Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Northern Governors Say A Lockdown In The Region Is Not Possible

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Northern Governors Say A Lockdown In The Region Is Not Possible

Governors in the northern region of Nigeria have given reasons why they cannot impose a lockdown in their states amid the coronavirus pandemic.

The governors, after their meeting on Monday, April 13, agreed that a total closure of borders in the region will come at a very high price they cannot pay.

A statement by Macham Makut,Governor Simon Lalong's director of press and public affairs partly read: “They (northern governors) agreed that at the moment, each state would adopt the measure suitable to its setting because total lockdown of the region will come at a very high cost since most of its citizens are farmers who need to go to farms since the rains have started."

The governors according to Legit.ng said that most of the indigenes and residents in their states are farmers who cultivate staple foods and as such, a lockdown will bring about a shortage of food and famine.

They went on to explain that since the raining season has started, farmers have begun planting at their farmlands.

Governors in the geopolitical zone said that each state will adopt a suitable measure to cope with the harsh economic effects of the virus, instead of closing its borders.

71 comments:

1. Isn't it clear that Nigeria is made up of at least two nations?
    The southern people are farmers and traders and they stayed indoors at a
    "very high cost" but they are paying it, aren't they?
    The markets in my hometown has remained closed for weeks.
    But the Northern people are not ready to pay any price for the Nigerian state to thrive. What a shame 🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️

1. Shhhhhhhhh. Before they will throw u in jail

2. One bad mind is telling me to just say something bad, maybe the pandemic should just kill 1,2,3..... politician there so they will learn it in hard way

3. @Eka joy
      E mi, jail?
      I am a slave to the truth.

4. As long as our borders are shut and not porous , they get the corona land die with it alone cox of their stupidity .

5. Lock down is possible in the whole world except Northern Nigeria?
      I have heard of wonders today.

2. Do the Northern governors control the security apparatus; the army, police, air force, DSS etc.?
    Is the President no longer the "commander in Chief?"
    What senseless talk is this, isn't a person going to be alive first before going to farm? 😕😕

1. They just keep doing whatever they want. I am tired of Nigeria. The country doesn't belong to them alone, the president should better address this.

3. So USA, England, Canada, India, China, Ghana, S/Arica ---these people do not have farmers there and they locked down?
    Aren't these governors ashamed of themselves?

4. But kwara is on lockdown. One day activity, next day no activity. If you step out on no activity day , whatever you see you take.

1. Kwara is just geographically in the north but not in any way like core northana. Tolerant in religious wise and coexist peaceful. I am from Ìgbómìnà side

2. Kwara is North Central.

5. Maybe if they start dying in thousands it would be preferred by them. If the 2 capital cities in Naija and other major countries can lockdown then what are we saying? May we never encounter evil that would make us beg for lockdown

1. I only pray it doesn't come to them dying like fowl by them no body will beg. Han hàn, they don't value life at all.

2. Pls they should not run to Lagos when they start getting sick,let them just remain in their North.
      Can you see that these Northerners think different from the rest of the country. Their ways,thots,customs and religion are all different. Reason they need their own country.
      When it happens now all the elites will leave there and start running to Lagos/Abuja for treatment and spreading it.

6. 🤯🤯🤯
    I'm hoping this doesn't get worse in Nigeria.
    Everyone stay safe as much as you can .

1. It can't get worse in their part of Nigeria for all I care!!!

Their illiteracy is mind blowing!! So those that lockdown don't have prices to pay abi???

Well, na here we dey

2. I am shocked beyond words, I am trying to process what I just read.

7. They have a different law that guides them, definitely not the Nigerian law.
    May God help us all.

1. They need their own country. Northern Nigeria,let them be doing their sharia law in peace there.

8. Nigerian governors and copy cat syndrome. South Korea is flattening the curve on Covid19, yet they are not on lockdown. Gov Ben Ayade of Cross River has recalled workers back to work by lifting the lockdown on the state.

1. Lockdown is not the solution. South Korea tackled Covid19 by engaging in massive testing (500,000 tests) & use of face mask by its citizens. We need to adopt a system that suits our peculiarities as a nation.

Even the head of the World Health Organization (WHO) has said that lockdown as a solution is not advisable for developing economies.

2. Thank you @superv, what I have e been trying to say all along.... Stop this lock down. It's not helping our economy! People need to work and fend for themselves. It's good enough we know what we need to know about this virus. Maintain little distances when speaking to people but always wear your mask even if your talking or not. Sneeze, cough,breath,everything in your mask. Avoid handshakes and hugs. And regular washing of hands and use of sanitizers should be encouraged but don't shut things down coz we can't benefit from it. After corona virus, we will start dealing with hunger and famine and more people will die. So what are we doing?

9. Look at these idiots.

10. Who will I blame here? Lord lugard, may you continue to rest in pieces

11. Have they seen the video of happenings in Ecuador? That's what happens when a third world country gets overwhelmed by the virus. I pray they get sense before it's too late.

1. Thank you Nigeria should look at Ecuador. I pray we don't come to that where dead bodies are in the streets

12. Good for them if that is their conclusion

13. They don come againoooo, issorite!!!!

14. They are all angry because of the 10billion Lagos got.

15. The north should get their own country or what do you all think?

16. This is scary though.

Means they are ready to embrace the wipe that will follow because they could die in thousands.

1. They are definitely not taking coro seriously

17. The best decision they have ever made for Thier entire people ,thank you so much china! Who needs to shoot a gun again ,! Thank you nothern governors

18. Pls Linda where is Abba Kyari?? Can the govt not give us an update on him?? See how we have all forgotten him. This world enh.

1. Stella not Linda.

2. They don't want you to know where he is.

19. Let me gist u. EU just donated 21 billion naira to help for covid-19. They even promised more, So my abokis want a share of the money, knowing that if they have cases, the money will definitely reach them in billions, and they will sort the covid-19 issue in thousands. Use ur heads people!

1. Hmmmmmm 🤔
      You are thinking ooo.........

20. As much as we all depend on the products from the North to serve the South, they should be able to come to a reasonable agreement.

I don’t really think the whole nation should be on total lockdown.
    The western countries we are comparing still receive farm products but in limited supply. The farmers are not to full lockdown oh.

The only thing the farmers abroad are complaining is that the quantity they supply has limited because schools that they were supplying to are all closed.

1. Gone are the days when Nigeria depended on the north. Every region now engages in farming especially irrigation farming. Even animal husbandry and poultry are not being practiced everywhere in Nigeria. Please do t allow them deceive you with the farming story.

2. Must you always try to sound knowledgable about what happens abroad? What is this your nonsense about farmers? Could I remind you that whether they are at school or at home students eat, so overall food for students are purchased just by different sources. Even if hypothetically speaking students were not eating because they were not in school, what proportion of the food consumed does the lunch of students form? Considering the proportion of the population students constitute, how would that would make farmers feel the pinch?

21. Mine is if they can't go on lockdown,they shouldn't be allowed into other states.

They shouldn't lite a fire they can't quench.

22. It's a plot Stella .The money donated for the pandemic will be diverted to them .They'll claim it's for food cultivation to avoid farmine .just watch out .Whoever Joined us together with the Northerners you cant know peace in your after life oh ..Lugard and the rest of them

23. Please even America isnt totally locked down we need to understand the situation better before we begin to argue baselessly,as it is, cant speak for Newyork but most states in the US have core essential areas still functional like banks, grocery stores, storages, take away services etc, you are allowed atleast an hour exercise with family or by yourself in the uk it is a controlled lock down not total. How do you say farmers should sit at home what will you eat to survive the lockdown. I understand how inconsiderate our leaders can be but this actually makes sense.

1. Nobody is saying there should be a total lockdown but It can't be business as usual. We need to learn from other people's mistakes and be proactive not reactive. If the shit hits the fan lets see who will go to the farm.

2. Thank you @ Anon 22.28

24. Welldone madam Stella, your stories are always on point though am a regular visitor on your blog but I don't comment,I think am becoming addicted to you blog

25. Southern and eastern governors refused entries to your state from them. These people are joker

26. They want a share of the money donated by the EU. No cases, no money. Period.

27. I am a southerner and I don't think it's necessary for farmers to be on lock down, they fall into essential Services pls. And I dont think it will be difficult to maintain social distancing at their farms

1. They can design a lock down that will allow essential services and goods to keep moving, but as someone said, it shouldn't be business as usual.

28. At least they are thinking. We need to study our peculiarities and choose what will help us. We are not advanced enough for a lockdown. Check states that claim to be on lockdown, they are only enriching law enforcement officials on one hand and armed robbers on the other. I love you guys for this. Coro koo, coro nii

29. Stupidity is rampant in some areas. And in those areas their strength is based solely on their numbers not as if they have any special skill to contribute to the progress of the nation... their business.

30. I am from the north. I am Christian. We exist. I am not trying to defend the decision of our governors,although I understand where they are coming from. It is just saddening how many people on here have so much hate for those of us in the north. Many of us are innocent and are as helpless and voiceless as anything. Seeing many people from other parts of the country( whom I previously looked up to on this blog), bring out all the vitriol in them to curse all of us in the north and wish us death "in thousands"is so disheartening. I don't even know when we will get better as a people...

1. Hugs..
      I understand where you’re coming from..

31. In this same country where some have been home for the past 16days with no palliative... It has always been their way to drag the country backward. Instead of us to just fight this pandemic to a stand still as a country once and for all, we want to fight it as North and South.. don't we have farmers in the South? Are they not complying?....let's us go our separate ways, the his same North will say NO because of oil money...
    God separate us from this backward people and let them move at their own pace...

32. These lazy governors want the virus to spread, they think they will continue to get free money like it's polio funding. Rainy season has not started yet, planting is not for another few weeks. They're evil