Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: COVID 19- FG Warns Nigerians Not To Travel To High Risk Countries;And Bars Public Officials From Foreign Trips

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

COVID 19- FG Warns Nigerians Not To Travel To High Risk Countries;And Bars Public Officials From Foreign Trips

The federal government has warned Nigerians against visiting high-risk countries amid the coronavirus pandemic.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, stated this on Tuesday, following a meeting of the presidential task force on coronavirus in Abuja.

“Such high risk countries are China, Iran, South Korea, Germany, Italy, USA, UK, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, France and Japan.

“Secondly, we urge anyone returning from any country to strictly self-isolate for 14 days in their homes.

“Thirdly, all people returning from countries with high community transmission rate especially countries that have recorded a 1000 cumulative cases and above, will be actively followed up for 14 days by the health authorities,” he said.

Mustapha also revealed that public officials have been barred from travelling abroad.

“On the part of government we have decided that it has become necessary to advise all public officials in the ministries, department and agencies and the parastatals that government has banned all forms of travel out of the country for whatever reasons, bilateral, multilateral, conferences, seminars, workshops, negotiations, presentations and any form of other ceremonies.

“This ban will remain in place till further notice and until the situation of the coronavirus abets

“By this notice, any prior approval to travel abroad for official assignments during this period is accordingly rescinded,” he added.

Nigeria recorded their third case of coronavirus on Tuesday.
from dailypost

15 comments:

1. They should also ban flights from these other countries into Nigeria.

2. Yimu.
    If Canada was the highest wide spread of the virus, nigerians wont mind going there, if they have the chance.

3. Stella which travel ban on officials? Isnt it because those countries are already closed to travellers?

4. This should have been done long ago....

5. Lord please protect my family especially my toddler coming to the UK through Heathrow. I cover them with the blood of the Lamb.

6. These measures they re taking now... the Italian man that had it as claimed by the government was never given this much preventive measures of it being spread. Makes me wonder if truly there was any case of the covid19 before the UK returnee lady. The way they are shutting down and stopping parties it's like this is the real confirmed positive test. The first was non existent. Just saying.

1. 8:32, please stop. This herd mentality and the urge to post a comment without adequate information shows you up big time.

It's clear that you do not watch mainstream media and you don't really read. A Rep of the WHO and a few others were interviewed after their visit to the facility when the index case was brought in.

You don't have to comment if you have nothing tangible to share. And please add value to yourself. Educate yourself. Stay informed. Research. Read. Ask questions.

2. Nna eh. The way you people reason can even pause this virus @ Anon 8:32. It’s not every time we should exhibit our ignorance on issues we don’t understand. Sometimes it is better to observe and listen before we utter some comments.
      Stop this public display of foolishness.

7. What’s great news about this. It should have been put in place since.

8. I’m so confused at d moment. Where are all those miracle makers, we need u guys now or never. Some naughty SM warriors were asking Bubu why he closed their “innocent rice” but refuses to close d border. It’s just crazy out here .

9. Suddenly Nigerians, Africans living abroad cannot boast, brag, buga anymore. This virus has put them to shame . Abroad that they thought was safe is now the lions den. The death and discomfort they ran away from in Nigeria has gone to camp in their back yard. Who would have ever thought a day will come that we will ask these people not to come to our land. God is indeed a game changer. All of u abroad now your mouth don enter hole . No shakara for all of you again

1. This is a global pandemic..not an Abroad thing. Nigerians who returned to Nigeria have been tested positive. So even you in Nigeria ain't so safe either. Do your bit and pray its curtailed.

10. Not enough measures to cub the spread. USA has closed boarders on her citizens living in UK for instance. It's a stay where you are till we sort this out. We closed boarders on rice importation and left it open to coronavirus. Moreover who will make sure they self quarantine?. When some investigative journalists pulled a prank to see we were ready for coronavirus, they were arrested and displayed. I can't tell if we are planning on more stringent measures. May YAHWEH continue to guide and protect us all. Amein

11. Read that Nigeria has banned travellers from affected countries for now. Goodness knows how long this will ride. Children of the most High should join in crying out to ABBA for mercy.