Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dangote Fertilizer Contractor Staff Quarantined

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Dangote Fertilizer Contractor Staff Quarantined

The attention of the management of Dangote Industries Limited has been drawn to a flash report of a suspected case of personnel currently being kept in isolation at the Mainland hospital, Yaba, Lagos.

We will like to state that an Indian national who is a staff of Onshore Construction Company-a mechanical, electrical and instrumentation contracting firm that specializes in fertilizer construction reported at the Site clinic complaining of high temperature and fever.

His complaint triggered our Protocols which necessitated further screening and isolation immediately. Mr. Akhil Kunyil, of the Health and Safety Environment of the Onshore Company reported the development to the management following which local authorities were contacted. The patient was immediately conveyed to the Lagos Mainland Hospital Center, where he is currently being isolated and undergoing tests.

As an organisation we have taken the following stringent proactive measures across our entire group since mid- January 2020:

- Development of a comprehensive risk identification, control prioritization and escalation plan.

- Identification and retention of a competent team of medical consultants

- Travel ban for all employees to/from high risk countries as per W.H.O publications of country exposures

- Travel tracking of all employees and contractors staff arriving/leaving Nigeria and obligations for completion of medical checks to validate health status

- Implementation of use of Thermal cameras across our various sites as well as infrared thermometers checking in smaller office locations

- Identification and creation where applicable of holding, isolation and quarantine areas

- Implementation of use of sanitizers across all locations: sites and offices

- Multiple and continuous awareness campaigns on preventative measures to be taken (both electronic and physical i.e. posters, public announcements)

The above measures are continually updated as the situation globally evolves and we will continue to do so. The welfare of our employees and the nation as a whole remains our utmost priority.

8 comments:

1. I just want to believe the government is fully prepared for this in the case of any eventuality that there's a wide spread of it in the country. All we keep hearing is don't panic but yet to see any proactive measure in blocking possible entrance of the virus from foreigners.

2. Good one Dangote. Not my company that don't value people's life,all they know is work work work,no preventive measures atall.God knows I don kukuma do my own part.

1. Lily forget it everything na packaging lie, people that works their sef they fear for their negligence. All this talk na cover up even when they know heis having it they still try covering it up for people not to know in order not to affect work.

2. God bless you Anon 08:17. You are on to our Government's trick. The truth is the reports they are putting out is not the whole truth. These companies with expatriates that have already shown symptoms are quietly shutting down operations but not announcing so as not to cause panic. If we are not careful, Corona spread will spike unbelievably and people will be wondering what happened.

3. @Dangote Fertilizer, why all these untruths, bikonu. Despite the proofs with emails/chats of concealment in SM yestd? Mek una dey fear God, naa.

1. Read today's Punch paper, the isolated person has tested NEGATIVE.

And there is no lie about all the preventive measures stated above.

4. It Is only God that will save us in this country