Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Boredom Eliminating Post..

Sunday, September 29, 2019

Boredom Eliminating Post..

It could be true and false or true or false....There must be checks done every now and then and there must be lectures and questions asked....
It is even dangerous when you forbid your child from something and they learn about it from outsiders....

68 comments:

1. It is inevitable that they have a browsing phone at that age. Let's be realistic, how will they do their homework and assignment? Even if they use the computer, they still have access to what is prohibited.

Get them a phone with restrictions to certain sites.

Educate them as well on what is good and not.

Commit their ways to God.
    You can't get it all except God helps you.

1. Mtcheeeeeeew.
      With a home use laptop, they know its not their personal laptop so they cant access anything naughty.
      This your comment no just follow.

2. Its bad enough being in a war zone, handing a kid a smartphone is like putting them in a war front.... then you say "except God helps you"

3. My sons are below 15 and in boarding school. Phones are not allowed. The school has well equipped ICT centre with internet facility. And their usage is monitored by the school.

4. This is how backward people remain in the dark. Smart phone tech is a basic requirement for anyone in this age of information. Imagine a 16 year who is limited in their knowledge of cyberspace.

5. People should learn to give their opinion and let others five theirs!
      Why the attack???

6. Forward mumu.
      Did u use a smart phone at 16?

7. it is bad. if you go on the net you will see all sought there. when you were in school did you use the internet for your assignment? ability for us to regulate wnat we do on the net now is as a result of much discipline. but not everyone has it. please its not needed. they can only use it in school. isnt it the same watts app group girls chat with guys to hook up and then get pregnant.i was 14 when i had a phone all sorts happened adults see you with a phone and start disturbing the childs phone. teachers too get their contact and start calling the girls after school. guys friends call them of the next party on ground to meet girls they have a crush on. they can have a landline which the parents can monitor thats much better.

8. To each his own. My child is 14 and has a browsing phone. My friend has berated me for it. She almost had a heart attack when she found out her own child hides and uses other people’s phones when she sees them. She even had a secret FB account which my child doesn’t have. Like I say to each his own.

2. There should be measures in place,plus a good upbringing and Godly values goes a long way too.

3. I have been saying this for ages.
    If your kids, especially your girl child must have a phone, give her
    the one that will only enable her call you. And she must be quite disciplined to earn that.
    Do not give your children internet enabled phone, it is for porn and phone fork.
    And the distractions and evil they learn from Social Media is second to none.

1. My dear you are the only one who has said the truth

2. 👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽

3. You can actually block porn on mobile phones. Don't limit young people where tech is concerned. The other countries where young people have the freedom to browse are they not doing better in every way?

4. Yes theyre doing better in the LGBT community and their hospitals are good in abortion without complications afterwards

5. Give them a laptop instead of a phone

4. So true!

I think my birth month September has the highest number of celebrities born in the month of September. We didn't even celebrate King Sunny Ade,I think his own is on the 22nd. Nobody should argue with me oooh because I am a celebrity too....lol

1. Off point. Who cares?

2. Yes I agree with you.'@I AM

3. Why are you jealous @ 18:40. You cared that was why you replied! Thanks @20:42

4. wetin concern us with ur birthday

BABSY

5. Let me read and learn as my kids are not yet that age.

6. True. The family system with PG is enough for their home work.

7. True, they can use it when they leave secondary school

8. My 1st Daughter is 15years,in Year 11 and a boarder. Yes she has a Browsing phone and NO I do not think I am doing anything Wrong. Reasons been that I check what sites she goes on (2) she is most times on Wattpad( a site for books) I have always gone thru the books she reads (3) she chats wit her classmates on WhatsApp ( I also check her chats)
    I brought / is bringing up all my Daughters in " Telling Mummy everything policy. Trust me this Policy is not easy but I get 2 hear my Daughters telling me everything that happens to them on a Daily. There are times I want to react and shout out my advice but when I remember it is for my Best when they tell me everything I breathe in/ out and calmly advice,object with reasons and refuse also with Reasons. My 15years old makes Parenting EASY.
    Above all I put them to God in Prayers, having a browsing phone is not the only way a Child can go bad.

1. Which boarding school allows phone?
      I agree, a browsing phone wouldnt corrupt all kids sha, but no need testing monkey wit banana and a warning.
      They will only tell u what they u want to hear.
      Youre doing something bad madam

2. I commend you for your hard work.
      A few tips...
      Browsing sites can be deleted or browsing done "incognito" I hope you know? So checking her browsing history really does nothing if she's internet savvy. I'll advise that you without telling her block all pornographic sites or put a restriction on pages opening up if certain words are types in. A full antivirus software will do this. It can also help prevent scamming sites from opening or a warning is given if she wants to access them unknowingly.

3. We give our children cellphones at the age of 13. My 1st daughter is 18 now and it was trial and error stuff. When we got her phone we were shocked at the content..long story..back and forth..we took the phone from her until she finished secondary school. Second daughter is 15 now. No issues. The boys are 13 and 14 so far so good. Kids are different and have to be treated so,with explanation for your actions, love and prayers.

4. We give our children cellphones at the age of 13. My 1st daughter is 18 now and it was trial and error stuff. When we got her phone we were shocked at the content..long story..back and forth..we took the phone from her until she finished secondary school. Second daughter is 15 now. No issues. The boys are 13 and 14 so far so good. Kids are different and have to be treated so,with explanation for your actions, love and prayers.

5. Ralu, this iGeneration kids will even school you about a smart phone.

6. @Anon 18:29. She only uses the Phone wen she is Home and NO I am not doing anything Bad,Thank You.
      @ Ralu m. Thank You ,noted,I will do wat you suggested. Appreciate.

7. Madam, no matter the generation or gender, there is NO teenager that tells their parent(s) everything so I don't understand why you're at ease. I go into schools from time to time. And let me say you are VERRRRRY DECEIVED if you truly believe your children are telling you everything. There are some parents forming "my child is the one that Virgin Mary should have learned from" whose pastors are still begging those same children to open up to their parents about the multiple abortions they have already had. Even husband and wife that really love each other don't tell each other everything; e come be teenagers who think "nobody understands me"?

Which WhatsApp are you talking about? The one where we can now delete chats without a trace or another one?

I'm not too tech savvy but even I know how to wipe internet history on a phone or laptop. Unless you're a tech genius and know how to retrieve deleted internet history, you will only see what I want you to see.

You go thru the books you see in your children's possession, not necessarily what they read. There's a difference. That's why a child can fail cos they didn't read and parents will say, "But I bought books!" You're seeing the books you bought, not necessarily what your child read. That's if they read at all. It works more than one way.

My parents believe(d) they knew everything I read as a child or teenager; if only they knew. Right from childhood, I would read almost anything I could lay my hands on. And I read super fast when I'm reading in my mind. I'd read my father's newspapers when he was done with them. I remember when a story broke about a young lady who accused him of sleeping with her to use her for rituals. The story was very graphic, horrible and detailed. The guy used a white handkerchief to clean her private part after they had sex (which he hadn't been doing before), she fell sick and started losing weight shortly after. The lady actually looked the way we expect a dying AIDS patient to look now. But this was in the 80s and AIDS wasn't a thing in Nigeria at the time. Or maybe it was and we just didn't know. But there was the white handkerchief angle. She mentioned some other things and this was YEARS before "Living in Bondage" came out.

The story was on the front page and centrespread of The Concord. I remember taking that newspaper and barely five minutes later, my father called me. He told me to bring the newspaper, took it from me, told me to go, called me back almost immediately, returned the paper. When I checked, the centrespread was gone. What my father never knew was that in the less than five minutes it took for him to notice the paper was gone, I had read that story. I think there was just one paragraph left for me to finish it. I was barely 6yo at the time I read that inappropriate thing under my parents' roof with my parents sitting in the next room. I never said anything. 6, not 16. I was just curious, not even devious. But a parent of this decade truly believes they know all their teenager reads? It is well.

OA

8. Don’t mind that madam she’s too lazy to parent that’s why she claims to know all her daughter does. My daughter doesn’t even have a phone and she’s in abroad and when she does there won’t be internet

9. Its wrong telling her she's being deceived,that most teenagers keep things from their folks does not mean HER KIDS are doing the same!!
      Shebi you go to schooLS all the time?are all these kids THE SAME???

10. Lagos Shopper, is she in school with her kids? EVERY teenager keeps something from their parents. EVERY. Without exception. And it doesn't have to be drugs or sex. Anyone who thinks otherwise is VERRRRRY DECEIVED. Argue all you like.

OA

9. To me is true but you must not believe what I believe. Always do a proper check on your children, make sure you are paddy with them. Let them have full confidence in you with that nothing can hidden from you, do not use your hand to invite trouble in your home.

10. TRUE.
    A kid at that age only requires a mobile phone to track & be tracked by parents/guardians... not a smartphone that bridges the gap between online immorality and their tender growing mind.

1. Escapee has appeared . you ran away because of teejaygate😃😂

11. TRUE.
    A kid at that age only requires a mobile phone to track & be tracked by parents/guardians... not a smartphone that bridges the gap between online immorality and their tender growing mind.

12. Your style of parenting should depend on the child. Some children are obedient and will abide by your rules in using a smart phone. Some are not and will still do those things you have advised them against. There is so much pornographic information on the internet. Not justmovies but stories, pictures, social media...etc Children do not need this kind of exposure. For those saying you can check frequently..hmmm...a smart child knows how to clear browsing history. Trust me the things they know eh...u wont begin to imagine. There is so much evil in the world now particularly targeted at teenage girls..let's stay Woke as parents

1. No need to even clear browser, you can set it not to save any site accessed

13. The best teachers a daughter/son can and will have is the parents - Children subliminally learn from them not much the school -

14. False. They should just be monitored .

1. Clap for yourself, monitoring spirit, they will do you the more you look the less you see

15. No smart phone for any child in secondary school! They can use the DICTIONARY or use my phone with me seated close to u!! If most parents know what kids do these days with internet and how smart they can be about clearing the browser history. I wont be a party to that. Am not that exposed. My 2 cents..

16. Depending on the training you have given him or her. Sometimes children should be allowed to discover good and evil, then choose based on their teachings.

17. Let me share a personal experience.

I have a House help that is 17 years. she's in JSS 3...we have lived together for like a year. she's like in daughter to me

I got a new small phone for her 3 months ago. I saw a facebook app in the phone when I got home and was checking through the phone. Was quite surprised because it was a small N3500 phone but I felt she would not know how to operate it because of the way she acts blank Atimes.

One day I noticed she was always pressing the phone. I took from her and saw she has opened a facebook account. Ha! I was surprised. I told her to not to devote her time to that. she still has a long way to go.

After some days I noticed she was still pressing the phone. I took it from her and started going through...i was shocked at what I saw. she was already in 50 groups and was chatting up like 6boys. 😲😲
    I just took the phone from and went to ask God for how to handle the matter. I asked her for her password and username. opened it in my phone and We had a long talk. I told her it wasn't time yet.
    she agreed with me and since them she hasn't logged in. I Check her account from time to time.

The days are Evil. Every Child must be given what He/she can handle per time. Know the ability of your Child and had a Social media talk with them before you give them the phone.

I will still talk at length with my girl. I want her to fear and respect God and not me. That will be the solution to my fears.

1. Yeah, one of the ways that I also use in monitoring my Daughter.

18. TRUE.
    I visited a family and spent the whole day with them. The kids aged 10and 14 asked to play games on my phone.
    Two days later, I don't know what took me to my browsing history. I saw 'what is fucking'. I was shocked. I knew it wasn't me or my daughter. Who did I give my phone to? Then I remembered.
    Okay, some days later, I open my dictionary, went to history and the last searched words were penis, sex and fuck. Same kids, just didn't know which.
    Well I went back, we asked them, and they denied.

1. Kids are very curious and wants to know d meaning of every word they see o r hear, so sometimes its good to educate them on it

19. I will use myself as an example. The first time I saw people having sex/watched porn was in 2014 at 25yr old waiting for NYSC. I got the link from a blog I was visiting and someone posted a link to a woman having sex with her son of less than 5yr old watching. It felt so strange cos I thought sex was sacred and didn't know someone could do that with other people present. That was the beginning on my addiction to porn cos I started searching for related stuffs. I thank God that I have been set free but it was so hard.

1. Imagine if u discovered porn at a tender age, it'd so stick to ur brain like a new learnt language... and the rest will be history

2. The kind of parents we have, if your parents had lectured u on it then it would not be an issue

BABSY

20. I will use myself as an example. The first time I saw people having sex/watched porn was in 2014 at 25yr old waiting for NYSC. I got the link from a blog I was visiting and someone posted a link to a woman having sex with her son of less than 5yr old watching. It felt so strange cos I thought sex was sacred and didn't know someone could do that with other people present. That was the beginning on my addiction to porn cos I started searching for related stuffs. I thank God that I have been set free but it was so hard.

21. I agree. My brother inlaw and his family came over at ours sometime ago. I noticed their daughter of about 12years engrossed with her phone. When I stylishly snooped (proudly team snoop), I saw she was chatting with a guy, sending different poses of her pic to him and the guy was telling her he wanted to fuvk her.. I just weak

1. You never see anything.
      No small pikin again oh

2. Wat!!! 12years old? OMG

BABSY

22. While you are arguing, it would be worthy to note that over 70% of the internet content is porn related. That is, porn takes a whooping over 70% of the internet' content

23. It all boils down to godly and proper home training.

I am a grown ass woman with internet at my disposal but has never visited a porn site.
    Doesn't mean I am sin free but there are boundaries I would never cross.

Train your kids and also show them how to live by your own actions.
    Some of you are crazy.
    A psychopath that stalks people on the internet will raise a psychopath and worse.

1. God bless you for this my younger sister’s namesake. A cat can’t birth a dog.

2. Thank you,the most important is the foundation!!
      Start EARLY,let them know what is proper and not,let them know your God and point out what is a SIN or no,when they go out and are exposed to these evil things they will choose to see/participate/leave,do you think the 17yro girl up there if given her phone back at 20yrs won't still chat up boys if some values has not been pointed out?
      A lady came to my church to minister(teenager's program)and she said how she's never own a TV,she gets a laptop for her children at a certain age,she never knew her boy(can't remember the age)stays up all night to watch movies on the laptop and then she catches him watching porn....a house that's never own a TV o!!!!

24. What you are is what you will birth. Internet or no internet. While we were young, my siblings and I had access to basically anything we want, we could go where we want to as long as we tell our parents ahead of time and we had curfews. We could invite friends over male or female. I as a kid read a whole lot. I read novels, romance, thrillers, kids, anything. And I never hid these books from my parents cause at times l forget and leave these books in places my parents can see it.
    You see what my sister’s and I realized our parents had on us was trust. After advising us, they finish with “I trust you, after I have advised you, you won’t do it again.”
    You see that TRUST word, gets to us everytime whenever they use it. It got to us that we wouldn’t want to do anything that would break that trust. Even till now as I am older, before I think of doing something wrong I would subconsciously ask myself if my daddy (God bless his memory) would be happy with me.
    Parents just have to create friendship with their kids first before any other thing. It was very easy for us to talk with our parents cause they interacted with us right from when we were little. That even when they catch us doing things we weren’t supposed to do, after they correct us, it becomes difficult for us to go back to doing that thing.

25. It is totally wrong, if you say they use it for assignment y not get them a laptop and wifi at home, if you say u need to reach them collect their teachers number in case u need to reach them in school and also get a landline in case u need to reach them at home wen u are not around...my own opinion tho

BABSY

26. even adults lack control and temptations. girls twerk using the phone video to record and post on the net. guys chase girls so bad on the net now. there are people thats the only thing they do. talk more of a child pls thats too much. they need to know what growing as a child feels like and not turning into an adult over night.