Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dead Men Pay Tithes?

Friday, February 21, 2020

Dead Men Pay Tithes?

This is really shocking......................
Can a church really do this or is this another false news?

76 comments:

1. Normal Catholic practice but we don’t do Tithe. Dead or Alive, u must pay your debt b4 burial. Dey no send u o

2. 9:25 you're very right. We paid all before the church set a burial date for my dad. Picking a date was also a tussle, they wanted a date that would suit the priest and the church rather than giving us one that would be convenient for the people burying their father. It was utterly disgusting and annoying. We had to go to the bishop to over ride the priest.

When we went for Thanksgiving on Sunday after the the burial, the priest was now soliciting for funds from us to help finish the church since we were visiting... funds kill you there idiaat. I rather shred my money into pieces.

3. Cyclone 🤣🤣🤣

4. Simple. Pay 1k a month for 3 years or 500 a month for 3 years. Aas trend though. Tithe is between you and God. I hate any ministry that gives tithe cards. It should be anonymous.
      Most likely an Orthodox Church

5. Which Catholic Church please @anon 9:25. I'm Catholic and in my parish nothing like that is done as long as you're a parishioner and Catholic,you inform the parish ontime and they fix a date within two weeks.
      What debt excatly are you paying?
      I'm confused, do enlighten us.

6. Abi oooh. People just talk

7. @shygirl, I'm surprised myself when the anon 9:25 said catholic.
      I'm catholic and nothing like that.
      On sunday they call out for tithe and nothing like tithe card o.

8. @ShyGirl, Brown Sucre... Don't be more catholic than the priest. This is how it is done in Catholic church and no one can change it.

2. Father LORD please save your children. Amen.🙏🙏

3. Stella e fit be true. Before church will do anything for u they will check if u are paying tithe. So is normal tin all these churches do.

4. This is absolutely true and the Anglican churches are the worst. They even demand envelopes for all the reverends and lay readers them. Even the food and drink (especially number of meat) must be a certain type. I have just gone through this with my granpa's funeral so I know.

1. Ha don't even talk about the Anglican church. When I got married there; you don't want to know how much I was taxed.

2. 8:36 you Sabi them. The way they go about it ehn. You go just tire. They summoned my mum because the choir food was not complete during my sister's wedding.

5. What a shame!!
    Must they bury him in that church?

6. Probably false news or I don't see why he should have not included the church name. It's not like he's the member

1. Is not false Eka. I don't know about Pentecostal churches but Anglican do it a lot.

2. Very true and I can bet it's an Anglican church.

3. Please Anglicans don't ask you to pay tithe before burial, they only request for Stewardship/membership/ugwo uka ututu. So please talk what you know. Anglican don't even have tithe card, so how will they know if someone stopped paying tithe? Is only stewardship/membership levy they ask for. I'm an Anglican

4. Eka, stop to think sometimes before your post. Read other people's comments. There are comments above yours that have mentioned similar experiences.

5. Chidinma if your own church don't have tithe card doesn't mean others don't. My mum has tithe card till date sef.

6. @Chidinma are you sure you are a born again Anglican attendee? If you are you should have tithe card because I have.

7. Chidinma say what you know. My parish in Abuja gives tithe cards

8. Every Anglican Church Ives tithe card.

7. Hmmmm I can believe the claim that he's not a member of their church because he stopped attending few years back but paying tithe I won't believe. What's a dead man paying tithe for when the bible says allow the dead to bury the dead

Most of these so called influencers post rubbish to trend, they don't care about tarnishing ones image in the process. Call out the name of the church (or branch) or I don't believe! #Lieseverywhere

1. Minrex, there's nothing like lies everywhere. It happens in some churches. Infact, it happened in my church (Anglican).
      The man's family was asked to pay whatever due he was owing before agreeing to officiate the burial. I just tire for the church. Always paying one due or the order every Sunday.

2. Minrex it is 100% true. In catholic and Anglican churches it is not called tithe but the family of the dead person must pay all the dues and levies owed before the church agrees to fix a burial date

3. What dues please?
      I'm Catholic and in my parish there's no dues. Even when you belong to a society in the church,not paying society dues does not stop your burial.
      You get Catholic burial if you're Catholic that's (baptised and practicising) and a parishioner even when you're not,all they need is a letter from your parish priest and any Catholic Church anywhere in the world will have funeral mass for you.
      I agree that we now have some stubborn priests,non withstanding,some families too do not entirely tell the truth. Some folks left the church years ago and started attending weird churches,when they die family start insisting that they get Catholic burials and want to force the hand of the church with emotional blackmail that their dead was Catholic.

Strange things happen these days,but let's be truthful and make verifiable factual statements and not hearsay just because we want to be contrary and controversial.

4. Anglican don't ask for tithe payment before burying someone, they will only check if your membership/stewardship levy is up to date, that is the only where they recognize their members. If you don't pay your stewardship levy in Anglican, you are not a member period. It is very cheap self, 2k yearly for women and 3k yearly for men, then 500 for children and youth. So you people should stop lying against Anglican church.

5. Shygirl, the post didn't say Catholic Church, so calm down. We've heard of these thing happening, okay.

6. Shy girl I am 100% sure of what I am saying. We had to clear all my fathers dues from CMO and knight of st John's before a date was fixed by the priest. BTW, he never stopped attending the catholic church but was too busy with his job as a professor for church society meetings. This practice is very common in parishes in the east.

7. You gurs should stop arguing blindly, this happen in both Catholic Church bd Anglican

8. This here is so true.
    The church would go bring the deceased record to check if there are pending payment and co, if they find any the family will pay for it ooooo before the agree to conduct service for the deceased. It so sad.
    I heard some even state out what they family will pay before the church conduct the service.

1. Someone stopped coming to church, also stopped financial contributions to the church, now that he is dead, the church must contribute to his burial?

Service will he conducted for how many hours?

Church premises will be prepared for the service... cleaning, arranging etc

Generator will be used for the number of hours, fuel/diesel for the generator

There is/are church staff) workers to ensure the above and more are in place. Yes they collect salaries!

Most likely, officiating ministers will be invited for the service

There has to be another set of cleaning after the service

I'm sure the church and the choir will be invited for the service of songs before the church service day

Several logistics involved in planning all these.. .

For a man who is not a member/ financial member of the church and this one is RANTING!

Mtchewww

2. Anon, my own relative was a teacher. She was transferred from the village school to another in a neighboring village so she started church there and was paying every there. When she died and was brought back to the village they said she stopped paying there. Was she supposed to pay money in a church she doesn't attend? Mind you, it's same church she was attending in the other village.

3. But church is a now a business na

4. All the ones the person paid before he stopped coming to church nko?

I do not understand how some people practice Christianity. What will Jesus do?

So an individual cannot go to church if they don't have money and can't pay tithes/levies?

How much is it to clean the church or buy fuel? The church takes so much from the congregation but will still make all sorts of ridiculous demands in times like this.

Worst case scenario, tell the family to provide a few things but not telling them to pay tithe owed by someone who is dead,It stinks to the ears.

My father in law was not even active in the catholic church he attended before he died but they still buried, prior to his death, the father would travel such a long distance to see him and pray for him.

5. Exactly, church is now a business venture.You go fear conditions.

6. @Swag La Fresh, if is Anglican, all he need do is get a letter from the priest in the location he is attending, the village priest will honour it. The Priest from his present church suppose to come and bury him self if what they claim is true. My church in Lagos here goes to the village to bury their dead most times, members will be selected to accompany the priests from each group.

7. Anonymous 09:15 if the Church charges for the the generator and all that you mentioned, that's fine. But they shouldn't used the lack of payment of tithe and other dues as an excuse. They should come out straight.

9. is not like dead people pay tithe, what they are saying is the children should pay outstanding tithe that their father didn't pay before he died. Some churches use the tithe things to to identify their members or those that belong to them so that when they died the church can bury them not like a dead man should pay tithe.

I cannot say anything but if we choose to belong to a particular church knowing their do and dos why the complain when they ask us to do the needful? if you cannot do according to hat they have ask you to do why don't you leave the church and join other church. If his children cannot pay the outstanding they should jejely bury their father on their own nah, must the church do it for them since they are complaining? Look for a pastor to pray and do the needful that is all.
    Why did his children drag the whole issue till three years time?

1. "Children should pay the outstanding tithe...." my dear, there is nothing like outstanding tithe. That's bullshit!

2. Nonsense. What's an outstanding tithe ? Tell me where that's mentioned in the Bible ??

10. Some church and tithe
    Is like Yoruba and pepper ☺

Before You attack me...I'm proudly Yoruba lol

11. It is just a normal thing to identify with people especially if you think you may need them either when alive or dead. How can you not go to a church for 3 years and expect them to bury you? We seem to have a sense of entitlement to every thing.
    That being said, the church SHOULD NOT have asked for tithes of 3 years,for what? the deceased was not owing, and the church is not for business. They should have at least offered to be there emotionally and help the family bury their dead respectively.
    Sometimes we expect a lot from the church ,forgetting that the church is controlled by people who impose their own ideologies.

1. Comments like this make me cringe o. He didn't go in the last 3 years, so? Did they even take out time to find out why? This is a church not a work place. So if someone has worshiped in a church for 20 years and didn't attend in the last 3 years he doesn't deserved to be buried? This is what pushed Liz Anjorin to Islam when her mum died. Abeg we Christians should do better.

2. Deserve I mean

12. They should go to another church,they will do the burial,or call a pastor and hire live band,burial is set

13. Why can't the family of the dead just bury their dead? Plus, if you've not attended a church without reasons for 3 years you can't really be said to be a member of that church. Church should have just said, "No cos he's not our member" instead of asking for tithe.
    This man here is cursing upandan. People always looking for ways to discredit the Church. Na them sabi.

1. Don't mind them. The church asking for tithe is wrong, if the man is not working. He has a reason not paying tithe. They should leave him and God to decide.g

14. It's true. My friend that buried his parents same day went through hell. His dad died first and the mum died two weeks after, they were divorced, living separately but, the kids, both boys were living with the father and the second wife. At hi young age, he became an adult by force. There is nothing he did not pay. Churches in this part of the world are all scam. They are all about the money and nothing else.

15. Very very true...

I know a lot of churches that do it..
    They would even check if you are in any of the church society;and if you are in one then they will check if you are paying your levy or monthly dues..

Unfortunately;it's the church I grew up in..

What of most villages in Igboland? They will bring out their file and if the deceased is owing;the burial won't be given a date until all dues are paid by the family..

If the family decide to fix a date without paying those dues;no one will attend(except the immediate family and maybe friends from afar)..

It's starts from the root;forget the church cos they are only copying..

The truth hurts;but It's all hypocrisy at the end of the day..

@MARTINS

16. You don't go to church and you want church to bury you, how possible. Was the man still working when he didn't pay tithes. Am thinking it will be levy not tithes.

Most churches do that especially old generation churches. They have to check their books if there is any default.

That is their processes. You can't tell them how to run their activities.

So many entitled people in this country. That is why if you want to belong to any church be there or you go join your village meetings.

After all village meetings do that too to know if you are a financial member.

You can't use yours to spoil another man blues.

Those shouting no get sense
    Everyone has their doctrine

1. Your comment amazes me sometimes. You don't talk like you're educated.

17. This is very true and I can bet it's an Anglican church. We lost a relative sometime ago and they brought out her file. I don't want to even say how much we paid.

When my sister got married nko, she paid every pastor in the church. She spent over 200k paying pastors.

I just jejely went to marry in my pentecostal church. They didn't ask for a dime instead they gave me.

I ws raised in an Anglican home and my parents still attend so I know what I'm saying

18. Anglicans that do thanksgiving for dead people. You know this thanksgiving and harvest done yearly in church. every year the family must come and do 'Ikore' (not sure i got the spelling right) for their dead grandfather/mother or father/mother. The way Anglicans extort their members ehn, this so called religious men are a mess. when my father in law died during his funeral the church was asking for contribution from the family. Religion is our biggest problem in Nigeria.

19. The reason I don't attend all tbise financial houses called churches, the motive of churches these days is for financial purposes and not salvation of souls, my grandmother sometimes starved herself to pay her dues at church, when I asked her? She said if she's owing they won't bury her, this is our generational church o.

My sisters church contribute for feeding the pastor and his family, the pastor is far richer than everyone in that church

1. Imagine this shit happening in church!!! if she owes they won't bury her. Dear Lord, where are you?

20. In anglican, I think its called class fee. Its collected every year and it determines if one is actually a member of the church. Without it one can perform certain functions in the church I think, functions like marriage of children, burial etc. Can someone explain further please if I am wrong.

21. You all talking about their doctrine and all are missing the point which is , is it right to do such? In other climes where these religious beliefs originated from is this the norm?

22. Very big problem my dear even abroad if you hear what they’re doing you won’t go to church. Me I want to start sitting at home on Sundays

1. Most churches abroad are different, more humane and focused on the gospel. I am not talking about Nigerian churches based abroad oo.

23. Stella it happens but some of these churches take it to the extreme. For instance in cases of indegent members of a parish, they're not obligated to do so. A proper burial is every man's right. Nobody has the right to prevent it.

24. Normal catholic church practice here though not tithes. Your family must pay the church all the dues you owed before death if not the church will not come to bury you. I know this first hand because when my dad died we had to clear alot of his dues from many associations he stopped attending like CMO and the rest before the priest fixed a date for his internment.
    Now I move to anglicans, those ones are worse sef. When I was getting married we had to give all the reverends envelopes and cook cooler of rice with enough meat for choir. It is not a voluntary thing o, you must do it before the wedding day

1. Please what parish is this?
      That's not even the Catholic doctrine.
      I'm Catholic and in my parish we don't do such. There is no such thing as levy or tithe. Folks that don't even have family get buried as long as they were baptised and practicising Catholics.
      You guys need to petition that parish priest and report to you bishop.

2. My Catholic Church in my village is on this table o... When my mum died we has to pay various levies before she was buried.

25. Catholic and Anglican Churches can do this. But Catholic is annual/lay levy(if I'm correct) not tithes.

1. There is no such thing as annual levy in the Catholic Church.
      I'm Catholic.
      Very active.

26. Did anybody force them to be attending that church or asking the church to bury him?
    If the church does not bury him or does, how does it affect his eternal destiny?
    This is the tragedy of not studying the Scriptures to know Jesus but depending on "pastors"
    to teach them vanities. 😏😏😏😏😏

27. Financial contribution in churches is not by force, if you have, you give. if you don't, you sit down and let those who have contribute. Before becoming a member of any association, you are suppose to know and understand the DOs and don't. If there is a fee that should be paid before any events takes places in church, then please ensure to pay or take your event somewhere else, no be by force.
    Yes it is true that some of these pastors/priest over task their congregation, but that is something you are suppose to know about your place of worship. Is there any free thing in the world today, we our taxes and our roads are still bad. Some of us are members of different association where we pay monthly dues, do they forgive you if you don't pay. I use to have a shop those days in a popular market in my state, when a persons dies, the traders are required to pay a stipend towards the funeral rites. If you have been paying for the past 60years and missed just once, chances are your relations/kids will not be getting any contribution after your death. While someone who recently just joined the market and have paid just once will get full package should any tragic event take place. If you know you are not okay with how things are been done in your church, change it or leave the church, not when you die your children will start ranting on social media. 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

28. Even in my church before I dedicated my child you must attach your tithe card paid up to date to the dedication form before approval.