Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: River State Government Says Site Of Demolished Hotel Will Be Converted To A Primary School

Thursday, May 14, 2020

River State Government Says Site Of Demolished Hotel Will Be Converted To A Primary School

The Rivers State government has said that the premises of Prodest hotel has been converted to a primary school.

The hotel was demolished last Sunday, May 10th on the directive of Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, for flouting the Executive Order on closure of hotels in the State.

Pastor Paulinious Nsirim, the Rivers State Commissioner for Information and Communication disclosed this at a press briefing in Port Harcourt on Wednesday, May 13th. He noted that governor Wike had approved that a primary school be constructed at the location of the demolished hotel.

“Having demolished that hotel, Governor Wike has approved that a primary school be constructed at that location to serve Rivers people. This is what a responsive government will do.

Daily Trust

*Why seize the land?This is not right please!!!

29 comments:

1. This is looking more personal.
    Na them them....
    Check well the "so-called owner" of the alleged hotel is not grieving. They know what theyre doing.

1. I saw a joke online,but only those in rivers state would understand it. It gose thus,in okirika we have war canoe houses,in kalabari same,in opobo and bonny same. But in ikwerre we have cutlasses. So in order words wike is behaving in typical form.

2. Wike aren't you going too damn far??
    Where you having some kind of beef with the owners or owner of the hotels??
    Do you think you'd remain in power forever??
    I like you sir, but this is way too much abeg.

3. This can only happen in Nigeria. What?

4. Responsive kor,responsibility ni.
    How can you demolish someone's property/business and then seize it and convert it to a school,how?
    This doesn't make sense at all.
    Converting it into a school means that he wants to curry the sympathy of people to think he is doing the right thing after the outcry.

5. Nobody is talking about the dead person or the atrocities they commit in the hotel. Outsiders weeping more than the bereaved

1. Does this dead person have a name? How come no one can identify this singular dead person. Tell us the name so we can console the family.

6. This is pure wickedness

7. Wike is going too far, but after seeing this, I'm sure people will finally pay attention to directive and abide by the rules. Nigerians don't like gentle touches, it's only hezvy handedness we respond to

8. Why couldn't he revoke the license; seal the building or lock them up for defying the order. Demolishing a whole building from someone's sweat is quite immature and speaks to his uncontrollable anger and a false sense of who he is.

9. Wike, what did you do with the schools Amechi built. I am from Rivers and I know Amechi built good schools which you have run down. Amechi love him or hate him did a darn good job in terms of infrastructure and all. Wike has not added any substance but mismanaged what was left him. Wike people please make una tell me Westin your action Governor don do. Abi Na to dey shout

10. Don't allow the cry of the oppressed to affect the so called plan.
    You have done more harm than good.

11. Wike’s name na RIP after his tenure, except he’s working hand in hand with d owner of d hotel, take d glory for being a disciplinarian & settle d hotelier handsomely. Else, it may tarry, but if I know d bad guys from his place very well, they’ll just wait till d end of his tenure for vengeance. Make e no go do pass e self.

12. Person wey wake up from sleep at 7:30pm yesterday con remember say e he go cut off lockdown. After people have gone to borrow and all the run around in the market,buying breads like say I dey feed 5k people, now e full fridge when I could have waited till the weekend and buy fresh breads. people buying little things at a very expensive price cos no choice.

Then just cos one man feels he has so much power decided to announce no lockdown again till sun.
    What happened to morning till evening? So people can plan and not go to borrow to eat or buy so many medicines. God help us o!

13. Maybe he has personal issue with the owner of hotel. But this is pure wickedness

14. Mad man.Just because of power, tomorrow might be their turn. So mr wike dness watch your back

15. There is more to this matter... Why seize the land too. I hope Wike knows that he ll not be a governor forever... This is pure wickedness mean!

16. I heard him say that the area is dangerous why build a school in a place that ain't safe.

17. Wike is taking it too far!

18. I sincerely hope the hotel owner goes to court because tomorrow who knows,it could be anybody's turn.
    It just feels like we are slaves and not citizens.

19. This governor really knows how to deal with somebody

20. Once a tout, always a tout. Exposure and money cant change somethings

21. Once a tout, always a tout. Wash a pig, scrub a pig, a pig is a pig. Exposure and money cant change somethings