Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - Dealing With A Nosy Neighbour.

Sunday, December 06, 2020

Sunday In House Gists - Dealing With A Nosy Neighbour.

Some Neighbours do have them!!!

How in heavens name do you cope with nosy neighbours?

The type who has studied your every day routine and knows when you go and when you come?

They knock on your door or gate to visit and gist when the smell of stew or soup or onions gets to their nostrils.

They know the meaning of every sound that comes out of your house and know what to tell your visitors when you are not there...lol

How do you deal with neighbours who come to tell you what other neighbours are saying about you because of what they can get from you?

Do you have funny neighbours who though are nosy,you cannot live without them?are they funny?mischievous or you can't wait to get out of that neighborhood?

I read somewhere that a neighbour advised someone to stop wearing makeup or so to avoid men chasing her....

A BV says once she starts to fry stuff to cook and the smell goes out,her neighbour comes visiting with all kinds of gist and does not leave until food is served and she has eaten from it...hehehehehehehe

152 comments:

1. That GOD the house am staying
    Is mind your business.
    Goodmorning Goodmorning that all.

1. I don't familiarise with neighbours. Greetings if I am in the mood is enough. They call me a snub and I laugh hard quietly. I like it that way. E get why #experience

2. We had one nosy tenant like that ehn chai ! Host cannot pass her by. Even when she doesn't know someone, she'll still excuse the person and ask what happened?
      She knew too much about people around our vicinity even more than we that are indigenes.
      Just ask her about someone and she'll tell you the person's history.

3. As for me, I mind my business wherever I am.
      I avoid nosy people like shit.

4. Na only me dey my compound o. Cost so high but don't freaking mind

5. 14:44. You are not a snub. You are cordial and that is enough. Go below and read on others experiences with neighbours who were too close for comfort.

You are simply not interested in being friends and it's understandable, considering that friendship is a choice. Make them learn, teach 'em'.

6. Amebo na work but who dey pay dem?

7. I try to be cool with my neighbors, atimes one will tell me that my other neighbour is now my favorite... I just laughed it off but pondered on it. If I come downstairs and see you outside, we gist a little and off I move...

2. I dont really talk to my neighbor' it just hi, hi

1. This is so me as well. I always keep a straight face each time I am going down from my flat. Don't come to my house abeg, will not come to yours too.

3. I don't have this kind of neighbour that this Bv has.

The one I have was beginning to behave like she's my mother-in-law, I had to put her in her place, no time for radarada.

1. That is the best. Put radarada people in their place.

4. Hehehehehe, beggy beggy neighbor. In this my neighborhood, na mind your business o, we only exchange pleasantries when we meet on the stairs or outside.

5. I have an eavesdropper as a neighbour, very nosey man. Good thing our pet parrot acts as an alarm and shrieks when he gets close to our window.

6. I had one nosy neighbour, in her 50s. This woman will monitor everything you do. When you shop, she'll want to know what's in the bag. She will hold you with unnecessary gist,πŸ™„. It was so bad we started avoiding her. If we are cooking and we hear her, we'll stop cooking and run out, cos she'll peep to see who's there. If we want to go out nko, we'll tip toe, and lock the gate in a way it won't make noise.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ nkeaa bu OVER nosy neighbour!
      Naawaoo!

2. πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

3. I have a neighbor like this. No strength to write now

7. My former neighborhood is what you just described poster.. House in flats but too much gossip, poke nosing, challenges in short our doors of favour were shut..
    But since we came to this serene, private and respected,have found peace and divine favour.Mind your business things and no one knows about me here.πŸ˜‰

1. I'm sure your neighbors are relieved you moved out

2. 14: 46. You must be a bully, a sadist, and a nosy person.
      It's people like you that start saying trash about others when they keep you at arm's length.
      Not everyone must be a nosy person like you.

3. Anon 14:46 you are very right.

8. In this compound all my neighbours dey mind their business. Na greeting connect us when we meet. Everyone dey form too busy here.

9. In a block of 6 flats , only one lady was consistent in sweeping the staircase. After a while she got tired of uncooperative neighbours and left it as she saw it. One day a man in one of the flats came knocking on her door to ask why she isnt sweeping the staircase since she is the only single one and his wife is busy. The noise that day was soooooo much as the lady vented anger on him asking if he paid the rent for her flat. Nonsense and single. I laughed tired from across the fence.

1. He had the guts to go knock on her door, to ask why she stopped sweeping. Ah ah!

2. Can you imagine?

3. That man must be very stupid, such guts.

4. The way I would have dealt with that man if I was the one ehn, he will soliloquize in regret (asking himself what pushed him in 2020 to go and ask such a foolish question) till he dies.
      GD

5. Some people Sha... What nonsense and guts

6. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

What nonsense, that man is a cow.πŸ˜†

7. That was a stupid move.
      So they never appreciated her effort all the while but saw it as their prerogative just because they were married and became entitled.
      Well, if his wife was busy he sure wasn't busy to stop over at the lady's house to demand such of her. He might as well step in on behalf of his wife who he claimed was busy by sweeping instead.

8. Sabella she was never appreciated but taken for granted. When you are trying to do good some foolish people will be seeing you as mumu.

9. Hian. Later if somebody bow to pressure and just marry, people will say she married for wrong reasons. The kain rubbish disrespect single ladies see ehn...

10. My own neighbor na borrow borrow. Them borrow blender till them spoil am and couldn't even say sorry, just came to return it and told my mom, grandma, sorry o, your blender has spoil. And still came the next day to borrow manual Blender. Nonsense person

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Oh dear, the neighbor is damn shamelessπŸ™†πŸ™†, you don't SAY!!!

2. My neighbor is a hilarious biracial. Once any aroma she likes filters into her kitchen, we're back to back with kitchen ends, she'll come bang her iron bar on top of the dog house, "kpo kpo kpo".
      And say "Ada Igbo, afielem di kwa here" haha. Then we go collect the small cooler and dish their portion. She has a special skill in catching hot snacks across the fence because going round is tedious for any kind from both sides.
      Just wrap and throw over, she's a catcher.

The rest be forming working professionals but when you drive past their window blinds will shift. Low key monitoring spirits who have your International passport number, know the details of your itinerary as you go and come without your permission.

The environ is serene and tight anyway.

11. I have hypocritical neighbors. I am praying to God to elevate me out of these neighbors

12. I live in a mind your business neighbourhood but recently I heard that they are organising an end of year party. I told them I am not interested as I will be traveling before then.

1. What's wrong with an end of year party?

2. The fact that they did not bother to tell you directly and you had to 'heard' it means your presence or absence is inconsequential. El oh el

3. You heard ke?
      There should be an estate WhatsApp group na, or you shut out everyone and refused to mingle all this while?
      Haba.

Nothing like end of year party. The kids love it more

4. Naf unity estate?

13. My neighbour has been a nice person ooo,
    Till he change girlfriend, that girl moan no be here πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Person no fit sleep for night again.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

This post sweet die

2. I hope you don't masturbate to the sound of her moaning.

3. Ermmm... this sounds like me.

This my new girlfriend can moan so loud, i even get ashamed in the morning.

And the worst part is that my compound is very quiet, occupied by several single ladies.

I don't know if this my new babe wants to pass a message across to my neighbors that I'm now taken.

I've tried to talk to her about reducing her voice, she no dey gree. When we are doing it in the middle of the night and she starts moaning, I use my hand to cover her mouth. Instead of her to understand what I'm trying to tell her, she will rather bite my fingers.

I'm just tired .

How can I stop this girl from moaning very loud. Please I need mature advice

4. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

5. Anon 19:06πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

14. If I start talking I won't leave πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    My neighbour can call at dawn to ask for ANYTHING,from onions to pepper to rice to garri to beans to yam....shes so bold she will tell you not to give her what she is tired of eating o and go further to ask what she has not eaten in a while...
    One day she asked for onions,I'd told my sisi to tell her to ask me anything directly or tell her we dont have,she was told we dont have then she called me and said even if its just oneπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    The worst part for me is asking my sisi to bring it,she has two kids and never sends them,she won't ask u if u have too,shed just call and ask me to give my sisi a particular thing and cut the phone πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    A few times iv refused her she was upset for months!

1. Just negodu @upset for months, and once you zero your mind not to give again she'll label you 'wicked', I know her type wella

2. Nsogbu everywhereπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£
      You go fear some neighbor ooh!

4. She is brazen!!
      She doesn't beg, she demands!

5. See entitled begger. You should be happy when she gets angry sef.

15. Na u imagine...the man is stupid

16. This comment has been removed by the author.

17. Na so
    My neighbor no dey hear wen u greet am. If u like shout gd morning, she go say sorry i no hear ur greetings
    But if she hear small noise from ur house not knowing y u shout either small or big. Na she go first hear say una make noise. She Go knock n ask u hope all is well oooo. I fear dat woman

18. Mine is neighbour that will be pounding at all hours of the day and night. I mean from 6.30 am to 11 pm sometimes 12 am . I don't even know the person, staying here for almost 2 years, I only know my next door neighbour. How can you pay 1.7m for a 2 bed flat and the person at the top will be pounding and disturbing you? Sometimes when I'm in deep sleep and wake up from the pounding noise, I get severe headache and I curse the person from the bottom of my heart.

1. Na wa o, can't you complain to her? Which kain yeye pounding b that one?

2. My dear if you actually ask all your neighbours you will find out that no one is actually pounding anything,as you are wondering others too are wondering,happened where I was staying before

3. My dear this money we go die leave am for bank. Add another 500/700 go take a self compound, depending on the state you stay. No look money if u r classy and seek privacy

4. Chi Squared you say what?
      In Lagos, it's common in Surulere, Ikeja and Isolo local governments.

You go dey work, dem go dey collect.
      Ask around please about those block of 4 flats that normally have square opening at the front(like a bird's nest).
      Na dem.

19. Had one that was so nosy and quarrelsome. Funny it took another neighbors house help beating her to a stupor for gossip b4 she calmed down.

20. We had one then when we were living in Umuagwa in Rivers state, this family came in from Lagos after their father retired as a custom officer, my big sis didn't know she was in for a long thing. They started by being nice to my little nephew, from there e enter to borrow salt, maggi, palm oil etc, his woman and her children started monitoring when my sis is cooking, na so she go carry gist come with plate for her hand o. My sis and her husband got tired of the whole thing and decided to pack out of the compound to a nearby community (Isiokpo precisely). They wanted to leave unannounced, my country people as soon as we relocated to the new apartment, the next week na so we see bus wey carry plenty load enter the compound, we look who dey pack in, lo and behold na mama NNE and her family, hahahahahaha, my sis die wake up, na there second missionary journey begin because both the man, his wife and grown up boys were not working, na the girl pikins dey manage the house from the ashii work wey them they do, anyday money no come, wahala.....my sis hear am, she became a mum to a woman that was old enough to be her ground mother and her kids.....memories

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. Whaaaaaat? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

This post just made my day, in fact my whole week, I wee bookmark this pageπŸ˜‚

3. Hehe,are dey still living together?

4. @Gifty, the matter long o cos my sis started looking for an opportunity for them to quarrel, whosai, my guys lock up o cos of the benefit they were getting, soteey my little nephew that just started talking one day said'everytime aunty Nne(one of her daughters) go leave her come dey chop our food and pium pium throway(periwinkle)', everybody shock that day, aunty Nne just use style waka commit
      @Olayemi, no, my sis and hubby had to leave the area, but life happened, she lost one of her sons to HIV(no offence), couldn't pay for the rent( they were not financially buoyant yet they rented 3 rooms, small money wey go manage enter their father hand, he'll use it on young girls), naso landlord call lawyer for their head and they had no choice but to relocate to their villa.....Her girls story reach to write a full book

5. O Goodness, this is funny

6. This my agbaya phone sha
      *house
      *commot

7. πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£
      Kaα»‹!!!
      Ndα»‹ nke aa dα»‹ very shameless πŸ™†πŸ€¦

8. Ewoooo πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£
      Your story takes the cake.

21. I wont recognise my neighbours if I see them. I don't know them, they don't know me, I am sure.
    My area's mind your business is on another level, most likely my husband that goes for resident's meeting might know some.

Nobody has your time in my neighbourhood.

22. The only thing I owe my neighbor is greetings, nothing more. I hardly gist with my neighbors except on a general term concerning our environment

1. Probably you're single.

Try that when you're married and forget to put off fire from your burner then rush out in the morning with your kids, let's see who'll climb fence to off fire from your kitchen.

Just be friendly even if it's once a month. Last sundays.

2. Xhlrted P....you are very correct....

Just be friendly and cordial, you must not be close.

23. My neighbours are cool even tho every house is gated,the Muslims share food during Sallah and the christians do same during the hols. Birthdays are not left out.

We only talk when there are issues that need to be fixed...other than that it's good morning and goodbye.

24. I wouldn't call him nosy,
    This one human mosquito coil...
    How person go come back from work, keep bags outside him door, come begin kill mosquitoes with him hand.

You'd think he just wants to clear out the mosquitoes flying around his door before he goes in...

Whosai!!!

One hour later dude is two floors up,k mosquitoes in front of someone's flat with his bags still outside him house for first floor (flat two.)

..this happens every day...
    A new neighbour who didnt know about his habit, almost killed him one day.

Dude legit removed belt, flogged him continuously, because he thought he was doing jazz, (how else do you explain a first floor neigbour clapping hard while tiptoeing on third floor)...Every body heard, but no body came out to seperate fight, because we are all tired of the daily rounds of clapping, tiptoeing, and shouting (heey, egbuolam nke aa oo..nke a nwugburu onwe ya n'ogbara ashawo, obara di oji. )

1. What da hell!!!

🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

2. 🀣🀣🀣 but seriously this ur neighbor na my twinnie o.i wake up in the night clapping just to kill mosquito,anyone that has black blood,I'll say it's my hubby blood e suck.In the middle of the night u will hear me shouting "ehn egbuolam nke,hey chimoo onwugbulam oo..obara oji..obara dim".

3. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 eeeeh, you guys be killing me with laughter!
      I doubt if all is well mentally with that mosquito killer,lol!

4. Chineke me eh!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

5. 🀣🀣🀣choi
      I knew someone like this when I was in school, female though. Always looking for and killing mosquitoes even in the middle of the night and in people's rooms when she comes to visit.lol

6. πŸ˜‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. There are only two normal people in this country , me and one other person. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

7. LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I don talk say people wey cease pass the people wey normal for this country.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ e no go teach 10 wey still dey normal for this country aswear.

8. See me laughing and crying at the same time, adondie🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

9. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣
      But it is possible that that is the kind of OCD he has. It comes in different forms.

10. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Chai!

Characters dey sha

11. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

12. He's a dirty psycho. Imagine the blood stains on his palm.
      #yuck

13. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£I choked on this comment !!!!!
      Lmao

14. Na OCD o🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

15. I read this your comment now at exactly 10:50 and I'm laughing so hard I can't help myself πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ₯³πŸ€—
      Becky Naka,I am that other normal person I.lmao

16. See me laughing o, nearly fall off my chair.
      I can wake up in the middle of the Night to check for mosquitoes o.
      Even with the net windows, they will still enter via the doors.

That guy needs help.

25. Haven't really had nosy neighbors. Just when I cook and they pass by, they'll say theirs is among

26. My neighbor's own na to drive away my househelp. I will never forgive that woman. She can gossip for Africa. She even went as far as saying that I turned my husband to house boy...all because my husband is helping with house work.

1. @Shooter gyal, hhhmmm so her husband should not help her ko? Remember she is the one who. Came in as a help meet for him. Hysbands should help if and when they can. Nothing wrong with that.

27. I had a good neighbor, we gist and play a lot. People usually think we are sisters. Her problem is just being nosy sometimes you can't buy things without her touching it to know what you bought and even help you calculate if it's enough. Despite her oversabi body we stayed good to each other, I sometimes miss her now we've moved out. I now stay in a mind your business compound.

28. 🀣🀣🀣🀣SDK first tym of commenting here ,,stella just know u got plenty admirer,having known u for as long as I can remember ,,u are rare gem,,one strong woman I have loved secretly ,,thank u for all u do ,,I have learnt a lot here

29. I don't really have a neighbor that stays in same compound with us.
    But we are polite to each other if we pass but the men are more friendly with each other cos they usually meet once every quarter to discuss security issues.

30. Thank God I don't have any of the neighbors mentioned above.
    My house is just a few people compound and everyone mind their businesses.
    There's a security guard to take a message for you if there's anyone who unannouncedly comes to look for anybody in the house ( which rarely happen cos you gotta lemme know before you come)
    Many Abuja single ladies and guys sabi form for each other so everyone dey dey their day 🀷‍♀️
    The kinda peace in that my house ehn, may God let it continue that way cos we don't fight, we don't quarel and no one have time for unnecessary gossip.
    It's ✌️ everyday

31. My neighbour can borrow for Africa, the worst part is that she does not pay back when she borrows money from me. She probably think I don't need the money because am ttcing. God provided and we moved out of the compound. Now madam has been calling none stop today is no food to eat tomorrow no money for business again am tired seriously am I her husband?

1. Maybe you should block her. Abi you no tire?

32. Mama chimobi(AKA prophetess) we call her chief Gossip.
    Mama Miracle that one will Start laying abuses on her children. As early as 54 am every blessed day. whenever dey wake up to assist her in cooking her mamm put (business).. with her loud voice

Mama Miracle: miracle eh.... Wetin u dey do for inside?

Miracle: I been dey find my clothe to wear so we go Start to cook.

Mama miracle: make thunder fire u dia, nah ur Papa head u dey find he 🐐

Mama Miracle: Salvation why u Never wash d Rice, abi u dey wait for me u this "Hanger" ugly thing. Tori long abeg..

Wen once she wake up everybody in the whole neighborhood must wake up.. to d extent we all had to report her to that landlord.

1. Was she told to leave?

2. πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

33. My own is about my landlady living in her house and at the same time living in my house she gave me for rent. Everything I do she knows, if bulb is on, she will call my attention to off it that is not night. Every two weeks buy of big toilet brush and small for compound scrubbing. Little thing, contribution if you don't have it that minute the whole world wil hear, she can shout for Africa, Nepa bill very high, I have leave with her for two years, I decided to pack next year because I can't meet up her excess demand, my salary has been cut short due to Covid-19 pandemic. I paid her the remaining house rent and she asked if I will stay next year, I told her I don't know for now, next day she call for meeting with Tennants, inside that meeting she complained bitterly that she feels disappointed because tennants are not meeting up her expectations. That from next year anyone that is leaving her house will paid the sum of #15,000 for evacuation of shit though the pit did not full that it can still carried us three to next five years according to her. That anyone who refused to pay, she will arrest the person and charge his/her to court. My follow blog visitors what's your take on this matter? I feel depressed because of what this woman is doing.

1. Evacuation of shit was not in agreement when she read to me, she said it skip our mind to collect the 15k from people that packed out last year. Now she wants to start with me because she knows I will be packing out next year.

2. Addylove, this is a new rule she made off the papers you signed....no tenancy agreement for this....you are under no obligation to pay this money.....
      The law is won't be on her side on this one....

3. I don't think you should feel depressed over that dear. When you wanted to rent the house don't you sign an agreement? If you did, was the 15k for the evacuation included in the agreement? If your answers are no, then I don't think you have any problem with her threatening to arrest and all. Let the time come and know your right.

4. The document guiding your tenancy is the signed tenancy agreement. If there's nothing like a 15k evacuation fee in the agreement, then you have nothing to worry about.

Assuming there isn't even any tenancy agreement, it is usually implied that the landlord takes care of anything concerning the exterior of the house...such as a leaking roof, painting the exterior building, evacuating a soak away...etc.
      Therefore it's not your responsibility to do that.

Lastly, tenancy matters are civil matters not criminal. She has no right to inform the police in a matter that's putely contractual. If she does that , there are Police Complaint Desks that you can reach out to and make your report.

Don't let anyone intimidate you for anything.

If you have a lawyer friend, reach out to him for more advice

5. I appreciate you all for your kind respond. We didn't sign any agreement, she read to us the new tenants and went away with the paper. I told my brother about it, he said I don't have evidence to prove because she didn't gave me the paper.

6. It is well with you Addylove.

7. My dear don't let her intimidate you. Get a lawyer and tell him/her and when you wanna pack start taking things small small when she is not around. Surprise her and wakaaaa. Don't pay anything dime.

34. MomB God will surely take us out to a higher place we will meet good neighbors
    Amen

35. @MomB God is going to take us out to a higher place we will meet good neighbors
    Amen

36. I live in a very big compound with mostly self contain rooms. My own neighbour can cook for African and at odd hours like 12am-5am,imagine someone breaking snails at midnight, she talks when cooking, bang her door unnecessarily, she talks to herself and hardly sleeps.

37. I have one Mrs Most Parker in my compound, she has everybody's gist even though we live in separate flats. We call her discovery channel

1. Na real discovery channel πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

38. My own neighbour who was also my best friend broke my head with a bottle. The tory too long abeg...jealousy everywhere.

1. Ewoooo, you for try gist us sha.