Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pastor Who Defied Lockdown Order To Hold Church Service Dies Of Coronavirus

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Pastor Who Defied Lockdown Order To Hold Church Service Dies Of Coronavirus

He practiced what he preached — then he died of coronavirus.

An evangelical pastor died of COVID-19 just weeks after proudly showing off how packed his Virginia church was — and vowing to keep preaching “unless I’m in jail or the hospital.”

In his last known in-person service on March 22, Bishop Gerald O. Glenn got his congregation at Richmond’s New Deliverance Evangelistic Church to stand to prove how many were there despite warnings against gatherings of more than 10 people.

“I firmly believe that God is larger than this dreaded virus. You can quote me on that,” he said, repeating it a second time to claps, saying that “people are healed” in his church.

Happily announcing he was being “controversial” by being “in violation” of safety protocols — with “way more than 10 people” at the church — he vowed to keep his church open “unless I’m in jail or the hospital.”

“I am essential,” he said of remaining open, adding, “I’m a preacher — I talk to God!”

On Sunday, his church announced “with an exceedingly sorrowful and heavy heart” that the pastor had died a week after being diagnosed with COVID-19.

His wife, Marcietia Glenn, is also sick with the bug, with church members offering their prayers.

Their daughter, Mar-Gerie Crawley, told WTVR that her father initially dismissed his symptoms because he has a condition that often leads to fevers and infections.

She is now urging everyone to stay home.

“It becomes very real to you,” she told WTVR after her parents’ diagnoses.

“I just beg people to understand the severity and the seriousness of this, because people are saying it’s not just about us, it’s about everyone around us.''

from new york post.

27 comments:

1. The pastor was merely ignorant. God's stand is clear on this. He instructs us in Rom 13:1-3 to obey authorities.

"Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.

Consequently, whoever rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves.

For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and you will be commended."

I wonder why some pastors choose not to pay attention and obey the same Word they preach. I doesn't speak well at all.

Let's walk in love towards others by complying. Do the right thing and God will do His.

2. This should serve as a lesson to all those stupid pastors and imams in Nigeria and their followers that would want to be stupid as them

3. You see now? Obedience is better than sacrifice...

4. RIP... Very soon it'll all be over.

5. And this pastor must have shared it to his church members choii. He who have 👂 should hear.

6. The bible says obedience is better than sacrifice and the bible tells us to obey the authority

7. Useless unbiblical man. Do these people not realise that social distancing is actually in the bible?? Have they not read the old and new testaments?? So many examples yet in trying to make a name they put God to the test. All these pastors should put their egos in check and obey the law.

8. I feel sorry for the daughter.the shit is real. Only God is our protector.

9. I feel sorry for the daughter.the shit is real. Only God is our protector.

10. He is not a pastor, even the Bible said everyone should listen to the higher authority.

He should have avoided this.

1. He is a pastor.
      The fact that he was stubborn and disobeyed doesnt mean hes not a pastor..

11. A disobedient man. He was just trying to proof unnecessary point.

The Bible instructs we obey people in authority.

12. God will still ask him why he mislead his congregations, Why he refused to obey the authority and finally,why he killed himself and infected his wife with the virus!
    Lack of wisdom is actually more deadly than the Corona itself, I hope Sinach and hubby saw this news, don't act a fool all in the of serving God, We aren't serving a foolish God! Stay in your homes and worship him, He is everywhere, He sees everything and knows everything...... You all should start making use of the brain God gave to you its not that difficult🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️.
    RIP to the man,in his next life,he'd be wiser! #CHISOM

13. Obedience is better than sacrifice

14. The Bible has told us to obey constituted authority but they will not.

15. Preventive death!

Trying to prove yeye point, now he left pains and sadness behind.

My heart goes out to his family.

16. They should start tracking the people that attended the service before it spread beyond control.

Maybe just may be he would still have been alive if he had not disobedience the government instructions. Bible says obedience is better than sacrifice.

17. Romans 13:1Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. 2Consequently, whoever rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. 3For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and you will be commended. 4For the one in authority is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for rulers do not bear the sword for no reason. They are God’s servants, agents of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. 5Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also as a matter of conscience.

18. To what end? To prove what? This was so avoidable. May God forgive and rest his soul.

19. The second case in Delta was a pastor we went for ministration in lagos and came back ill due to Corona Virus infection and dies shortly before fhe result came out.. That's more examples to learn from in Nigeria..

20. Wisdom is the principal thing...so in all you're getting, get wisdom.

21. What will he now go and tell God???Imagine his foolishness

22. God does not like disobedience that is why he died.