Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Celebrity Designer, Toyin Lawani Cautions Those Calling Her 'Mummy' Because Of Giveaway

Thursday, April 02, 2020

Celebrity Designer, Toyin Lawani Cautions Those Calling Her 'Mummy' Because Of Giveaway

Celebrity Designer Toyin Lawani does not like being called anything other than her name......

28 comments:

1. The Nurse assigned to my ward said she could not pronounce my 5 letter african name and she is proper african. Me sef has refused to tell her my english name cos my middle name is not official. She said she will be calling me Mam for the next 14 hours of her shift. Therefore my new name is Mam. I no send. Call me wetin you like but make me get well.🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

1. Loool you're mischievous, very mischievous lmao .

2. You should have insisted on the nurse calling you your African name!

A German lady complained that she couldn't pronounced my surname because its African, I asked to see her ID card and she obliged me, I boldly called both her name and surname correctly and with no fake accent. I asked her if the names on her ID were English names and she said no, then I asked her why can't she pronounce my surname even after repeatedly pronouncing it to her.
      She later pronounced the name and very right.

Some of these people don't even make an effort to pronouncing our native names but, they are very quick to claim that they are smarter and more intelligent than you.

Always insist that they address you by your name whether the name is in English or not.

Ms.A

3. 11:37 , she is proper African? Isn’t Africa a continent with 54 countries and over 3000 languages??? What if she’s Portuguese speaker or Malagasy or anything do you expect her to know how to pronounce your “ever glorious”African name ?

4. You must address people by their preferred name especially in professional settings. Xxbarbiexx

5. I use my Native name too, they never get my Surname right, most of the time, it is spelt wrongly, omitting one letter or more. and i am not in the mood to be rehearsing my name for them all the time. when patients look at my ID and say, " Nurse how do you say your name, well i say it exactly as my parents gave me, and you could see the confusion on their faces. Me, i no send ooo

6. Shes not serious, because she knows ure black. Can she try that with an Italian or French person: abi she won't pronounce their name with big smile on her face πŸ˜”.
      I have a Yoruba name and it's 9 Alphabets and everywhere I go, I'm surprised that white people even pronounce it well.
      Let me not even go to the surname I inherited after marriage πŸ™„ which is soooo long and people still pronounce it with their British accent.
      Nonsense, a nurse that comes a cross people from different parts of the world 😏😏.

7. You have the right to tell her to call you by your name and not Mam, what kind of Nonsense and unprofessional act is that? Even a HCA would no better not to do so. Is your name not written up on the board next to your bed?
      So if she wants to give you medication and asks you to confirm your name and details, how does she do that?

2. This is totally uncalled for!!! You already know what to do,go ahead and do it without making people sad about their present situation. These celebrities just tire meπŸ˜”

3. That mummy thing can so irritate me. Just call me Madam or Mrs so and so.

1. I hate it too when people that I don't know call me UNCLE.
      I've a feeling that it's derogatory in a way and doesn't honestly come from the heart..Otherwise why would you call someone you don't know or have met before, your uncle lr mommy?

2. Some people hate madam too! And Mrs? What if shes unmarried? More like you r reminding her that shes over due lol. The annoying part is that some people get angry when you address them with their name.. they ll be like sebi do I look like your mate???πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

3. Too blessed to be cursed2 April 2020 at 14:07

Wait until you jam ibadan beggers! Chai they will so manipulate you with this mummy wa
      Iya mi rubbish, someone old enough to be your grandma or grandpa

4. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Ok mummy we have heard u!

5. Looking so so artificial

6. Na Naija way. Once they can gain from you they start calling you Ma, Sa(Sir). You see an older lady calling a small girl Ma. Then if nothing is coming forth or you give them below their deluded expectations, that same mouth will insult the shit out of your bowels in a split second.

7. Mummy Toyin calm down. It doesnt matter if you r still young, na mummy you be. For me, it's a thing of joy when people call me mummy.

1. I don't think it's just about being called Mummy per say, it's the sychophancy behind it. They dont know her or care for her, they only want her money..

8. Hahaha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ this is very funny!

Give greedy people all the money in the world, they'll still complain and come back to ask for more.

Toyin, you be their mama for now, accept am like that πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

Ms.A

9. Very young is not an age. Say your age and stop being petty.

10. Every Nigerian girl claims young. Hypocrites.

11. My friend will tell u outrighty to stop it, she’s not ur mother. Abroad, no matter d age , u see kids calling grandmas by their names. Mummy kor, mummy ni.

1. 13:09 I live in Europe and I haven’t seen any kid call their grandma by name o, so, easy on the hasty generalization.

12. I don't like to be called madam, ma by older people or my mate, it makes me feel old already.
    Yoruba people are very good in calling everyone ma, sir.
    Even people that they give birth in front of them.

13. Same here, I enjoy lots of fringe benefits for the name Mummy,in church sef I park at elder's corner,cool corner by Cathedral and after service exiting is sweet.

14. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

15. When some people need something from you, they start giving you unnecessary respect...some of them are naturally respectful though and have nothing attached to the Aunty, mummy or madam they call others. Toyin if you can afford to help them, if not,well...

16. For me, i am cool with any name I am called as long as I am respected. If you call me mummy because you want to get something from me, if I dont want to give, I will not. Its as simple as that. Mummy K, madam, Jossy, iya lepa, anyone is ok as long as we move forward