Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner - Shocking Wedding Souvenirs

Friday, September 25, 2020

Mrs Dee's Corner - Shocking Wedding Souvenirs

Nigerian weddings rock!

You get mouth watering party jollof rice and other delectable delicacies,and the invited guests get the chance to dazzle in their beautiful and dashing outfits. The members of the aso-ebi are also a sight to behold in their uniform but different designs.

The feelings of happiness and love are rife and contagious in the air and not only do they get to have a good time, they are rewarded by their hosts with 'thank you for coming' gifts and such gifts are usually the icing on a well decorated, tasty and rich cake.

The days of plates, spoons, cups and other predictable souvenirs are gone, now the bride and groom try to make their occasion memorable with the gifts they give out to guests.

Prospective couples are now innovative about their wedding souvenirs while trying to make it unique as well. From customized towels to Ankara materials, Android or Apple phones, table top gas cookers and in some extravagant cases, cars.

But there are some wedding souvenirs that leave one's mouth hanging open in disbelief .....

Imagine leaving the reception of a wedding with a loaf of bread and sachets of milk and powder chocolate as souvenirs, or receiving fresh tomatoes in ziplock bags from the newlyweds.

Some even give out little bags of Ijebu garri while others package fresh animal farm produce to appreciate their guests.

When did this trend change? Do you like being the one on the receiving end or you just want to gift the couple and move on?

32 comments:

1. I love being on the receiving end obviously. Just to name a few shocking things I’ve received. hand dryer, hair clippers, table top electric cooker, blender and the most shocking 28 inch lcd tv. Unfortunately I had all the rest so gave them all out except the tv. Oh I forgot I’ve received a goat as well. That one I kept and ate well well I beg.

2. Nothing wrong with,bread,milk,milo and the rest biko,wedding is suppose to be for the newly weds.i did not give anything during my wedding,but there was souvenirs from family and friends to the guest

1. I also did not give out anything during my wedding but my inlaws and my aunt shared souvenir.

3. Last wedding I attended was like an exchange of gift.. you package ur cash n drop n you are given a mini blender or hair straightener.

1. That mini blender is it electric blender@BB?

If yes, how much could it cost?

4. I heard of fresh eggs given as souvenirs, Satchet tomato paste, indomie pack, omorogun, cchewing gum, bathroom slippers, showercaps, wigcap..

1. Attended a wedding with a friend... was given sachet oil, maggi salt amongst others...was surprised really as it was the first time seeing such besides the usual plastics and jotters.

2. 3Amigos Bread @ 6 Okesalu St, Ikotun. 0813851632825 September 2020 at 16:54

what’s omorogun?

5. "When did this trend change," really?
    Shouldn't the questions be, "when did this craze of
    giving out iphones or android phones start?
    How many Nigerians earn a yearly salary that can buy an iphone?
    This is why a lot of people are neck deep in debt and detest anything called
    wedding or marriage. Satan harvests
    fornicators when people do not marry
    because of these unnecessary heavy loads. How many wedding guests lack
    an iphone or android phones?
    And the new couples begin quarreling from day one because of these debts.
    I did not give out any "souvenir"
    during my wedding. My husband and I
    sent gifts (I won't mention here)to charity. We've been joyfully together for more
    than a decade.
    🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

6. Na yoruba wedding you go see souvenir and fear will catch you.

Someone gave me a sachet of drug. I asked for what and she said it's pain killer for all the dance to help with body pain. Me that didn't even leave my seat. Another gave me bathing soap. Instead of bathing soap why not give out washing soap.

I like giving out souvenir according to the kind of party and where it's taking place.

When we lost my dad's former wife, since the burial was in the village we gave them slippers, matches, tin tomatoes, magic, noddles and rice. Na food them need not towel.

1. "Satchet of drug for all the dance to help with body pain" crack me up😂

2. Lol @ drugs/ pain killer

I like the souvenirs your family gave the people in the village.

3. 3Amigos Breaf @ 6 Okesalu St, Ikotun. 0813851632825 September 2020 at 16:57

“ Someone gave me a sachet of drug. I asked for what and she said it's pain killer for all the dance to help with body pain.”

😆😆😆😆😆😆😆🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

7. Loaf of bread and satchet of milk got me laughing out loud.

Come to think of it,it ain't easy planning an event-the money spent coupled with stress of trying to get things done in a bid to please guest that will eventually lie that they did'nt eat(even if they eat)some people even end up loosing their voice as a result of unnecessary shout.After devouring a yummy meal guest shouldn't even expect any take home pack(souvenir),but No,some will fight tooth and nail to make sure they collect souvenir(even if the souvenir is peanut and popcorn)the "Anthony Joshua" in them will pop out.The truth is people will still complain no matter how hard you try to please them.....if you have enough money to give out souvenir on your big day,you can do that,and if you don't have,forget about souvenir,they will only talk;nobody will arrest you for that.....You don't owe your guest anything for coming to your wedding.....Newlyweds have their lives to live after the wedding,I'm sure you wouldn't want to start begging for money to buy foodstuff after your wedding.

I have only attended three weddings,and they gave out bucket,bowl and jotter respectively as souvenir.I accepted it with a smile and a thank you.

1. I didn't give out any gift and i didn't accept any gift. I do wedding enter house.

8. I went to ministry of humanitarian one year anniversary last month and was given Giv bathing soap and face mask. Na so l leave the soap there and left.

I personally have stopped collecting wedding souvenir except the gift is unique. What is the need collecting something that you will not use.
    No matter what you share at a wedding. You will see people dragging and cursing the person sharing it. Some will even collect, hide it and come again. Most of them end up not using those gifts. How many will you use?

1. I don't hustle for gift and food at a wedding... If e reach me,I'll collect and if it doesn't I'll jejely go to my house(I usually eat at home before going to an event)...so true about cursing the people sharing gift.... If you'd ask me that's an height of immaturity and unnecessary entitlement.

2. The insult I received during my sister's wedding because of souvenir no be small. The souvenir was towel, mug and remote control holder.

We dropped souvenir on all the seats and still some said they didn't get.

3. 3Amigos Bread @ 6 Okesalu St, Ikotun. 0813851632825 September 2020 at 17:01

“You will see people dragging and cursing the person sharing it. Some will even collect, hide it and come again“.

😆😆😆😆😆😆🤣🤣🤣🤣, it’s that bad huh

9. I love to give, and if there is to receive, I will gladly receive it with a thank you smile 😁.
    If no souvenir, off I go,afterall,i don eat belle full😝😜😛

10. When my cousin wedded in the 1980s, we made sandwich out of bread and sardine as souvenir. In my days, 1990s, it was wedding photographs amongst others. Lol. How time changes.

1. Lol@ sandwich, me I won't collect o...I have collected semovita and camisole as souvenirs at a family friend's wedding and full chicken at my hairdresser's freedom party.

2. Sardine sandwich as souvenir? You must be a comedian and joking. That is gross.

3. Well I have been given full roasted chicken as souvenirs at a burial. Also matches, salt, tomato puree, noodles are things I have also been given at different weddings.

11. I gave out trays to the women and tea mug to the men.

12. I gave nothing. Them Don talk finish i am still in my husband house 😂 😂. I really don't need a gift to say thank you