Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Woman Killed By Alligator After She Took Photos And Tried To Touch It...

Wednesday, May 06, 2020

Woman Killed By Alligator After She Took Photos And Tried To Touch It...

The woman attacked and killed by an alligator in a gated community along the South Carolina coast was visiting the homeowner to do her nails and was trying to touch the animal when it grabbed her.....

After briefly getting away from the alligator Friday, the woman stood in waist deep water in the Kiawah Island pond and said “I guess I wont do this again,” but the alligator grabbed her in its jaws again and took her under, according to a supplemental police report released Tuesday.

Cynthia Covert, 58, died of drowning before Charleston County deputies and firefighters were able to shoot and kill the alligator and use poles to get her out of the pond, authorities said.

Covert came to Kiawah Island, a gated community southeast of Charleston, to give the homeowner a manicure Friday, according to the police report.

The woman told deputies Covert typically was professional in her salon, but was relaxed and excited at the home, talking about her boyfriend's visit from Tennessee, and brought a glass of wine with her.

Covert saw the alligator while working on the woman's porch and when Covert finished she started taking pictures of the alligator, the woman told deputies.

The woman and her husband started screaming for Covert to get away from the alligator because they saw it grab a deer a few days earlier, deputies said.

Covert said “I don't look like a deer” and reached to touch the alligator when the animal attacked, according to the report.

The husband and a neighbor grabbed a rope and threw it to Covert when she surfaced and stood in the pond. Covert grabbed the rope and said “I guess I wont do this again,” but was suddenly pulled under by the alligator, the police report said.

Deputies and firefighters looked for Colvert for 10 minutes before her body surfaced. The alligator took her back under once. When the alligator surfaced again, a deputy shot the animal in the head with his 9 mm handgun, the police report said.

Covert's leg was severely damaged, but an autopsy determined she drowned, the Charleston County Coroner's Office said.

Covert was the third person killed by an alligator in South Carolina in the past four years. A 90-year-old woman walked out of a Charleston nursing home in 2016 and was killed, while a 45-year-old woman walking her dog was fatally attacked on Hilton Head Island in August 2018.

Before those attacks, South Carolina had never recorded a person killed by an alligator.

from yahoo news

29 comments:

1. Wow this post just reminded me of a program i used to enjoy so much then as a kid

who else watched A THOUSAND WAYS TO DIE?

1. The scenes on that show ehn....very shocking ways o
      Chai
      Rip to this lady

2. I watched it and most of the scenes scared me.

3. Very scary scenes indeed

4. I used to wonder if they were real or just acted...either way they are scary though

2. This is serious.Oyinbo are not scared at all.May her soul rest in peace.

3. Wetin person no go read, why keep alligators as a domestic animal? May God rest her soul

1. With this news, I am convinced that vllage people are all over the world.

4. Hmmmmmm. Ise kinpani. Ayo lomapani.Rip madam.

5. Death that can be avoided. It is such a pity. RIP Ma

6. This one is a stubborn fly follows the dead body to the grave.

7. This is how humans cos the death of animals. They warned her but she won't listen now the poor alligator is dead with her busy body.
    That's how that careless woman made them kill Harambe the gorilla. Human being seems to be dangerous to earth entirely and I just can't deal.
    May her soul rest in peace.

8. Gruesome death,it's good they shot it finally,human blood don sweet for him mouth

9. See how she died like a cockroach. They always want to behave they knows animals languages.

What a pity.

10. oh no @i don't look like a deer Alligators are no respecter of person or animal

11. Na wa. Wetin selfie and pictures go cause eh. This one no just like herself.

12. Na fly weh nọr dey hear word, dey follow dead body enter grave.

13. This is sad. I don't know why people like taking pics with wild animals knowing it's dangerous. RIP

14. Americans are something else.

15. Na so some Naija so called celebs dey go snap pics with lions for SA .I have no biz with d zoo & will never advise or envy any one I know visiting d zoo, talk less of having an animal as a pet, no even a dog.

16. May God rest her soul.

What a sad way to die..

17. May God grant the deceased eternal rest.

18. So sad. May her soul rest in peace. Had it been she listened, she would not have died.

19. Her folly killed her eventually