Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - An Average Home Monthly Expenses In Nigeria

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Couch Convo - An Average Home Monthly Expenses In Nigeria

Do you think this calculation is being honest? If not, what do you think is an average home expenses in Nigeria? Or what's your own average home expenses using the format below....

57 comments:

1. The keyword there is "Average" and it's relative.

1. I spend more than that. My dstv bill is on the higher side. Food also on the higher side. Internet is 15k. Fuelling cars don't no cos hubby dose that. Then talk of gen. Bike it's more I even have a family staying with me since last year december though,they would move out lastes december or January.

2. We don't spend that much on food. Budget for food in my home is about 60k monthly. Maybe because my parents are alive and healthy that my dad takes it upon himself to send us farm produce periodically from the village(though he is on my husband's monthly allowance). Now fuel and servicing generator can take almost as much as food.

3. Relative how? Which househelp collects N20k? She will so dehumanize your kids eh?
      Women use N300k to buy wig and pay a young girl N20k for being on her feet doing chores for a whole day.

Infact let me not talk. My estate has a peg you must not go below. No drama. Shikena

4. Apapa to mainland i use 15k fuel every week. Nepa brought 40k for September. I no get maid sha, so i dont know that one.

2. It depends on your means and level.
    He forgot to add,PSP bill, security bill and house maintenance.

It's just God oh.

3. This budget is not for an average Nigerian o.
    DStv 2800
    Maid 15k
    Internet 3500
    Light 5000
    Food stuff 40000 per month for family of 6
    Fuel with remaining change

1. 40k for family of 6?please where do you buy your foodstuff? It will be nice to share.

2. Light 5k? How?

3. 40k foodstuff for family of 6? That’s amazing, I spend 40k weekly for family of 8 on feeding alone, light bill on prepaid meter is about 30k a month even though I turn off the light when we are going out in the morning, I spend at least 250k monthly with enough managing oh minus diesel for gen and fueling cars plus dogs food which my hubby handles, to think a lot of people consider me rich and always ask me for money always makes me wonder, if only they know how I’m managing

4. If u use prepaid, you spend nothing less than 20k..depends on d gadgets n size of house anyway.

5. 40k for food? I’m a single lady and I live alone. I spend nothing less than 70k on food alone. I don’t watch DSTV, I only subscribe to Netflix. Electricity, I spend about 15k a month with manage o. Internet, 30k . Let’s not even talk about other necessities. God will help us in Nigeria. I live in Abuja

6. It depends on the family size and income. Things are hard.

7. 14:55,pls what do you buy as foodstuffs that amount to 70k???and still finish it before the month ends.Na wa.
      If you buy things in bulk,you will spend less monthly.

8. We spend nothing less than 250k every month. I stay in Lagos, 2 cars, family of 4. Even with family planning sef, my husband is still doing withdrawal and safe period o.

4. Depends on your income..the bigger your income, the bigger your expenses especially if u live in a big house with cars and house helps, Gateman,..your monthly expense will be hitting 300+

1. I didn't see:
      Dog food.
      Estate charges.
      Health bill.
      Miscellaneous from relations.
      Church levy.
      Dry Cleaning agency.
      Kiddies' home tutor.
      Driver's salary.
      Club levies.

Many things jare. If na N247k many people for no dey cry na. Different families, different budgets jare.

2. @ Xp
      Exactly at your last paragraph because I am wondering how a family man that earns 150k can spend even the 247k and now you come add your own join 😌😌😌😌😌😌

Diff shoes for diff sizes biko, young guyz that are married and earn 120k how dem want take some ham

5. I think what is written up there is modest apart from that of a maid, and depending on the city. I assume that is Lagos. It could be cheaper in most other states.

The expenses shifts like shadows. Mine is 400-500k naira (with 6 kids -including gifts to a few relatives). I don't have a maid and I won't spend 20k 0n a maid. I adopted a child when she was 8 years old. Now she is 17 years, and she is my first child. She looks after the rest and we are the only parents she knows. I don't have DSTV. Most other channels apart from the regular ones, we watch them online on laptops and tablets.

1. WOW...you 'adopted' a child to look after your chi ldren...That is so wrong!. How do you explain to her how come she is the one doing most of the chores?. Terrible!

2. Femilicious... truly very wrong. If she's your child then she should be a child properly. how will she pay 20k for a maid when she already has one in disguise. wehdone ma.

3. As long as u are not wicked to her u are doing nothing wrong . As long as u love her like urs there’s nothing wrong with her taking care of her younger ones

4. 17:07 exactly, there's nothing wrong with her taking care of her younger ones.

5. People can sensationalize things ehh. Let me go Nd jail my mom for the work I did growing up as the first of 6. I work no be small. Nonsense people making mountains where mole hill no Dey sef

6. Why won't she take care of her younger ones,is it a taboo? Is it out of place for the first child to help care for her siblings? Na wa for una.

6. The higher you earn,the higher your responsibility.

7. Replies
    1. Please don't bring this mentality here. This post will be quite enlightening. Don't take it South.

2. Osu mi,it's above average...

3. 150k is extremely high oooo. Unless you eat only imported food!

4. 150k is not high if you have children. Provision is on the high side now.

8. We survive on Insha Allah true true. I don.t even know how God do it, but I spend so much these days that I wonder how I survive with the little income. Thank you God

9. Internet: 5k (with added bonus)
    Phonecalls: 10k
    Car fuelling: 40k
    DSTV: 2600
    Maid: 10k
    Black tax: 5k
    Charity:5k
    Food: 40k
    Grocery(Omo,garlic, bleach etc):10k
    Toiletries(toothpaste, brown powder, etc): 10k
    Electricity: 10k
    Fuelling for gen: 10k
    Hair(braids): 5k

SALARY: 140K

1. Your expenditure is too much for that 140k income. The toiletries should remain fr next month.10k for phone calls...Jesu!

2. Na work related calls o. Must liaise with staff on field assignments and management

10. Well,we dey manage . My husband has been working as a nurse for 15years now with 100k salary. The most painful part is that uptill now,their salary is reduced because of this covid. Imagine! The hospital removed 15k from his salary every month. I on the other hands has intensified my job search. How we dye manage with 3children self,na God. I know it will end in praise at last.....Amen

1. Tell him to leave d country, my fiancé is earning a whooping Usd as a nurse joining him soon. No dulling. Ugly man . Better money

2. Canada, European countries and even the US are looking for Nurse, let him leave

3. Whooping in America or in Nigeria? Is your fiancé spending the money in America or Nigeria.

11. In my home we do minimum 350k monthly. Excluding rent, school fees, relaxation, cloths, book for kids,health,luxury, relatives etc.

DStv plus extra view like 15k
    Nanny 35k. But I pay 25k now since family income has declined
    Food n all 220k
    Internet for 2 20k
    Land phone 2k
    Recharge cards per day 1k. By 2 is like 30k worse case
    Fuel for 2 cars per week is 18k
    Fuel for gen is like 15k. We normally have electricity
    Phcn hmmmm. Minimum per month is 40k
    Other small bills like 40k
    Lesson for kids 20k
    Adopted elderly daughter per week for Part course in school 5k. Excluding school fees, online tutorials etc.

We are a family of 4. But I have 4 others living with us. That's a total of 8 people daily. Na only God dey help us for this country. So many things I cannot even remember. Sad thing is that since April my husband has been affected by Covid. His pay. So the burden is much. Only God will be my helper. But he has been faithful despite it all. I still try to make the house conducive. I try not to let anyone know what is going on. God has provided another avenue for me to make money aside my day job.

1. Hmmmmmmmmmm,light 40k every month?Is it estimated bill or you have a factory you manage that is close by?
      If you are a tenant, pls cut down o

12. I spend more oh. Hand to mouth existence. School fees, Mum's illness, extended family issues. It is well

13. It all depends on one's income.
    The cost of living now is very high and I don't think this is average.
    An average Nigerian now barely feeds on three square meal a day. That's not to undermine the rich population in Nigeria but I think that there are more of the lower class than the elites here. And this lower class earns below two dollars daily and they hardly have a budget cos they're not even sure of that daily earnings.
    So yes, a lot of Nigerians livery on 'In sha Allah'.

14. 150k-foodstuff😯.Olorun nibo loju yin wa.

15. 247k is not average ooo...Any family spending that with the exclusion of the above mentioned is living wella.. How much person dey earn self...can't remember the last time I subscribed cable or fuelled my generator..
    No be small insha Allah oooo..Na aka chukwu ka anyi nokwa

16. That list 👆 there is not an average Nigerian expenses
    Let's just be thankful for provision...

17. Average naoja 4OK per month for family of 6, this one listed above na rich naija family

18. Mortgage -$1500
    Phone bill -$100
    Home insurance-$130
    Electric bill-$185+
    Health Insurance- $260
    Food stuff from nija

19. Thank God we don't look like what we have been through and thank God for provisions.

20. What I know is that in this Nigeria we only survive with the grace of God. Thank you God for provisions.

21. Roughly 40 to 50k.
    Foodstuffs is the most important:30k exclusive of rice
    Baby needs:8k
    Prepaid for electricity is 4k
    Lumos:3600
    Toiletries: 3k
    Decoder:As the spirit leads
    Miscellaneous: 10k
    Generator: As spirit leads,other alternatives dey

22. just joining the fun, average naija family (7) in America (not always the land of gold)
    mortgage: $2500
    food:$1100
    netflix:$12
    household misc: $100
    kids activities:$150
    gas (3 cars):$150
    car note (1 car):$250
    utilities (phone,water,garbage,internet etc):$425
    gym: $35

23. There's no repayment of car loan and mortgage

24. any family earning above 150k is not an average nigerian family. cos the average salary of the nigerian worker is between 50k to 100k monthly. that been said