's money in it.

I'm saying all this to say that while some people tap without knowing what they're tapping into, some are very aware oh! I can't tell you how many times I've been mocked for refusing to do things that the person advising me to do, knew were terrible.

16. And the Nigerian Pentecostals have taught their sheeple to TAP into anybody assumed to be "blessed".
    This is one. Before this story will be over, I won't be surprised to find out which 'pastor" has been
    receiving. Let me wound off by saying that anybody who does not read his/her Scriptures to know Jesus
    personally is most to be pitied in our time.
    ๐Ÿ˜ฏ๐Ÿ˜ฏ๐Ÿ˜ฏ๐Ÿ˜ฏ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

17. People ALWAYS buy appearance. This guy is a grade A fraudster and most of his 'achievements' are as fake as a 3 dollar bill. All you need are a couple of swishy websites, serviced offices (just pay a few months rent) a good PR company, a few motivational speaking engagements and you are good to go. Most of these young men get their money from yahoo yahoo but we choose to believe they somehow made it in a few years.

18. He will be 32 in nov; if he enter jail he will get nothing less than 10 years meaning he will be out at 41/42 awooo

19. Wow! I’m genuinely short of words. The guy was defrauding big companies. WOW!!

1. Individuals rarely have the kind of money that some fraudsters are looking for. They start from yahoo-ing individuals but the natural next step is multinationals and governments.

20. this is one of the hack lord just uncovered they have syndicates who's Job is to make sure they compromise the wealthy victim business emails while go through some confidence business deals on that same emails, divert funds if the victims got connection of their bank details linked to the same email. this is where wire wire will now step in another syndicates job,, another person will drop a fake foreign acct where this money will be moved so on & on let stop!

I made billions in this ! you very own role models roll in this big time if I call names self ! you won't wana trust yourselves anymore but have changed my ways through the help of my mom

1. Thank God you changed, but you are still enjoying the money.

2. You will still pay because not even repentance will save you from the consequences of such wickedness. Change your ways or not, you will still be punished for your evil. People lost billions because of you and you think merely changing your ways will compensate for their pain or the damage caused to Nigeria's reputation??? Do you know what Nigerians living abroad go through because of scum like you?

3. Gbeboruns are asking you to drop names, at least a hint. Not me oh, yeah who slapped me?!

4. You're just a thief that hasn't been caught yet, so thinks he is smart. Fortunately, there is no statute of limitation on fraud. People like you have to look over their shoulders for the rest of their lives cos if law enforcement isn't looking for you, one of your fellow thieves is. When you are caught, we will all know who you are. And your mother that helped you will definitely be shamed. No matter what kind of money you think you have, you're nothing but a common thief.

21. I had a few encounters with Obi in his Olive Plaza office in Abuja some of the times I was in Nig. We were gonna ink a deal but my buds and I pulled right out of it when certain things didn't add up.

I only feel sorry for his new wife and newborn.

Interestingly, a quick background check always showed a bunch of the young investors and entrepreneurs we interfaced with in Nig had fraudulent dealings.

1. You're feeling for someone who likely knew he was fraudulent in the first place? No please, save your feelings for victims please.

Imagine how many people have read his profiles and felt inadequate and felt like failures asking God why meanwhile na just Yahoo boy. Good for him, arrest him let him enter prison and do the time. Enough of accepting fraudsters as part of our society, they only reduce opportunities for us who are just trying to make a living and make our families and loved ones happy.

2. What were the things that did not add up? Gist us.

22. The truth of the matter is that people don't want to work hard anymore. They want to be seen as balling all the time. If you don't, they call you boring. If they know you're really working hard, they say you must be committing a sin and grace isn't working for you. Lol! People don't realise real success is about consistent growth - whether in business, marriage or any part of the life. Everybody wants to arrive overnight. It's impossible cos God doesn't work like that. While it's true that you can get a contract that changes your life overnight, you must have been doing something before that made someone trust you to give you such a contract at all! You must have a record somewhere, maybe on a smaller scale but it must exist!

Churches preach nonsense of overnight blessings. They use Joseph as example. Very insulting and ignorant. They forget that the butler remembered Joseph because there was something to remember at all. And that came from 13+ years of training. He didn't jump from his father's house to the throne because God is not wicked or irresponsible. Joseph went from pit to Potiphar's house to prison before palace. Each stage helped him to learn something new - from organisational skills to resource management to people skills - cos it's not everything that God sef will open heaven and tell you. It's like saying that cos you really believe in God, you speak in tongues and a medical degree will appear. You won't attend classes, take exams cos they're hard but you want sane human beings to allow you treat them. How? I said it before that a level of suffering is necessary for business and life success, if not you won't have sense. If you have a never-ending supply of money, you'll spend it like a fool. You will never learn how to prioritise or budget cos why would you bother? There are things you can only learn by experience.

People also say Mordecai was remembered but it's because he did something that there was anything to record that would be read at all.

People crave the so-called big moments so much they think the mundane, everyday things are a curse. Not knowing it's always those supposedly mundane things that are the steps to that thing you think is big.

1. Woow!Very well said!

2. Anon 16:16 ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ indeed a level of suffering is required to attain true and lasting success...

3. He invited people to watch him when he agreed to be featured in 30 Under 30 To Watch or whatever. FBI just happened to be among those watching.

23. He will be charged with fraud, wire fraud, interstate wire fraud, racketeering. These are federal crimes and he will get at least 30 years in prison.

24. I only pity his mum.

Most times these guys wives and girlfriends are aware of the kind of fraudulent activities they engage in.

1. Let me send my response to Stella cos it's long.

25. PART ONE

What are you pitying his mother for? Stop it, please! See let me tell you, there was a time when (I don't know about other tribes sha but) you dare not bring stolen property to your parents' house or do bad if you're Igbo. Your father will beat the hell out of you, send your mother packing and the community will banish you! Cos outsiders will not marry from that community cos of one thief and ain't nobody got time for that. So, even if you wan crase, you will think twice when you consider the consequences. That time, the mantra of mothers was, "You will not disgrace me" cos she knew how bad it will look for her. The first thing when you buy her a gift that your mother will do even if you have a legitimate job, is ask how much it cost. Both your parents (if they're alive) will sit you down in the middle of the night (I think they wake you up at that time cos your defences are weak) and ask you questions about where you're working, what exactly you do, and how much you earn. Even those parents that were not literate enough to read a payslip had a way of calculating your gifts against your monthly salary and expenses they believe you should have in the town. They will ask you in all the languages they can speak. They will come up with proverbs or stories of what happened to people that stole in the city. There were even some uncles who were looked up to in communities who will not collect a dime if they're not sure of or comfortable with where your money is coming from. And the uncles are not rich, oh! You come with an official car (cos that was a real thing then) and your parents ask where you got the money; meanwhile you've explained it's official car. Remaining small for them to call your boss to ask - but there were no mobile phones.

1. PART TWO

Today, it's different. Mothers enable criminal behaviour. I have seen my own mother who is a pastor in a popular church, enable my brother's criminal behaviour! Criminal as in something he was arrested for. Then, she called me to say I should help him, that he was set up. I laughed and told her that if it's the same boy we are talking about, that we both know he has to have done what he was accused of and nobody should call my name else he will go to jail by the time I open my mouth. How they sorted it, only God knows but I told them it's temporary. Years later, (I honestly forgot I hadn't told my husband and) something happened where it was going to be exposed. I was on a project in a different town and I knew I couldn't wait to get home before calling my husband. I was shaking when I called my husband cos I was thinking of how badly it would reflect on my husband, so was like, "This man will leave me." I told him and he asked me, "Where you come from, is that how people just wake up and jump out of marriages cos of what their spouse didn't even do?" My in-laws say my husband and I are similar but I have emboldened him, that the way they're seeing me - I can send my own mother to jail. I dey laugh them cos they're not lying. I will dash you to FBI myself and do the undercover work for them for free. Let them lock you up and throw away the key since you want to be unfortunate.

When you're even trying to live clean, it's mothers of nowadays that will come and say why are you not doing what your mates are doing. Even when she knows what terrible things those so-called mates are doing. When someone talks, they say the person is Judgina. Ara gbagbukwa unu. Some of them will even show off the proceeds of such in church to pepper others. And they will sing, "What the Lord has done for me, I can't tell it all". How can you tell it all when you know what you empowered your child to do, even when they may not have wanted to? They start reminding of all the things they did for you, as if it was another person's job they were doing. I don't know why a parent can think that their child stealing to provide for them is an appropriate reward for all the times they sold akara, wrapper, land and gold to educate the child. Of what use were all those so-called sacrifices if you knowingly want to raise a thief or deviant? I remember telling my own mother that nobody is my mate in this life so if she's looking for someone to manipulate into doing something disgraceful, no be me. Nobody will pressure me or my husband into doing anything stupid - so if anybody's mother want to threaten to die, fine. If they really die, we will bury them as we're able; people without mothers don't die. Dem never die, so na just talk dem dey.

Nobody should pity this guy's mother, abeg. Your son cannot come from the village and be valued at millions of dollars, and you won't ask how. If you didn't ask, it's because you didn't want to hear cos you already know. Those three boys from the same family that were convicted in London some months ago, shebi their mother will say she didn't know what they were doing?

If you're reading this, don't allow anybody (including parents) pressure you, oh. If not, you'll go to jail or worse, people will pity those that were pushing you, and strangers like me will write epistle on your matter.

2. I agree with you.
      When I was younger, yahoo was quite fresh and I know a couple of yahoo boys then who used to brag that their parents come to bail them from EFCC net. I still see some of those boys today and they are doing well on the Lagos scene and doing stuff for their parents and posting on social media. I wont call names cos I'm not in the mood now. Lol
      Best believe that a lot of girls are involved too. They now use makeup and fashion design to cover up their real hustle source. Sisters, wives, girlfriends and female cousin all join.

3. Lady T/worth more than a thousand dollars18 August 2019 at 09:29

Dear Anonymous 4:19, God bless you for this epistle.

4. It’s just greed. I know an oil worker from the South South that was doing his best take care of his mother. Bought her a car, sent her monthly upkeep and all. Only for her to start complaining that how come he’s not giving her dollars like her other age group mates are getting. Those ones’ sons were all bunkerers. The guy was weak. Everybody is greedy now

26. When people go from 0-100 in such a short time, and without any clear source, and you ask how, watch as you are descended on, both online and in real life. Questions and statements like "your money loss?, What's your own? Drink water and mind your business? Hater" will be thrown at you. Nobody cares anymore.

27. Who is he again? I just heard of him yesterday for the first time. His face looks fishy. I visited his website and see it as so cheap and wish washy. The BOD shows he really doesn't know anything about corporate. He is just an average Nigerian youth who is easily swayed by successful people but too lazy to bend down, learn, unlearn and relearn how to build. They believe Coscharis, Sanford, Otedola were overnight success not knowing there is a process involved. Business structures are carefully thought out, designed, implemented and continuous evaluated, not rushing to impress the public. A chap that studied International Relations up to M.Sc with specialization in Criminology? He is not the first or last to be fraudulent. I mean, there were frustrated guys who executed serious heists, relocated and cleaned themselves up, sought ways to atone for their sins quietly. Not this poverty, stricken brilliant boy who had no business doing fraud to make it yet opted for the easy way out. Men who actually work hard for their money don't bath with champagne in the name of celebration. He was duly enabled by his 'Director's mother and 'Non-ED' sister. Even his wife, I don't pity. Let him serve for 30years in jail. People like him paint Nigeria black globally and make others suffer for their wickedness.

28. Ajegunle boy E-money just woke up and won a 'contract'of $...m and carries convoy to go thank God in 'church. ' Till today, nobody can say this is how mosquevalley made his 'billions' etc. Only in Nigeria do we aid and about criminals not knowing the implications of these actions.

29. Is this a case of identity theft or foolishness?

Is it possible that someone who has his name and business out there would use his email (which is his name), his Twitter handle (which is his business name) to commit wire fraud?

And all these identities are in public domain (social media platform)?

Mind-boggling.

Now that FBI has him, the case would go through a thorough court proceeding for a verdict.

Young people, the internet is a dangerous place, not a safe playground. Beware of what you do with it.