Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NUC Splits Mass Communication Into 7 Different Degrees In Universities...

Friday, January 10, 2020

NUC Splits Mass Communication Into 7 Different Degrees In Universities...

The National Universities Commission (NUC) said it has unbundled Mass Communication programme in Universities into seven separate degree programmes.

The commission said this was done to meet the growing demand. The development is expected to take effect from 2020 admissions into Nigerian universities.

Below are the 7 different degrees it has been split into:

1. Journalism and Media Studies
2. Public Relations
3. Advertising
4. Broadcasting
5. Film and Multimedia studies
6. Development Communication Studies
7. Information and Media studies

11 comments:

1. This is silly. They want to imitate America in everything but do not in infrastructure. Do they have the infrastructure to support for e.g. advertising as a course?

1. Leave us oo. Many Nigerians just want to be a graduate.
      Las las teaching or bank marketing will take over

2. We are not perfect.
      They will get there.
      Kudos.
      I love advertising.

2. I hope they have lecturers for these courses. It one thing to unbundle but another to have knowledgeable lecturers. I have had a bad experience in this regard with Nassarawa State University. Keffi, computer science department for PG studies. Software engineering was introduced but no lecturer was available for the whole yeat. Waste of money

3. GOD. i would have done journalism. hmmmm

4. Chai
    After we don't comot. It's all good. Guess I will just focus on PR during Pgd.

5. Why now? Good decision tho, wish this was done when i was still in school

6. After we have suffered to read all courses and graduated then they came up with this ‘ good development all the same