Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Flogging A Child In School - Your View

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Flogging A Child In School - Your View

What do you think about Teachers punishing a child in school or canning their bodies with sticks to correct them?Has your child ever been flogged ?

56 comments:

1. It is wrong to flog like that, what if the child slump,then the teacher will start begging all in the name homework.....There are other ways to correct her

1. Enter your reply...it not appropriate ,cos what if the child was a witch then after beating them they initiate u to nothing else.so it not advisable to flog a child.

2. I don’t support flogging in anyway.
    There are mild punishments you can give a child.
    If a teacher flogs my child like that kid ☝🏿 there, oh, I will come for that teacher.
    You can’t disfigure my baby’s beautiful skin all in the name of flogging, I will flog the teacher too. Nonsense!!!

1. Flogging is not a crime. It is the severity that is. Spear the rod and the child spoils. I was flogged when I was young but I didn't slump so we should not be think in such manner to cover up indiscipline in children. As a teacher if I have a child that does not do her assignment every time I will be anger with her but if it is a student who always do her assignments but did not do it at one time with a good reason then I may not flog her. Mind you as a mother if you child is not doing well am sure you will blame the teacher not your child's laziness.

3. Oh no!!! I can accommodate 2 to 3 strokes of the cane...Why give 12 strokes you are very wicked haba!! Only parents cant train a child, it involves the community..

4. Whaatttttt. This is child abuse.
    Where are the social services in Nigeria..Do we even have any..

5. Disciplining a child isn't wrong but very bad when you go on the extreme. The Bible admonishes us not to spare the rod else we spoil the child. Discipline doesn't necessary mean flogging, you can kneel a child down or make that child sweep or clean the classroom. You can as well deny the child going for break or a little whip in their palm but not with muscle.

I once taught in a private school 2003. The kids were so fond of me as a result of my handling of things with them. I discovered that most times flogging of children doesn't solve anything, rather it harden then the more to be stubborn. You can correct in love by advising politely. I will never condone anyone who will inflict injury on any child of mine God will give me in the name of discipline. So in all I am saying, it's totally wrong to flog a child heavily.

1. "spare the rod and spoil the child" is one of the most misused verses in the Bible.

"Rod" does not literally mean a stick or a cane. it’s a tool of protection and a symbol of love.

The psalmist in 23 said that God's rod comforts him. Does your child feel comforted by your discipline, or does your discipline serve to drive the child further away from you? Does your discipline cause fear of you in the heart of your child?

The Rod is Our Protection. The rod was used to pull sheep out of dangerous or unfortunate situations such as if a sheep was caught in thick brush or had fallen into deep water.
      The rod was also used to defend the sheep against predators. Since sheep aren’t very smart, it was up to the shepherd to adequately defend his flock, so a nice long staff with a thick, curly rod on the end made for a solid weapon against any enemies. In this way, the rod is a symbol of God’s protection.
      Is your child protected by your just discipline?

The rod as a Symbol of Love. most shepherds used their rods as a means of counting their sheep. God lovingly acknowledges us, He counts us as His own, as a part of His family when we pass under His rod. He offers us assurance of His continual presence and protection when we follow Him wherever He leads us. So, passing under the rod was a source of great comfort and faithful love.

Does your child feel loved and comforted by your discipline?

Answering these questions will help us find the right means to properly discipline our children, and not push them away.

6. 12 strokes are too much. A child can be flogged but not bruised. The essence of punishment is to correct and not to transfer aggression. Even 2 or 3 strokes can pass the message across. Even at that, not every offence deserves flogging.

7. A mother has the greatest responsibility in a child. Why has a mother would you not follow up on your child’s home work. It’s a pointer to failed parenting. I am team flogging ,”flog the child but moderately “

1. I go with your school of thought.

2. oil dy ur head... the mom might have be busy with social media or other activities and failed to ensure her child did her home work. when d child con turn eti bolibo dem dy will blame the teachers

3. Imagine such nonsense talk. Do you know if she's the type that goes to work and probably gets home really late? Like 9pm, 10pm. And the child is probably asleep at that time. How dare you insult another mother? Mrs Perfect. I dislike women like you. You think it's everyone that's always on social media. There are times I get back really late from work, doesn't happen most times though. So if that happens, one teacher would now flog my child like this for not doing homework? For what na!

4. Anon 12:13 this line of thought of yours is one of the problems of our society. I grew up in a household where my mother had to fend for us all. Oh she hustled that by the time she comes home she is tired. Only to resume early again. So on top all her hustles she should join assignment abi? Why didn't you blame the father? Nincompoop!

5. Pearl,it’s called neglect. One of the greatest abuse children suffer in modern time. You see those London kids forming gang et all,it all started because their parents are “busy working” like you. You get to the town centres and wonder what kids are doing at 22-22:00 . I work too madam,but I prioritise and put my kids first and darling it’s not nonsense,it’s my opinion.

6. Some teachers can bombard with Home works. My son comes home with at least 5 diff homeworks everyday. Some times we go to school late cos we are trying to finish up. To be a Mother is not easy

7. And what's the responsibility of the father?

8. To bring money. Lol!

8. Oh no teacher or anyone born of a woman can try this shit with my niece or nephews, that school would have close down that day

1. watin u go do? u reach dia con find out say, no b only you get craze fr head.

9. Spank my child when he/she does wrong, no problem but if you flog my child like an animal, i will treat you worse like an animal. Na plywood i go take beat you...

10. If you touch my child peren just go and write ur will jeje, nobody is allowed to flog my child asides me and my husband, see the welts on the poor child's leg, oh lord if i pounce on that teacher

11. They have not born that teacher.

12. A child can be flogged but not bruised please.

I take basic 5 pupils, thankfully, they are bright and I dont have to scream too much .

But then occassionally, I spank and I dont do more than 2 strokes and mild enough for them to realise their mistakes.

I have a child and wouldn't want anyone bruising her all in the name correcting her.

So mild spanking alongside , explaining what they did wrong would indeed help.

13. i support flogging of kids but on the palm and it must be minimal. if you dont like it take your kids home. you wont train them well and you will send them to the teachers and they will becom live winches to them. so d teachers should die because you pay them.

14. A teacher can give soft punishments to kids like reading a book within a time frame and summarizing it. Flogging is a no no for me.

No teacher will do this to our child and not hear it from US! You drink gas or bomb dey your head? Nonsense and big brother according to a BV.

1. As a child, I was a bookworm. If you give me book to read and summarise, you just made my day.

15. Why should you flog my child? I don't understand. Were you in the labour ward with me? Or you were there when I was praying to God for them.

I'm even angry already, no one should try this nonsense on a child. What happens to other punishments? Example you let her write I will always do my homework for 5000 times. Wouldn't it be better than torturing the child that way and putting fear in her?

1. That in itself is torture, haba! 5,000 times? Not even 500

16. I feel so terrible seeing this. Last night I couldn't sleep well guilty conscience almost killed me. I got back from work last night only to find out dat my 5year old wasn't home from skul. I mmediatly, I knew she has gone to my mum's place from skul.my mum stays close by dat was abt 8pm.mum later brought her home. I then called my daughter to verify y she prefers going to my mum's house her reply was that I always miss Mama dat is y I like visiting her from skul bcos I know if I come home first nobody would let me go again. I then asked her if she has done her assignment she said no. Ok bring ur books let's start she then said she was tired and wanted to sleep. then y didn't y do d assignment in Mama's house she replied dat she forgot for almost one hour we were still battling to do it. That was when I lost my cool.And flogged this innocent child messilessly at the end she didn't finish the assignment what did I gain in beating her nothing. Then my husband was sleeping when all this was happening. The next thing I heard was my husband crying bitterly from sleep dat he say somebody like Jesus Christ on the throne with my daughter by his side. He said Jesus told him dat my daughter is a divine child she is special dat anyone dat beats her once she is sad sorrow and heart break will flood d person's life.My husband had to warn everybody dat no one should ever touch her again. I feel so terrible. I apologised to he countless times but her reply was mummy is ok I am fine

1. lolllllllll.... Do you love your child? Do you want her to turn out fine, in this crazy century? If yes, please flog and correct firmly but not with anger.. Be careful of all these 'special' dreams.. EVERY CHILD IS A DIVINE CHILD..All that matters is the handling and proper nurturing of Divinity within any given child.. don't be deceived, devil wants to destroy that child with the 'divine' child tag... be very guided

2. My dear, I seriously doubt that your husband had a dream. Maybe you've been beating the child too much and he's finding a way to stop you hence that story. Discipline your child but just don't overdo it. The last beating you narrated there was unnecessary; you could have let her rest then wake her up early to do the homework before going to school.

3. Why didn't your Joseph the dreamer husband wake up and help with the assignment? He obviously wasn't sleeping or dreaming but isn't happy that you caned her.

You are remorseful and that is good but talk to him to help out more, if he was helping, you would be less frustrated and not take out your aggression on her.

4. And what if she refuse to write you will then give her I will do my homework 10,000 time abi. At the end you will now go and look for miracle center for your child to write exams. This next generation of children it is only God that will help them where parent see punishing a child to discipline them as a crime. That is why children are no longer respectful because of private school nonsense. Parent can try that in public schools na.

17. I was flogged in school very well but today we have 21st century children, so I won't subscribe to your flogging my child.

I pay you to put them on the right part. I can give you permission to flog them if they are too stubborn

18. As a teacher that I am, I'll come back to reply when I'm less busy.

19. It is this 'I don't flog my children' nonsense that has mad children of these days rude and lack respect. A child poured his mum his food because he was given fish instead of meat in a birthday party and he wanted meat, the mum begged him to eat and then when he gets home, she will give him chicken, he poured the food on her and his mum was like 'you see what u've done? I told you I will give you when we get home' That mother now has failed that 4 year old because by the time he grows, he will be flogging the mother and anyone around him that condoned his silly behavior. Why shouldn't the child his/her home work? At the end of the term if the child fails you would threaten to withdraw your child as if you made any effort in training that child.
    Yes I flog my children, my mother flogged me and made me have some sense when I was lacking it. The bible okays it to flog a child, when you spare the rod, you spoil the child. Ndi be anyi ekene mu nu o

1. No, I refuse. A child that will spoil will spoil. Flogging only hardens them. I went to a mixed boarding school. All the badly behaved guys only got accustomed to canes. It was always a show watching them endure 30 strokes of the cane and a smile on their faces.

Discipline is good. Flogging is punitive. Its not an effective technique. Please read my sister's story below.

2. Thank u anon13:14. I know some kids that were flogged who are badly behaved. Most armed robbers and area boys were severely flogged and likewise I know some people who were never flogged but disciplined in other ways that turned out super. It’s not flogging that determines spoilt behavior. Its discipline.

3. Most times if you watch closely their young years they allowed them misbehave... you start at a very tender age to correct and discipline kids don’t wait till primary or secondary school... catch them young just wasn’t a phrase..

20. Its not okay to flog. My dad made my sister blind in one eye accidentally while flooging her when she was just 6 years old.
    Today my sister hates him for life. We keep praying for her to forgive.

There are other forms of punishment. Anything with an object is wrong.
    Eka joy once mentioned mild flogging, but no matter how mild, with an object things can easily go wrong.

People, schools please stop! PLEASE!

21. @ Mi Remember the bible say's spare the rod and spoil the child, When you child misbehaves correct her with words but if she proves stubborn use cane but do that with love not anger . Don't stop correcting her becos of the dream your husband had or your child might get out of control

22. I support flogging but it should be on the palm, some kids can be be extremely stubborn and only flogging can reset their brain but it should be done moderately

BABSY

23. you should go to that school look for that stupid teacher and flog her 24. What rubbish is that?

24. You can flog kids but everything should be done in moderation and not over the top...strictly on the palms too.

25. Lest, i forget, many of us were PHYSICALLY abused by our own parents - when you flog a child on any part of her body but the palm, also when it leaves mark on the palm, it's abuse.

Many things were done in ignorance but now have become wickedness b/c TIMES HAVE CHANGED.

26. PLEASE JUST ARRANGE 1 SPOT IN PRISON COS IT'S EITHER THE TEACHER TAKES IT OR I TAKE IT AFTER SENDING SAID TEACHER TO HOSPITAL- LIKE "HOW DARE YOU!!"

27. A child should be disciplined but not in anger.
    Secondly one of the things that most parents miss is the breaking of a child's will. It is very needful to do it when the child is around the when two. Get the child to obey even if he/she doesn't feel like. I did it for my younger son, he cried non stop for about two hours but refused to do what I asked him to do. God had mercy and I finally succeeded with him. Parenting is something to handle prayerfully because children are not the same. While there are basic rules to follow every parent should also take note of the uniqueness of each child and ask God for wisdom to bring up the child.

28. I will pull my child out of that school the next day and that teacher go hear am. I work and currently attend lectures part time, so if my husband and I get back late and my minder cannot supervise homework, you will now flog my child that I suffered how many years to bear? Just pray you don't lose your job.

29. I remember when I was doing my IT, I was staying with my aunt cos of the distance from my house to my workplace. Her daughter came home crying that her lesson teacher beat 120 strokes. I was so livid, I kept asking her 120? She said yes but it was light strokes. Her mother was saying maybe she did something to deserve it. 120 strokes? Deserve ke? In my mind I was like which nonsense light stroke. The next day on my way home from work, I marched to her school and I was just kept shouting and shouting. What kind of rubbish? I called all my extended family as regards the issue. Nonsense and ingredients.

30. School is a place of learning and development, corporal punishment has no place in a school. Some children act up because of the abuse they are meeting at home, then they go to school and get more beatings on top of what they are meeting at home. What kind of person will that child become as an adult? There are far more effective ways to deal with indiscipline other than beating. They used to beat children who are constantly late for school instead of trying to find out the reason for the tardiness. Maybe the child has to help younger ones, draw water from the well and a host of other chores before they can start preparing for school, imagine getting beat for something like that, something 100% out of your control that you never asked for. It must be abolished and other measures put in place, also guidance counselors should be in every school to help students thrive and become well rounded individuals.

31. Oh please. There's a difference between flogging and abuse. That's on her legs abi arms and it isn't nice. That being said, I am totally for flogging. Children these days are an embarrassment. Sometimes, you wonder whether it's the children raising the parents or otherwise. Parents indulge their children in everything and react like crazed people, like many here have opined, when the children are disciplined. Teachers these days are now so scared to even discipline children.. They too by default have become as bad as the parents, and we wonder why things are the way they are? When parents will react like agberos in full view of their kids and friends.
    It's for this reason, I specifically avoided some schools and specifically sought one with high standards and with a good ethic and moral code for my kids and so far, they've been outstanding.
    All this talk of, you weren't in the labor room with me is just b.s. If you can't it, homeschool them... It's an option.

1. God bless you, that's how they raise badly behaved kids.